Government achievement thread (PNM EDITION 2015-2025)

Re: Government achievement thread.

Postby pete » November 25th, 2015, 10:20 am

Raise rent nah, they'll just find somewhere else to go.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » November 25th, 2015, 10:30 am

eliteauto wrote:
Lance wrote:45k and qualifying for low income housing is epic none sense.

This is a justified move.

ZR and the other sheep could go fly a kite.

I guess landlords will up their rents now to catch those making over 25k.
This government always putting the hurt on ppl.

what an asinine statement, try harder

How is this an asinine statement?

This government has thrown those making over a joint income 25k on HDC housing.
They are left out of the picture, if don't have a down payment saved up or qualify on the purchase of a private house then they are forced to rent. Couples these days are not as before and most choose to live apart from family.
Seeing that they are are now forced to rent, landlords will then take advantage of this by raising rents. Plus there are landlords that kick out Tenants slap some paint on with minor repair then call big money for these new renters.

so you and the mrs jointly making 45k+ and cant save for a down payment?? sounds like you are terrible with money.
So the 72 Pioneer TV and $30K surround sound system sounding kinda dumb now that your plan to scam the tax payers and get a HDC "low income" house fall through? That $500K SUV you paying $4,500/m sounds stupid eh?? ZR you are the epitome of the "Gimme Gimme" plague, the same person who calls a partner to skip a line, or use contacts to skip procedure. the exact kinda clown that is the root of this problem..

Lance

Postby Lance » November 25th, 2015, 10:36 am

j.o.e wrote:ZR perpetuating the 'gimme gimme' syndrome he so despises

It's only "gimme gimme" syndrome when its a UNC austerity policy. Everything else is framed as intention to pressure the poor and working class.

This guy is delusional.

Postby Redman » November 25th, 2015, 10:45 am

Well HDC is a slush fund.

Give my contractors the work to construct.
Get my boyz an dem houses at subsidized rates ....
nuttin new.

Why has the HDC steadfastly multiple low cost housing solutions that are available locally?
Used elsewhere in the world with no issues?

Postby zoom rader » November 25th, 2015, 11:04 am

Bezman wrote:
eliteauto wrote:

I guess landlords will up their rents now to catch those making over 25k.
This government always putting the hurt on ppl.

what an asinine statement, try harder

How is this an asinine statement?

This government has thrown those making over a joint income 25k on HDC housing.
They are left out of the picture, if don't have a down payment saved up or qualify on the purchase of a private house then they are forced to rent. Couples these days are not as before and most choose to live apart from family.
Seeing that they are are now forced to rent, landlords will then take advantage of this by raising rents. Plus there are landlords that kick out Tenants slap some paint on with minor repair then call big money for these new renters.

so you and the mrs jointly making 45k+ and cant save for a down payment?? sounds like you are terrible with money.
So the 72 Pioneer TV and $30K surround sound system sounding kinda dumb now that your plan to scam the tax payers and get a HDC "low income" house fall through? That $500K SUV you paying $4,500/m sounds stupid eh?? ZR you are the epitome of the "Gimme Gimme" plague, the same person who calls a partner to skip a line, or use contacts to skip procedure. the exact kinda clown that is the root of this problem..

Breds I have non of the above as you stated and never have been on the gimme gimme crew. Never applied to HDC.
I am pointing out the scenario for those making over 25k.
The general public don't really have a chance getting a HDC. It's always political friends, family , police, firemen and armed forces that get these houses. Under this government distribution is most corrupt and near racist.

Postby rfari » November 25th, 2015, 11:13 am

ZR, yuh bad-begging dan

Postby zoom rader » November 25th, 2015, 11:20 am

rfari wrote:ZR, yuh bad-begging dan

Rfari it's a win win for me bro. New tenants on the market.

Postby rfari » November 25th, 2015, 11:23 am

rfari wrote:ZR, yuh bad-begging dan

Rfari it's a win win for me bro. New tenants on the market.

So why we complaining dan?

Postby eliteauto » November 25th, 2015, 11:26 am

ZR the social worker

Postby Habit7 » November 25th, 2015, 11:51 am

Victoria Keys then

Victoria Keys ready by January
By Nalinee Seelal Thursday, April 21 2011

Managing director of the Housing Development Corporation (HDC) Jearlean John has promised to deliver 282 apartments now under construction at Victoria Keys, Diego Martin to persons on the company’s waiting list by next January, dispelling claims by Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley that apartments were being reconfigured for use by persons in a high-income bracket.

