***THE FARMERS CHED***

Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 30th, 2015, 9:40 pm

^ Aah yes I think this is why I use swiper, don't want it to dry too quick and don't want it too corrosive like karmix which I heard keeps the ground dead for 5 months.

Is there an all in 1 pesticide that a person could use? like Dazoilin would that be an option?

Because there is this brown like bug with wings sucking on the cucumber plant and drying it down. But I didn't want to buy a poison for that then another one for the flowers to prevent worms. I would think Daizolin or something is an all in 1 for pesticide purpose?

York

Postby York » December 2nd, 2015, 8:35 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ Aah yes I think this is why I use swiper, don't want it to dry too quick and don't want it too corrosive like karmix which I heard keeps the ground dead for 5 months.

Is there an all in 1 pesticide that a person could use? like Dazoilin would that be an option?

Because there is this brown like bug with wings sucking on the cucumber plant and drying it down. But I didn't want to buy a poison for that then another one for the flowers to prevent worms. I would think Daizolin or something is an all in 1 for pesticide purpose?

Not sure, there's Caprid and the normal ones. Ask caribbean chemicals, they usyally have a rep in southern chemicals in ramsaran st. Or bissessors in sando. Its best to combine and rotate. Take a photo of the bug. You have to mould and spray.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 2nd, 2015, 10:28 am

^ I will take a pic of the bug when I go today. Yeah I didn't mould and well I think I should have gotten rid of the dry grass?

What I did was dig a small area inside the dry grass and plant so not sure if maybe this is because they living in the dry grass that rotting. Will take a pic of this bug and post it up, it sucks on the plant then the plant dies. And the bug produces a very strong sweet smell aswell.

Looks like a very small roach / cricket.

York

Postby York » December 2nd, 2015, 11:44 am

Yeh pal, yuh supposed to get rid of the grass and insects preventatively. Otherwise, well u know...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 2nd, 2015, 4:01 pm

^ yeah I realize now, lol. First time I doing this nah figured I would try to make some money on short crop while the coconuts grow.

I bought a bottle of pestec for $25 today, I notice most of the cucumber flowers dropping off but I not sure if that is supposed to happen. If not well I realize now how difficult crop like cucumbers are to grow. If this fail which it looks like it will, that ground has so much insects and the cucumber vining on the ground it looking like a disaster already.

What about something like peas? besides cucumbers what would you suggest would be a good crop to plant that will sell quick? offcourse the folks at the local veggie mart told me cucumber in high demand but I guess I know why that is now. lol

But say what it still has 80 cucumber plants remaining from the 150 I plant that live. I guess i go see how this will turn out

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 2nd, 2015, 4:23 pm

York you know where in Trinidad I can find a pair of impact workout gloves to buy and would it even be worth using?

Things was going great with my swipering until my entire arm got a tingle vibrating problem which ended up being carpel tunnel syndrome ended up having to take a month rest just to get it to 70% healed. My swiper does a great job and I get a fine work out I enjoy it quite a lot. I don't even need to exercise in park again until this happened.

What do you recommend against this? would it still be possible to swiper while using a specialized glove? or my swipering days over?

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » December 2nd, 2015, 8:48 pm

You are mixing up the terminology. I think what you are looking for is anti-vibration gloves.

Impact gloves are padded on the back of your fingers to protect knuckles as an example.

I am not a doctor ; but don't think either will work since the injury is due to repetitive motion with your hand in the same position. With gloves you will be performing the same motion

Speak to your doctor

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 2nd, 2015, 10:44 pm

^ thanks I will get advice from my doctor about it then. The problem seems to be caused mainly by the impact of hitting the grass which travels to my palm and squeezes the nerve. A similar thing that can cause it is riding my bike standing up and holding onto the handle hard.

The repetitive motion isn't the issue though, it seems to be the force applied to my palm from hitting the grass. But if you think about it you are right, no glove can take away the nerve getting squeeze from the impact.

The hoe works fine for me though, no impact there so thats what I am using to keep the grass clear of the cucumbers.

