Is it a must to transfer a vehicle when purchasing?

kevk3v

Is it a must to transfer a vehicle when purchasing?

Postby kevk3v » March 13th, 2015, 10:06 pm

Hi Tuners, I just found a really good deal on a car, but the guy who is the current owner did not transfer it to his name. He has a certified copy though. Do you recommend I make sure and get the car transferred or is the receipt enough? He said he can get me in touch with the guy he purchased it from to get it transferred. :cry:
This is my first time buying/owning a car, everyone wants me to buy this.

Re: Is it a must to transfer a vehicle when purchasing?

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 13th, 2015, 10:10 pm

yes you should because someone can say u stole their car and its still on their name. you can do up a document stating you bought the car from jon public. certified copy says x is the owner blah blah blah. all 3 parties would need to go to licensing office...

kevk3v

Postby kevk3v » March 13th, 2015, 10:18 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:yes you should because someone can say u stole their car and its still on their name. you can do up a document stating you bought the car from jon public. certified copy says x is the owner blah blah blah. all 3 parties would need to go to licensing office...

Is it really possible to have a valid certified copy if the vehicle is not on the person's name?

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 13th, 2015, 10:21 pm

yes you just go licensing and pay $100
it would be in the previous owner name

kevk3v

Postby kevk3v » March 13th, 2015, 10:25 pm

So I am paying the guy who is selling the car, he is not the owner? is it a good idea to pay him? It's a Kia Rio with a b14 engine and transmission.

kiran8977

Postby kiran8977 » March 13th, 2015, 10:52 pm

As long as you get a receipt and make sure you get in touch with the person whose name is on the car and ensure that they can make their self available to transfer .......... Otherwise not worth the headache

Postby supercharged turbo » March 13th, 2015, 10:58 pm

From personal experience...don't go through that OP.Everyone telling you to buy a Kia Rio with ah b14 engine as your 1st car?You need new people :roll:

kevk3v

Postby kevk3v » March 13th, 2015, 11:10 pm

They saying I should get something old since I have no road experience... If I decide not to proceed with this, anyone know any good deals?

C & C Trading

Postby C & C Trading » March 13th, 2015, 11:13 pm

How much u have to spend?

kevk3v

Postby kevk3v » March 13th, 2015, 11:20 pm

kiran8977

Postby kiran8977 » March 13th, 2015, 11:32 pm

Definitely don't want something with an old series they will kill you with the insurance especially as you are a new driver

kevk3v

Postby kevk3v » March 13th, 2015, 11:34 pm

I can get someone to get the insurance for me right?

Postby tr1ad » March 13th, 2015, 11:43 pm

They're called insurance agents

Achmed

Postby Achmed » March 14th, 2015, 1:37 am

OP...BY LAW, you have seven days within which to transfer the vehicle from the registered owner's name to yours. Penalties are applied thereafter.

1st vehicle? Do it right the 1st time and make it a personal standard.

About that Kia ... it's a trap.
Is the engine number changed on the cert copy?
Inspection sticker present / up to date?

Shop around some more. It have plenty car out dere. Walk with a mechanic.

kiran8977

Postby kiran8977 » March 14th, 2015, 6:59 am

Wah is for you is for you shop around

kevk3v

Postby kevk3v » March 14th, 2015, 7:17 am

Have to go check it this morning. So make sure the engine number is on the certified copy right and what about the name? It has to be the previous owners name who the car is registered on the certified copy too or the current owner who didnt tranfer the car?
Im walking with a mechanic just wanna know too

Postby supercharged turbo » March 14th, 2015, 8:01 am

If you really serious about this car,tell the person that you paying the money to that you giving them it right there in license office compound as soon as the car is transferred in your name.So that would mean you,the person you're buying it from and the person it is registered to would all have to be there.Simple transaction.If either party has a problem,walk away from that car.There is probably something off that they don't want you to know about.Got hit a shot on my second car and I nearly got 3 charges and end up in jail for some years.When I bought the 3rd car,I told the guy I wanted to do it like this and he had no problem.Everything was legit with car.Be mindful of what you're doing and don't take chain up.

C & C Trading

Postby C & C Trading » March 14th, 2015, 6:46 pm

U could drive gears?

badandy

Postby badandy » March 14th, 2015, 7:59 pm

Achmed wrote:OP...BY LAW, you have seven days within which to transfer the vehicle from the registered owner's name to yours. Penalties are applied thereafter.

1st vehicle? Do it right the 1st time and make it a personal standard.

About that Kia ... it's a trap.
Is the engine number changed on the cert copy?
Inspection sticker present / up to date?

Shop around some more. It have plenty car out dere. Walk with a mechanic.

after you give the man sound advice, he will still buy the car [cuz issa deal]

kevk3v

Postby kevk3v » March 15th, 2015, 6:17 am

D cert didnt match with the new engine thats what the mechanic said

Postby Chimera » March 15th, 2015, 6:23 am

Achmed give you some good advice. Walk away from that headache

Details

Postby Details » March 15th, 2015, 7:24 am

supercharged turbo wrote:If you really serious about this car,tell the person that you paying the money to that you giving them it right there in license office compound as soon as the car is transferred in your name.So that would mean you,the person you're buying it from and the person it is registered to would all have to be there.Simple transaction.If either party has a problem,walk away from that car.There is probably something off that they don't want you to know about.

Yes ... X2

Op what he said. Do it this way if you really want it . And let him look for the owner if they can't meet these terms do not go tru with it.

Bullet_proof

Postby Bullet_proof » March 15th, 2015, 10:41 am

Yea bro doh do dat...I bought ah car from someone the car was not on his name...and he said yea doh wori wen u ready to transfer d car I'll org for you. It's been a year and a half and ah whole set of run around ting.
Take my advise and doh buy it if u can't transfer on your name.

If anyone could advise me what to do to I would appreciate it.

Safe!

Postby supercharged turbo » March 15th, 2015, 12:01 pm

^^what is your situation with the vehicle not being able to transfer?

kevk3v

Postby kevk3v » March 15th, 2015, 2:56 pm

D guy said he had a cert but its not up to date with the new engine.. the mechanic cus a thing and didnt want me to buy it :(

Postby black start » March 15th, 2015, 3:00 pm

that car is trouble packaged with more trouble

music4ever

Postby music4ever » March 15th, 2015, 3:52 pm

For 25k u can do better than that it have b13 b14 ck2 lancers u need someone to guide u properly

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » March 15th, 2015, 6:03 pm

What is the requirement by law after doing an engine swap?

badandy

Postby badandy » March 16th, 2015, 8:00 am

Go to L.O. with your receipt for the new engine, full out the `Change of Engine' form. Line up to go over the inspection pit with documents in hand. just make sure that the officer could clearly see the engine no. and the engine looking a little clean.

dgenius

Postby dgenius » March 16th, 2015, 8:06 am

That man selling the car because he self cant get it transferred to his name and if that cant happen insurance will be problems to get... so leave it alone....