Increased Taxes coming for Turbocharged Vehicles next Budget!

Re: Increased Taxes coming for Turbocharged Vehicles next Budget!

Postby desifemlove » April 14th, 2016, 4:30 pm

desifemlove wrote:
timelapse wrote:
desifemlove wrote:so what? since few people own them, i doh see the issue. people need to read up on progressive taxation. or make a case why it shouldn't be so.

You on Tuner and spewing this bullcrap?
Do you even know how to drive?

yes, i have, and i does have a car. and? this tax doh affect me.

It dont affect you cuz your mouth always on a c0ck for $$$ so the owner pay's it for you.

it don't affect me since your arse tekkin Rooster means you shouldn't even be vexed...

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Increased Taxes coming for Turbocharged Vehicles next Budget!

Postby Habit7 » April 14th, 2016, 4:34 pm

novastar1 wrote:
ingalook wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
novastar1 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
pete wrote:Maybe they will use a factor like in motor racing like 1.4x the cc rating for turbocharged vehicles to determine the n/a equivalent cc. So that 1.0 turbo fiesta wouldnt be affected.

I really cant understand this beat up for this though. It is obvious that they'll have to tax OEM turbo charged vehicles that circumvent the 2.0L NA tax.

A VW 1.4TSI engine (turbocharged) is comparable to a VW 2.0FSI engine (normally aspirated) and both fall under 1999cc. The economical turbo charged engine will not be taxed.

I am yet to hear of an economical middle class targeted +1999cc engine car on the local market. Likewise if you can buy a +1.5T you must have paper. Pay the tax and save the environment.

all that to show support for the gov't.

Turbos are used to increase the fuel efficiency and thus save the environment.

No.

Turbos are used to increase power to match that to an engine of greater displacement.

Adding a turbo to an engine doesn't increase fuel efficiency.

What decade you living in boss?

Habit7.... Colm is that you?

http://blog.caranddriver.com/the-grim-f ... e-winning/

All you people who think turbos don't increase efficiency should ask yourself what are you doing on an automotive enthusiast forum

I was cleaning up your sloppy statement "Turbos are used to increase the fuel efficiency" this is not true. Turbos are used to give smaller engines the comparable power of a larger engine without the extra fuel.

They are use to increase power not fuel efficiency. As a proud owner of a OEM turbo charged vehicle I can attest to that.

Postby desifemlove » April 14th, 2016, 4:37 pm

desifemlove wrote:
timelapse wrote:
desifemlove wrote:so what? since few people own them, i doh see the issue. people need to read up on progressive taxation. or make a case why it shouldn't be so.

You on Tuner and spewing this bullcrap?
Do you even know how to drive?

yes, i have, and i does have a car. and? this tax doh affect me.

It dont affect you cuz your mouth always on a c0ck for $$$ so the owner pay's it for you.

but you have asperger's, breds, ent?

hence why you expect me as some online stranger to be yuh breds, even yuh insult meh..lol. :mrgreen: :drinking:

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 14th, 2016, 4:38 pm

What some are saying basically is that while efficiency increases people drive the turbo engines harder due to the increased performance. Spirited driving if you will. This doesn't lead to reduced fuel consumption but really the opposite.

I would wait and see what Colm's or any future finance minister's plan is with respect to what size turbo engine will be taxed.

Re: RE: Re: Increased Taxes coming for Turbocharged Vehicles next Budget!

Postby gastly369 » April 14th, 2016, 4:47 pm

BoostJunkieXL wrote:fackin stink pnm govt !!!!! guess i'll never be able to afford an evo now :(

Yep now hadda downsize yr goal from evo to ah p45..

*passes on highway with w222 sipping Dalmore 64 Trinitas

Cross Blood

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Increased Taxes coming for Turbocharged Vehicles next Budget!

Postby Cross Blood » April 14th, 2016, 5:20 pm

Habit7 wrote:
novastar1 wrote:
ingalook wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
novastar1 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
pete wrote:Maybe they will use a factor like in motor racing like 1.4x the cc rating for turbocharged vehicles to determine the n/a equivalent cc. So that 1.0 turbo fiesta wouldnt be affected.