York

Postby York » December 3rd, 2015, 10:29 am

Tractor, then spray thereafter. Spray cans have a knob to lock it in the squeezed position for continuous spraying....or hire someone to do it.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 3rd, 2015, 1:42 pm

^ Yeah I does lock in the trigger for the spray can got no issue spraying except respirator but I buy one yesterday a blue eagle brand so hopefully it works good.

vidane

Postby vidane » December 3rd, 2015, 6:45 pm

ED so all that spraying yuh was doing without the use of a respirator. Quite a risk you took. I share you views on swipering, easier to run through with the Wacker but sometimes the satisfaction of mastering the blade feels better. The best gloves to use are those white with black dots, good for most agricultural operations.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 3rd, 2015, 6:51 pm

^ yeah that was a stupid move on my part I spray almost a gallon of grass poison "swiper" without the use of a respirator. Then I felt sick the next day had a mild cold mild mucus and sneezing. But I feel fine now, that was maybe 1 week ago. I always use the respirator now, I didn't think much about it because I always see my neighbor spray without wearing any so didn't think it was a big deal.

But not taking that chance again, respirator right through now.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 4th, 2015, 6:11 pm

I am getting a Stihl FS 120 Wacker to buy new for $3000, is this a good price?

I called FT and they said $3400 for it soooo I assume the one at a local agri shop would be a good deal they giving gas container and some extras with the purchase aswell. Its near identical to the power of a FS 160.

They also have Shindaiwa and Echo brands that are cheaper, but not sure how they hold up since Stihl is German made. Let me know what you guys think about the brands. My guess is the FS 120 should be enough to cut down all the big grass as it does come with a steel blade. There is also the FS 55 for $2000 but the engine does look rather small.

Postby X_Factor » December 4th, 2015, 6:43 pm

i plant about 50 roots of corn--not sure of the variety but stalks are more than 10ft tall
and they now start to bear, i started to think they may be magical seeds and going to meet the giant

Postby Chimera » December 4th, 2015, 6:48 pm

U don't have a farmers license effectic?

Postby Chimera » December 4th, 2015, 6:49 pm

Cuz I paid 5200 for the fs450 and got back 50%.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 4th, 2015, 7:24 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Cuz I paid 5200 for the fs450 and got back 50%.

My brother has the farmer license so I will just let him purchase it with my money I didn't bother to renew mine since he already has one.

Offcourse one has to put out the full price upfront so I can't afford more than $3000 right now to fork out upfront so thats why I was considering the deal on the FS 120.

My brother has the FS 250 and its really powerful for what I need. It chops down bamboo grass with ease, the 120 isn't far either

http://www.stihl.co.za/STIHL-Products/S ... tters.aspx

1.8 vs 2.2 BHP so seems like the 120 will work fine for me.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 5th, 2015, 9:11 pm

Well I got the FS 120 today, works like a champ. Its physical size is identical to the FS 250. It came with the fancy wobble bike handle, this entire thing seems to be made of Aluminum. Looks very high quality if you ask me. It reeks of German superiority.

I tested it out with the steel blade, it cut down the thickest 8 foot tall bamboo grass like a pro, I am satisfied with this $3000 purchase. I didn't expect this thing to be so insanely powerful. I should get back 50% rebate from the government in a few months. Which would mean it would have cost me $1500.

I just have one query, how do I operate it properly? Do I squeeze the trigger down all the way? because it can cut the grass no matter the size at half way to 3/4 way trigger squeeze. There isn't any need for me to press the gas trigger right down. But I was told I could damage the engine like this by not applying enough gas to the engine.

But then i was told I could over heat and damage the engine by holding down the trigger all the way, anyone here have experience with these things? when I hold down the trigger at max I get scared because its very loud and vibrates. It behaves like an angry bear.

PS: I am using premium gas but I find it burns too fast and its too expensive, can I use super unleaded?
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on December 5th, 2015, 9:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Chimera » December 5th, 2015, 9:13 pm

Nah u don't hold it down all the way. Just a Lil bit to keep it spinning. Mine Does Hardly Make Noise When I using It Cuz Of How Little I Press The trigger.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 5th, 2015, 9:27 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Nah u don't hold it down all the way. Just a Lil bit to keep it spinning. Mine Does Hardly Make Noise When I using It Cuz Of How Little I Press The trigger.

