12.5% VAT to be added to computers, tablets etc

Re: 12.5% VAT to be added to computers, tablets etc

Postby brams112 » January 12th, 2016, 9:18 pm

Morpheus wrote:^^Damnnnnn that need an Intermission like The Ten Commandments movie yes....

Man type like he doing penance, :lol: pack of sh1t,but he could put his money where his mouth is and plant all those crops to make all that money :lol: :lol: .

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » January 12th, 2016, 9:18 pm

Money to fix brian lara stadium

Worth it

Postby brams112 » January 12th, 2016, 9:25 pm

desifemlove wrote:cos every UNC born rich...every person in Siparia earns the highest tax bracket and the streets paved in gold (not she party's colours..actual gold....)

nothing good like the highway she built...nothign good like GATE...nothing good like NAPA..nothign good like the current exchange rate regime..but UNCs only does have primary school education...

She did not build any highway nookie,contractors did sheit,what good about Napa?i yet to see it,UNCs have primary school education,yet most of them more successful than you pallie. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby j.o.e » January 12th, 2016, 10:10 pm

And the thread has boiled down to PNM vs UNC. Allyuh kants will never learn ... That is why a Gov't could screw yall over once they have the support of your tribe.
Nobody yet could say what the present Gov't should do based on low oil prices and and lack of savings to fall back on.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » January 12th, 2016, 10:18 pm

12376199_823921847730785_2830736114019766122_n.jpg
12376199_823921847730785_2830736114019766122_n.jpg (44.48 KiB) Viewed 3351 times

ingalook

Postby ingalook » January 12th, 2016, 10:30 pm

Hoss... All dem ting have VAT now!

10-01

Postby 10-01 » January 12th, 2016, 10:33 pm

ingalook wrote:Hoss... All dem ting have VAT now!

:cry: :cry:

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 12th, 2016, 10:56 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Do the agriculture thing. Diversify sure. It won't be as fast as some say it will be though. Hence why a combination of things, taxes included, are needed in the short and long term. I recall not one person crying out for VAT to be removed before it was on the 7000 items.

I don't think you guys were suffering then and I don't think you will suffer now with the 12.5%. Added costs yes. Sufferation? No. If yes to Sufferation best you go identify yourself in the sufferers ched.

if u just think about it. i am more prepared for these times than most because ive been sharing this point of view since the manning era. if i dig i can find my old posts which says pretty much exactly the same thing. i declared the imminent reduction in the price of oil in the early 2000s and right here on tuner i posted these exact same solutions with direct correlation to my expectation that the oil market would see a decline in coming years. i knew then that diversification for addition income streams was necessary and i watched as government after government ignored the issue and went on with business as usual with the attitude that oil was never going down but further up.

dont you think someone expecting this would be better prepared? u'll probably find the same post by me as far back as trinituner old invision site. so really, none of this affects me. i even have 3 latest model computers and 4 laptops here. 1 5400k system which im using and 2 7700k systems in box in storage for if i ever need to upgrade or replace parts or whatever. im good with computers for the next 20 years until quantum computers become the commonplace consumer item. i have no shortage of access to usd and can make purchases in foreign EVEN IF all consumer imports were blocked. added to that, i make purchases which add to the economy without draining our current usd supply. so my imports bring positive growth while urs bring negative growth.

i am modern. i utilize technology fully to always have the most up to date information on well.. everything. while i was warning i was putting in place my contingencies. the same contingencies i advised to everyone i knew out of genuine concern. and right here on tuner. wouldnt i practice what i preach? i am low maintenance though. so though im not a big player, my needs can be catered for and im satisfied with that. big players have big money and get big return. that i dont have. but i could survive this without flinching. so i dont consider myself a sufferer. but the real sufferers. who living paycheck to paycheck. who borrowing half they salary to make it to the next payday every month. them will feel it. to them an extra 60$ is plenty.

Postby desifemlove » January 12th, 2016, 11:03 pm

brams112 wrote:
desifemlove wrote:cos every UNC born rich...every person in Siparia earns the highest tax bracket and the streets paved in gold (not she party's colours..actual gold....)

nothing good like the highway she built...nothign good like GATE...nothing good like NAPA..nothign good like the current exchange rate regime..but UNCs only does have primary school education...

