WHAT would YOU like to see the government do ?

Re: WHAT would YOU like to see the government do ?

Postby desifemlove » September 15th, 2015, 7:31 am

bluesclues wrote:
Redman wrote:
bluesclues wrote:i will put one suggestion. sell 50% of we reserves and use it to make a payment towards reducing the deficit owed. that should make our dollar a little more resilient in these times. we already know for sure that as energy technologies advance, demand for oil will reduce and so will price. though there may be price spikes on the market. it's destiny is downward. sell half. keep the rest and see if the market will give you a better price for the rest later. if it does something stupid like doubles, then u basically got all your money back.

Nah breds.

I would focus on becoming self reliant in terms of our domestic energy needs-regardless of what happens we can handle it.
deal with the food import bill
and ask my wife to lay off amazon for a month.....USD demand plummets....econ sorted.
:D

and why pay off debt when its likely that inflation rates in TTd and USD will be heading higher.....making the debt cheaper to repay.

USD heading to its intrinsic value.

because the debt creates inflation son.

debt is not inherently bad. but like with an individual or a household, it has to be manageable.

Postby Redman » September 15th, 2015, 8:15 am

bluesclues wrote:
Redman wrote:no
Increased money supply causes inflation.
One of the mechanisms that may increase money supply would be debt.

Debt can exist without inflation.

debt can exist without inflating the dollar and causing an immediate devaluation. but debt inflates the economy, weakening the dollar and juxtaposes the dollar so that devaluation will occur with the first major mishap. this isnt china where we have such a thriving export sector that we can keep our dollar undervalued to increase supply, encouraging and generating more foreign investment. we have one major export which is in an at risk market and a tourism sector that is anything but flourishing. even for carnival.

this magic, cheaper debt being paid by inflated currency is the same dream greece was hoping for.

the children of the future would like you to start paying back the loan you take on their heads please.

You are talking in lock steps as if one thing leads directly to another....and it doesnt...

And We have more than one export.

Our level of debt isnt ridiculous and you are basing your outlook on a single event-energy prices heading much lower.

but back to the main point

selling half our energy reserves is asinine

niso

Postby niso » September 15th, 2015, 8:53 am

BUILD A PARALLEL DUAL CARRIAGE WAY from PIARCO to BARATARIA OVER PASS

ADDITIONAL LANES at MORVANT JUNCTION and MT HOPE JUNCTION

EXTEND the PBR to SANGRE GRANDE

Daran

Postby Daran » September 15th, 2015, 11:14 am

Redman wrote:
bluesclues wrote:

debt can exist without inflating the dollar and causing an immediate devaluation. but debt inflates the economy, weakening the dollar and juxtaposes the dollar so that devaluation will occur with the first major mishap. this isnt china where we have such a thriving export sector that we can keep our dollar undervalued to increase supply, encouraging and generating more foreign investment. we have one major export which is in an at risk market and a tourism sector that is anything but flourishing. even for carnival.

this magic, cheaper debt being paid by inflated currency is the same dream greece was hoping for.

the children of the future would like you to start paying back the loan you take on their heads please.

You are talking in lock steps as if one thing leads directly to another....and it doesnt...

Our level of debt isnt ridiculous and you are basing your outlook on a single event-energy prices heading much lower.

Intelligent commentary, and honestly both PP and PNM managed the economy quite effectively. That said, Rowley's hint of taking a loan for the Rapid Rail is asinine, especially given that our economy is buffered on oil, gas and drugs, all of which will face an inevitable decline (as most drugs will eventually be de-criminalized, leading to new suppliers and lower demand).

