Use of garden hoses etc. Illegal from Saturday (19th March)

Postby stev » March 16th, 2016, 11:51 am

Use of garden hoses, power washers, decorative fountains, sprinklers illegal from Saturday

From Saturday this week, it will be the use of hoses to wash car, the use of power washers, decorative fountains in yards and sprinklers on lawns, will be illegal.

This is according to a statement from the Water and Sewerage Authority which quotes sections of the Water and Sewerage Act and says patrols will be increased to enforce the law.

The following is WASA's statement:

"The Water and Sewerage Authority (the “Authority”) advises customers and the general public that, effective midnight Friday 18th March, 2016 until further notice, the use of hosepipes and any similar apparatus for the purpose of, among other things watering private gardens and or washing private motor cars, will be prohibited in accordance with the Water and Sewerage Act Chapter 54:40 of the Laws of Trinidad and Tobago (the “Act”).

Customers and the general public are further notified that, under the Act, the Authority has the responsibility for administering the supply of water and promoting the conservation and proper use of water resources. In particular, the Act provides for the following:

* Upon giving notice to the public, the Authority may prohibit or restrict the use of its water supply supplied through a hosepipe or similar apparatus for the purpose of watering gardens or washing motor vehicles. This includes the use of sprinklers, pressure washers, as well as decorative fountains, waterfalls and other outdoor artistic features that utilize water.

* The Act places responsibility on the owner/occupier of any premises to maintain and keep any water fittings in good condition so that the water supplied to those premises will not be wasted, misused or unduly consumed or contaminated before use.

* The prohibition of any owner or occupier of any premises supplied with water by the Authority, to supply or permit another person to take any of that water for use in other premises.

* The prohibition of any person from taking, using or diverting water from a reservoir, water course, conduit, pipe or other apparatus belonging to the Authority.

* The prohibition of any person from willfully or negligently operating or otherwise interfering with any valve or other apparatus belonging to and utilized by the Authority for supplying water.

* The prohibition of any person from attaching any pipe or apparatus or making any alteration to any pipe belonging to the Authority.

Customers and the general public should note that upon the production of authenticated documents, authorized officers of the Authority have the general power to enter any premises supplied with water at all reasonable hours in order to examine if there is any waste or misuse of such water.

Any person who breaches this prohibition is liable to a fine upon summary conviction. There will be increased patrols by the Authority to ensure compliance with this ban.

The Authority asks that the public complies with this prohibition and look forward to your cooperation."

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/use ... l-saturday

Re: Use of garden hoses etc. Illegal from Saturday (19th Mar

Postby RBphoto » March 16th, 2016, 12:08 pm

Three buckets of water is all you need to wash a small car TBH.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » March 16th, 2016, 12:12 pm

Hope wasa police going to drive around at night, lots of Extremely GREEN lawns all around central getting bathed at night!

BoostJunkieXL

Postby BoostJunkieXL » March 16th, 2016, 12:15 pm

i paying for facking water and i cant water my garden ? steups...damn country turning into a biggerer sheit hole yes...

killercow

Postby killercow » March 16th, 2016, 12:18 pm

RBphoto wrote:Three buckets of water is all you need to wash a small car TBH.

One to wet down d car before you wash it, one for soap water to wash it, and one to wash out d soap after it done wash.

daas

Postby daas » March 16th, 2016, 12:19 pm

People still wash their car with water? Okay.

Waterless car wash user here so unaffected.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 16th, 2016, 12:23 pm

There was some talk years ago about digging new reservoirs etc.

BoostJunkieXL

Postby BoostJunkieXL » March 16th, 2016, 12:40 pm

cans i still has a pool ? o_O

Postby teems1 » March 16th, 2016, 12:41 pm

BoostJunkieXL wrote:i paying for facking water and i cant water my garden ? steups...damn country turning into a biggerer sheit hole yes...

The water cycle is affected by weather/drought.

It doesn't matter if you can pay for it, it's a simple case of there is a finite amount to be distributed and therefore prioritizing the use.

antlind

Postby antlind » March 16th, 2016, 1:08 pm

BoostJunkieXL wrote:i paying for facking water and i cant water my garden ? steups...damn country turning into a biggerer sheit hole yes...

Some parts of California has been under similar restrictions for years. It's not only a Trinidad thing.

Postby RBphoto » March 16th, 2016, 1:08 pm

killercow wrote:
RBphoto wrote:Three buckets of water is all you need to wash a small car TBH.

One to wet down d car before you wash it, one for soap water to wash it, and one to wash out d soap after it done wash.

That's it right there TBH

neexis

Postby neexis » March 16th, 2016, 1:13 pm

Is a bigass bucket you using?

