suggestion to remove 50% of private vehicles from the road

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 19th, 2015, 10:51 am

There’s been a suggestion to remove 50% of all private vehicles from the roads on a given day.

This, as the Ministry of Works and Transport held a Forum and brainstorming event to get ideas from relevant stakeholders as to how to reduce traffic.

Retired Superintendent of Police Fitzroy Phillips, the man behind the event, explained how his suggestion can work to benefit the people.

He revealed that one suggestion is to remove 50% of all private vehicles from the roads on a given day

"I indicated to him it is my view that in order to resolve these traffic issues, at least partially or to some extent, that we have to take the tough decision to take 50% of the private vehicles off the road alternately."

So who will be allowed to drive and when?

"Those of us who drive a vehicle with an odd number, you are on the road today. Those who drive a vehicle with an even number, on the road tomorrow, Mondays through Saturdays, Sunday is yours."

According to the retired police officer, for this to work effectively, the Government must also put measures in place. His suggestion is nothing new. He wants to have transit hubs in strategic areas across the country.

"The buses leaving, starting 4:30, 5 o'clock in the morning at strategic times, 10 minute intervals, and people can depend on a reliable bus service while this removal of 50% of vehicles on the road takes place."

Works and Transport Minister Fitzgerald Hinds told the gathering the outcome of the meeting will be put into a report and made public to get the input of citizens.

He explained that all have a part to play in reducing traffic congestion.

"We have to sort out issues with the public who complain about it without realising that they contribute to it too."

Minister Hinds did reiterate his Government's commitment to the mass transit system from Sangre Grande to Port of Spain and Curepe to San Fernando as part of its long term plan.

However, he said other mechanisms can be used until then.

http://www.ctntworld.com/cnews2/index.p ... Itemid=707

Re: suggestion to remove 50% of private vehicles from the ro

Postby RBphoto » November 19th, 2015, 11:01 am

I give this suggestion a hearty HYMC.

daron

Postby daron » November 19th, 2015, 11:02 am

So people who work p.o.s. that live in south will have to now wake up even more early
try and catch these very clean and comfortable bus go to work ,
Work all day and try to catch back the very efficient bus (rain or Sun) to reach home
This plan will definitely work for the people .

sinnaz25

Postby sinnaz25 » November 19th, 2015, 11:05 am

Vote PNM

casey07814

Postby casey07814 » November 19th, 2015, 11:07 am

Them is some fools bro....... Before they give 1 lane to busses and trucks which will help a lot and them police to start charging those people who does be on the road with the backhoe. Hmmm smh

antlind

Postby antlind » November 19th, 2015, 11:07 am

Have two vehicles. One with an odd number and another with an even number.

Seriously though, is this the best idea they could provide.

Postby RBphoto » November 19th, 2015, 11:15 am

I going to get a car with a single digit licence plate "2" and fight down that 2 is a prime number on "odd" days.

krb4788

Postby krb4788 » November 19th, 2015, 11:16 am

If we had proper infrastructure in place from the get go and had built the nation anticipating the growth of our island we wouldn't be in this mess today.

Drainage, roadways, healthcare systems, public transportation have all been set up based on a population demand "at the time" and no foresight was given to the problems we face now with such limitations.

You all may disagree, but our biggest mistake was becoming and independent nation. Now we reap what we sow because its too late and will cost taxpayers billions to get it right.

Reliable bus service? That should have been in place decades ago. And for me who works shift and leaves home at various times during the day and night, at off peak hours I am to leave my car at home and travel to a location to catch a bus?

Since 1962 this country has been grasping at straws with no one remotely close to finding ways to advance us! When you look at what Europe and the US has done over the last 30 years to alleviate congestion in and around major cities you'll understand why we're 100 years behind. And don't tell me not to compare us with anyone else because we are our own country. All we do is follow the others, but for all the wrong reasons.

Every now and then someone has ingenious idea. It has always been the case. But where have all these brilliant ideas gone? In someone's pocket!

Traffic congestion is a problem, but every week the lot by Movie town filled with 10000 cars waiting to be registered. It won't stop because there's a lot of money still to be made by the transportation division off these vehicles. Less revenue means less money for someone to "eat ah food".

We are our own biggest problem. Apart from the idiocy of "all talk, no action", corruption sinks us even further.

We need prayers yes!

Postby RBphoto » November 19th, 2015, 11:18 am

I going to change my car to a taxi and make a killing on the even days.

krb4788

Postby krb4788 » November 19th, 2015, 11:18 am

antlind wrote:Have two vehicles. One with an odd number and another with an even number.

Seriously though, is this the best idea they could provide.

Mine is odd and my wife's is even. So when I going to work (off-peak with shift ssytem) on the days I can't drive mine and my wife gone since 5am, I have to fight to catch a bus! These people really annoying now yes!

krb4788

Postby krb4788 » November 19th, 2015, 11:20 am

RBphoto wrote:I going to change my car to a taxi and make a killing on the even days.

Even the taxis might have to abide by the "odd and even" rule. Lol

Postby zoom rader » November 19th, 2015, 11:24 am

I warned you all before this government is always one step forward and two steps backward.

Increase gas + removal of cars = you forced to take racket rail.

