Digicel Internet Thread

Re: Digicel 100 down 30 up fibre optic internet.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 23rd, 2015, 9:30 pm

RB34 wrote:http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/4527291767

That is my home connection from flow, cable modem, not fibre

How come TSTT gets 127ms same server?

aren't they using the same fiber optic submarine lines?

RB34

Postby RB34 » July 23rd, 2015, 9:37 pm

Maybe, but they don't own, so they may just buy bandwidth from the owners. It's quite possible they don't buy enough to keep up with their users' consumption so they saturate hence delay. Do a traceroute to google.com and see if you hit a Columbus router at any hop along the way.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 23rd, 2015, 9:55 pm

Did it, saw nothing with Columbus of the sort.

RB34

Postby RB34 » July 23rd, 2015, 11:01 pm

hmm.. may be oversubscription then.. or maybe they take different routes through the US to get to the speedtest server

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 23rd, 2015, 11:43 pm

Then its safe to say TSTT is complete dogshit and I should just get FLOW?

RB34

Postby RB34 » July 23rd, 2015, 11:59 pm

50Mb for $400... cant go wrong there

src1983

Postby src1983 » July 24th, 2015, 8:54 pm

TSTT is the worst, every time it rains you need to restart the modem, plus its like 300 plus for 4mb.

Worst in my are where they they say the line can't handle any more speed.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 4th, 2015, 9:32 am

Can someone here who has access to Digicel please post a link to their speedtest to Miami?

on speedtest.net? I really need to just check something.

alexdeo655

Postby alexdeo655 » August 4th, 2015, 9:39 am

TSTT consistently complains that there lines cant offer more speed, completely ridiculous man

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 4th, 2015, 9:46 am

I well say alexdeo655 come to post a picture of his digicel miami speedtest results yes.

Anyone with Digicel fibre please post a pic of your miami speedtest please thanks.

blitz83

Postby blitz83 » August 4th, 2015, 10:01 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Can someone here who has access to Digicel please post a link to their speedtest to Miami?

on speedtest.net? I really need to just check something.

TT dunno why it says Jamaica

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 4th, 2015, 10:07 am

^ thanks dude, that is impressive. 8ms gained by eliminating copper from the node. hmmm

lol I am a bit jealous I feel like I should have waited for Digicel instead of subscribing to flow. But who knows how long Digicel gonna take to subscribe residential customers.

Can you do just 1 more test for me but this time on pingtest website? same florida connection

http://www.pingtest.net/

ow and ping this website for me in command prompt

ping steampowered.com let me know what ping you get.

That is all, thanks very much for your time aswell.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on August 4th, 2015, 10:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

snatman

Postby snatman » August 4th, 2015, 10:11 am

Flow to Miami

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 4th, 2015, 10:13 am

just need to know what digicel customers getting when they

ping steampowered.com

in command prompt. and I should be good to go.

blitz83

Postby blitz83 » August 4th, 2015, 10:19 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:just need to know what digicel customers getting when they

ping steampowered.com

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.3.9600]
(c) 2013 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

Pinging steampowered.com [88.221.130.35] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 88.221.130.35: bytes=32 time=52ms TTL=51
Reply from 88.221.130.35: bytes=32 time=58ms TTL=51
Reply from 88.221.130.35: bytes=32 time=52ms TTL=51
Reply from 88.221.130.35: bytes=32 time=51ms TTL=51

Ping statistics for 88.221.130.35:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 51ms, Maximum = 58ms, Average = 53ms

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 4th, 2015, 10:39 am

blitz83 thank you so very much may I ask only one last and final request?

ping effectic.com

You are supposed to get a lower ping on even my server. Its in Chicago

blitz83

Postby blitz83 » August 4th, 2015, 10:43 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:blitz83 thank you so very much may I ask only one last and final request?

ping effectic.com

You are supposed to get a lower ping on even my server. Its in Chicago

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.3.9600]
(c) 2013 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\r>ping effectic.com

Pinging effectic.com [104.28.2.46] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 104.28.2.46: bytes=32 time=51ms TTL=50
Reply from 104.28.2.46: bytes=32 time=53ms TTL=50
Reply from 104.28.2.46: bytes=32 time=51ms TTL=50

Ping statistics for 104.28.2.46:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 51ms, Maximum = 53ms, Average = 52ms

C:\Users\r>

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 4th, 2015, 10:50 am

thanks dude.

