Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby TriniAutoMart » November 10th, 2015, 9:29 am

Cutlass for bamboo

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 11th, 2015, 9:10 am

York wrote:Oh a tractor woulda cost $200 to cut that quarter acre. They charge $600 per acre now.

anyone knows how many pounds of cucumber is produced per plant? Tried a few seedlings today. I had tried seeds a few years back but was not productive. Did ploughing and rotovating.

pounds per plant would depend on several factors...

variety of cucumber
type of soil planted in
when you planted it

for instance if you try the vlaspick(not sure of spelling) variety........planted in good soil and in good moon, one plant can yield up 12-15lbs of cucumber(at least 3 good pickings) and this is without the use of chemicals etc etc....

Postby nervewrecker » November 11th, 2015, 8:44 pm

Is there any science behind this planting by the moon? Just asking

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 11th, 2015, 10:23 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Is there any science behind this planting by the moon? Just asking

boy to tell you the truth,I can't explain it at all....but I have experimented planting before and after the full moon and yields have varied..

simply put....try cutting grass at least two weeks before a full moon and see how fast it grows back...try cutting the same grass 3 days after the full moon and see how long it takes..

there has to be a science behind it otherwise the mac donalds almanac would not have been created.

Postby nervewrecker » November 11th, 2015, 10:43 pm

I does hear old people saying it too but a lecturer once mention something about an effect the moon has on something of that nature. Actually forgot what was the term. Was hoping maybe you might know.

York

Postby York » November 11th, 2015, 11:06 pm

[quote][/quote]that moon business probably related to
1. growth at night with light from the moon
2. When rain falls sufficient but not too much and not too little . the moon affects the rainfall?
3. When there is moonlight for bugs/pests to be able to see to go and eat the new plant growth which is soft and delicious.

Amm, when is above ground planting days this month? I planted some pumpkin, corn and ochro last weekend and they all shoot out nice. Did some seedlings too, are those planting days applicable to seedlings too?

York

Postby York » November 11th, 2015, 11:06 pm

[quote][/quote]that moon business probably related to
1. growth at night with light from the moon
2. When rain falls sufficient but not too much and not too little . the moon affects the rainfall?
3. When there is moonlight for bugs/pests to be able to see to go and eat the new plant growth which is soft and delicious.

Amm, when is above ground planting days this month? I planted some pumpkin, corn and ochro last weekend and they all shoot out nice. Did some seedlings too, are those planting days applicable to seedlings too?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 11th, 2015, 11:09 pm

The moon itself does not matter, people say its because of gravity but all that is superstitious nonsense, with current genetically modified plants all of this is supposed to be irrelevant. There is no scientific proof that planting by moon actually changes anything.

Dark Night happen to have plenty rain unless is dry season, so its likely why crops grow better. But this could be achieved by watering the plants yourself.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 12th, 2015, 7:28 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:The moon itself does not matter, people say its because of gravity but all that is superstitious nonsense, with current genetically modified plants all of this is supposed to be irrelevant. There is no scientific proof that planting by moon actually changes anything.

Dark Night happen to have plenty rain unless is dry season, so its likely why crops grow better. But this could be achieved by watering the plants yourself.

Strangely ole skool farmers live by the Mac Donalds and they always get through.

Postby nervewrecker » November 12th, 2015, 8:16 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:The moon itself does not matter, people say its because of gravity but all that is superstitious nonsense, with current genetically modified plants all of this is supposed to be irrelevant. There is no scientific proof that planting by moon actually changes anything.

Strangely ole skool farmers live by the Mac Donalds and they always get through.

You does study Ed?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 12th, 2015, 8:49 am

You does study Ed?

boy...hmph :lol: :lol:

Hamtonic

Postby Hamtonic » November 17th, 2015, 12:52 pm

Hey guys it's been a while since I've posted up on here but does anyone have any empty feed bags they're willing to get rid of or know any where I can buy some. Pref in the central area.

Thanks

Postby *KRONIK* » November 17th, 2015, 3:05 pm

How much u need?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 18th, 2015, 9:22 am

Hamtonic wrote:Hey guys it's been a while since I've posted up on here but does anyone have any empty feed bags they're willing to get rid of or know any where I can buy some. Pref in the central area.

