:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 5th, 2015, 8:47 am

Ted_v2 wrote:wheelcylinders.

Yup. Now thinking shoulda bought a cheaper set.

Postby Ted_v2 » July 5th, 2015, 10:04 am

Bro. What you do for a living? Wasn't it you that put down some lifts and a alignments ramp? How's that working out for you?

Postby nervewrecker » July 5th, 2015, 10:38 am

black start wrote:Got this today :lol:

You selling the voltage detector oh wah?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 5th, 2015, 1:09 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Bro. What you do for a living? Wasn't it you that put down some lifts and a alignments ramp? How's that working out for you?

I do alignment and suspension work.

Postby black start » July 5th, 2015, 1:41 pm

black start wrote:Got this today :lol:

You selling the voltage detector oh wah?

No bai. Hard luck! :lol:

Postby nervewrecker » July 5th, 2015, 5:28 pm

Whats the operating voltage for this though? I need one that can do from 12V to anywhere around 300V AC.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » July 6th, 2015, 7:28 am

$20 off $100 on Dewalt from Amazon today only.

Postby pugboy » July 6th, 2015, 7:53 am

nice, however I've found prices on ebay better, equivalent to 20% less
and you don't pay any tax if shipping to miami

Vinesh

Postby Vinesh » July 7th, 2015, 6:40 pm

looking for a stud remover for broken bolts, different sizes will be great since the bolt is abt 1/4" need it asap so local supplier will be best

Postby cinco » July 7th, 2015, 7:33 pm

Try lotech

TEAM ADT

Postby TEAM ADT » July 8th, 2015, 8:18 am

Alternative nuts and bolts Montrose chaguanas

Postby adnj » July 8th, 2015, 6:56 pm

racedriverpro wrote:
X_Factor wrote:anyone ever visited a1 tools?
i heard they have a nice variety of foreign used and new tools
if you shopped there before how are the prices?
because i know a few places selling foreign used tools but with new tool prices

Been there on many occasions. Really good variety. Spoke of the sales representative who indicated that they aquire most of their used tools from foreign auctions. Prices are reasonable too. Bought quite a few pieces there. If u plan to go, be prepared for impulse buying.

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

+1

Postby black start » July 9th, 2015, 4:12 pm

Where is a1 tools BTW?

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » July 9th, 2015, 5:50 pm

^^Saddle Road, San Juan. Not far from San Juan Presbyterian

Postby adnj » July 9th, 2015, 6:30 pm

racedriverpro wrote:^^Saddle Road, San Juan. Not far from San Juan Presbyterian

About 3/4 mile North of the Eastern Main Road/Saddle Road intersection. There's a sign that's hard to miss.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 11th, 2015, 12:30 pm

air compressors - oilless vs oiled type

for home use like wk ends , some box building , small nails nail gun , light projects , most of time blowing out dust

yes i googled & read alot , just wanted to know what u guys prefer or use ? .... :|

Postby 3stagevtec » July 12th, 2015, 1:18 am

- Rovin's car audio - wrote:air compressors - oilless vs oiled type

for home use like wk ends , some box building , small nails nail gun , light projects , most of time blowing out dust

yes i googled & read alot , just wanted to know what u guys prefer or use ? .... :|

I bought a 30gal Industrial Air from Pricesmart about 4-5 years ago and it still serves me reliably. I think I paid in the $3xxx range for it and I am pleased I chose one with a decent sized tank. I use it a lot less these days though since I got a cordless electric impact. I mainly used my compressor to run air tools, but these days Lithium powered electric is the way to go! Compact size, huge power and very light weight.. best for automotive use!

My compressor is mainly used for airing up tyres or blowing dust out of fans / AC etc now.. lol

Postby nervewrecker » July 12th, 2015, 4:27 pm

How much gallons you need if you wanna do the occasional painting? Like if I wanna paint a car.

Postby Ted_v2 » July 12th, 2015, 7:42 pm

The 60 gallon from pricemart is the bomb.
I saw several painters and mechanics using them. No problems so far.

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 12th, 2015, 8:51 pm

Gallons secondary.

Look at the CFM numbers and what your tools require.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » July 13th, 2015, 7:23 am

For DIY home use, 'finish quality' is secondary to pump 'cfm' and tank size to reduce 'down time', waiting for the air supply to catch up to the tool capacity all the time. VERY frustrating! 60 gal single-stage compressor should be good enough.

Just remember that buying a decent water separator and regulator to protect your tools is NOT sufficient!
With a big compressor, you'll have water 'pissing' out everywhere... Air-tools don't survive that for very long.
You should also invest in an aftercooler (eBay) or similar to solve the problem. (DIY plans available on the net. Google it.)
Sanctifier wrote:BTW I posted some pix on an earlier page in this thread about this... Try a Search. :wink:

For a 1-off car painting project, nothing is as important as 'finish quality'. Paint, materials & TIME are VERY expensive!
IMHO look at HVLP turbine kits like this Sprayfine HVLP System... (Yup, eBay again.)
Cheaper that the big 'Brand Names' but just as good IMHO. Been there... Done that! You'll have a constant supply of 'warm' air, so no 'fish eyes' from water droplets!... and no water separator or air filters to buy!!! Worked for me! 8-)

My Image

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 13th, 2015, 11:02 am

already own a craftsman 33g which is oilfree , lasted about 6yrs with fairly light use , bro bought it back then so i never really looked into d specifics until now

motor still works but its stopped pushing air , repair guy says d "leather" piston ring in it has worn , guy says u dont get parts for it so best i get a new 1

anyway from what i read d oil type is noticeably less noisy , old 1 we have is very noisy so thats a big + for me , they say oil type last longer too with proper maintenance of course

can bring 1 down but i want to take a trip down south to some tools stores & see what they have ....

Postby Ted_v2 » July 13th, 2015, 6:15 pm

I recently bought mines and the noise is unbearable. Put it on once and its too loud for my likeness. My neighbors live extremely close to me. I have impact gun and I seeing trouble with breaker bar right thru.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 14th, 2015, 10:50 am

^^^^ so u bought it then ?

Ted_v2 wrote:The 60 gallon from pricemart is the bomb.
I saw several painters and mechanics using them. No problems so far.

hmmm i eh think i able with too much ole noise again nah , oil type for it ...

Postby Ted_v2 » July 14th, 2015, 11:41 am

Nah. I bought a chiney unit. Those from pricemart hardly make noise. I should of bought one of those. They are belt driven so it makes less noise than a electric unit

Postby Chimera » July 27th, 2015, 10:48 am

i was looking for a heatgun last week
i keep burning out the cheap ones atleast once a month so was looking for a more professional one

SSL has this for just under $700

bhagwansingh has it for $1200+ lolll

Postby Rovin » July 27th, 2015, 11:12 am

what ur doing with it to be burning out so often ? tint\vinyl work ?

i bought a cheap chinese name 1 for around us$20 off amazon about 2yrs ago & its still good , rarely use it though ...

Postby Chimera » July 27th, 2015, 11:26 am

heating pvc pipes/barrels to bend them/form them

in most of them the high speed switch stops working

mantis

Postby mantis » July 27th, 2015, 9:17 pm

Where can i get a car spring clamp to buy...

Postby *KRONIK* » July 27th, 2015, 9:25 pm

mantis wrote:Where can i get a car spring clamp to buy...

Bought mine at bobby's in the bamboo

That was a few years ago.....dont remember the price