your HONEST view of the PP/UNC government is?

Daran

Re: your HONEST view of the PP/UNC government is?

Postby Daran » July 14th, 2015, 7:51 am

Man ask for meh ID card on tuner......well yes.

Crackpot, you clearly not to bright if that's your comeback. At least, ask for links to the studies I mentioned so you could do some individual research and say, "so and so not applicable in T&T because of X & Y".

But anyway, the arguments I've seen come from Laptop haters are baseless and ignorant. The whole point of a mass distribution is to produce a technologically literate society.

People may say, videogames, youtube and social media are wasteful, yet those things can probably teach and develop them by exposure to things they just can't get in T&T.

The effect of this won't be seen right now, but maybe in 5 to 10 years when our new workforce in their early 20s have good computer skills and overall knowledge, their efficiency and exposure will aid Trinidad significantly into developing a more educated workforce.

Honestly, what Kamla did there may have just saved Trinidad's future. I know published research may be difficult for your level so here's a news article that can help you.

http://www.theguardian.com/sustainable-business/technology-empower-children-developing-countries

Postby SmokeyGTi » July 14th, 2015, 10:47 am

as corrupt as any government has ever been.. they just get cetch/sellout

Postby desifemlove » July 14th, 2015, 11:10 am

Daran wrote:
Crackpot wrote:You racist pieceofshit...keep spewing all the stereotypes you and the likes of you think. Wtf is a "PNM Kid" ? :| The majority of black ppl in this country had to struggle and make do with what they had growing up. Despicable human-like substances such as you try to separate norms from exceptions, i.e you are implying that Eric Williams set up a system to give money to children in they hand and the "PNM kids" bought sneakers whilst the others bought books and now that is why they are poor and on the streets :roll: Shame on you.

Speech like that is why books are banned, burned and wiped out of history, freedom of speech is a right, but a right has responsibilities. You give your mouth liberty because you know at the end of the day nothing you say will make a difference come sep 7th so all you can do is be vile towards ppl who have no animosity towards you in the first place. This is all on you, and the UNC is no better for having supporters like you, so go somewhere where the "base" enjoys low-level pseudo-racism to make them feel better.

Any I.T technician in any school in Trinidad can attest to the FACT that the majority of those kam-tops have problems, children don't take care of them, they are filled with porn and video games and there is no assimilation of them for classroom activities to genuinely incorporate them into schools. A better alternative would have been I.T labs and teachers in schools creating jobs and pushing the limits of our development by possibly taking the brightest of our children and teaching them coding and programming from a earlier age. Apps all over the world are being developed by teenagers and all we do here is post the latest fight video in colloquial slang. They are nothing but a political gimmick used to make a narcissistic individual look good. Do you guys really think we can reach developed country status by simply giving children laptops? :|
Is that policy? What is the goals in 5yrs? Can we rival Singapore or India in I.T capabilities per capita? Do you even know that the S.E.W that Minister Bharath boasts of us is a Singapore program brought here by PATOS to move business forwards. Instead is social media up the hilt :? Steupz

Nothing has changed from 2010 to now, the UNC feels that they can run a country on propaganda and ONE ministry of works, whilst all of us here pay Health Surcharge and still have to wait long hours if not days in hospitals. They building more hospitals instead of making existing ones better.

Licensing Office still in a mess, Crime has been consistently high averaging 400 per yr. And don't even mention the 500 in one yr because the highest level is NOT the benchmark. CEPEP and URP is still a football used to get rich quick and pass to friends and families and is still not sustainable employment. Speaking of which, where the F@*k is the Central Statistical Office, where is the Scanners they promised at the Ports, where is billions of dollars going? In box drains :|

The interference in Education is suspect at best, Ministry of Energy is a mess, Ministry of Food Production definitely failed, Food in this country is sky high, especially vegetables and fruit, What does the Ministry of Gender do? : Every woman that tried to be honest in the last 5 yrs has been attacked, look at the Prisons, what does the Ministry of Justice do with its budget? What about tourism, can we say arrivals to Trinidad increased? Can we even go Tobago easily? Speaking of which, look at CAL in the last 5 yrs. Ya'll smelling it and drinking it too :roll:

The problem is that we are satisfied with mediocrity according to which side we are on and this causes this country to be polarized and dragged backwards all the time. I bet everyone on this forum has to perform well in their job or else internet access not connected but we are willing to allow BS from these politicians because of our narrow-mindedness. This government has been a colossal failure, be honest, ppl at least were honest before 2010. You owe them nothing 0X

Allow me to correct this idiot. Firstly, what ZR said was right, as a black trini who went to an ‘indian’ prestige school and have family from Malick, Arima. La Horquetta and Laventille. I CAN ATTEST to the fact that the majority of black people in Trinidad waste their government ‘handouts’. There’s a long list of sociological explanations as to why, but let’s not deny the facts. Go back to the 90s and see how Gypsy’s “Little Black Boy” was received.

