12.5% VAT to be added to computers, tablets etc

Re: 12.5% VAT to be added to computers, tablets etc

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 12th, 2016, 1:00 pm

Everyone says generic sheit like "increase foreign revenue", pay back debts etc.

HOW? And how does increased taxes NOT factor into paying back debts as soon as possible? Trinituner myopia is endemic.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » January 12th, 2016, 1:01 pm

j.o.e wrote:
iM@st@1 wrote:Nerds are not pleased....

I think we should petition against this.

Nerds out there 2 questions

1) Do you realize how bad our revenue position is right now?
2) How many computers, laptops, tablets do you buy per calendar year?

1. Yea I'm aware...books/computers are educational tools however, beneficial for our growth as we live in a digital age. If your in support of taxing these items ,no problem, you're entitled to your opinion. I don't agree with it because I think it's a step in the wrong direction, but politricks/economics is not my strong point, so what do I know....
2. I buy parts yearly, side hustle, so this will definitely affect me negatively as I would now have pass these costs to customers.

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Nerds cyah be serious bout the beatup. Still no customs duties. Spending hundreds of US on items but beating up on 12.5%? Gladly would pay the sales taxes in US if shopping abroad?

Exactly, every cent adds up, don't know about you but I like to save a dollar any way I can.

Also with regards to computer parts I only shop online to avoid paying additional tax. Although Amazon charges it, there are other retailers that don't. #shopsmart

Postby Habit7 » January 12th, 2016, 1:02 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Now they have to hold back on their education, whatever extra book they might want to buy for some extra studies now they have to tighten their jockey shorts even more.
The crying shame! For that $300 textbook now they have to pay an extra $37.50. I guess they will drown their sorrows in a movie at Movietowne.

Postby Redman » January 12th, 2016, 1:02 pm

j.o.e wrote:

Further to the above...how many purchases that you made in the last 10 years would NOT have happened if they were taxable.

Either you need it or not...either you want it or not.

tax is never a deciding factor.....

Postby teems1 » January 12th, 2016, 1:04 pm

Habit7 wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Now they have to hold back on their education, whatever extra book they might want to buy for some extra studies now they have to tighten their jockey shorts even more.
The crying shame! For that $300 textbook now they have to pay an extra $37.50. I guess they will drown their sorrows in a movie at Movietowne.

wat?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 12th, 2016, 1:07 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

1. Yea I'm aware...books/computers are educational tools however, beneficial for our growth as we live in a digital age. If your in support of taxing these items ,no problem, you're entitled to your opinion. I don't agree with it because I think it's a step in the wrong direction, but politricks/economics is not my strong point, so what do I know....
2. I buy parts yearly, side hustle, so this will definitely affect me negatively as I would now have pass these costs to customers.

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Nerds cyah be serious bout the beatup. Still no customs duties. Spending hundreds of US on items but beating up on 12.5%? Gladly would pay the sales taxes in US if shopping abroad?

Exactly, every cent adds up, don't know about you but I like to save a dollar any way I can.

Also with regards to computer parts I only shop online to avoid paying additional tax. Although Amazon charges it, there are other retailers that don't. #shopsmart

I hear you on the shop smart but I also don't think the benefits we used to get existed in a vacuum. Things are not the same now as they were before. The no VAT on computer parts started when those things were very expensive back in the 90's. Not so much now and the increase is not draconian and it's not done just because the government felt like it.

Postby S_2NR » January 12th, 2016, 1:11 pm

teems1 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

wat?

Doh even bother

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 12th, 2016, 1:12 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

#shopsmart i like that

so true on all accounts. it depends on the retailers physical location or registered state. some states dont pay sales tax to ship to florida. its as simple as finding a retailer from one of those states.

Postby Redman » January 12th, 2016, 1:17 pm

And this probably is the underlying principle of the GORTTs actions.

Shouldnt this be?

Postby Morpheus » January 12th, 2016, 1:17 pm

The economic sitiuation is grim
These things were gonna happen. Seriously what would the PP have done goven the outlook? Seriously. If you put forward good ideas then yeah. But I think either party would have had to make some tough decisions.
This isn't about we and them. We ALL have to survive this difficult period.

** not too happy about the online shopping pressure coming though

Postby RBphoto » January 12th, 2016, 1:17 pm

Too much techno garbage being imported and draining our precious USD reserves.. This is great to stop the flow of cash reserves from consumers, but what about the major corporations who are depleting our USD cash reserves?

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 12th, 2016, 1:39 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Everyone says generic sheit like "increase foreign revenue", pay back debts etc.

HOW? And how does increased taxes NOT factor into paying back debts as soon as possible? Trinituner myopia is endemic.

i dont just present problems without also presenting solutions. for years ive been saying it right here on tuner we should have been investing greater into agriculture for export and pushing for self sustainability rather that pursuing grandiose projects and deficit spending. all that means is Government run projects on government allocated lands, providing thousands of jobs to produce surplus crops in such amounts that local cost will be heavily reduced, whilst leaving us with a large enough surplus for export purposes. we could target the most lucrative crop investments for export in our surrounding region. striking a balance between the smallest cost of production and rate of return for the most efficient profit margins. and with updated study, change the crops we produce for export as the market changes.

many groups have also been calling for it for years. but when the budget came, and we saw the meager allocation to the agricultural sector. we realized this government wasnt going to do it either.

there are quite a few other lucrative ways to generate foreign income. but like our politicians think they will always be able to buy money with their tongue. if they wont take the simple basic steps that show a real interest in grasping at alternative sources of income. what more should i share?

at least someone recognizes the importance of agriculture

https://www.rt.com/business/324605-russ ... lthy-food/

in dire times food and water does become gold and silver.

