Government achievement thread (PNM EDITION 2015-2025)

Re: Government achievement thread.

Postby De Dragon » October 12th, 2015, 11:02 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Relax dude, I don't claim to be neutral and it is clear I support the PNM and I'm willing to criticise them.

You however are doing a horrible job as passing yourself off as neutral, all while pawning yourself with your contradictions. If you don't like what I post you don't have to respond to them, sorry if they upset you.

Neutral? I am anti-Rowley. What contradictions? I call a spade a spade even if it means going against whatever party I support. Upset? What are you 12?. This is an open forum last time I checked.

De Dragon wrote:Well lets see if the 23,150,000 allocation that they receive will make us suddenly A+ again. I'm not anti-Rowley, in fact thus far into his short tenure as PM I have been impressed by his mostly good plans/outlook for the country.

You and ED are family?

Nevertheless, I am glad to reasonableness. Flip flop, but reasonable.

As much as you'd like to claim me as a convert, I'm not flip-flopping. As any reasonable person would, I give people a chance before I judge them, and I will certainly give Messrs Rowley and company their time. It must be stated however that Shamfa Cudjoe's statement was extremely disappointing, as well as Darryl Smith's during the debate. They are coming across as jumped up neophytes looking to impress with distasteful personal attacks and arrogance. These are times when the PM must make some comment for the public to know that he has a handle on his Ministers, and that the "Rottweiler" can come out in spite of the toned down public persona. Sadly it is so early in the game for this type of low class behaviour.
*In B4 the UNC/PP crew do it too crowd*

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 12th, 2015, 11:52 pm

Redman wrote:Yeah but it get back breezy

rumor is that the UNC was teifing wind and all

Horse, you really make me laugh with this one.

Postby The_Honourable » October 13th, 2015, 12:51 am

Nothing wrong with Cudjoe's comment if you understand the backdrop of it.

Smith's comment was funny but at the end of the day, you are not in secondary school, you are in parliament.

Moonilal was distasteful. No excuses for that but at least he apologized.

Postby zoom rader » October 15th, 2015, 7:20 pm

The PNM Minster of Education is a dunce when it comes to pronunciations of East Indians name.

Postby rfari » October 15th, 2015, 7:22 pm

zoom rader wrote:The PNM Minster of Education is a dunce when it comes to pronunciations of East Indians name.

Sir. Question. How is ur last name pronounced?
Per-darh-raught
Or
Pad-ah-rath
???

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 16th, 2015, 12:38 am

Is it the comment itself or the tone and arrogance behind it that was aggravating and possibly unwarranted?

Also everyone seems to focusing on the Cudjoe-Moonilal exchange and taking it in isolation, however could some one confirm whether or not at or just before rather, that Minister Hinds was himself hurling insulting remarks that further fanned the flames or for that matter ignited the incident?

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 16th, 2015, 2:22 am

zoom rader wrote:The PNM Minster of Education is a dunce when it comes to pronunciations of East Indians name.

Majority of Creoles seem to have difficulty.

Daran

Postby Daran » October 16th, 2015, 5:49 am

Numb3r4 wrote:Is it the comment itself or the tone and arrogance behind it that was aggravating and possibly unwarranted?

Also everyone seems to focusing on the Cudjoe-Moonilal exchange and taking it in isolation, however could some one confirm whether or not at or just before rather, that Minister Hinds was himself hurling insulting remarks that further fanned the flames or for that matter ignited the incident?

It seems that way as Faris wasn't saying anything damning them at the moment Monilal uttered those words.

Postby Redman » October 16th, 2015, 5:57 am

rfari wrote:

Per-darh-raught
Or
Pad-ah-rath
???

meh
potatoh/pohtaato

Prince's/Princess

same sheeeeit shank

Postby Habit7 » October 16th, 2015, 9:02 am

rfari wrote:

Per-darh-raught
Or
Pad-ah-rath
???