Firstly, most IT Techs are idiots. I have rarely seen any who are genuinely smart. They should thank their lucky stars these laptops have ‘issues’ because they’d be unemployed if not.
Secondly, I understand most people are grossly unaware of educational, developmental research and UNICEF’s goals. But let me break it down for you in point form.

1. In every instance of providing technological access at home (not only at school!), the children’s IQ and knowledge increased.
2. Not only that, but in cases where parents and other member of family did not have access to technology, when the children brought home their laptops/tablets. It increased almost every measurable metric of societal progress. The stats from numerous published studies showed reduction in crime, scientific awareness, health knowledge, information about government services that they were not aware of, musical knowledge, cultural knowledge etc.

Access to technology was defined either as access to laptops/tablets or/and broadband.

E.g. for those who lack imagination, those same little kids in the ghetto who you all scorn, imagine if because of access to that laptop, learned about music from all over the world, they then learned or got inspired to learn and instrument from free instructional videos on YouTube.
That’s an example with music, but it could be in so many other fields, art, sport, programming, fashion, math etc.

What if the next entrepreneurial computer genius who started the next ‘google’ started off programming on a kam-top??? Economy saved.

You seem to have a problem with Government propaganda, fair enough, I hope you know PNM was just as guilty. And as for licensing office, maybe you were unaware that Caroni has one now, and it’s quite nice!

Ministry of Energy is hardly in a mess, it’s perhaps one of the best run ministries right now under Kevin Ramnerine.

Food inflation under the PP is SIGNIFICANTLY less than under PNM. Do you not remember in one year alone we had a 20% increase in food prices!!! And PPG has done a lot to encourage farming, trust me on that.

The rest of your complaints are frivolous and don’t warrant addressing.

Depends what causes inflation, ent? if there's a wheat famine somewhere, ent that go increase flour prices? or flood in central or south, ent dasheen or eddoes prices gonna go up?

I don't think people doh like the laptop scheme. but then is it administered good? Keeping chirrent off downloading porn is simple, jus have the Windows admin account block/monitor......not an issue of an IT tech being chipid.

Postby UML » July 14th, 2015, 8:16 pm

UML wrote:
UML wrote:
UML wrote:8/10

if people can't remember 5 years ago when

No damn dog bark
Water barrels were at almost every home collecting rain
People used standpipes everyday for daily activities (no more standpipes )
Getting water from rivers and wells
Waiting 5 years to beg for ur road to be paved
Waiting months for government services which are now done in weeks or days
Ignorant unfriendly public servants
"Hidden" grants
Waiting 40+ YEARS for government housing
Unfired corrupt government officials
"Laryngitis" affecting accountability by the PM
Not disclosing the price at which natural gas was being sold to Smelter Plants
Cocaine and mortar in water tanks
Pena Church, World GTL, MV Sue, Gas Optimisation Programme, Petrotrin new administration building
Overpriced, over budgeted cost overrun unfinished projects
When we cringed on budget day rushing to buy petrol and expecting a new tax on budget day
More taxes less services

Shall I go on?

No promotion of agriculture
Agricultural farms being destroyed for housing
Private jet flights and planes
Farmers suffering from flooding and getting $20 compensation
Secret scholarships
Setting up unconstitutional parallel organisations to spy on citizenry
Blimp
Million dollar flag
Mass migration because of daily kidnappings and government government encouraging it
PM wining and dining gang leaders
Property tax which coming back
Mr Big known yet nothing done
Bombings in POS nothing done
Dana Seetahal murder

Reduced power failures. Can't remember when last electricity went by me and if it does is for an hour max. I don't even have candles.
Petrotrin profitless
No more waiting for hours in the sun for a PTSC bus stop
No racial discrimination and victimisation because of political affiliation

Remember dying babies because of government refusing to offer financial assistance (and RowLIE would say the Children Life Fund was the PNM idea? :lol: :lol: )
Remember bedless hospitals. Sleeping on benches and the ground while u wait.

