Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby Pointman-IA » October 24th, 2015, 5:40 pm

Thorns?
Hmmm

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » October 25th, 2015, 7:16 am

On a separate issue, how do you know when a pumkin is ready to be picked.? i knocked it and it is hollow, but the stem holding it is still green....

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 25th, 2015, 8:22 am

TrinbagoMan wrote:On a separate issue, how do you know when a pumkin is ready to be picked.? i knocked it and it is hollow, but the stem holding it is still green....

http://www.gardeningknowhow.com/edible/ ... e-ripe.htm

more or less what this article says....

what type of pumpkin though?? crappo back or the regular?

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » October 27th, 2015, 2:26 pm

Anyone here knows what type of grass they use along the waterfront behind Tower C and D?

York

Postby York » October 27th, 2015, 8:30 pm

TrinbagoMan wrote:On a separate issue, how do you know when a pumkin is ready to be picked.? i knocked it and it is hollow, but the stem holding it is still green....

The stem is connected to the vine and root. If the stem is green and intact, it is not ready as it is still getting nutrients from the root. When the stem dries it is ready to pick. Pumpkins can remain for weeks before selling or being good to use provided it is sanitized and have no defect that would lead to deterioration or rotting.

The problem is if left too long, the real owners may pass and claim. Less likely as they are real heavy to pick and price is low per pound.

The crop should be 3.5 to 4 months generally.

York

Postby York » October 27th, 2015, 8:35 pm

Anyone ever did a crop of cantaloupe melons? How's the local market and current wholesale price per pound?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 27th, 2015, 8:41 pm

Pointman-IA wrote:Thorns?
Hmmm

How about Thorns and Poison Ivy? I am looking for the most deadly poisonous plants around, anywhere in Trinidad sells this? the one tree I have growing worse than porcupine. Its like an abomination of thorns but I was hoping for one that is also poisonous. Or atleast poison ivy to plant along side it so when someone tries to go through they won't be coming back.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » October 28th, 2015, 6:41 pm

How much is it to rent an excavator in the Chin Chin Road Area?

Postby Chimera » October 28th, 2015, 7:05 pm

probably 5k a day a 3-5k transport

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » October 28th, 2015, 7:18 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:probably 5k a day a 3-5k transport

Thanks

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 28th, 2015, 8:20 pm

TriniAutoMart wrote:Anyone here knows what type of grass they use along the waterfront behind Tower C and D?

boy just past around 3 in the morning and dig out a piece nuh

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » October 29th, 2015, 12:58 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
TriniAutoMart wrote:Anyone here knows what type of grass they use along the waterfront behind Tower C and D?

boy just past around 3 in the morning and dig out a piece nuh

I not about that jail life.

I rather just find out what type it is and go buy some in the agro shop.

Postby Chimera » October 29th, 2015, 1:48 pm

Take a pic of it and post it up. I sure someone here could tell u the type

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » October 29th, 2015, 11:50 pm

Someone told me they believe it is Bermuda.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 30th, 2015, 8:03 am

this??
commonbermudagrass.jpg
commonbermudagrass.jpg (74.03 KiB) Viewed 2114 times

York

Postby York » October 30th, 2015, 8:58 am

Zoysia is finer, the blade is less than 1/8" thick. Bermuda is thicker, about 1/6" of an inch, 4mm. Also Bermuda leaf blade shoots grow out about 45 degrees from the grass stem, zoysia is almost 80 degrees.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » October 30th, 2015, 9:16 am

Pointman-IA wrote:Tuners.

Your advise again.

I want to put up a perimeter fence to keep squatters off the land.

I have seen ppl use branches from a particular tree and use this to support the wire.

One of my brothers had suggested using pvc and pouring concrete into it.

What are your thoughts on this?

http://ecflora.cavehill.uwi.edu/plantde ... +tree-like

York

Postby York » October 30th, 2015, 9:21 am

kjaglal76v2 wrote:
Pointman-IA wrote:Tuners.

Your advise again.

I want to put up a perimeter fence to keep squatters off the land.

I have seen ppl use branches from a particular tree and use this to support the wire.

One of my brothers had suggested using pvc and pouring concrete into it.

What are your thoughts on this?

http://ecflora.cavehill.uwi.edu/plantde ... +tree-like

you can plant real pine trees on which to run ur fence...

pouring concrete in pvc is a no-no. I know a guy who did so with 2" pvc pipe without steel and they bent when he pulled his fence wire. Waste of material and labour. would have been better if he had just used the 2" galvanize pipe...and done d story.

oh, i used teak posts on the front of my land but after 3 yrs they either rotted or got termites or burnt...

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » November 2nd, 2015, 10:54 pm

York wrote:Zoysia is finer, the blade is less than 1/8" thick. Bermuda is thicker, about 1/6" of an inch, 4mm. Also Bermuda leaf blade shoots grow out about 45 degrees from the grass stem, zoysia is almost 80 degrees.