All this time we were mispronouncing Vasant's and Kelvin's name. I wondered if they themselves knew. It should have been:

Bha-ROTH & Ram-NOTH

Postby Redman » October 16th, 2015, 9:05 am

Dais de Sipuhria accent?

Postby 1UZFE » October 16th, 2015, 9:22 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:

Majority of Creoles seem to have difficulty.

Hahahaahhahhaha

Re: PNM Government Achievement Thread-UML Edition

Postby Habit7 » October 16th, 2015, 9:35 am

UML wrote:THE GOOD OLD DAYS WE MISSED

For those who carped about how govt couldn't continue contracts when they came in, this is why

Daran

Postby Daran » October 16th, 2015, 10:13 am

Habit7,

"Spending like crazy" is misnomer here. What PP did was pay off outstanding debts to contractors, before elections. In 2010, after the snap election, hundreds if not thousands of contractors were left unpaid (myself included) till 2011/12. PP essentially had to use billions of the first two budgets cleaning up messes like this and Clico.
Last edited by Daran on October 16th, 2015, 10:25 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby zoom rader » October 16th, 2015, 10:19 am

Daran wrote:Habit7,

"Spending like crazy" is misnomer here. What PP did was pay off outstanding debts to contractors, before elections. In 2010, after the snap election, hundreds if not thousands of contractors were left unpaid (myself included) till 2011/12. This did not happen in 2010 due to the snap election, but PP essentially had to use billions of the first two budgets cleaning up messes like this and Clico.

Hoss doh bring them kinda facts here, PNM ppl cant understand dem tings

Postby Habit7 » October 16th, 2015, 10:30 am

I dont know if you are aware the last government also left debts to contractors in WASA, EFCL, RHA's, Constructura OAS, Couva Hospital, etc. All gov't leaves debt, especially one that called a snap election. Also with the money given to CLICO the govt now owns an asset, CLICO is well on their way to paying back the govt and already paid back $7B. http://www.ctntworld.com/cnews2/index.p ... Itemid=707

The is no justification to announce that oil prices are low and that you cutting back spending, yet you announce elections, spend $6B in 3 months, drain the treasury, and hope to hold strain by borrowing $1B until the budget. The PP said that it spent in a manner that it hoped to stop deficit budgeting by this year. If they won and continued the same style of governance we literally would be bankrupted or they would have had to change their style. The adjustments the PNM had to make was advice given to the PP for years and they refused to heed it. They partied for 5yrs and now sit in Opposition and complain about why measures had to be taken.

Postby zoom rader » October 16th, 2015, 10:34 am

^^^ PNM has never ran this country on low oil prices, they always lucky to run it when it high and then they buss they country as did before.
Jah bless UNC for running this country on $9US a barrell.

Postby Redman » October 16th, 2015, 10:39 am

"Spending like crazy" is misnomer here. What PP did was pay off outstanding debts to contractors, before elections. In 2010, after the snap election, hundreds if not thousands of contractors were left unpaid (myself included) till 2011/12. PP essentially had to use billions of the first two budgets cleaning up messes like this and Clico.

Daran...removing the party noise....the last Govt had the highest revenue for any 5 year period...they had the fiscal room to settle the above issues without leaving the mess that they (allegedly) left behind.

What they lacked is the fiscal discipline.

They CHOSE to do things the way they did...

Postby Habit7 » October 16th, 2015, 10:48 am

zoom rader wrote:Jah bless UNC for running this country on $9US a barrell.

When has WTI (the oil price index we use) has ever been US$9 under a UNC govt?

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 16th, 2015, 7:45 pm

^^ I believe they are referring to the Panday Administration.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » October 16th, 2015, 8:47 pm

:? EFCL "awarded" 4 contracts to Motilal Ramhit and Sons and 3 of the parent company's subsidiary companies. Mind you, MR&S was not performing at all on the EFCL contracts that he had in hand already, but yet he was awarded over $100M+ in additional contracts? On top of that, MR&S got a 20% advance payment on these contracts when the industry standard for advance payment is 10% of the contract sum.

