Re: Trinbagonian Role Models

Postby Slartibartfast » March 3rd, 2015, 9:00 am

desifemlove wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:
desifemlove wrote:
alex jj wrote:
desifemlove wrote:politically, Panday.

artistically, Destra, Nisha B

sports, of current sportspersons Keshorn, retired Lara.

panday's integrity was of such a high level that u consider him a role model...well good for u

cos he got jail? and? his UNC govt was far more able than this current one, and it was a performing govt. and he showed how to go from humble roots to become a noted figure. jus cos you'z PNM, be a lil objective, nah....

Yeah.... how about you let your kids find a role model that didn't go to jail. Besides, what is so wrong with humility that one must strive to escape it at all costs?

I think you must first find a role for yourself before searching for a model to aim towards. Otherwise it just become "famous/rich people worship"

I doh have kids....but then yep, it's wrong to have people one admires, ent? :lol: :lol: perhaps not see the world in black and white terms.

No it's great to have people one admires. I'm just saying most people choose to admire someone based on their social standing and not on their attributes.

Why not admire the nuts man for working hard?
Why not admire a grass cutting man for taking pride in his work and making sure it's done properly?
Why not admire that lady behind the food counter for kindness when she give some real justice peices cuz she find you looking hungry?
Why not admire those vagrants by the dial for their physique?
Why not admire Rastafarians for recognising that a role model can be found in anyone and striving to emulate the best they find in everyone?

No, people would admire Usain Bolt for working hard and Steve Jobs for taking pride in his work and Mother Theresa for kindness and Hugh Jackman for his physique when all of these individuals are completely out of reach. There are role models all around you.

Cooloh

Postby Cooloh » March 3rd, 2015, 10:03 am

RBphoto wrote:Sat Maraj.

If I tell u how I does feel to slap that man eh! :roll:

Postby RBphoto » March 3rd, 2015, 10:30 am

George Chambers.

Postby RBphoto » March 3rd, 2015, 1:26 pm

Calder Hart.

Postby mero » March 3rd, 2015, 1:30 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
desifemlove wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:
desifemlove wrote:
alex jj wrote:

panday's integrity was of such a high level that u consider him a role model...well good for u

cos he got jail? and? his UNC govt was far more able than this current one, and it was a performing govt. and he showed how to go from humble roots to become a noted figure. jus cos you'z PNM, be a lil objective, nah....

Yeah.... how about you let your kids find a role model that didn't go to jail. Besides, what is so wrong with humility that one must strive to escape it at all costs?

I think you must first find a role for yourself before searching for a model to aim towards. Otherwise it just become "famous/rich people worship"

I doh have kids....but then yep, it's wrong to have people one admires, ent? :lol: :lol: perhaps not see the world in black and white terms.

No it's great to have people one admires. I'm just saying most people choose to admire someone based on their social standing and not on their attributes.

Why not admire a grass cutting man for taking pride in his work and making sure it's done properly?
Why not admire that lady behind the food counter for kindness when she give some real justice peices cuz she find you looking hungry?
Why not admire Rastafarians for recognising that a role model can be found in anyone and striving to emulate the best they find in everyone?

No, people would admire Usain Bolt for working hard and Steve Jobs for taking pride in his work and Mother Theresa for kindness and Hugh Jackman for his physique when all of these individuals are completely out of reach. There are role models all around you.

powerful

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » March 3rd, 2015, 1:33 pm

Jack Warner

Postby Chimera » March 3rd, 2015, 1:56 pm

santana

alex jj

Postby alex jj » March 3rd, 2015, 2:16 pm

no desifemlove i am not a pnm..or affiliated with any other party...in fact i have never exercised my constitutional right to stain my finger to elect a moron...i was just pointing out that panday is not a good role model..i can't look at any politician or person in gov't and say i would consider them a role model except perhaps gary griffith, politics is a game where you have to go with the flow and if colleagues are making bad/immoral decisions then you have to put on a front and support something you don't believe in, otherwise the full force of the cabal will be brought down on you. In England ministers are expected to show a unified front, but discussions about matters are held within the gov't and everyone is allowed to express their view and vote on matters which are then brought before the parliament. Do u think that in Trinidad non cabal ministers are allowed a point of view or is there somewhat of a dictatorship within the party in govt?

Role models in society to me are honest, hard working ppl who try to better themselves and their community everyday such as some police, firemen, doctors, judges, volunteers in ngo's, etc and anyone who brings about something positive by their day to day activities

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » March 3rd, 2015, 3:05 pm

Radge Coomar

Postby RBphoto » March 3rd, 2015, 3:15 pm

Winston Dookeran.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 3rd, 2015, 3:37 pm

RBphoto wrote:Winston Dookeran.

He'll be my role model just for the middle name - Chandrabhan
Sounds like a badman from an ole indian movie

Chandraaaaabhaaaan!!!!......Paashaaw!!!

Postby RBphoto » March 3rd, 2015, 3:39 pm

Daren Ganga.

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » March 3rd, 2015, 4:06 pm

Crossdrilled....

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » March 3rd, 2015, 4:35 pm

Does a role model have to be a real person? Growing up my role models were all fictitious characters.