Ow ok cool thanks.

Half Way does the trick for me, 3/4 for mega thick tall bamboo grass. Once this cut down I go be able to keep it under control easy. Cut it and or spray it when it small.

Super gasoline is ok? or should I buy premium?

York

Postby York » December 5th, 2015, 10:01 pm

Check your manual if there is any minimum octane requirement. Super gas is unleaded too, just lower octane. In the past super used to be leaded but not again. Should be ok.

York

Postby York » December 5th, 2015, 10:03 pm

Where did u buy this wacker?

Postby Chimera » December 5th, 2015, 10:38 pm

I always use to use super but you really really feel and hear the difference in smoothness when you use premium.....try the premium....

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 5th, 2015, 10:41 pm

York wrote:Where did u buy this wacker?

The new Agri Shop in St Helena, just after Royal Castle and before Japs on the main road.

Everywhere else wanted $3400 the guy said they got a christmas special going on so I got it for $3K with some extra goodies. Came with bump knob nylon aswell as the 3 sprang steel blade gas container worth $50

Here are some pics, looks identical to the FS 250 in physical size, Engine and all

Chops down very thick and annoying 7 to 8 feet tall jungle like bamboo grass with lots of irritating vines thats been growing for 25 years untouched. Does it at half the total power, 3/4 trigger squeeze if you want to rip through quick

He also has the FS 160 for $3400 on sale and if I remember correct the FS 55 for $2000, the FS 85 or is it FS 90 for $2500. And everyone of them comes with the aluminum bike handle even the FS 55

I am not sure how safe this is because I removed the guard where the blade is because its impossible to chop down this bush with the guard in the way, I wear tall boots and goggles for protection.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 5th, 2015, 10:57 pm

York

I was told you do not get nylon bump knob kits with these wackers, you have to purchase it separate. And sure enough when I opened the bag I noticed the box with the nylon bump knob actually had a price sticker on it, maybe he gave me it free who knows.

Postby Chimera » December 6th, 2015, 12:39 am

Yea u does hadda buy the bump head separately. I'm trying to get the 4 string bump head but can't find it. I does use full headgear with Wacker tho. It's a helmet with earmuffs and a full screen in front as well as wear a eye goggles...will post up the pic of what I use.....

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 6th, 2015, 1:09 am

^ sure first I have heard of a full gear like that.

I figured as much with the bump knot, when I opened the plastic bag he gave me with the manual I noticed a price sticker on the nylon box as if he took it off his shelf. Well look at that all that for $3K i guess you guys know where to shop for a wacker this Christmas. His shop has many other things aswell, Royal Condor sprayer for $400 this ting has brass pump and brass nozzle.

BTW he also has Stihl mist blowers for $2800 on sale. Shindaiwa weed wackers, comes with the same aluminum wobble bike handle aswell.

Postby Chimera » December 6th, 2015, 12:36 pm

i use this

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0030M ... detailpage

together with safety glasses

it allows your face a lot of air flow if you working in hot sun for a long time

i also have this

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0053W ... detailpage

it really distributes the weight better compared to the harness it comes with
the fs450 isnt light lol

York

Postby York » December 6th, 2015, 2:35 pm

I had a Keyang, something Giant from SSL a few years back. Used to cut down big grass like that! Thought it was a bit heavy so sold it and bought a Ryobi. This thing real troublesome. Used to cut off and not start back, fixed it and same problem. Stopped using it for 3 yrs and just fixed it again last month. Used it today and same thing again. That's for my small lawn.

On my garden, I only spray cause its more effective. I have an acre and a half of pumpkin / squash and an acre with corn, ochro, pepper,cucumber , string beans and melongene. When I go to do anything, I put down a spray can or two on the grass on the sides of the beds. If I had to cut with a Wacker, I would go mad cutting all the time.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 6th, 2015, 5:15 pm

WOW thats pretty sweet cause yeah the regular strap I can feel the weight really uneven.

I am going to buy the head gear you have, do you use goggles below the face shield? that face shield looks good. When i am wackering the goggles get a lot of sweat on it.