To further add insult to injury, you should see the tender documents against which these $100M+ contracts were awarded. The contracts manager, the CEO and the Board of Directors of EFCL should be sued for the gross negligence that went on with these contracts.

And that is just one example of the corruption that went on at EFCL.

Postby zoom rader » October 16th, 2015, 11:13 pm

Habit7 wrote:

That was before your time in the mid to late 1990s. Keep learning bro

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 16th, 2015, 11:17 pm

ZR that was Pandey, he could run a country on low oil prices $9 a barrel.

You seriously think Kamla and her Cabal could run this country on low oil price? that one is a pipe dream. She and her cabal are big spenders! and lie about many things. She is NOT Pandey.

Postby zoom rader » October 16th, 2015, 11:32 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:ZR that was Pandey, he could run a country on low oil prices $9 a barrel.

You seriously think Kamla and her Cabal could run this country on low oil price? that one is a pipe dream. She and her cabal are big spenders! and lie about many things. She is NOT Pandey.

They did when oil was hovering around $40.
PNM now come and already balwing and oil around $50.

PNM has only been in office for one month and already we have seen they are back to their old ways.
They are even worst than before, they are more arrogant and blatantly showing it.
Their new MP behaves as if junior sec over and they ready for fight cause a lil injun step on their shoes.
Imbert I used to have high regards for and he turns out to be a jackass.
Only the Minister of Energy and the PNM Prime Minister showing some decorum .
The rest on the Government side are gutter trash .

Postby De Dragon » October 17th, 2015, 6:08 am

Habit7 wrote:I dont know if you are aware the last government also left debts to contractors in WASA, EFCL, RHA's, Constructura OAS, Couva Hospital, etc. All gov't leaves debt, especially one that called a snap election. Also with the money given to CLICO the govt now owns an asset, CLICO is well on their way to paying back the govt and already paid back $7B. http://www.ctntworld.com/cnews2/index.p ... Itemid=707

The is no justification to announce that oil prices are low and that you cutting back spending, yet you announce elections, spend $6B in 3 months, drain the treasury, and hope to hold strain by borrowing $1B until the budget. The PP said that it spent in a manner that it hoped to stop deficit budgeting by this year. If they won and continued the same style of governance we literally would be bankrupted or they would have had to change their style. The adjustments the PNM had to make was advice given to the PP for years and they refused to heed it. They partied for 5yrs and now sit in Opposition and complain about why measures had to be taken.
What facking adjustments?
A 20+ billion dollar DEFICIT Budget is adjusting? Dimbert roundly condemn the last administration and then proceed to do exactly what they did in his 2016 Budget. Worse yet, this is to continue until 2018. You can't be tough and "hennish", is either semi-austerity or at least sensible ideas for diversification and economic recovery.

Postby Habit7 » October 17th, 2015, 6:53 am

Habit7 wrote:

That was before your time in the mid to late 1990s. Keep learning bro
No sir, that is a UNC lie told so that the gullible might believe. Seems like they got another one.

York

Postby York » October 17th, 2015, 7:19 am

Postby zoom rader » October 17th, 2015, 3:47 pm

York wrote:https://research.stlouisfed.org/fred2/series/DCOILWTICO/downloaddata

Maybe Habit7 can learn from this that UNC ran this country on US 9 a barrel without any new or increase taxes on citizens

PNM getting US 50 and and bussin tax with more to come.

Postby Habit7 » October 17th, 2015, 3:59 pm

Maybe Habit7 can learn from this that UNC ran this country on US 9 a barrel without any new or increase taxes on citizens

Umm...

There were no $9 prices, Kamla and Moonilal lied. I guess York posted it to show you but continue to self-pawn.