I also suspect that Vat on private insurance and increase taxes on cars will double to put further strain on people owning cars in favour of racket rail

But all yuh vote for that

Postby Dizzy28 » November 19th, 2015, 11:26 am

First problem here is the assumption that the statistical split on any given day is 50/50 between the odd and even.
Then what about multicar households?My car is odd numbered, my dad's uneven. I can switch every day with him.

Postby 88sins » November 19th, 2015, 11:29 am

all i could do is hadda laff at dis rasta bobo
some fellas really do not kno their limitations smh

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 19th, 2015, 11:30 am

I have two odd number vehicles :(

this is done in many countries around the world, however how are they enforcing this in T&T though?

daas

Postby daas » November 19th, 2015, 11:31 am

Trinidad is really land of the foolish, woe is me though.

Postby Redman » November 19th, 2015, 11:31 am

The suggestion brought to you by auto sales industry.

Wasn't this tried in Venezuela?
In the 80s?
Didn't work.

Postby 88sins » November 19th, 2015, 11:31 am

they can't, thats the beauty of it

Advent

Postby Advent » November 19th, 2015, 11:32 am

the government that does this is the last time they would govern..

Postby j.o.e » November 19th, 2015, 11:34 am

A suggestion by a RETIRED superintendent is neither, valid or actual policy. He might as well say it at the rum shop or barbershop (or tuner )

daas

Postby daas » November 19th, 2015, 11:34 am

Advent wrote:the government that does this is the last time they would govern..

we like it so bruh

Postby TRAE » November 19th, 2015, 11:35 am

... the generic police chupid yes...RS no offense

Postby meccalli » November 19th, 2015, 11:39 am

Road space rationing or driving restriction is a transportation demand management regulation aimed to reduce traffic by restricting automobile travel through means such as restriction of cars that could enter common road space based upon the last digits of the license number on certain established days during certain periods

Odd-even license plate policy

On July 20, 2008, Beijing implemented a temporary road space rationing policy, odd-even rationing policy, by allowing cars that have an even last number of their license plates to be able to drive on roads in one day while the cars that have an odd last number of their license plates could go on the road the next day in order to improve air quality in the city during the 2008 Summer Olympics.This policy does not affect taxis, public buses, yellow-plate vehicles (vehicles with more than 9 seats inclusive), police vehicles and military vehicles.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » November 19th, 2015, 11:40 am

WOW just WOW

you work hard, sacrifice to buy a vehicle and they wanna tell you when you can drive?!

man f*ck you......

traffic doesn't bother me anyway, i now live 15 mins from POS....still leave home early and work @3.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » November 19th, 2015, 11:43 am

Retired Superintendent of Police Fitzroy Phillips, the man behind the event, explained how his suggestion can work to benefit the people.

He revealed that one suggestion is to remove 50% of all private vehicles from the roads on a given day

"I indicated to him it is my view that in order to resolve these traffic issues, at least partially or to some extent, that we have to take the tough decision to take 50% of the private vehicles off the road alternately."

According to the retired police officer, for this to work effectively, the Government must also put measures in place. His suggestion is nothing new. He wants to have transit hubs in strategic areas across the country.

"The buses leaving, starting 4:30, 5 o'clock in the morning at strategic times, 10 minute intervals, and people can depend on a reliable bus service while this removal of 50% of vehicles on the road takes place."

alyuh is kicks yes,
Man throw out a suggestion and alyuh acting as if Cabinet and Parliament pass a law.
Last edited by EmilioA on November 19th, 2015, 11:47 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby zoom rader » November 19th, 2015, 11:44 am

There are ppl that drop their young children to school each day.

There are ppl that need their cars to and from work and work at distance places.
Don't forget night shift folks thst work at Pt lisas. Where you gonna get a taxi or bus at 11pm for Pt lisas.

More ppl will be subjected to getting robbed , Females raped ect

Then you have ppl that use their cars for work, salesmen ect.

What gonna happen when you have pick up family at the airport.

How will ppl go on a trip to Tobago on the ferry

Another dumb jackarse move by this government.

Ppl need to start protesting your freedom of movement and right to enjoy your property is at stake.

Fuzzle

Postby Fuzzle » November 19th, 2015, 11:46 am

Backward ever forward never

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » November 19th, 2015, 11:46 am

mitsu_chick941 wrote:WOW just WOW

you work hard, sacrifice to buy a vehicle and they wanna tell you when you can drive?!

man f*ck you......

That's right man. Ignore that that No entry sign. Turn your fog lights on in the middle of the day. Dem cah tell you when and how to drive.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » November 19th, 2015, 11:47 am

zoom rader wrote:There are ppl that drop their young children to school each day.

There are ppl that need their cars to and from work and work at distance places.
Don't forget night shift folks thst work at Pt lisas. Where you gonna get a taxi or bus at 11pm for Pt lisas.

More ppl will be subjected to getting robbed , Females raped ect

Then you have ppl that use their cars for work, salesmen ect.

What gonna happen when you have pick up family at the airport.

How will ppl go on a trip to Tobago on the ferry

Another dumb jackarse move by this government.

Ppl need to start protesting your freedom of movement and right to enjoy your property is at stake.

I guess them Chinese people just better we Trinis.

zoelikescheese

Postby zoelikescheese » November 19th, 2015, 11:49 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I have two odd number vehicles :(

me too
who with 2 even numbers wanna make a trade?