Postby K74T » July 14th, 2015, 8:51 pm

Sleeping on the ground and benches still take place as of 2015.

Postby RASC » July 14th, 2015, 10:48 pm

Look at those people's waist lines. I'm sure its only flour and oil they eating...

Wait oops was called a racist back in the day when flour raised under PNM and thought it a good thing to reduce our flour intake...and then Lowe and behold who reduces the price on flour and oil come post 2010 to further kill off our population?

Postby zoom rader » July 15th, 2015, 7:32 am

RASC wrote:Look at those people's waist lines. I'm sure its only flour and oil they eating...

Wait oops was called a racist back in the day when flour raised under PNM and thought it a good thing to reduce our flour intake...and then Lowe and behold who reduces the price on flour and oil come post 2010 to further kill off our population?

While I agree on raising prices on flour and oil the main culprit is Sugar.
Beer not to far from that either.

But then again is Trini ready for an ageing population since there is disrespect for older folk.

Postby desifemlove » July 15th, 2015, 7:34 am

RASC wrote:Look at those people's waist lines. I'm sure its only flour and oil they eating...

i know plenty afros wit lifestyle disease. why yuh bringing up race? unless yuh tink is only indos in KFC, or eat doubles or other bad food.

Postby zoom rader » July 15th, 2015, 7:42 am

desifemlove wrote:

i know plenty afros wit lifestyle disease. why yuh bringing up race? unless yuh tink is only indos in KFC, or eat doubles or other bad food.

Nah this time RASC right, trinis eat garbage and puts strain on the health care system.

But as I said trini not ready for an ageing population.

RASC still a racist though

Postby RASC » July 15th, 2015, 9:31 am

desifemlove wrote:

You see me bring up race?
Comprehension :idea:

Postby K74T » July 15th, 2015, 9:40 am

Kettle = RASC Pot = zoom rader

Scene. :wink: 8-)

Postby Slartibartfast » July 15th, 2015, 10:16 am

But then again is Trini ready for an ageing population since there is disrespect for older folk.
Why not drop the prices on nutrition rich foods like vegetables and meat? Everytime I buy a lunch outside (be it indian, creole or "international" cuisine) they always load up on the cheapest, least healthy, carb rich foods and skimp on all the good stuff. Two peice of bone with chicken skin for flavour, 1/2 leaf of lettuce cut into 50 pieces and a big box of rice doused in gravy flavoured oil.

It is a lot more difficult and/or expensive to eat healthy and it shows. There are obese indians, creoles and mix breeds in all parts of Trinidad so race has nothing to do with it.

Quick comparison for illustrative purposes only
1 extra peice of chicken in you box (1/3 of your actual meal) of lunch is about $10.

1 loaf of bread (2/3 of a cheap meal) is $15 and can be used for at least 5 meals.
Chicken = $30.00 per meal equivalent
Bread = $4.55 per meal equivalent

This also does not take into account how hard it can be for ordinary folks to make good nutritional choices because of the misleading nutritional information on food packaging. Like "made with 100% real juice" when that real juice forms 1% of the final product.

HSA

Postby HSA » July 15th, 2015, 11:14 am

i eat what i want but exercise after....i eat about 6 doubles...alot of kfc especially the crispy skin....alot of fries also...i drink juice...no soft drink and alot of punches from harry...6' 2'' .....183lbs

i believe no food is bad for you in proportions but exercise is the key...too many trinis too damn lazy

kaylex

Postby kaylex » July 15th, 2015, 11:57 am

No promotion of agriculture
Secret scholarships
Blimp
Million dollar flag
Mass migration because of daily kidnappings and government government encouraging it
Dana Seetahal murder

BUH UML.. Alot of these things happening under this current govt... W ha u sayin??Lol
All yuh fellas good oui..
Pnm does thief but UNC perfected the art ..

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » July 15th, 2015, 12:05 pm

kaylex wrote:No promotion of agriculture
Secret scholarships
Blimp
Million dollar flag
Dana Seetahal murder

BUH UML.. Alot of these things happening under this current govt... W ha u sayin??Lol
Pnm does thief but UNC perfected the art ..

Not only did PNM steal, they aided in destroying our ppl resources and country. PPG stole yes, but still developed...