John also revealed the apartments are being built to accommodate disabled persons and said there are plans to install retention ponds in the area to alleviate flooding. Aereated pumps will be placed in those ponds so water could be used during the dry season to wet plants and fruit trees.

John said HDC records showed complaints from hundreds of homeowners about flaws in the houses and apartments they received from the State company.

She noted persons living in Maloney in east Trinidad and Embacadere in south Trinidad have complained about the poor quality of their homes and said she decided to improve the current stock of HDC houses before distributing them.

Housing Minister Dr Roodal Moonilal approved the plan after he visited several HDC homes and noted the defects and poor workmanship at several houses and apartments.

John said, “Not because people are low-income earners means that they should live in unsuitable conditions and we decided that instead of having three-bedroom apartments where even the smallest bed could not fit in one of those bedrooms, workmen were instructed to build two- bedrooms instead of three to make those bedrooms more comfortable. She said the HDC was not involved in any move to reconfigure apartments for the benefit of the rich. “We know that we serve the low income, we know that we serve the middle income and those persons are not wealthy persons. The policeman, the public servant, the teacher, the banker, young lawyers, accountants and they cannot afford housing in Trinidad and Tobago, and trying to improve and upgrade the HDC’s houses doesn’t mean sloppy and ugly.”

On Monday, Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley claimed Government is undertaking a $100 million reconfiguration of HDC apartments that would take the units out of the reach of 129,000 applicants and allocate them to persons who are seeking housing only as an investment.

http://www.newsday.co.tt/politics/0,139291.html

Victoria Keys now

Saying granite counters and foreign hardwood floors were installed in several of those units, Khan said, “The commercial value of a penthouse apartment at Victoria Keys is $4.5 million.” He further stated that apartments on the third, fourth, fifth and sixth floors of those buildings each cost $3.5 million. Adding that a ground floor apartment at Victoria Keys cost $1.5 million, Khan asked, “How now can any reasonably thinking government, faced with scarce resources, go now and allocate that to an HDC applicant for $700,000?” Khan said, “If you do that, irresponsibly do that, you will be giving that person a cheque for $3 million.”

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/print,0,220409.html

Postby De Dragon » November 25th, 2015, 10:50 pm

Habit7 wrote:

When I told a tuner that he said I challenging his God given and Constitutional rights.

You are a really childish little boy, but then again, reading the tripe that you type on a daily basis it should be no wonder.

Pirate

Postby Pirate » November 26th, 2015, 1:54 am

All this talk about reducing the qualifying income is just a show. I know ppl living in HDC houses that were obtained in 2008 and have 7series BMWs and X5s since then. Yeah ppl buying that with $25K joint salaries.

The issue is that it should not have been raised so high to begin with (probably about 35K joint) but the friends and family always exempt, regardless of administration.

But the small men have thing to beat up with now...
:???:

Postby zoom rader » November 26th, 2015, 3:15 am

Pirate wrote:All this talk about reducing the qualifying income is just a show. I know ppl living in HDC houses that were obtained in 2008 and have 7series BMWs and X5s since then. Yeah ppl buying that with $25K joint salaries.

The issue is that it should not have been raised so high to begin with (probably about 35K joint) but the friends and family always exempt, regardless of administration.

But the small men have thing to beat up with now...
:???:

It not only since 2008, this government gave it supporters houses and they living in the USA and renting it out.
Then you have Husband and wife that both have houses, don't forget some of these ppl refuse to pay their rents.
At least with mid income folk they are paying their mortgages

Postby desifemlove » November 26th, 2015, 8:11 pm

I must agree with Gopee-Scoon.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/business/2015 ... 9s-revival

But then it ent so simple as saying "invest nah!" incentives must be made. And cultural change, in many levels, with less reliance on the state.

Question for Rowley is what he gonna do to entice the private sector?

Postby zoom rader » December 4th, 2015, 1:05 am

Any PNM achievements yet ?

Postby Morpheus » December 4th, 2015, 5:34 am

None whatsoever.....

Fuzzle

Postby Fuzzle » December 4th, 2015, 7:24 am

PNM honeymooning right now.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » December 4th, 2015, 8:13 am

zoom rader wrote:Any PNM achievements yet ?

You eh see all them box drain they build ? :mrgreen:

Postby desifemlove » December 4th, 2015, 10:39 am

was kams bad after three months?

