Random stop and search of someone by police

kcgilll

Random stop and search of someone by police

Postby kcgilll » February 19th, 2015, 6:47 am

I'm curious about this. Is there any laws that allow police to randomly stop and search someone on the road or take someone out of a maxi, taxi or private vehicle and search them??? What have been your experiences also. And can someone refuse to be searched by police randomly???

Re: Random stop and search of someone by police

Postby K74T » February 19th, 2015, 7:00 am

Wa yuh geh hold for fadda?

Postby SMc » February 19th, 2015, 7:08 am

If you have nothing to hide what is the problem?

Postby j.o.e » February 19th, 2015, 7:11 am

I don't know what the law says..but police do it all the time for Carnival and random road blocks. Never been searched but I have no concerns if I ever were, just doing their job

orangefox

Postby orangefox » February 19th, 2015, 7:15 am

j.o.e wrote:I don't know what the law says..but police do it all the time for Carnival and random road blocks. Never been searched but I have no concerns if I ever were, just doing their job

They do not search women folk.

Postby j.o.e » February 19th, 2015, 7:19 am

orangefox wrote:
j.o.e wrote:I don't know what the law says..but police do it all the time for Carnival and random road blocks. Never been searched but I have no concerns if I ever were, just doing their job

Women can only be searched by female officers. I'm giving a serious response because I refuse to believe that was really an attempt at a diss immigrant.

orangefox

Postby orangefox » February 19th, 2015, 8:23 am

j.o.e wrote:
orangefox wrote:

Women can only be searched by female officers. I'm giving a serious response because I refuse to believe that was really an attempt at a diss immigrant.

Women talk now :roll: .

Lil Joey go school, SEA exams soon.

Move on .. Move on .. I hear de bell

orangefox

Postby orangefox » February 19th, 2015, 8:26 am

To date Police have serious legal authority in Trinidad.

And they are well trained in the area of "who" to search .

So be careful, respectful or jail beckons :)

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 19th, 2015, 8:38 am

"Acting suspiciously"

ModMania

Postby ModMania » February 19th, 2015, 8:55 am

Any suspicious behaviour is cause to stop and search

orangefox

Postby orangefox » February 19th, 2015, 8:59 am

Driving B14 and 5 in the car is considered a "gang"

Jail for 60 days Habeas corpus may be needed.

Driving Tida with 1 in car is also a crime .

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » February 19th, 2015, 9:08 am

orangefox wrote:Driving B14 and 5 in the car is considered a "gang"

Jail for 60 days Habeas corpus may be needed.

Driving Tida with 1 in car is also a crime .

Almera lil off the scene but that is a crime too.

Postby Les Bain » February 19th, 2015, 9:23 am

If you dressed like the fella skin up on the WASA vehicle that is suspicious behaviour.

Postby redmanjp » February 19th, 2015, 10:21 am

Just say u contracted by wasa to lay some pipe

Postby RBphoto » February 19th, 2015, 10:44 am

Drive a euro... never get stopped.

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » February 19th, 2015, 10:57 am

kcgilll wrote:I'm curious about this. Is there any laws that allow police to randomly stop and search someone on the road or take someone out of a maxi, taxi or private vehicle and search them??? What have been your experiences also. And can someone refuse to be searched by police randomly???

Refuse and get a random beatdown !

alex jj

Postby alex jj » February 19th, 2015, 11:21 am

a time i was stopped and told to come out the car..the officer then searched me and the whole car..then he made me take off my pants and he pulled my boxers and looked at my privates...both front and back...i felt violated....when i asked him why i was stopped and searched he said that according to the firearms act the police can stop and search anyone they believe to be in possession of a firearm....i was like wtf..i was driving a black g5 almera btw and wearing a hat..but i am not a criminal..dont even look like a criminal

Postby hustla_ambition101 » February 19th, 2015, 12:57 pm

Never been stopped, only time i got searched was when the bandits stole an almera in the mall and ran in Palladium and they searched everyone

Postby Ignorant Ignis » February 19th, 2015, 1:06 pm

alex jj wrote:a time i was stopped and told to come out the car..the officer then searched me and the whole car..then he made me take off my pants and he pulled my boxers and looked at my privates...both front and back...i felt violated....when i asked him why i was stopped and searched he said that according to the firearms act the police can stop and search anyone they believe to be in possession of a firearm....i was like wtf..i was driving a black g5 almera btw and wearing a hat..but i am not a criminal..dont even look like a criminal

WTF :shock: :shock:

what ever happen to a pat down ?