Daran

Postby Daran » July 15th, 2015, 12:17 pm

kaylex wrote:No promotion of agriculture Nope, and far from the truth, check our http://www.agriculture.gov.tt/services/for-the-public/farmers.html
Agricultural farms being destroyed for housing where exactly?
Private jet flights and planes Not under PP
Farmers suffering from flooding and getting $20 compensation Often due to lack of paper work and old bureaucracy, and those are the exceptions
Secret scholarships Believe me, not happening under PP right now
Setting up unconstitutional parallel organisations to spy on citizenry Can't say, but there is some legistlation that allows this under proper police procedure. UND PNM it was blatent
Blimp Not under PP
Million dollar flag Not under PP
Mass migration because of daily kidnappings and government government encouraging it Not under PP
PM wining and dining gang leaders Not under PP, although lifesport to an extent...
Property tax which coming back It was always due to comeback, PNM just timed it really badly and seemed quite rushed
Mr Big known yet nothing done Ask Manning
Bombings in POS nothing done Not government responsibility, that is police work
Dana Seetahal murder Again, not government responsibility, that falls under the police

Pnm does thief but UNC perfected the art ..It's actually the other way around. PNM does teif, everybody stay quite (status quo), UNC allegedly tief....Headlines and facebook everywhere.....trust me them fellas have not perfected the art at all, they fail badly there IMO

Postby desifemlove » July 15th, 2015, 12:51 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:

Why not drop the prices on nutrition rich foods like vegetables and meat? Everytime I buy a lunch outside (be it indian, creole or "international" cuisine) they always load up on the cheapest, least healthy, carb rich foods and skimp on all the good stuff. Two peice of bone with chicken skin for flavour, 1/2 leaf of lettuce cut into 50 pieces and a big box of rice doused in gravy flavoured oil.

It is a lot more difficult and/or expensive to eat healthy and it shows. There are obese indians, creoles and mix breeds in all parts of Trinidad so race has nothing to do with it.

Quick comparison for illustrative purposes only
1 extra peice of chicken in you box (1/3 of your actual meal) of lunch is about $10.

1 loaf of bread (2/3 of a cheap meal) is $15 and can be used for at least 5 meals.
Chicken = $30.00 per meal equivalent
Bread = $4.55 per meal equivalent

This also does not take into account how hard it can be for ordinary folks to make good nutritional choices because of the misleading nutritional information on food packaging. Like "made with 100% real juice" when that real juice forms 1% of the final product.

how much is yam or dasheen or bodi? or mangoes? firetruck, many these tings grow in gardens, doh have to pay. that argument works more in the US or Europe, not here. it cos people lazy and wanna live up ting.

Postby desifemlove » July 15th, 2015, 12:54 pm

Daran wrote:
kaylex wrote:No promotion of agriculture Nope, and far from the truth, check our http://www.agriculture.gov.tt/services/for-the-public/farmers.html
Agricultural farms being destroyed for housing where exactly?
Private jet flights and planes Not under PP
Farmers suffering from flooding and getting $20 compensation Often due to lack of paper work and old bureaucracy, and those are the exceptions
Secret scholarships Believe me, not happening under PP right now
Setting up unconstitutional parallel organisations to spy on citizenry Can't say, but there is some legistlation that allows this under proper police procedure. UND PNM it was blatent
Blimp Not under PP
Million dollar flag Not under PP
Mass migration because of daily kidnappings and government government encouraging it Not under PP
PM wining and dining gang leaders Not under PP, although lifesport to an extent...
Property tax which coming back It was always due to comeback, PNM just timed it really badly and seemed quite rushed
Mr Big known yet nothing done Ask Manning
Bombings in POS nothing done Not government responsibility, that is police work
Dana Seetahal murder Again, not government responsibility, that falls under the police

Pnm does thief but UNC perfected the art ..It's actually the other way around. PNM does teif, everybody stay quite (status quo), UNC allegedly tief....Headlines and facebook everywhere.....trust me them fellas have not perfected the art at all, they fail badly there IMO

So how come Kams ent say if she know who/what/where Mr. Big is? and if there has been ting in Manning's time as bad as now...how come no person bring it up?

Daran

Postby Daran » July 15th, 2015, 1:28 pm

You do realize she can't even if she knew right? That is a police investigation.