Postby zoom rader » October 17th, 2015, 5:22 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Umm...

There were no $9 prices, Kamla and Moonilal lied. I guess York posted it to show you but continue to self-pawn.

2 Recommendations
of 23334

For 2014: Fourteen things you didn’t know about the oil & gas industry
By Angus Warren January 10 2014, 10:10am

proactiveinvestors.co.uk

Have you ever wondered where that extra 'b' comes from in bbls? Angus Warren, owner of oil consultancy Warren Business Consulting, has the answer as he offers up 14 interesting facts about the oil & gas industry.

1. The birth of the modern oil industry is held by many to be Drake’s well in Pennsylvania in 1859. The world’s first hand-drilled oil well however was in Baku, Azerbaijan, in 1848 (Russian Oil and Gas Institute).

2. Estimates of the world’s gas hydrate resource vary from 10,000 trillion cubic feet to more than 100,000 trillion cubic feet of natural gas (EIA). In comparison, total gas proved reserves at the end of 2012 stood at 6,612 trillion cubic feet (BP Statistical Review of World Energy, 2013).

3. The production sharing contract, at least in its modern form, was introduced by Indonesia. The so-called “Contract for Work” was implemented in 1960 (Oxford Institute for Energy Studies).

4. Oil and gas companies invested US$681 billion in E&P capital projects in 2013 and this will increase to US$723 billion in 2014 (Barclays Capital).

5. The lowest average annual average crude oil price in the US was US$0.49/bbl in 1861 (EIA). Brent hit an all-time low of US$9.10/bbl on 10 December 1998 (EIA).

6. OPEC was formed in September 1960. The five founding members of OPEC were: Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia and Venezuela (OPEC).

7. Iceland is the world’s biggest consumer of energy per head at 18,809 kg of oil equivalent per person per year (2012, World Bank). The equivalent figure for the US was 6,793kg, Japan 3,539kg and the UK 3,043kg.

8. Shell’s Prelude FLNG is the largest floating offshore facility ever created. The “ship” weighs in at 600,000 tonnes and has decks measuring 488 by 74 metres. It has been built to process 3.6MTPA (million tonnes per annum) gas from the Prelude field off Australia’s north-west coast.

9. The longest oil pipeline, Druzhba, is part of a huge pipeline network that stretches 5,327km (3,329 miles) from eastern Russia to Germany (Pipelines International).

10. Meanwhile, the world’s longest gas pipeline has just been commissioned. The imaginatively named West-East Pipeline runs from Huoerguosi on the China-Kazakhstan border, to Shanghai in east China and Hong Kong in south China. It’s 8,704km or 5,440 miles long (Forbes).

11. As of 5 January 2014, there are 3,344 drilling rigs active around the world (Baker Hughes).

12. Transocean’s ultra-deepwater drillship, Dhirubhai Deepwater KG1, holds the world record for the deepest water depth by an offshore drilling rig. The rig spudded a well in 10,411 feet (3,174 metres) of water while working for ONGC off the East coast of India in July 2013 (Transocean).

13. The word ‘petroleum’ translates literally as ‘rock oil’. Petroleum comes from the Greek word ‘petra’ meaning rock, and the Latin word ‘oleum’ meaning oil.

14. And finally, we are back to Drake in Pennsylvania in the 1850s. It is commonly understood that the unit of measurement in the oil industry is barrels because a plentiful supply of old whiskey and beer barrels were to hand at first oil.

But where does the extra ‘b’ in bbls come from? Extensive research suggests that the additional ‘b’ stands for blue and that there is documented evidence that blue barrels were in use well before Drake’s time.

http://www.siliconinvestor.com/readmsgs ... htype=Next

Apart from being employed in the Oil business, I also own a number of shares in oil companies around the world. Part of that is having to study the oil prices charts vs the companies performance when oil goes up and down. I too did not believe that UNC ran trini on $9US a barrel, the fact is that they did in Dec 1998.