Thanks

if you willing to come Grande, check the bakery by the police station.....they sell $2 for one

vidane

Postby vidane » November 18th, 2015, 10:53 am

I would assume that most agro-shops sell them, at least all I've checked from Valencia to Grande. Best price at J.Kasmali $2.00 per bag. Would get better price going directly to livestock farmer. Some does even give away based on the amount yuh want though.

r23b

Postby r23b » November 18th, 2015, 2:15 pm

Hi guys, I need to clear 5 acres of land in the Tablebland area, anyone has a contact with someone who can do this and is reasonable with pricing?

ADONI

Postby ADONI » November 18th, 2015, 2:30 pm

Grade down with Bulldozer? Or cutlass and brush cutter work?

r23b

Postby r23b » November 18th, 2015, 2:51 pm

Bulldozer, lots of trees and bush growing on it

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 18th, 2015, 9:02 pm

You does study Ed?

boy...hmph :lol: :lol:

so how come I plant by different moon and it made 0 difference?

Also there is 0 scientific proof that planting by moon has any real effect, this is old superstitious nonsense because people never knew better. You feel when the Americans planting thousands of acres at a time they does bother with moon planting? my grandfather was one of the best farmers around and he never planted by moon, he always considered it foolishness.

Scientists have already stated moon planting is superstitious nonsense. Why would you listen to a bunch of clueless old people over real scientists?

ADONI

Postby ADONI » November 19th, 2015, 8:45 am

Any duck (mule) farmers in here? I need some info on rearing about 400 ducks or so.

Postby *KRONIK* » November 19th, 2015, 8:58 am

ADONI wrote:Any duck (mule) farmers in here? I need some info on rearing about 400 ducks or so.

Yes...i have ducks

But strictly local

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 19th, 2015, 5:30 pm

So the grass I spray a week ago with Swiper poison has finally started to dry and fall down, things looking up. Why didn't I think of this idea sooner rather than wasting time cutting that bamboo grass.

One thing though I notice some parts that I spray with the massive amounts of rain we had in the past week the grass appears to be recovering. lol What kind of respirator do you guys use when spraying?

I am thinking of getting a goat and raise for free Organic Milk, anyone knows the going rate these days for a new born female Goat? what breed should I get?

York

Postby York » November 20th, 2015, 10:58 pm

shud mix some gramoxone with the swiper and spray that tall grass. or just hit the parts that recovering with the gramoxone for now. be careful when spraying this. or just spray the ends or sides you can reach from outside every couple of days.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 20th, 2015, 11:02 pm

York wrote:shud mix some gramoxone with the swiper and spray that tall grass. or just hit the parts that recovering with the gramoxone for now. be careful when spraying this. or just spray the ends or sides you can reach from outside every couple of days.

ok scene I go put in gramoxone and give them a dose.

Someone was telling me these poison chemicals kill the PH value in the soil and the nutrients etc. Any truth to this?

York

Postby York » November 21st, 2015, 12:22 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
York wrote:shud mix some gramoxone with the swiper and spray that tall grass. or just hit the parts that recovering with the gramoxone for now. be careful when spraying this. or just spray the ends or sides you can reach from outside every couple of days.

ok scene I go put in gramoxone and give them a dose.

Someone was telling me these poison chemicals kill the PH value in the soil and the nutrients etc. Any truth to this?

Maybe but with all d rain, it will run off in rivers to d sea and dilute to nothing. Plus these are organic and fertilizers are inorganic. Doh study it, just use pre-emergent spray like ronstar a few days before planting or cheaper brands that will kill grass seeds for non-planted areas or areas around citrus or coconut, trees nah. Must use chemicals otherwise u will be cutting grass half d time!!

Postby De Dragon » November 21st, 2015, 1:30 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:So the grass I spray a week ago with Swiper poison has finally started to dry and fall down, things looking up. Why didn't I think of this idea sooner rather than wasting time cutting that bamboo grass.

One thing though I notice some parts that I spray with the massive amounts of rain we had in the past week the grass appears to be recovering. lol What kind of respirator do you guys use when spraying?
I am thinking of getting a goat and raise for free Organic Milk, anyone knows the going rate these days for a new born female Goat? what breed should I get?

Half faced chemical cartridge.