Postby desifemlove » March 4th, 2015, 5:52 am

alex jj wrote:no desifemlove i am not a pnm..or affiliated with any other party...in fact i have never exercised my constitutional right to stain my finger to elect a moron...i was just pointing out that panday is not a good role model..i can't look at any politician or person in gov't and say i would consider them a role model except perhaps gary griffith, politics is a game where you have to go with the flow and if colleagues are making bad/immoral decisions then you have to put on a front and support something you don't believe in, otherwise the full force of the cabal will be brought down on you. In England ministers are expected to show a unified front, but discussions about matters are held within the gov't and everyone is allowed to express their view and vote on matters which are then brought before the parliament. Do u think that in Trinidad non cabal ministers are allowed a point of view or is there somewhat of a dictatorship within the party in govt?

Role models in society to me are honest, hard working ppl who try to better themselves and their community everyday such as some police, firemen, doctors, judges, volunteers in ngo's, etc and anyone who brings about something positive by their day to day activities

Erm...even in "England" , yuh does get corrupt politicians. Politics is inherently corrupt, it's a fact of life. But to be honest I can see that choosing a politician as a role model who has charisma, a fine public speaker, worked he way up through the unions, and is still popular 14 years after he stopped being PM irks you, but i ent bothered wit dat..

Postby desifemlove » March 4th, 2015, 6:01 am

Slartibartfast wrote:
desifemlove wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:
desifemlove wrote:
alex jj wrote:

OK. So admiring the famous is wrong. as you said, anybody can be a role model, and i sure many lil chirren look up to Bolt. And if yuh saying Panday is a bad role model cos he was crooked, who is to ay nuts man doh wuk drugs on de side? or grass cutting man doh beat he wife/chirren at home?

hmmm....I can see I irked you and yuh fella there, lolol...my opinion stands.

Postby Slartibartfast » March 4th, 2015, 10:51 am

I take it you didn't understand the point I made So let me break it down for you.

Why should a role model be someone well known and out of reach when there are role models all around you (I.e. someone with an attribute that you admire and will like to emulate yourself)

My point is that my alternative is better because having the person within reach means having them available to actually mentor your if you really wanted.

Now what is your reason for having a role model that is a well known individual out of reach?

Also, no one is perfect but read over the point about rastafarians that I made.

Postby RBphoto » March 4th, 2015, 11:58 am

Ravina Rampersad

Postby De Dragon » March 5th, 2015, 1:54 pm

Anil Roberts, Abu Bakr, Anil Ramlogan, Ashwin Creed, ............and dais jus the A list.

Cooloh

Postby Cooloh » March 5th, 2015, 2:07 pm

De Dragon wrote:Anil Roberts, Abu Bakr, Anil Ramlogan, Ashwin Creed, ............and dais jus the A list.

How u leave out Calder Hart? He should be on the A list too man

Postby De Dragon » March 5th, 2015, 4:03 pm

Cooloh wrote:
De Dragon wrote:Anil Roberts, Abu Bakr, Anil Ramlogan, Ashwin Creed, ............and dais jus the A list.

How u leave out Calder Hart? He should be on the A list too man

A list being those whose first name starts with that letter. :lol: :lol:

alex jj

Postby alex jj » March 5th, 2015, 5:33 pm

who is anil ramlogan?

Postby desifemlove » March 5th, 2015, 7:23 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:I take it you didn't understand the point I made So let me break it down for you.

Why should a role model be someone well known and out of reach when there are role models all around you (I.e. someone with an attribute that you admire and will like to emulate yourself)

My point is that my alternative is better because having the person within reach means having them available to actually mentor your if you really wanted.

Now what is your reason for having a role model that is a well known individual out of reach?

I understood perfectly. which is why i disagree. many people have role models whom they ent know. a person can think "bolt does run fast, i wanna run fast too". inspiration can come from anything......

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » March 6th, 2015, 8:09 am

Saucy Pow

Postby Slartibartfast » March 6th, 2015, 12:54 pm

desifemlove wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:I take it you didn't understand the point I made So let me break it down for you.

I understood perfectly. which is why i disagree. many people have role models whom they ent know. a person can think "bolt does run fast, i wanna run fast too". inspiration can come from anything......

Dear Desifemlove,

Thank you. For perfectly illustrating the simple minded thinking that I was trying to implore people to get away from.

Sincerely
youclearlydidnotunderstand

Postby rspann » March 6th, 2015, 6:08 pm

What is a role model?I seem to misunderstanding something here. What makes Panday a role model? Would you want your children to emulate him? The man reach to the pinnacle and let down himself by taking gifts from the very parasitic oligarchy that he use to spew so much venom on,and then say it was his wife who took it.What going on since he left (airport scandal case) is a direct forerunner to the section 34 scandal.When he was in power what was his legacy? The bloody man make jail too.

JStaples

Postby JStaples » March 6th, 2015, 6:49 pm

True Role Model! :lol: :D
trevor-sayers-stamina-man.jpg
trevor-sayers-stamina-man.jpg (13.47 KiB) Viewed 2646 times

Postby SMc » March 6th, 2015, 7:09 pm

How could everyone forget Duane..i am diasappointed

mragoobir

Postby mragoobir » March 6th, 2015, 7:22 pm

mark2.0 wrote:Saucy Pow
ahahahaha!!!!!!

Postby Mark! » March 6th, 2015, 7:36 pm

Dwayne Booodaisingh