She did not build any highway nookie,contractors did sheit,what good about Napa?i yet to see it,UNCs have primary school education,yet most of them more successful than you pallie. :lol: :lol: :lol:

So then she come magician and build de Pt. Fortin highway? NAPA...wit plenty of events dat she called a white elephant?

Postby mero » January 12th, 2016, 11:12 pm

Real men go crawl on dey belly this year

Postby desifemlove » January 12th, 2016, 11:16 pm

j.o.e wrote:And the thread has boiled down to PNM vs UNC. Allyuh kants will never learn ... That is why a Gov't could screw yall over once they have the support of your tribe.
Nobody yet could say what the present Gov't should do based on low oil prices and and lack of savings to fall back on.

- light manufacturing. not tinned peas or fruit. could be bicycles, copmuters, phones. anything to earn as de man said FOREX.

- performing arts

- media/music. sell parang overseas....like hundreds of millions of people not that far away does speak Spanish....

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 12th, 2016, 11:18 pm

@bluesclues
I was to ask you do you think we even have the land space required for export of agriculture goods? the workers? the fertile lands? you realistically think we can compete with big countries in food export? I doubt it.

All the good fertile lands have been taken over and houses built on them. In El Dorado for example if you see crops grow there you won't believe your eyes how well those things flourish you wouldn't believe dirt like that even exist. But any chance of that is long gone now the whole of caroni to las lomas and beyond is a type of clay dirt, eh worth sheit and has flooding many parts aswell.

We also suffer from drought, we hardly have water for us to drink much less watering thousands of acres of land to grow crop to export for a small profit. Doh forget trinis go make their name stealing crops, theft another huge problem facing farmers right now. If Agriculture had the kinda money worth making they would have done it already. The Agriculture chapter is over.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 12th, 2016, 11:40 pm

bluesclues wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Do the agriculture thing. Diversify sure. It won't be as fast as some say it will be though. Hence why a combination of things, taxes included, are needed in the short and long term. I recall not one person crying out for VAT to be removed before it was on the 7000 items.

I don't think you guys were suffering then and I don't think you will suffer now with the 12.5%. Added costs yes. Sufferation? No. If yes to Sufferation best you go identify yourself in the sufferers ched.

if u just think about it. i am more prepared for these times than most because ive been sharing this point of view since the manning era. if i dig i can find my old posts which says pretty much exactly the same thing. i declared the imminent reduction in the price of oil in the early 2000s and right here on tuner i posted these exact same solutions with direct correlation to my expectation that the oil market would see a decline in coming years. i knew then that diversification for addition income streams was necessary and i watched as government after government ignored the issue and went on with business as usual with the attitude that oil was never going down but further up.

dont you think someone expecting this would be better prepared? u'll probably find the same post by me as far back as trinituner old invision site. so really, none of this affects me. i even have 3 latest model computers and 4 laptops here. 1 5400k system which im using and 2 7700k systems in box in storage for if i ever need to upgrade or replace parts or whatever. im good with computers for the next 20 years until quantum computers become the commonplace consumer item. i have no shortage of access to usd and can make purchases in foreign EVEN IF all consumer imports were blocked. added to that, i make purchases which add to the economy without draining our current usd supply. so my imports bring positive growth while urs bring negative growth.

i am modern. i utilize technology fully to always have the most up to date information on well.. everything. while i was warning i was putting in place my contingencies. the same contingencies i advised to everyone i knew out of genuine concern. and right here on tuner. wouldnt i practice what i preach? i am low maintenance though. so though im not a big player, my needs can be catered for and im satisfied with that. big players have big money and get big return. that i dont have. but i could survive this without flinching. so i dont consider myself a sufferer. but the real sufferers. who living paycheck to paycheck. who borrowing half they salary to make it to the next payday every month. them will feel it. to them an extra 60$ is plenty.

Cs;b

Postby desifemlove » January 13th, 2016, 12:24 am

j.o.e wrote:And the thread has boiled down to PNM vs UNC. Allyuh kants will never learn ... That is why a Gov't could screw yall over once they have the support of your tribe.