Zoysia sounds like the better looking grass. Is there a drought resistant version that doors well in the Trinidad climate?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 2nd, 2015, 11:22 pm

On the topic of fencing land, it has renters living next door to my land they have like 17 sheep. Absolutely ridiculous for people who are renting!!! And its quite a pest aswell saw them trample my ocra plants the other day, spoke to the owner get on and thing with she, after 2 days they are back on my land.

I want to fence it but money is an issue, I have barbed wire but post is money, this isn't cheap to fence over 1.25 Acre. If I plant the trees the blasted sheep will eat it, because it will be on the bound. The trees would have been great for fencing, and assisting with the barbed wire.
The only other solution I can think off is BRC Wire, but the small sheep can push their head through and still eat the plant.

Right now I am fencing with fishing nylon line. $23 a roll for 320 Feet. 1.10mm its a thin nylon but says it is rated at 100 pounds. Is the fattest nylon I could find in the hardware. Running 6 rows of it like how you run barbed wire, cheapest thing I could think off for temporary measure to keep out their sheep. They can't go around it because there is a river after it, lets see how this experiment plays out.

Postby Chimera » November 2nd, 2015, 11:41 pm

Lollll what?fencing with fishinf nylon line u say? Lmao. Make sure and post pics

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 3rd, 2015, 12:04 am

Go post pics when I done for sure. This Fishing Line actually making ah good cheap fence though. :lol:

Bushwacker trimmer nylon was the ideal thing though, but its pointless at the same time as you can get barbed wire for the same price.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 3rd, 2015, 12:35 am

Hmmmm

Do they sell plastic mesh fencing wire in Trinidad? it looks just like chainlink but made of plastic and is a fraction of the price. Any idea of where might sell it?

Look this white man make a fencing for animals from fishing line, he say it works great :lol:

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » November 3rd, 2015, 9:10 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:this??

I'm not 100% sure.

zangolie

Postby zangolie » November 4th, 2015, 9:05 pm

Saw someone ask about this earlier in the tread so would like to offer some assistance, might be wrong but i think it was ED

Concerning selling to NAMDEVCO they require farmers to go through a certification process before they purchase your produce or introduce you to other avenues that would

Im a bit rusty with the process but here goes :

Registration - basic information(name, address & contact)
Consultation- what crop you're interested in (short/long term etc), availability of resources (land,
equipment, man power) and capital (money willing to put into this venture)
Qualification- overall knowledge of the crop/s and proper growing practices, advice is given on what are profitable crops and peak seasons (they have charts and graphs with tones of data on these things)
Verification - this is the tricky part. mainly interested in your documentations. how often crops are rotated, fertilizers used and there applications and how frequent same goes for pesticides and any other chemicals. It is advised that you keep a note of all these.

additional to a sit down with an officer someone will pay a visit to your site to gather hands on info.

so in conclusion it might seem alot but it goes along way in guaranteeing your produce/product is good.

If your still interested the Head Office is located in Debe within the compound of the Southern Wholesale Market (Debe market) which is next to the lights as you come of the highway. Their numbers are 647-3218/3467/3866/7576/1340/7907/2368.

Originally ended up here looking into dwarf coconut trees and got caught up in the reading, so if anyone has info on this feel free to share.

before i go concerning the thieves their is a Praedial larceny branch of the police created to handle farmers concerns

Also for those who are interested the ministry has short courses on crops like these
http://www.agriculture.gov.tt/main-medi ... edule.html

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 4th, 2015, 9:19 pm

^ thanks it was me. Well I got local veggie marts to buy my stuff, so with all that drama involved in Namdevco its a good thing I didn't have to depend on them.

The only real issue is Praedial larceny, anyone aware of laws regarding booby traps? what are the extent of traps that can be used? fishhook trap, bear trap etc. I mean sure you can make reports to this division regarding Praedial larceny but realistically what could they do? they can't patrol your land 24/7. What would these law makers have a farmer do? after he has put this much work into his crops or livestock only to wake up one morning to have it all gone?

Postby Chimera » November 5th, 2015, 6:05 am

What did the local veggie marts buy from you effectic?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 5th, 2015, 11:23 am

Ocra. I have more growing and a couple hundred cucumber trees also. Guy said price varies for cucumbers between $150 for a bag and $400 a bag.

Can anyone else confirm if this is the price range for wholesale cucumber? I though it would be minimum of $300 a bag. (90 pound bag)

Whats the lowest cucumber does go for?

Postby Chimera » November 5th, 2015, 11:48 am

Cucumber does real all 50 and 70 dollars..depends on supply....plenty rain plenty flood....supply go down...u get a 500 a bag

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 5th, 2015, 11:53 am

^ aight scene. Guess I go have to plant more just in case. One thing for sure they does grow real quick.