With regards to the rapid rail, it's not a bad idea per say, but traditional transport routes need to be expanded, leveraged and made more efficient. Simple things like the following will have a far greater impact on traffic at a fraction of the cost, while creating more long term employment.
1. Park and ride shuttles across all urban areas and cities
2. School bus systems
3. Staggered working hours
4. Intelligent traffic lights
5. Expanding the road networks (new lanes, new roads, interchanges)
5. Incentives for decentralization in the private sector

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » September 16th, 2015, 5:48 am

Redman wrote:
bluesclues wrote:

well it wouldnt be the first time i make statements that get put down by the 'more educated', only to realize later that what im saying is true. wait till it worth $20. that would be a great time to sell. :rollseyes:

if u dont understand that it IS all connected you dont understand what a circulatory economy is. it is a butterfly effect. i mean really... you arguing about supply and dont realize that taking in more debt is akin to printing more money and thus raising supply. which creates inflation, reducing the purchasing power of the dollar until the inflation gets too high and the currency devalues.

its quite clear u dont understand the full scope of economic management. which is why you cant see the connected aspects.

buh anyhow allour.. it dey eh. it dey. when shtf i will be back to say 'i told u so'. as always. i din bong to suggest nuttn to the pnm. and that is the only suggestion i making for the next 5 years.

Postby De Dragon » September 16th, 2015, 6:40 am

Redman wrote:
bluesclues wrote:

Calling people's suggestions, no matter how nonsensical it may seem to you, doesn't do anyone any good. Why not educate the person on why it may not be the best strategy, and suggest an alternative(s).

Postby Redman » September 16th, 2015, 8:14 am

well it wouldnt be the first time i make statements that get put down by the 'more educated', only to realize later that what im saying is true. wait till it worth $20. that would be a great time to sell. :rollseyes:

if u dont understand that it IS all connected you dont understand what a circulatory economy is. it is a butterfly effect. i mean really... you arguing about supply and dont realize that taking in more debt is akin to printing more money and thus raising supply. which creates inflation, reducing the purchasing power of the dollar until the inflation gets too high and the currency devalues.

its quite clear u dont understand the full scope of economic management. which is why you cant see the connected aspects.

buh anyhow allour.. it dey eh. it dey. when shtf i will be back to say 'i told u so'. as always. i din bong to suggest nuttn to the pnm. and that is the only suggestion i making for the next 5 years.

Ok so based on De Dragons emotive response..lets see.

i will put one suggestion. sell 50% of we reserves and use it to make a payment towards reducing the deficit owed. that should make our dollar a little more resilient in these times.

1)How much per barrel do you think we will get?
None of your opinions are uncommon ..so what value would we get from unproduced reserves..?
What figure did you use?

2) SO the entities need to produce the reserves.....transport,ship to market.Unless its processed here. After this is factored in whats the net figure we get??

3)What do we do with the demand for local transportation fuels? Import ???
At what rate can we convert our rolling stock to alternative fuels

4)What do we with the refinery that is designed for our locally produced API crude?Import???

5) How do we replace the Royalties and Taxes the Govt will receive from the production of these reserves?

6) Considering that the Caribbean islands are importers of all fuels ....should we become like them and have a daily USD import bill that cant be met?..based on the MOEEE consolidated report July 2015..Petrotrin sold LOCALLY 2.65M BBLs of Gas and 2.4M BBLs of Diesel.Since the international prices are similar we could count that as 5M bbls of imports over 7 months. There are 42 US gallons ina Oil Barrel...we could use $2 USD per barrel ...420M USD or about 2M USD per day....

7) With our debt to GDP at about 50% why would we take such drastic action??

8 ) Interest rates less rate of inflation=true cost of debt. Mathematically does it make sense to sell off productive assets to pay off low cost debt?

Selling the reserves means that we are able to meet our own refining/transportation requirements for a short time in the future....
It means FINANCING for current production becomes impossible....current arrangements are based on us having oil to produce.
It means depending on International sources for a mandatory need...subject to international prices.

Making the suggestion indicated that bluesclues would have done some numerical analysis..and should be able to defend it in some detail....substantiating his conclusion.