Postby stev » March 16th, 2016, 1:15 pm

these are hard times....plz use 2 buckets instead of three

Postby S_2NR » March 16th, 2016, 1:18 pm

Driving over the speed limit is also illegal along with many other things yet people can still do it. Nothing will come of this

BoostJunkieXL

Postby BoostJunkieXL » March 16th, 2016, 1:21 pm

antlind wrote:

Some parts of California has been under similar restrictions for years. It's not only a Trinidad thing.

i live couva...every sunday and tuesday...no water...i can understand that...but penalties for watering plants or power washing yard ? i have dogs and they crap alot so if i sweep it up and decide to wash my yard cuz of that ima get penalized ? so i have to get rid of my dogs now ? forget about ppl with lawns..they gonna have to invest in concrete yards unless they want a dry front lawn or pay the price..oh wait....ppl already pay the price..cuz we paying for water ...idk maybe i over reacting but i just find its stupid to put a ban like that...they raised the flat price for water then minimize the quantity supplied now they want to micro manage our usage ?

Xplode

Postby Xplode » March 16th, 2016, 1:25 pm

fuc that lavantille spring flowing 24 hrs ,what they go say can't wash car by spring

Postby eliteauto » March 16th, 2016, 1:32 pm

BoostJunkieXL wrote:
antlind wrote:

i live couva...every sunday and tuesday...no water...i can understand that...but penalties for watering plants or power washing yard ? i have dogs and they crap alot so if i sweep it up and decide to wash my yard cuz of that ima get penalized ? so i have to get rid of my dogs now ? forget about ppl with lawns..they gonna have to invest in concrete yards unless they want a dry front lawn or pay the price..oh wait....ppl already pay the price..cuz we paying for water ...idk maybe i over reacting but i just find its stupid to put a ban like that...they raised the flat price for water then minimize the quantity supplied now they want to micro manage our usage ?

You are aware that water restrictions like these have been happening for years right?

Postby stev » March 16th, 2016, 1:39 pm

^^^ every dry season

WarrLordd

Postby WarrLordd » March 16th, 2016, 1:42 pm

wtfack are we living in the desert? Since when is it okay for man to put laws on gods own creation we already paying for the dam thing, time to go back to old time yes put some barrels to catch water when it rain

BoostJunkieXL

Postby BoostJunkieXL » March 16th, 2016, 1:51 pm

if it has been happening on a scale as compared to the OP (post in this instance) then i was not aware of that...i know of the restrictions that have become more and more frequent last couple of years however, i do not agree that it should be enforced to the point where there are penalties and police patrolling to enforce such bans. if wasa chooses to restrict an area for particular days for the benefit of the country or to maintain reserve levels, then by all means do so. telling me how to consume (when available) what i pay for, otherwise i will be penalized is utter madness :/ ....but you know what i won't complain anymore. at the end of the day i can afford it...if i have to work harder to pay utilities i will because i have no choice...my grandmother always said that theres a natural spring on some acres of land she owns in south...i wonder if wasa could make a reservoir from that ? i can try n sell them the land ^_^

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » March 16th, 2016, 1:51 pm

BoostJunkieXL wrote:
antlind wrote:

K .

rookie

Postby rookie » March 16th, 2016, 2:09 pm

This so funny WASA does NOTHING year after year, and every year is the same issues. Currently my area they laying pipe for the past 10 months - 3 WASA crews, 6 SRP and a Contractor 1 piece of pipe per day , working hours (930am to 11am ). so I continue to counting the months I cant ride, my van always in a mess (so I have to use a pressure washer because everyone would think I living in the Quarry) hope they finish an pave the road before june 2016.Guessing my aquarium will have to go dry also because it can only be filled with a hose!

Postby RBphoto » March 16th, 2016, 2:30 pm

neexis wrote:Is a bigass bucket you using?

Wha you saying about washing my big azz with a buck.....*re-reads*

Never mind.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » March 16th, 2016, 2:33 pm

rookie wrote:This so funny WASA does NOTHING year after year, and every year is the same issues. Currently my area they laying pipe for the past 10 months - 3 WASA crews, 6 SRP and a Contractor 1 piece of pipe per day , working hours (930am to 11am ). so I continue to counting the months I cant ride, my van always in a mess (so I have to use a pressure washer because everyone would think I living in the Quarry) hope they finish an pave the road before june 2016.Guessing my aquarium will have to go dry also because it can only be filled with a hose!

This is WHy WASA, T&TEC etc should be paid by the JOB and not the day, if you take 2 days or 12 days the pay is the same, watch and see productivity then!

wagonon20's

Postby wagonon20's » March 16th, 2016, 2:38 pm

The level of flabbergastery i tell u smmfh:shock:

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 16th, 2016, 3:12 pm

Middle East Summers Could Become Unlivable By End Of Century
The "father of global warming" has a dire warning for people living in hot, tropical locales.
03/02/2016 11:15 am ET | Updated 1 hour ago
Alexander C. Kaufman
Senior Business Editor, The Huffington Post

ALTRENDO NATURE VIA GETTY IMAGES
James Hansen has a dire warning for the Middle East and tropical areas: Summer is coming.

