Slartibartfast wrote:PS. Muhammed married a 9 year old and waited until she was at the much more respectable age of 12 before having sex with her..
Habit7 wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:PS. Muhammed married a 9 year old and waited until she was at the much more respectable age of 12 before having sex with her..
Actually
Narrated 'Aisha: that the Prophet married her when she was six years old and he consummated his marriage when she was nine years old, and then she remained with him for nine years (i.e., till his death).
— Sahih al-Bukhari, 7:62:64
But as an atheist, where do you get the moral authority (other than your personal preference) to tell a man living in another country at another time, that his marriage is inappropriate?
crock101 wrote:As an atheist no, as a human being I do say that raping children is wrong , this should never have to be a talking point.
Under no circumstance is it ok, to be honest I did not expect to get any opposition on this subject.
The word marriage gets used but we all know that the "wife" had no say in the matter .
As to moral authority, I can say that most rational people in the civilized world have far superior morals to people who take moral instruction from ancient texts that instruct death for the most trivial things.
Apostasy,adultery,blasphemy,working on the Sabbath.....these are not moral,they are just primitive
Slartibartfast wrote:1. It's troubling that you need something to actually tell you sex with a 9 year old is wrong and
2. Sex with a child can harm the child both physically and mentally. That is why it is wrong. That is why sex should only be between two consenting adults.
3. I dont believe I can talk to dead people so I can only point out that he was wrong.
crock101 wrote:I'm still in shock that there are people here defending pedophilia,what next, slavery.
Slartibartfast wrote:1. Lol. The bible is subjectively applied where convenient. Just like any holy book. You and blues can't evem agree on what it says grammatically speaking.
2. Morality is subjective applied because all of life is subjective. I have however shown multiple times the objective underlying principle.
3. My point is Muhammed was not aware of the objective underlying principle. Hence the reason why he saw nothing wrong with raping children. My other point is that he should therefore not be thought of as a good moral example.
crock101 wrote:Consenting adults engaging in a sexual act is not the same thing as an adult raping a child .the mere fact that you and people like you don't seem to understand that ,is the root of the problem.
crock101 wrote:Yes it is true that that abolitionists were religious but you conveniently omitted the fact that so were the anti-abolitionists who even referred scripture to argue their points.....Google is my friend.
this means that any morality regarding it is subjective. Better yet, it's one of the first sources that I came across when I Googled "pedophelia in the Bible". This means that you somehow already knew pedophelia was wrong without seeing it in the Bible. You then just used Google to get anything to support your view. .. hmmm... It's like you get your morality from somewhere else.There is no direct mention of pedophilia in the Bible.
This not the first time I pointed you to that website for your Bible questions so I don't get your google hypothesis viewtopic.php?f=4&t=267363&p=8314635#p8314635 . I think again you don't understand how this bible thing goes. The bible doesn't have to directly address something. The central doctrine of the Trinity is never spelt out in the Bible, thus is the Trinity. Biblical interpretation is an effort in deductive reasoning, this plays out in the fact that no orthodox Christian denomination approves of pedophila. So your point that pedophila being subjective in the Bible is moot.Slartibartfast wrote:1. From the very first sentencethis means that any morality regarding it is subjective. Better yet, it's one of the first sources that I came across when I Googled "pedophelia in the Bible". This means that you somehow already knew pedophelia was wrong without seeing it in the Bible. You then just used Google to get anything to support your view. .. hmmm... It's like you get your morality from somewhere else.There is no direct mention of pedophilia in the Bible.
2. Why must an objective principle come from an objective source. Again, just because you say it doesn't make it true. What part of the underlying principle "do as little harm as possible" is subjective? I created that principle by myself btw. Surely one fallible human such as myself must be easy to disprove. I'm not even asking you to actually prove your statement as that would be too hard for you.
3. And what are these laws? Who were they written by? Can you provide a factual source for this statement? Can you prove this divine law make exists? Remember just because you say it does not make it so. Show Mr some proof.
If you cant see the blatant contradiction it those two statements, then you are wasting my time.What part of the underlying principle "do as little harm as possible" is subjective? I created that principle by myself btw.
This right here is why the bible is subjective. It is subjectively interpreted to mean whatever you need it to mean to back up your beliefs. That is how the bible has been used to back up so many contradicting beliefs over the past 2000 years. Just on this thread alone you and Blues can't agree on the meaning. The only difference is that you hide behind the bible as some "moral authority" so you don't have to take responsibility for what you believe or think about why you believe it.Habit7 wrote:I think again you don't understand how this bible thing goes. The bible doesn't have to directly address something
York wrote:MD Marketers wrote:York wrote:MD Marketers wrote:metalgear2095 wrote:York wrote:the bible is flawed, not preserved, tampered with...
The Koran is a story book inspired by the bible.
Sent from my D6653 using Tapatalk
The Qur'an seems to be without flaws though. The Hadith are literally riddled with flaws however.
Any Hadeeth following Muslim has no right to use the argument that the "bible is flawed" when he himself follows flaw riddled Hadeeth.
MD, yuh in need of guidance...
Then guide me:
Are the sahih hadeeth you follow flawless unlike the bible you condemn?
Yes or No?
If "No" then why would you criticize the bible for it's flaws?
Awaiting your "guidance"
Seek guidance from God, be sincere, yes sincere....if HE wills the needed guidance will be sent through the creation. Maybe me or someone else.
You and your boy Slarti suffering from a profound ignorance of the scriptures you claim are rubbish. The moral principle here is adultery, which I hope you agree is morally wrong. The penalty of stoning is a civil law requirement that was meant only for the nation of Israel at that time and has no binding requirement on anyone today. That is why biblical ignorant atheists run to passages in the Old Testament and cry foul at its morality without pointing to a contemporary example practiced by Christians. Christian morality agrees with the moral against adultery but not with that penalty, hence you live in a society that is against adultery but doesn't offer capital punishment for adulterers. Although as an atheist you would have no reason to oppose it just as Kim Jong Un and his atheist govt constantly uses capital punishment for even minor offenses.crock101 wrote:If a woman is not a virgin on her wedding night,she is to be stoned to death by the men of her village on her father's door step. Deuteronomy 22-21
Now I expect that nobody, not even the people who say that the bible is that word of God and must be followed, agree with <span class="skimlinks-unlinked">this.
Huh? Can you back up that assertion? What is life and by whose standards is it not objective? Why does morality needs to be "tied together"? You are one making assertions that sound like they are from a fortune cookie.Slartibartfast wrote:2. Life is not objective, therefore morality cannot be objective...... That means, like always, your assertions are without backing.