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » December 4th, 2015, 10:40 am

EmilioA wrote:

This is what they achieve

https://twitter.com/CentralBankTT/status/672763430844043265

Postby zoom rader » December 4th, 2015, 2:18 pm

5onDfloor wrote:
EmilioA wrote:

That's normal under this government.

One step forward two steps backward.
Famous words of this government is tighten yuh belts.

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » December 4th, 2015, 2:22 pm

ZR, please take time to look up the meaning of recession. Then explain to us how the PNM is to blame for this. It is also interesting to note that the CB Governor has now found his voice.

yrkwstcttbh

Postby yrkwstcttbh » December 4th, 2015, 3:57 pm

5onDfloor wrote:
EmilioA wrote:

You all realise the recession was described as 4 consecutive quarters of recession. Fairly certain the PNM only came into power in September....

Postby desifemlove » December 4th, 2015, 5:49 pm

5onDfloor wrote:
EmilioA wrote:

economic policies take time to implement.....doh expect any changes until a year even more.

dunno what you expect in three months, when Kams had five years and no diversification.

Postby zoom rader » December 4th, 2015, 6:38 pm

desifemlove wrote:
5onDfloor wrote:
EmilioA wrote:

economic policies take time to implement.....doh expect any changes until a year even more.

dunno what you expect in three months, when Kams had five years and no diversification.

Well prepare to head back to the UK unless you want to take part in the Soup kitchens that this governments sets up when they in power

Postby Habit7 » December 4th, 2015, 6:49 pm

Sat Red and Ready!
Hard choices for the UNC
Published:Thursday, December 3, 2015

At a time when the UNC is engaged in a heated internal election, it might be considered a heresy to speak of Dr Rowley in any praiseworthy manner. Upon publication of this article, I will be bombarded with accusations of having turned PNM. Notwithstanding, I am a firm believer that credit must be given where it is due.

In dealing with broad societal differences, we must be careful lest we overemphasise or underemphasise the part played by different religious and cultural groups. This year, Hindus and the Maha Sabha celebrated Divali with the rest of the country with great pomp and festivities.

Despite the tenuous economic conditions which surround us, the Government did not compromise the amount of funding which the Hindu community normally receives.

It was also pleasing to see the scale and propriety of the Divali celebration which was hosted by the PM at the Diplomatic Centre this year. In my view, it was a genuine attempt to reach out to all communities and to make good on his election night speech. It was indeed a lovely function.

Praise must also be showered upon the new Speaker of the House, Ms Bridgid Annisette George for instructing that the prayer traditionally recited in the Parliament
, be amended to include the Sanskrit word “Namaste”. Whilst the word “Namaste” is repeated by many people worldwide on a secular basis, it is in fact an original Sanskrit word in the Hindu faith. It forms part of many Hindu prayers (mantras) and an entire chapter in the Vedas (First Hindu Scripture) is called the “Namakam” because of its repeated usage in same.

The Hindu community welcomes the amendment of the ‘Parliamentary prayer’ as the word ‘Namaste’ invokes a universal and spiritual connection between God, man and fellow man. It is also considered a greeting carrying a message of peace and recognition of the divinity that connects each and every one of us.

Furthermore, this development augurs well for nation-building as it shows a dedication to the principle of inclusiveness to the different faiths of this country.

Satnarayan Maharaj
Secretary General of the Sanatan Dharma Maha Sabha

http://www.guardian.co.tt/columnist/201 ... hoices-unc

Postby zoom rader » December 4th, 2015, 6:54 pm

^^^^ Nice well done to the PNM.

I hope that Marlene McDonald allows some Jhandis to be planted on HDC housing when they sharing out rather than Bailisers on every gates or doors.

Postby De Dragon » December 4th, 2015, 9:37 pm

yrkwstcttbh wrote:
5onDfloor wrote:
EmilioA wrote:

You all realise the recession was described as 4 consecutive quarters of recession. Fairly certain the PNM only came into power in September....

PNM so evil de recession happen when it know dey was coming........

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » December 4th, 2015, 10:40 pm

Well since according to ZR the PNM has been in power since September last year, that mean they have real achievements. Box drain, fire station. hospital , schools.

Postby shogun » December 4th, 2015, 11:31 pm

De Dragon wrote:PNM so evil de recession happen when it know dey was coming........

Thaz the kind of extreme partisan rubbish i expect to hear from ZR and UML... I didn't look for you there.