By the end of the century, the so-called "father of global warming" predicts that rising temperatures caused by human-induced climate change will render the countries that already experience hot summers unlivable during those months.

"The tropics and the Middle East in summer are in danger of becoming practically uninhabitable by the end of the century if business-as-usual fossil fuel emissions continue, because wet bulb temperature could approach the level at which the human body is unable to cool itself even under well-ventilated outdoor conditions," Hansen, an adjunct professor at Colombia University's Earth Institute, wrote in anew paper published Wednesday and co-authored with his colleague Makiko Sato.

The Blame Game

Hansen's prediction means places in central Africa, Southeast Asia and the already conflict-ridden Middle East will suffer some of the most devastating effects of climate change, despite historically being far less to blame for carbon emissions than the industrialized Northern Hemisphere. The United States and Europe are responsible for more than a quarter of all human-made emissions. China is on the hook for another 10 percent, Hansen said.

JAMES HANSEN AND MAKIKO SATO
This chart, included in the paper, shows how individuals in the United States and United Kingdom bear the most responsibility for the carbon emissions causing climate change.
"There is thus the striking incongruity between locations of largest climate change and responsibility for fossil fuel emissions," the researchers wrote.

Therein lies the problem that has dogged environmental policymakers for the better part of the last decade. For the most part, countries that face the worst effects of climate change benefited the least from the fossil fuel era that caused it. They are therefore less prepared to pay for the economic and environmental overhauls needed to avert a temperature rise about 2 degrees Celsius, after which point scientists predict global warming will render the climate unrecognizable.

"Lesser warming still makes life more difficult and reduces productivity in these regions, because temperatures are approaching the limit of human tolerance and both agricultural and construction work are mainly outdoor activities," the researchers wrote. "Middle latitude countries have a near optimum average temperature for work productivity, while warmer countries such as Indonesia, India and Nigeria are on a steep slope with rapidly declining productivity as temperature rises."

Drums Of War

What makes this more concerning is the fact that all three of those countries have fast-growing populations that need food, housing and jobs in order to live prosperously. Absent those resources, conflict arises. The civil war that has ravaged Syria for nearly five years may have been caused, in part, by a drought that began in 2006 and forced many farmers from their fields into the cities to find work, according to a 2014 study by the American Meteorological Society.

"You had a lot of angry, unemployed men helping to trigger a revolution," Aaron Wolf, a water management expert at Oregon State University, told Smithsonian Magazine in 2013.

Indeed, interpersonal conflict rises by 4 percent and fighting between groups increases by 14 percent for each slight increase of temperature, according to an assembly of 60 quantitative studies covering all regions of the world, cited by Hansen in the new paper.

What Can We Do?

There is hope. The historic climate accord reached in Paris in December may not have had legally binding goals, but it signaled to business leaders and policymakers around the world that humanity was ready, for the first time, to come together to address climate change. In that sense, it set out a framework for shifting to a low-carbon economy. A growing number of businesses have vowed to wean off fossil fuels over the next decade. Plans to regrow forests and absorb carbonalready in the atmosphere are taking shape.

But no meaningful change can take place, Hansen concludes, unless governments put a tax on carbon, a method favored by economists for mitigating the effects of global warming.

"The overall message that climate science delivers to society, policymakers, and the public alike is this: We have a global emergency," Hansen and Sato wrote. "It will be necessary to include a carbon fee that allows the external costs of fossil fuels to be incorporated in their price. Border duties on products from countries without a carbon fee would lead to most nations adopting a carbon

Postby Ted_v2 » March 16th, 2016, 3:15 pm

washed my backyard, front yard and washing car by next 2 hours, come at me bro.

BoostJunkieXL

Postby BoostJunkieXL » March 16th, 2016, 3:16 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:washed my backyard, front yard and washing car by next 2 hours, come at me bro.

LOL i call my mother n tell her power wash all yuh want before friday..im also going home to wash car :D

Postby SMc » March 16th, 2016, 3:24 pm

30+ years we have had 'restricted' water supply in a neighbourhood that has one of the biggest natural SOS for water..we just have water tanks and know when not to overuse water, including one on the roof for when current goes.

on another note , if the grass go brown it don't really matter as it will come back when it starts to rain and is less cutting/gardening to do then...and who want to fill their garden with a set of chlorine anyway?

pinks

Postby pinks » March 16th, 2016, 3:24 pm

So all these car washes gona close down?