Could i suggest a track day???

Tsuchiya

Could i suggest a track day???

Postby Tsuchiya » July 2nd, 2005, 8:59 am

I'm not sure if the idea came up already.
I don't know about allyuh,but i'm missing having a free circuit to practice or do my nonsense upon. I'm not hating on the 'free-thing' but there's no other place to really 'push' your car to its limit without putting the island's electricity poles at risk :P . Solodex provides some sort of closure but a race-circuit is abit different.

I'm just throwing ideas out; but maybe to keep the wildness down,it doesn't have to be publicised to the extent to which drag events are.
A waver can be enforced so that if something was to happen liabiltiy is not a factor.
there're alot more things to point out or state to make an event like this not only worthwhile and safe but also informative.

Postby MG Man » July 2nd, 2005, 10:00 am

I agree....this idea has been forwarded b4, but with the attitude of 'waaaaaaah we want ah track....waaaah else we go race oni de street"

what we need to do is form some sort of lobby group of responsible drivers and tuners, and present a business plan to the powers that be. Unless we go forward as a mature, responsible, organised group, we will be brushed aside. I am willing to do the framework and proposal which will encompass our objectives, plan, intension, policies and execution.....if u reallly serious, PM me and we can move from there.........

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » July 2nd, 2005, 11:03 am

I like the idea, but like mentioned, we would havw to be responsible about it if and when it pulls off. With no injuries/crashes we may be able to make it a regular thing, once they see we responsible enough.
Solodex I suppose facilitates a way for road drivers to use their cars, however, imho, it may be too short a course for those of us who would rather a circuit type track. It is also competitive, so if your intentions were just to "try out" your car, you may not achieve this. It's a great competition though, just not for someone who just wants to have some circuit experience.
Let me know what comes up, I am willing to help once I have time.

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » July 2nd, 2005, 12:42 pm

maybe we can 'use' the solodex mode of operation,in other words we can use the solodex as a guideline,as its pretty professionally run.
maybe we can get the same people to assist in any way they can.
although 'dex brings in spectators,IMO they keep the wildness to a minimum. to try and follow suite will be very tough. and the only thing i can think up to keep that wildness down is to not inform the public to that great extent to which drags has.

i know that their are alot of cars that not only would i love to see run around the circuit but also alot of cars i'd like to beat :twisted: :twisted:

spread the word,see if an event like this is viable :)
thanks for the feedback ppl

NickJr.
Location: The Finish Line. So Elusive For Something That Never Moves

Postby NickJr. » July 2nd, 2005, 2:04 pm

I agree with this, but in order to really have a track day like that where u can run with a le man type thing where different classes are running u will need as u said to have some kinda waiver form that everyone will sign... not that any insurance company would fix your car even under some Rooster and bull story. One thing that can also be done is to allow only a certain number of cars on the track at a certain time to cut down on traffic congestion. Have a board on the straight way telling the person they have 5 mintues left then 1 minute. if they persist on staying out bring out a barrier that is brightly coloured so that they must stop. Just an idea, I'm sure there's a way to set it up properly.
I know I would like to go up on the track and get some sideways time with my car

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » July 2nd, 2005, 5:08 pm

i second this suggestion :mrgreen:
always wanted a place to try drifting :oops:
streets to dangerous too :|

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » July 3rd, 2005, 2:17 am

well i was talking it over with some people that have links to help the cause and asked if the solodex crew would be able to run the event or assist,and they said that it may never happen because of the fact the TTASA and TTMA do not cooperate....well actualy,it was explained to me that the major people of either assoc. do not like each other.
this affects the goal as the circuit track is basically controlled by one group.

politics are played everywhere in trini,and because of this very dumb and childish attitude we would most liikely never reach the fore-front.

maybe we can still find a loop-hole somewhere :| :|

Postby X2 » July 3rd, 2005, 1:30 pm

In light of this type of attitude and the fact that many people would love to have a track day and prolly fairly often.... since oftentimes certain groups cannot cooperate or play nice, I have a suggestion:

What about forming a group (not a body, but a group) of ENTHUSIASTS. We would not be like an organisation per se or compete with any one entity (TTASA, CARS, TTMA, TTMF, etc)... this group would represent US, motorsports enthusiasts... the drivers AND the spectators, the PAYING public at large. If done right, we would have a say in what we want to see and what should be done to appease US, not a bunch of ppl who want to control what WE watch or participate in ! A group like this could be very inexpensive to organise since it'd only be a REPRESENTATIVE rather than an organisation that needs to stage events, etc...

Just a thought after reading this post..... I want to see regular track days for street enthusiasts too.... :wink:

Postby MG Man » July 3rd, 2005, 9:39 pm

Tsuchiya wrote:well i was talking it over with some people that have links to help the cause and asked if the solodex crew would be able to run the event or assist,and they said that it may never happen because of the fact the TTASA and TTMA do not cooperate....well actualy,it was explained to me that the major people of either assoc. do not like each other.
this affects the goal as the circuit track is basically controlled by one group.

politics are played everywhere in trini,and because of this very dumb and childish attitude we would most liikely never reach the fore-front.

maybe we can still find a loop-hole somewhere :| :|

I believe if we approach TTASA professionally, we have a shot.......I also think CARS would be a good platform to use............I should have a draft proposal by friday :!:

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » July 3rd, 2005, 10:33 pm

^^^that's excellent...after running solodex fun runs,my blood a li'l hot :P ...we really need a track day 8)
and x2...i thought about that but there's so many little details that we may/may not be aware of,and so would have to examine in detail.
i just hope that this kind of event can come to pass

Postby wagon r » July 4th, 2005, 8:01 am

^^.....yuh make ah few turns and look at yuh now... :lol: :lol: :lol:

....but is something i spoke about long time but the red tape killed it. :|

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 4th, 2005, 11:32 am

TTASA and TTMA do not cooperate....well actualy,it was explained to me that the major people of either assoc. do not like each other.

we dont need another associatoion to complicate anything.. track days sounds glorious..

what we need is for these two associations (TTASA and TTMF) to dissappear and only have one body that governs all motorsports in trini...

untill then we all sucking salt.

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » July 5th, 2005, 8:20 am

^^^you're so correct....but i don't think we'll be taken seriously until we make a proper group.

we're gonna have to walk with a big knife to cut through all their BS :mrgreen:

hey MG man,how the propsal coming along??? :)

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » July 5th, 2005, 8:41 am

..lol. look at how many F/R drivers in here..lol...

i in dat.. northcoast rd getin crowded nowadays with socer mom vehicles.. mg man.. count me in to help out. in fact i'
ll try an use a contact i have over the heads of ttasa and see what comes out of it..

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » July 5th, 2005, 9:16 pm

^^^that's the reason i ask you this question on saturday,cuz u have links :mrgreen:
i wonder if mr.yeo could help we out a li'l more....Hack ah li'l small thing for we nah yeo :P :lol:

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » July 9th, 2005, 4:25 pm

anybody got any updates to this thread????
i think all those interested may want to check out the Acropylis-styled solodex challenge next time out. It supposed to be really interesting as 2 cars will run simultaneuosly,but in different lanes. A Race OF the Champions event 8) :lol: :lol: :mrgreen:

EVOlved

Postby EVOlved » July 10th, 2005, 11:28 am

I am absolutely for this TRACK DAY proposal....Will like to have TIme Attack style event incorporated....count me in for full support on this