To do otherwise would be ....asinine.
Last edited by Redman on September 16th, 2015, 2:32 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Master of Disaster

Postby Master of Disaster » September 16th, 2015, 9:23 am

Make good with laventille and the criminal minds .hire more thief's for government officials .do not help the poor because they will continuously want and save the country money to help the neighbouring countries so that we would look good out there and final .please save my uncle Jack .

Postby A172 » September 16th, 2015, 11:17 am

RBphoto wrote:
j.o.e wrote:Engine tax should be replaced by a tax based on manufacturer stated mpg. For the specific engine being brought to showrooms. (This only applies to new cars)
So in some cases we will be able to get bigger engines that are more efficient if that is the case. As well as cheaper hybrids etc. People should be rewarded for choosing more efficient vehicles.
Taxing based on engine size is no longer useful.

This ^^^^ a good idea, to rationalize taxing engines, but I am altogether against any type of evaluated tax and in favor of a flat tax for another reason. The more leeway you give licencing officers to evaluate the tax lower for an importer, the greater the probability there would be a bribe. Remove any benefit they can provide to someone for a bribe and there would be less chance of a bribe.

wah ah licensing officer hv to do wid mvt?

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » September 16th, 2015, 11:22 am

Revising the laws to eliminate the need for paper records and the acceptance of digital signatures, telecommuting, real decentralisation, and improved work ethic in all Government agencies.

On a side note I would also like to see all persons employed on Short Term contracts and OJTs not lose their jobs due to this "changing of the guard".

Postby desifemlove » September 16th, 2015, 2:21 pm

Daran wrote:
Redman wrote:
bluesclues wrote:

Intelligent commentary, and honestly both PP and PNM managed the economy quite effectively. That said, Rowley's hint of taking a loan for the Rapid Rail is asinine, especially given that our economy is buffered on oil, gas and drugs, all of which will face an inevitable decline (as most drugs will eventually be de-criminalized, leading to new suppliers and lower demand).

With regards to the rapid rail, it's not a bad idea per say, but traditional transport routes need to be expanded, leveraged and made more efficient. Simple things like the following will have a far greater impact on traffic at a fraction of the cost, while creating more long term employment.
1. Park and ride shuttles across all urban areas and cities
2. School bus systems
3. Staggered working hours
4. Intelligent traffic lights
5. Expanding the road networks (new lanes, new roads, interchanges)
5. Incentives for decentralization in the private sector

Most countries, even wealthy ones like the USA or Canada, take loans for major projects. Governments always borrow in every budget. If a rail system is paid back over decades, what wrong wit dat?

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » September 16th, 2015, 2:30 pm

A minor change that will have great impact. Split the three largest regional corporations.--Laventille/SanJuan , Tunapuna /Piarco and Couva /Tabaquite/ Talparo.

Each of them is 150,000 people and over.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » September 16th, 2015, 4:57 pm

I would like to see the gubment take back UML sea laptop

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » September 16th, 2015, 6:01 pm

Finish the highway and don't get rid of all the educational programs that are running like gate etc

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » September 17th, 2015, 2:09 am

Redman wrote:

Ok so based on De Dragons emotive response..lets see.

i will put one suggestion. sell 50% of we reserves and use it to make a payment towards reducing the deficit owed. that should make our dollar a little more resilient in these times.

1)How much per barrel do you think we will get?
None of your opinions are uncommon ..so what value would we get from unproduced reserves..?
What figure did you use?

2) SO the entities need to produce the reserves.....transport,ship to market.Unless its processed here. After this is factored in whats the net figure we get??

3)What do we do with the demand for local transportation fuels? Import ???
At what rate can we convert our rolling stock to alternative fuels

4)What do we with the refinery that is designed for our locally produced API crude?Import???

5) How do we replace the Royalties and Taxes the Govt will receive from the production of these reserves?