Cos Tanty Kams brainwash dey to say she ent cause recession......like five years never happened but was a parallel dimension.

Postby desifemlove » January 13th, 2016, 12:32 am

bluesclues wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
bluesclues wrote:
bluesclues wrote:how short is this short term you speak of?

How about two periods? This calendar year and over two calendar years of low energy prices?

more than enough to reap the benefits of food production on a larger scale. not like we dont have the land. most crops take 3 months from seedling to harvest. we could just run short crop and longcrop simultaneously until the long crop starts producing.. thing like breadfruit, ackee, avocado etc that need trees to mature. this also has the side effect of creating jobs. why overlook food production for something else when you have nothing else? a bird in the hand.

You gonna make up the deficit of billions in debt by going into agriculture over a one year period?

for a start. yeah why not?

better than trying to get the money from tax payers while corporations bleed the foreign exchange supply.

I don't think it's very realistic. If it was that simple business men would be exploiting a significant portion of it already. There is nothing stopping individuals from selling those crops now but for some reason they not already doing it?

How much revenue you would expect from your agriculture plan over the first year?

it depends on the investment. right now the agricultural sector and small farmers in particular have trouble getting certain approvals for things like to run water and put down tank to water their crops. to be able to put down a structure to live in and tend the land. without those approvals its much more difficult to tend your crops, some have to pay expenses in transport as startups because they dont have their own and the additional costs and energy required to harvest keeps going up. we have to make it easier for farmers to be comfortable, on their land and able to fend off thieves. making it easier for them to go more largescale.

besides that, government itself can take an interest in the agricultural sector and provide jobs. for a start, a budgetary allocation of no less than 2-2.5 billion dollars as an investment to lay the foundation and setup all equipment, purchase seeds, hire personnel and prepare lands for planting. and increasing over the next few years to 5-6bn. once all that is in place cost of production will decrease and then its just about maintaining the equipment and allocations we already have. as a result i expect us to generate 100s of millions to a couple of billion in foreign currency from the export market annually with profit margins soaring after we break even. those profit margins are what we looking at that will help to mitigate outward cash flow. immediate side effects will include the significant lowering of the cost of local produce to consumers.

but we lack many agricultural technologies that could vastly improve the efficiency of our land usage. this is why we will need a large initial investment and greater encouragement for people to get into agriculture through less strict land usage policies where agriculture is concerned.

but i can tell you from first hand knowledge. a single farmer, with a spray can, and a $100 tin of seeds working 2 hrs a day and 4hrs once in a while depending is able to generate thousands of dollars in income from one crop per day! a $120 tin of cucumber seed for example holding 3000 seeds. and each vine that sprout from that giving u endless cucumber right up until the vine dry up. he literally, cannot harvest his crops fast enough to sell. and tonnes of it rot back into the ground. ocro is another one.. corn. and they giving u back seeds easy easy you dont even have to buy again once u get a good first harvest.

that is how agriculture works. it takes money to get started. but done efficiently.. it runs itself and just delivers money after a while at next to no cost in comparison. the majority of work is just in preparation and then harvest. if you could keep the cycles of cropping and re-cropping efficient and hire enough harvestors... millions can be generated by a simple small farmer per year. and we not even talking about the main government agricultural project. simple small farmers with small plots of land.. if they had a way to harvest all their crops and get it sold for export, would probably accrue an easy extra $200million in foreign revenues. those figures may not be impressive now. but over time and say 5 - 10 years it could generate billions per year in Profits from export. and with a government program that employs organic farming methods, the cost of production is reduced even further. further increasing your profit margin.

seen it myself. a few rows of corn in 100 foot beds is 30-50k in sales and if u spent $2000 to prepare those beds you spent plenty. u just cah pick 50k worth of corn in a day by yourself and you cant sell it in a day either. so men will just pick about 4-$500 worth of goods. pay transport to take them with their produce to the market. siddong and sell it and do that any time they need money again. meanwhile everyday.. ocro drying out.. pumpkin rottenin all the other produce what they cant pick and get sold rottenin.