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » February 19th, 2015, 1:09 pm

This only applies to rastamen

Postby rollingstock » February 19th, 2015, 1:39 pm

Random stops and searches are covered by law.
Plus guys have been known to hide firearms in their crotch area as that area is not searched thoroughly, plus the ex-cons have a nice habit of 'vaulting' illegal items in the rectum, so be prepared for the 'skin yuh bamsee dey' approach.

eyeballz

Postby eyeballz » February 19th, 2015, 2:15 pm

how they checking what in the vault? who putting they finger?

Postby SMc » February 19th, 2015, 2:17 pm

I get stop just after the bridge coming out of Grand Reviere last year, gun to face all kinda thing to get out of car. Girfriend and friends from away sheiting bricks not because we did/have anything wrong just none of them ever saw a gun before, far less one being put through the front window of a car they were in (bear in mind its 10 o'clock in the morning so I dunno what they were up to).

I wound down all windows, got out of the car opened the trunk so they could look as I moved things about...man ask what all the stuff I had i the car was for, explained we were out for a few days and was heading back home . He say ok go on your way, then some next jackarse popo say they need some details filling out...I spent another 35 mins with some giggling WPC,who could barely write (I end up filling out the form myself). When she asking if I have any Aliases said 'No', her reply was 'you do have no sexy nick-name you girlfriend does call yuh in de bedroom!'..I did explain to her that was not what they meany by alias.

anyway, that was my last experience being stopped by Police and though a complete waste of time for me they at least got to ensure they traumatised 3 other people in the process.

Postby rollingstock » February 19th, 2015, 3:12 pm

eyeballz wrote:how they checking what in the vault? who putting they finger?

That's what the stoop and cough procedure is for, what's in the vault will soon come to light.

SMC sounds like the WPC was delaying and wanted to ress the punazz on you, I hope you GT

zoelikescheese

Postby zoelikescheese » February 19th, 2015, 9:11 pm

j.o.e wrote:
orangefox wrote:

show me that in the SO

thats not true btw

Casper23

Postby Casper23 » February 19th, 2015, 9:28 pm

At the end of the day, you are driving on the public road so yes they can demand that a search be done if probable cause is there

Postby j.o.e » February 20th, 2015, 12:36 am

cjsplayboy wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
orangefox wrote:

show me that in the SO

thats not true btw

RS can confirm but I know for a fact that's in the SO but hold this meantime

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,146070.html

The police, under Section 10 of the Emergency Powers Regulations 2011, have the power to “stop and search any person whom he finds in any street or other public place” who is reasonably suspected of “being in possession of firearms” or posing a threat to “public safety or order”.

Officers may seize any contraband item in relation to the above threats for as long as necessary.

Similarly, officers may enter premises without warrant to deal with potential threats.

Where a female is searched under police powers, the search must be conducted by another female.

thats a quote from the then AG during the SOE...so if it holds under a SOE sure its law under regular circumstances

hondablood

Postby hondablood » February 20th, 2015, 12:42 am

eyeballz wrote:how they checking what in the vault? who putting they finger?

That's what the stoop and cough procedure is for, what's in the vault will soon come to light.

SMC sounds like the WPC was delaying and wanted to ress the punazz on you, I hope you GT[/quot

that is a hard job,i have a breathren making jail he whole life and vaulting and he say he have three shelf,the lowest he does leave empty in case he have to cough and squat,the middle for cigarette and the top for cell phone

CoobalsinPls

Postby CoobalsinPls » February 20th, 2015, 1:11 am

Life sentence? Killing have consequences den.

Postby rfari » February 20th, 2015, 1:49 am

RBphoto wrote:Drive a euro... never get stopped.