"Ten years ago, we imported almost half of the food from abroad, and were dependent on imports. Now Russia is among the exporters. Last year, Russian exports of agricultural products amounted to almost $20 billion - a quarter more than the revenue from the sale of arms, or one-third the revenue coming from gas exports," he said.

had we done this 15 years ago when the warning signs of oil were there. but coulda shoulda woulda

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » January 12th, 2016, 1:47 pm

textbooks not included, still zero rated

but kindle ftw, doubt they could tax ebooks

Postby Country_Bookie » January 12th, 2016, 1:53 pm

Not surprised they decided to tax books as well. From the posts in this thread it's obvious the pnm-ites does only read the party manifesto and PNM facebook feed. They won't be affected.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 12th, 2016, 1:54 pm

bluesclues wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Everyone says generic sheit like "increase foreign revenue", pay back debts etc.

i dont just present problems without also presenting solutions. for years ive been saying it right here on tuner we should have been investing greater into agriculture for export and pushing for self sustainability rather that pursuing grandiose projects and deficit spending. all that means is Government run projects on government allocated lands, providing thousands of jobs to produce surplus crops in such amounts that local cost will be heavily reduced, whilst leaving us with a large enough surplus for export purposes. we could target the most lucrative crop investments for export in our surrounding region. striking a balance between the smallest cost of production and rate of return for the most efficient profit margins. and with updated study, change the crops we produce for export as the market changes.

many groups have also been calling for it for years. but when the budget came, and we saw the meager allocation to the agricultural sector. we realized this government wasnt going to do it either.

there are quite a few other lucrative ways to generate foreign income. but like our politicians think they will always be able to buy money with their tongue. if they wont take the simple basic steps that show a real interest in grasping at alternative sources of income. what more should i share?

at least someone recognizes the importance of agriculture

https://www.rt.com/business/324605-russ ... lthy-food/

in dire times food and water does become gold and silver.

"Ten years ago, we imported almost half of the food from abroad, and were dependent on imports. Now Russia is among the exporters. Last year, Russian exports of agricultural products amounted to almost $20 billion - a quarter more than the revenue from the sale of arms, or one-third the revenue coming from gas exports," he said.

had we done this 15 years ago when the warning signs of oil were there. but coulda shoulda woulda

All that takes time. My question was directed at those complaining about taxes NOW. Yes diversification is needed but all those plans take time. No one has a short term plan to cope with the relatively sharp drop off in energy revenue.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 12th, 2016, 2:00 pm

how short is this short term you speak of?

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » January 12th, 2016, 2:04 pm

Great is the PNM

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 12th, 2016, 2:20 pm

Only a matter of time now until they add 25% import duty ontop of that 12.5% vat for computers and books. And there goes any hope for youths of this country to become computer literate just wait for it you will see.

It will be back like the good old days, the rich alone will have access to learning tools like computers, just wait for it. There goes the dream that Pandey had to put a computer in every Trini's Home.

Postby pete » January 12th, 2016, 2:33 pm

Back when they removed the duty and VAT computers were MUCH more expensive than they are now. A $3000 laptop that now costs $3400 is not going to really stop people from being able to afford one. Maybe have to save a couple more months but won't stop them buying one.

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » January 12th, 2016, 2:34 pm

firstchoicett wrote:Great is the PNM

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 12th, 2016, 2:38 pm

bluesclues wrote:how short is this short term you speak of?

How about two periods? This calendar year and over two calendar years of low energy prices?

Postby Mark! » January 12th, 2016, 2:41 pm

Wey meh comment abt the corn beef hehehe

Postby RBphoto » January 12th, 2016, 2:57 pm

pete wrote:Back when they removed the duty and VAT computers were MUCH more expensive than they are now. A $3000 laptop that now costs $3400 is not going to really stop people from being able to afford one. Maybe have to save a couple more months but won't stop them buying one.

Yeah.... but when you are looking for a $15,000.00 workstation for video.. the struggle is real :cry:

Postby Chimera » January 12th, 2016, 3:03 pm

pete wrote:Back when they removed the duty and VAT computers were MUCH more expensive than they are now. A $3000 laptop that now costs $3400 is not going to really stop people from being able to afford one. Maybe have to save a couple more months but won't stop them buying one.

you have to look at everything together tho

okay....the computer costs $400 more now.....
but the groceries cost more
the gas costs more

as well as the arbitrary way that customs deals with imports.....
currently you have no worries when a computer or tablet comes in...because there is no duty or vat at all..it doh matter if it costs 50 US or 5000 US..no duty or vat...so nothing can be charged

when this comes into effect....watch how dotish customs officers gonna start classifying $30 and $100 tablets all as ipads and hit people with 12.5 % vat on $500-700 US

they did that to me once when i brought in some $30 US tablets from china....they class it as ipad....value $500 US each...but after all the tra la la la and waste of a few days for me, it didnt matter because they still couldn't tax it.

yeah you can fight the charges....but all that is time and money

you'll see

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 12th, 2016, 3:04 pm

RBphoto wrote:

Yeah.... but when you are looking for a $15,000.00 workstation for video.. the struggle is real :cry:

Weddings still hadda wedding. Sure you making that back easy.

Postby Chimera » January 12th, 2016, 3:07 pm

wedding price going up like hell

caterer price
photographer price
wedding cake price
pundit price