Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby Chimera » December 6th, 2015, 7:07 pm

Yea I use Dewalt safety glasses below the helmet

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 6th, 2015, 9:24 pm

cool gonna have to get the face shield and ear muffs. Piece of bamboo grass hit me in the neck today the stump from it could swear a lil bit more and would ah puncture and kill me yes.

STUD 101

Postby STUD 101 » December 8th, 2015, 12:54 pm

Question for the farmers... What is the rate of pay for a labourer, their working hours on your farm and the general location of your farm (south central etc)?
I ask because i currently pay $200 a day but only on a weekend cause I work otherwise and when I leave men unsupervised I get bad work and sometimes no work. My farm is located in Mundo Nuevo more on the Talparo side, transport to and from work is provided and breakfast and lunch. I currently have no steady labourer what usually happens is they come for a 2/3 weekends then you cant get them for a 2/3 weekends or months at time.
So I just want to find out what other people are doing to get an idea of what rates are outside and whether I need to up my pay rate.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 8th, 2015, 1:43 pm

^ Thats sad, if I was living nearby you sure to get proper work done from me, I think $200 is fair for the day.But with Trini mentality don't expect any price to be good enough, trust me raising your price will do nothing.

I choose not to hire any help and do everything myself because I am more reliable plus I don't want too much people to know where my garden is. Often its the same ones working for you who does rob you.

Postby Chimera » December 8th, 2015, 2:26 pm

yeah $200 is fair

but no one wants to work a day work for $200 anymore

the fact is labourers hard to get so you find some farmers paying all kinda $350 when harvest time come around.

i real hate to hire people because...when i had my pawpaw field..to spray it properly i would use like 3-4 cans of spray

when i hire a man and give him to do it....he using one can alone....and still coming back with 1/4 can left in it
so you could imagine the halfway work he doing

daily paid workers have no interest in making sure your crop comes good

you hadda get them to stay on by offering them a cut from the produce if they stick around to help you sell or something

it frustrating trying to find reliable labourers

its the same reason i bought the fs450 for myself

a wackerman want $2000 for one day work...and he not going to take the care not to firetruck up the trees.....

better i do it myself

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 8th, 2015, 3:57 pm

^ yeah that was a good move, I won't trust anybody to wacker clean my crops. The old saying you want something done correct do it yourself.

In some cases it would be impossible, like people who does plant hundreds of acres of garden I have no idea how them does make out nah or where them getting workers from even when you pay higher price people still don't care, Trinis take no pride in what they do. Always a smart man looking for a shortcut.

York

Postby York » December 8th, 2015, 10:21 pm

$200 for a whole day's work on a farm is real low. Allyuh fellas talking but if the tables were turned you would be just like those labourers. Working in the sun is not easy.

There are some good workers but hard to find. Sunday I had a 9yr old help me for 2 hrs mold some baigan and ochro with his father's permission, gave him a lil change (more than mim wage). Was really helpful.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 8th, 2015, 10:34 pm

^ yeah but I would think though working on a farm for $200 is like only 4 Hours of work. I don't think 8 hours of work for $200 is fair for all that hot sun seeing that security companies does pay about $200 for guards to sleep all night.

When I worked at caura hospital many years ago as a guard, I slept a full 7 to 8 hours every night. And collected $180 a day for that. Luckily nobody ever kill us seeing that the wire fence had hole all around.

STUD 101

Postby STUD 101 » December 9th, 2015, 7:52 am

What is a fair wage for a farm labourer who works 2 days per week?

York

Postby York » December 9th, 2015, 10:33 am

STUD 101 wrote:What is a fair wage for a farm labourer who works 2 days per week?

ok $200 for half day, $350 for full day but depending on what has to be done and if it requires supervision and level of skill required. You can't assume that because it sounds easy that it can be classed as labourer. Like spraying is a skill, salting, etc. everything has to be done right, otherwise there could be consequences.

Honestly, I think every day's pay should be based on what has to be done and how long it will take. Job work!

lipstick war

Postby lipstick war » December 9th, 2015, 11:45 am

York what are you using for disease pressure?

How your baigan holding up?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 9th, 2015, 1:21 pm

I have decided to make a small table and sell my produce infront my house since I live on a main road. Makes no sense giving it away for so little to wholesale people who living just a few houses away from me.