A friend of mine who works for a company with Digicel sent me a pic with his speedtest seemed incredibly low. What area are you from blitz? not sure why his pings were lower.

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » August 4th, 2015, 11:14 am

When would the digi be a valuable

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 4th, 2015, 11:34 am

^ I heard its in a couple months.

Hopefully Digicel can pull off flow customers away from the flow network and make it better for everyone on it.

make meh care

Postby make meh care » August 4th, 2015, 12:26 pm

Flow Internet Speed
flow.PNG

krb4788

Postby krb4788 » August 4th, 2015, 8:13 pm

Al-Ameen wrote:Flow Internet Speed

Allyuh men real lucky yes! I have 30x3 package (previously 20x2) with Flow and since February my speeds look like this most times. Wasn't home for most of the day today but it was back to 3mb upload, but by 7pm was back to .66mb.

Real sickening. A technician I dealing with will fix whatever outside and within a few hours is back to square one. I really can't wait for Digicel to launch nah! Let Flow f*** far away with their s**t service!
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1438733594.519607.jpg

krb4788

Postby krb4788 » August 4th, 2015, 8:14 pm

That above image was yesterday. Today its the same thing again.

Postby pete » August 4th, 2015, 8:29 pm

Just tested here. Fine to me :)

Caribnomad

Postby Caribnomad » August 4th, 2015, 9:02 pm

From Westmoorings. On Digicel Fibre
steampowered.JPG
From Westmoorings. On Digicel Fibre.
steampowered.JPG (24.63 KiB) Viewed 8342 times

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 5th, 2015, 11:07 am

Caribnomad wrote:From Westmoorings. On Digicel Fibre

interesting.

Can you do a ping test to New York City on speedtest.net?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 5th, 2015, 11:13 am

blitz83 wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:just need to know what digicel customers getting when they

ping steampowered.com

Well here is mine atleast is only 10ms difference is saved with a couple miles of fiber. FTTH vs FTTN that is. So I feel as though flow is satisfactory for me, don't see myself switching to Digicel for FTTH unless they are offering free installation and modem or something like that.

One question I have does Digicel give spiked pings when downloading? you know how DOCSIS 3 internet like flow gives spiked 1000ms pings when downloading. The only tech I know off that does not increase pings while downloading is DSL.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 7th, 2015, 11:11 am

Anyone remembers how much they paid for installation for Digicel?

If they give a special free installation for residential customers I may actually give them a shot. Paid fee I won't bother cause there is tiny advantage gained in latency going full Fiber to the home as opposed to flow's fiber to the node using "last mile copper"

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » August 15th, 2015, 7:05 pm

Caribnomad wrote:Someone asked recently for a speedtest to a Foreign destination:

Here is a test from my 200/50 package, to Garden City, NY.

http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/4399855667

If you are a business owner, and your home is within the business fibre area, you can sign up for a circuit at home, but pay the same rates as your business location.

aye bro.. paste your traceroute info to that server nah. pls

thnx.

and yes the answer to ping concerns would be routes. tstt tends to reconfigure some long and inefficient routes alot. flow seems to use inefficient routes when theyre working on something and want to use the fastest routes for themselves, but later reassign the route once the work is done.

the search is always on for a faster route.

Caribnomad

Postby Caribnomad » August 15th, 2015, 8:04 pm

Sorry, I don't know how to do a tracert to a speedtest server. If you give me the IP address of the server in NY I will do the tracert.

bluesclues wrote:
Caribnomad wrote:Someone asked recently for a speedtest to a Foreign destination:

Here is a test from my 200/50 package, to Garden City, NY.

http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/4399855667

If you are a business owner, and your home is within the business fibre area, you can sign up for a circuit at home, but pay the same rates as your business location.

aye bro.. paste your traceroute info to that server nah. pls

thnx.

and yes the answer to ping concerns would be routes. tstt tends to reconfigure some long and inefficient routes alot. flow seems to use inefficient routes when theyre working on something and want to use the fastest routes for themselves, but later reassign the route once the work is done.

the search is always on for a faster route.