Postby pete » July 15th, 2015, 1:38 pm

The real thing problem with agriculture here is praedial larceny. Someone steals 100 mangoes, they go to court and they get charged for just stealing mangoes with a small fine. They should be made to pay the farmer at market rates, not wholesale, for the items stolen and on top of that be fined for the offence. Incentives should be offered to pay for farmers to fence their estates to reduce the possibility of theft as well.

kaylex

Postby kaylex » July 15th, 2015, 1:43 pm

deds.. truth go hit all yuh soon enough.. Hope allyuh could take it oui

Whats the issue with MR BIG.. if the public knows what ?>?
what does that solve ?

Why do we politicise crime?
allyuh UNC imps and PNM imps different oui .

kaylex

Postby kaylex » July 15th, 2015, 1:59 pm

No promotion of agriculture - Happened under the PPP and PNM ... Limited to no support to promote farming
Agricultural farms being destroyed for housing - Both PNM AND pp
Private jet flights and planes - unc PERHAPS DONT OWN A JET.. AS pnm BUT THEY BOTH HAVE BEEN TRAVELLING WORLDWIDE .. FRIENDS AND FAMILY

Farmers suffering from flooding and getting $20 compensation - Farmers crying same way
Secret scholarships - Same thing happening under PP .. lets not ghet that twisted
Setting up unconstitutional parallel organisations to spy on citizenry - Same thing happening under PP.. same level.. RESHMI, New Flying Squad- with Mervyn Coordner.. NOC ( National Operations Centre) where Mr Heera .. is not legislated either..

Blimp - I am sure there is sheit to come out soon in relation to spying assets
Million dollar flag - Million Dollar Water Treatment Plants, Million Dollar Highway, Police Comissioner
Mass migration because of daily kidnappings and government government encouraging it - I happen to know alot of people and business owners who packing up to leave Trinidad and Tobago same way
PM wining and dining gang leaders- This Govt continues to give Community Leaders lucrative state contracts .. Gang Leader building Police station etc
Property tax which coming back - Both UNC and PNM know for sure they have to bring it
Mr Big known yet nothing done - Are you sure? Does knowledge of Mr big mean evidence of crime? Have you ever heard of the perfect crime?
Bombings in POS nothing done- Again are you sure ?
Dana Seetahal murder - Investigation ongoing .. why politicise this issue ///

Postby UML » July 15th, 2015, 2:30 pm

kaylex wrote:No promotion of agriculture - Happened under the PPP and PNM ... Limited to no support to promote farming
Agricultural farms being destroyed for housing - Both PNM AND pp
Private jet flights and planes - unc PERHAPS DONT OWN A JET.. AS pnm BUT THEY BOTH HAVE BEEN TRAVELLING WORLDWIDE .. FRIENDS AND FAMILY

Farmers suffering from flooding and getting $20 compensation - Farmers crying same way
Secret scholarships - Same thing happening under PP .. lets not ghet that twisted
Setting up unconstitutional parallel organisations to spy on citizenry - Same thing happening under PP.. same level.. RESHMI, New Flying Squad- with Mervyn Coordner.. NOC ( National Operations Centre) where Mr Heera .. is not legislated either..

Blimp - I am sure there is sheit to come out soon in relation to spying assets
Million dollar flag - Million Dollar Water Treatment Plants, Million Dollar Highway, Police Comissioner
Mass migration because of daily kidnappings and government government encouraging it - I happen to know alot of people and business owners who packing up to leave Trinidad and Tobago same way
PM wining and dining gang leaders- This Govt continues to give Community Leaders lucrative state contracts .. Gang Leader building Police station etc
Property tax which coming back - Both UNC and PNM know for sure they have to bring it
Mr Big known yet nothing done - Are you sure? Does knowledge of Mr big mean evidence of crime? Have you ever heard of the perfect crime?
Bombings in POS nothing done- Again are you sure ?
Dana Seetahal murder - Investigation ongoing .. why politicise this issue ///

"same thing happened" but no evidence to strengthen you "same thing" point :shock:

Postby Ted_v2 » July 15th, 2015, 2:41 pm

Ollur does drink rum?
lewwe organize a day and beat some bottle and talk about these smashing issues,

yeah?

Postby desifemlove » July 15th, 2015, 3:03 pm

Daran wrote:You do realize she can't even if she knew right? That is a police investigation.

of course. not my point though. if PNM was in big ting like now, surely there's opportunity to tarnish them jus like Jack trying to do wit Kamla.