6) Considering that the Caribbean islands are importers of all fuels ....should we become like them and have a daily USD import bill that cant be met?..based on the MOEEE consolidated report July 2015..Petrotrin sold LOCALLY 2.65M BBLs of Gas and 2.4M BBLs of Diesel.Since the international prices are similar we could count that as 5M bbls of imports over 7 months. There are 42 US gallons ina Oil Barrel...we could use $2 USD per barrel ...420M USD or about 2M USD per day....

7) With our debt to GDP at about 50% why would we take such drastic action??

8 ) Interest rates less rate of inflation=true cost of debt. Mathematically does it make sense to sell off productive assets to pay off low cost debt?

Selling the reserves means that we are able to meet our own refining/transportation requirements for a short time in the future....
It means FINANCING for current production becomes impossible....current arrangements are based on us having oil to produce.
It means depending on International sources for a mandatory need...subject to international prices.

Making the suggestion indicated that bluesclues would have done some numerical analysis..and should be able to defend it in some detail....substantiating his conclusion.

cant we just sell it to foreign investors as shares? so that they basically will now own 50% of our reserves and we'll hold on to the cold hard cash. guyana i believe just entered into an arrangement for trinidad to supply it with oil because the venezuelan shipments arriving late.

many countries that are not oil producing like us still want to secure a supply of oil for their country's needs. its just about who's going to do the sales pitch and ensure the deal is mutually beneficial to the parties involved. im fine with a value of $40-45 per reserve share for up to 50%. current market prices. if oil goes back to $20 and we dont sell anything. it basically was an excercise in futility standing on worthless reserves as a means to backup our budget deficit. maybe we should start working with that figure from now. and stop promoting reserves value as x and x based on current market prices because we know it gonna go down. so truth be told, instead of 65billion worth of reserves. by the time it gets sold its true value is only about 20bn. so that is the current value of the reserves.

how we paying back the deficit now? we going and borrow from greece?

Postby Redman » September 17th, 2015, 7:46 am

bluesclues wrote:
Redman wrote:

cant we just sell it to foreign investors as shares? so that they basically will now own 50% of our reserves and we'll hold on to the cold hard cash. guyana i believe just entered into an arrangement for trinidad to supply it with oil because the venezuelan shipments arriving late.

many countries that are not oil producing like us still want to secure a supply of oil for their country's needs. its just about who's going to do the sales pitch and ensure the deal is mutually beneficial to the parties involved. im fine with a value of $40-45 per reserve share for up to 50%. current market prices. if oil goes back to $20 and we dont sell anything. it basically was an excercise in futility standing on worthless reserves as a means to backup our budget deficit. maybe we should start working with that figure from now. and stop promoting reserves value as x and x based on current market prices because we know it gonna go down. so truth be told, instead of 65billion worth of reserves. by the time it gets sold its true value is only about 20bn. so that is the current value of the reserves.

So your position is getting some one to pay 40 for a barrel.....spend 20 per barrel to extract....ignoring the capex...which could be significant ....in order to sell it back at.......45..?.??

He selling here?...if so GORTT gets 50% royalty...which means the poor fella gets a haircut.
We either change the law...forgoing revenue...
Or he ships..to a market where...though where?

You were sure that oil prices heading lower.Now you suggesting that there is some one who is smart enough to amass the money to purchase ,but dumb enough to pay 50% above market for risked reserves.when one can purchase all the oil one can need already at surface.

Let's discuss the above...I'm willing to be convinced......before we reach to payback....we need to get someone to buy

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » September 17th, 2015, 4:29 pm

Redman wrote:
bluesclues wrote:
Redman wrote:

So your position is getting some one to pay 40 for a barrel.....spend 20 per barrel to extract....ignoring the capex...which could be significant ....in order to sell it back at.......45..?.??

He selling here?...if so GORTT gets 50% royalty...which means the poor fella gets a haircut.
We either change the law...forgoing revenue...
Or he ships..to a market where...though where?

You were sure that oil prices heading lower.Now you suggesting that there is some one who is smart enough to amass the money to purchase ,but dumb enough to pay 50% above market for risked reserves.when one can purchase all the oil one can need already at surface.