I won't plant plenty of the same stuff I go mix it up so I will have a wider variety. Any ideas on what usually sell fast? I know cucumbers do, maybe pepper? peas?

York

Postby York » December 9th, 2015, 1:21 pm

lipstick war wrote:York what are you using for disease pressure?

How your baigan holding up?

Actually just planted about 3 wks ago. They small yet and i find lii justke they not growingm kinda stunted but i just mold them so will start shooting up. Its been a while since i planted but i use Kasanic, acrobat, Caprid and other insecticides, foliar fertilizers too.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » December 10th, 2015, 1:18 pm

Anyone bought the Murray Brushcutter with the Briggs and Stratton motor that PriceSmart sells?

I had it for a year and it works as good as the Stihl that you guys are referring to.

I use Premium Unleaded mixed with the Stihl 2 Stroke Oil.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 10th, 2015, 6:34 pm

^ I am pretty sure briggs and stratton motors are good since its American Engineering and they have a really long history, but I don't trust anything from pricesmart its usually bad news when you buy stuff there they aren't sams club, pricesmart is a latin american dump portal for rejected goods that can't make it to first world countries.

So buying from them is all about luck. My brother did however have a Stihl FS 250 from FT that suffered a blown carburetor after 3 years we swapped it out with a smaller stihl chainsaw carb from Amazon and it worked great for 7 years and still going strong. But again can't say if that was due to negligence or what.

So I really can't say but what I do know is when I go into a small engine repair shop its usually just 1 or 2 Stihl products that are fixing, most products waiting for owner to collect are those ryobi and other crap brands.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 10th, 2015, 7:08 pm

BTW was to ask this what do you guys think about the NP 2 stroke mix oil? is it safe? would it be inferior compared to the original Stihl Oil?

The agri shop by me sells 1 liter of the Stihl oil 1:50 for $50 but how they do it is they buy it in big drums and then pour it out in plastic bottles and sell it. Dunno IF this stuff is original or what, do you all also buy the oil like this? The NP is $30 a liter and Stihl is $50 a liter assuming the guy speaking the truth and its genuine stihl. Cause I not sure where else you can get Stihl oil that is sealed from Germany.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » December 10th, 2015, 7:20 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:BTW was to ask this what do you guys think about the NP 2 stroke mix oil? is it safe? would it be inferior compared to the original Stihl Oil?

The agri shop by me sells 1 liter of the Stihl oil 1:50 for $50 but how they do it is they buy it in big drums and then pour it out in plastic bottles and sell it. Dunno IF this stuff is original or what, do you all also buy the oil like this? The NP is $30 a liter and Stihl is $50 a liter assuming the guy speaking the truth and its genuine stihl. Cause I not sure where else you can get Stihl oil that is sealed from Germany.

I was advised against using the NP 2 Stroke oil.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 10th, 2015, 7:24 pm

^ I will take your advise also. lol I eh feel like using it either even if there is a big price difference. Cause this is what Stihl says could be marketing just for us to buy their brand for all we know but nuh willing to test if its true or not.

I supposed to use 80ml of oil for 1 gallon container I have but I does put like 90ml in it cause I heard a little more is better than a little less.

http://en.stihl.ca/fuel-mix.aspx

Always use high quality two-stroke engine oil. It is best to use STIHL two-stroke engine oil which is specially formulated for STIHL engines and helps to prolong engine life.
Important:

The engine, gaskets, fuel lines and fuel tank may be damaged if poor quality engine oil is used.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 13th, 2015, 2:58 pm

How much you all selling cucumber for these days?

A veggie mart by me selling it $2 a pound retail. lol I just pick about 12 pound from the garden is my first time doing this so about 60 trees survive and 70 dead or didn't bear or didn't grow. My guess is every other day I will get atleast 10 pound of picking for maybe 2 weeks. Should I even bother to attempt to sell this? or just juice it and drink it?