this is just ONE of the areas i would tackle. but when we talking about generating foreign income. we talking about selling anything that we have that the international market seeks to outsource. that means not only products, but also services. services are beautiful in that you have no export costs. telephone tech support services for example are outsourced from india and ireland by a number of countries and corporations. some of them are even WORK FROM HOME where you answer calls from international customers and follow a manual on helping treat with their problem. its no-brainer work that pays. all you have to do is setup the infrastructure and hire and train your employees. india has been making a name for itself in that area for the past 10 yrs.

these are just 2. agriculture and service export. i have more. conjoining all the methods of generating foreign income i would expect a minimum annual 5billion usd being generated by these sectors. one of which allows us to sell energy on the international market at rates parallel to $80 a barrel even now and through further decline in oil price. unfortunately i prefer not to share details on that plan at this time. but basically, again, like the agriculture, it will require an initial investment, with a break even in about 3 months. after which, avoiding transportation costs and whatnot would leave us with monthly profit margins of 90% in comparison to the cost of running the operation for the month. real cold hard cash. but unlike the agricultural proposition, this already has a target market and buyers lined up.

the economic activity generated from the employment opportunities in these projects will also spurn on gdp growth. leading to a cascading effect of money untop of money and gradual reversal of our deficit position in 10-15 yrs. 15 years to repay the deficit of 50+Bn dollars and be in good economic standing at the same time is reasonable enough short term management where a nation is concerned. the deficit was not accrued in one year, and will not be paid in one year. we mismanaged our money. the shortest road out of hell now.. is a bit lengthy.

Crops is what countries like Nigeria or Bangladesh or to still some extent India does do. Who gonna buy these crops? is growing crops gonna give us the lving standards we does want, or expect? You saying we should be a poor third world country.....

If this growin crops was turned into making fruit products, veg products, or exporting foods, fine.

To answer the OP, why would it make computers more expensive? I don't see the issue. ICT is one of the biggest industries in the world for a reason. If taxes on cars was raised, who cares, people will manage cos they need cars. Same is true with computers.

If taxes had to be raised, then raise on a good of high demand which is price inelastic. makes sense, ent?

The only reason computers are common know is social need, not cos dey "cheap". Americans/Canucks does have higher disposable income, yet our phone/PC prices the same. Unlocked ipHone does cost the same here as in Toronto or London or NYC, without tax. People will manage.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 13th, 2016, 6:03 am

:| One set of complaints in this thread yet hardly any viable solutions from the biggest complainers.

We need a "negative list" in we mc just like how it was under the NAR during their tenure. You want US$? Go to the Central Bank, take a number and apply for it with a very good reason. If that is brought back, you all complainers go dead.

Under the NAR, our agricultural industry became quite developed. When the PNM opened up the market again, and then more so under UNC Version 1, people strayed away from agriculture and went towards the white collar jobs.

If you look at the newspapers and see how many government agricultural and trades-person programmes there were under the UNC and the previous Manning PNM, and if you went to those programmes, you would have seen how poorly subscribed they were. Young people nowadays don't want to do no hard wuk (they don't even want to do white collar hard wuk).

I have been considering entering the hydroponics field as a side venture. I guess I now have to be more serious about undertaking that venture.

Postby Redman » January 13th, 2016, 7:23 am

ingalook wrote:Great post though...

Why am I not surprised....

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » January 13th, 2016, 7:27 am

Vote PNM. This country is on a serious crash course

Postby j.o.e » January 13th, 2016, 7:44 am

V2NR 3.0 wrote:Vote PNM. This country is on a serious crash course

The path to the collision was locked and loaded for some time now. PP mashed the accelerator.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 13th, 2016, 7:50 am

The last time energy prices took a prolonged drop like this no new taxes were implemented?