Let's discuss the above...I'm willing to be convinced......before we reach to payback....we need to get someone to buy

and you is the energy sector exxpert? thas not my wukk. i show u the way. u carve it and find the buyer with your best sales pitch. lol

and yes. as i said. you as a citizen of a oil producing country are not thinking like a citizen of a country that needs to import oil to survive. that is how you have to think.

actually. $40 is so ideal now. its at a mid point where it still provides opportunity for savings for an oil importing country. the price could go up. look at this. if u pitch this fact together with the price security for purchasing those reserves from us. another country could see that as massive savings. they can also use it as debt security in their own country and if the price ever falls below they still have the option to import at the lower prices elsewhere until price goes back up. but until then theyd have a guaranteed $40 price per barrel for as long as the reserves last them even if the price goes to $80. if they choose to use it.

b14inb12

Postby b14inb12 » September 18th, 2015, 6:38 am

would like to see this be done
train.jpg

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » September 18th, 2015, 10:22 am

Ever take into consideration the size of these countries in the comparison? ^^^

We are a speck in Germany, China, USA.

Postby sMASH » October 10th, 2015, 10:26 pm

Abandon Westminster bicameral system for a more American type of system, with an auditing section overlooking all public spending.

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » October 12th, 2015, 11:01 am

Stop giving false information to the public.

Case in point: Telling people in the budget speech that you are removing taxes from Agricultural chemicals when the truth is that there has NOT been a tax on chemicals for years now.

Typo there...had to edit
Last edited by TriniAutoMart on October 13th, 2015, 12:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 13th, 2015, 9:55 am

Focus on renewable energy and agriculture

So we have more oil to export (since we not burning it on ourselves) , we could be a mini saudi arabia inno

Also, we ha rel land still, plant rel sheit to sell overseas

Postby K74T » October 13th, 2015, 9:56 am

Ban all internet privileges from Effectic Designs. :|

Postby teems1 » October 13th, 2015, 10:28 am

Do away with all those 1-3 month politically appointed contract employees in all the Ministries. If you're going to be on contract, you better be suited and qualified to the job and not just collecting 20k + benefits per month for being a party supporter.

Release the under performing staff from Ministries instead of transferring them around for 20-30 years.

Have all government tenders and bids scanned then posted on each Ministry's website. The adjoining document justifying the selection of bid should also be posted.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 13th, 2015, 12:00 pm

Also, annual performance reviews of permanently employed public employees so they could get rid of more of the dead weight. They could also offer more permanent jobs while they at it. Hold on to the good ones while they letting the bad ones go.

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » October 13th, 2015, 12:11 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Also, annual performance reviews of permanently employed public employees so they could get rid of more of the dead weight. They could also offer more permanent jobs while they at it. Hold on to the good ones while they letting the bad ones go.

This is a joke.
Industrial court and Watson Duke (or whoever it is) will be working overtime.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 13th, 2015, 12:55 pm

Yeah I've come to terms with the fact that that will never happen.

Postby sMASH » October 13th, 2015, 12:56 pm

But how can they justify non performance ?

Posting of the accounting of the ministery on their website is a wonderful idea. This way, anyone can easily peruse and flag any inappropriate spending.
And as a citizen of TnT, we should be able to monitor how every cent being spent.

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » October 13th, 2015, 1:36 pm

sMASH wrote:But how can they justify non performance ?

Posting of the accounting of the ministery on their website is a wonderful idea. This way, anyone can easily peruse and flag any inappropriate spending.
And as a citizen of TnT, we should be able to monitor how every cent being spent.

There is always some reason not to do this so just like getting rid of the non-performers in the service, this will not happen.

Postby eliteauto » October 13th, 2015, 2:32 pm

I'd like to see the Min of Tourism take the MP for Mayaro's criticism and suggestions re tourism development seriously and not just dismiss it as Parliamentary banter, he said a lot of sense