Was thinking of selling it infront my house on a table, doh laugh cause is my first time planting anything and actually reaping something I plant. lol

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » December 14th, 2015, 5:50 pm

Cucumber real cheap for the past 4-5 weeks, last price I saw was $100-$80 ah bag at the POS market on Saturday night.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 14th, 2015, 6:38 pm

G-DUB wrote:Cucumber real cheap for the past 4-5 weeks, last price I saw was $100-$80 ah bag at the POS market on Saturday night.

Yeah I try selling this but nobody wants to buy it, veggie mart by me selling all kinda $2 a pound retail yes. Real madness!!
What I decided to do is plant for myself, since I can't get anyone to buy even when I put it as $2 a pound I will simply plant a variety of crops every 2 weeks so when one starts to die the other will be ready.

I might reduce my food bill by atleast $1000 perhaps. And maybe when I have a wide variety of things to sell maybe people will stop to buy from me. I figure nobody gonna stop to buy cucumber alone.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 15th, 2015, 11:35 am

Anybody knows how much string bean selling for retail?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 16th, 2015, 5:08 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
G-DUB wrote:Cucumber real cheap for the past 4-5 weeks, last price I saw was $100-$80 ah bag at the POS market on Saturday night.

Yeah I try selling this but nobody wants to buy it, veggie mart by me selling all kinda $2 a pound retail yes. Real madness!!
What I decided to do is plant for myself, since I can't get anyone to buy even when I put it as $2 a pound I will simply plant a variety of crops every 2 weeks so when one starts to die the other will be ready.

I might reduce my food bill by atleast $1000 perhaps. And maybe when I have a wide variety of things to sell maybe people will stop to buy from me. I figure nobody gonna stop to buy cucumber alone.

seeing that it have so much available..........now is actually the best time to start a crop......you'd kill them when you start to sell

York

Postby York » December 16th, 2015, 12:34 pm

yes it's really demand and supply that determines the price. How long does the cucumber crop take from planting to reaping?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 16th, 2015, 12:42 pm

^ It takes 5 weeks. lol when I planted this the price was good, now price hit rock bottom just 8 weeks ago the price of cucumber was like almost $10 a pound or so now it $2.

I eh feeling to give up so easily. If I start to plant back from next week ah wonder what the price go be so ending up of January. But I really need to plant other stuff not just cucumbers, but not sure what. I go need them to all bear same time.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » December 16th, 2015, 1:07 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ It takes 5 weeks. lol when I planted this the price was good, now price hit rock bottom just 8 weeks ago the price of cucumber was like almost $10 a pound or so now it $2.

I eh feeling to give up so easily. If I start to plant back from next week ah wonder what the price go be so ending up of January. But I really need to plant other stuff not just cucumbers, but not sure what. I go need them to all bear same time.

Too many cucumber suppliers on the market right now.
Have you considered vegetables to supply the numerous Chinese establishments that are setting up in your area?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 16th, 2015, 1:56 pm

Pointman-IA wrote:
Have you considered vegetables to supply the numerous Chinese establishments that are setting up in your area?

Sir you have definitely given me an idea here. It has atleast 4 Chinese restaurants walking distance from my house.

I will speak with the owners this week and find out a bit more as to what they need and are willing to buy from me. Seeing as they have to go market to get their goods I think they will appreciate me bringing it to their restaurant. I can't believe I didn't think of this before, this is a great idea. If I get them to buy my produce I won't have to worry about selling it on a table or anything like that. And well they will always want veggies.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » December 16th, 2015, 2:35 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
Pointman-IA wrote:

Sir you have definitely given me an idea here. It has atleast 4 Chinese restaurants walking distance from my house.

I will speak with the owners this week and find out a bit more as to what they need and are willing to buy from me. Seeing as they have to go market to get their goods I think they will appreciate me bringing it to their restaurant. I can't believe I didn't think of this before, this is a great idea. If I get them to buy my produce I won't have to worry about selling it on a table or anything like that. And well they will always want veggies.

Point to note is that if your price is right, they will take your produce and give you link to other establishment.

Once your produce is of high quality, you will score.
You should consider purple cabbage and patchoi.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 16th, 2015, 4:30 pm

^ Thank you good sir I will take note of that. Going to the agri shop tomorrow and see what they got aswell.

lipstick war

Postby lipstick war » December 16th, 2015, 6:01 pm

Picked a single pak choi this evening

20151126_220722.jpg