Postby pugboy » January 13th, 2016, 7:51 am

when kamla zero rated the stuff the wholesalers jacked up their prices and consumers never really got a benefit, how come nobody make noise back then

Postby tr1ad » January 13th, 2016, 8:33 am

pugboy wrote:when kamla zero rated the stuff the wholesalers jacked up their prices and consumers never really got a benefit, how come nobody make noise back then

because of two day memory, and the fact that not many in this country stand together for such things, yet when GORTT implements, they can huddle and complain

Postby Habit7 » January 13th, 2016, 9:15 am

tr1ad wrote:
pugboy wrote:when kamla zero rated the stuff the wholesalers jacked up their prices and consumers never really got a benefit, how come nobody make noise back then

because of two day memory, and the fact that not many in this country stand together for such things, yet when GORTT implements, they can huddle and complain

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2013-06- ... food-flops

andres13

Postby andres13 » January 13th, 2016, 9:54 am

ismithx wrote:I guess we gonna start having to bring down parts in yuh luggage yes

with you on that ^

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » January 13th, 2016, 10:15 am

j.o.e wrote:

The path to the collision was locked and loaded for some time now. PP mashed the accelerator.

And the PNM just rammed us into the abyss of no return - typical of their management style. Taxes...taxes...taxes and oppression.

Postby Habit7 » January 13th, 2016, 10:32 am

V2NR 3.0 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

And the PNM just rammed us into the abyss of no return - typical of their management style. Taxes...taxes...taxes and oppression.

If only we had a kind caring UNC govt to pull us out of this recession with laptops to primary school children, legalising all squatters, no land and building tax collection, free utilities to seniors and baby grant. We would not have even know we were in recession as Jwala would have remained quiet. When Moody and S&P downgrade us we would just call them alarmist.

UNC would have ridden us out of this recession with a $25 oil price, $1 gas price, with diminishing production, just as they grew the economy by less than 1% during high oil prices.

speedfreak44

Postby speedfreak44 » January 13th, 2016, 10:36 am

Habit7 wrote:
V2NR 3.0 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

If only we had a kind caring UNC govt to pull us out of this recession with laptops to primary school children, legalising all squatters, no land and building tax collection, free utilities to seniors and baby grant. We would not have even know we were in recession as Jwala would have remained quiet. When Moody and S&P downgrade us we would just call them alarmist.

UNC would have ridden us out of this recession with a $25 oil price, $1 gas price, with diminishing production, just as they grew the economy by less than 1% during high oil prices.

Well said. As head of a household you don't let you kids know you're in sheit. You hold the strain and smile.

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » January 13th, 2016, 11:24 am

All this ole talk and the fact is nobody can do anything about it.....

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 13th, 2016, 1:36 pm

so if an Apple iPad Air 2 16GB costs $3,200. then after 12.5% Vat the new price SHOULD be $3,600. So you put out a lil' $400. more

BUT

A Mitsubishi Lancer GLX is currently $150,000. After the VAT reduction it SHOULD be around $147,000. approximately. Now, for someone in the market for a new vehicle, it appears you'll save more through the reduction in vehicle cost vs the increase in the tablet/pc cost (all things being equal). You in this instance you save approx. $3,000.

$3,000. - $400. = $2,600. saved

So if you budgeted and planned to purchase a new vehicle in Q2-Q4 2016, you end up saving some $$. The next argument is...that $2,600. would be swallowed in the increased fuel costs and grocery bill. Another benefit is the additional income derived from the $72,000 yearly personal allowance.

So are we really set back or not? All this is talk/speculation for now but for those who actually track monthly expenses, we'll see if we are worse off or better off. 8-)
Last edited by acesinghit on January 13th, 2016, 1:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby desifemlove » January 13th, 2016, 1:47 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote::| One set of complaints in this thread yet hardly any viable solutions from the biggest complainers.

We need a "negative list" in we mc just like how it was under the NAR during their tenure. You want US$? Go to the Central Bank, take a number and apply for it with a very good reason. If that is brought back, you all complainers go dead.

Under the NAR, our agricultural industry became quite developed. When the PNM opened up the market again, and then more so under UNC Version 1, people strayed away from agriculture and went towards the white collar jobs.

If you look at the newspapers and see how many government agricultural and trades-person programmes there were under the UNC and the previous Manning PNM, and if you went to those programmes, you would have seen how poorly subscribed they were. Young people nowadays don't want to do no hard wuk (they don't even want to do white collar hard wuk).

I have been considering entering the hydroponics field as a side venture. I guess I now have to be more serious about undertaking that venture.

no. growing crops like subsistence sheit in Africa? hell no. it will being foreign exchange, but which country growing dasheen or eddoes or bodhi has a good living standard?