I really cant understand this beat up for this though. It is obvious that they'll have to tax OEM turbo charged vehicles that circumvent the 2.0L NA tax.

A VW 1.4TSI engine (turbocharged) is comparable to a VW 2.0FSI engine (normally aspirated) and both fall under 1999cc. The economical turbo charged engine will not be taxed.

I am yet to hear of an economical middle class targeted +1999cc engine car on the local market. Likewise if you can buy a +1.5T you must have paper. Pay the tax and save the environment.

No.

Turbos are used to increase power to match that to an engine of greater displacement.

All you people who think turbos don't increase efficiency should ask yourself what are you doing on an automotive enthusiast forum

I was cleaning up your sloppy statement "Turbos are used to increase the fuel efficiency" this is not true. Turbos are used to give smaller engines the comparable power of a larger engine without the extra fuel.

They are use to increase power not fuel efficiency. As a proud owner of a OEM turbo charged vehicle I can attest to that.

Lol. You actually read what you posted? If a 1.4l turbocharged engine is equated to a 2.0l N/A engine, with the 1.4l in boost, it should give the same amount of power as the 2.0l with similar amount of fuel being consumed (which is what you said). But with the 1.4l not in boost, it should consume less gas than the 2.0l with the same driving pattern, therefore making the 1.4l more fuel efficient.

Postby shogun » April 14th, 2016, 5:43 pm

Colms should introduce the beat-up tax. We'll look like Dubai by years end.

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » April 14th, 2016, 6:47 pm

shogun wrote:Colms should introduce the beat-up tax. We'll look like Dubai by years end.

Dubai and the other middle East oil countries are struggling (by their standards) bro

Not sure if serious

Postby shogun » April 14th, 2016, 9:26 pm

novastar1 wrote:
shogun wrote:Colms should introduce the beat-up tax. We'll look like Dubai by years end.

Dubai and the other middle East oil countries are struggling (by their standards) bro

Not sure if serious

Boom! novastar could have just put tax money in the govt's coffers

You think the UAE hasn't been through that before? Their Infrastructure is unaffected.

Also, I was clearly joking

Postby De Dragon » April 14th, 2016, 10:30 pm

novastar1 wrote:
ingalook wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
novastar1 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

No.

These tunts don't even know how a combustion engine works, their sole purpose is PNM cockk polishing. Imagine a man seriously expousing that a turbocharged engine is inefficient :lol:

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 14th, 2016, 10:41 pm

Habit7 wrote:
novastar1 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

No.

Clearly you have no clue what you are talking about ...
Turbo's do increase Thermal efficiency of an engine, they use waste heat and expanding gases to drive a turbine that pumps more air in the engine. More air means more cleaner burn of the fuel.
Also downsizing to smaller engines and turbocharging leads to less friction in the engine making it more efficient. A 2.0 engine has more losses to friction than a 1.4T engine.

DUHHHH

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 14th, 2016, 10:44 pm

Boy this gov making me feel like looking into tax evasion ....

Postby De Dragon » April 14th, 2016, 10:45 pm

novastar1 wrote:
ingalook wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
novastar1 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

No.

These tunts don't even know how a combustion engine works, their sole purpose is PNM cockk polishing. Imagine a man seriously expousing that a turbocharged engine is inefficient :lol:

"low Habit7 nah, he have ah NA Mazda 3 dat he trying tuh sell for about ah decade now :lol:

Postby Habit7 » April 14th, 2016, 10:48 pm

drchaos wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
novastar1 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

No.

Turbo's do increase Thermal efficiency of an engine,

Anybody say anything about the "thermal efficiency"?

Postby De Dragon » April 14th, 2016, 10:50 pm

Habit7 wrote:
drchaos wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
novastar1 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

No.

Oooh, hair splitter at 2 o'clock

Postby MaxPower » April 14th, 2016, 10:51 pm

Wow rel turbo experts here...

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 14th, 2016, 10:52 pm

Give de man a break ... Thermal efficiency is too big of a concept for him to understand ,,,

Postby De Dragon » April 14th, 2016, 11:28 pm

drchaos wrote:Give de man a break ... Thermal efficiency is too big of a concept for him to understand ,,,

Yet if it were another administration, his 1.3 Mazda would sprout a turbo by dayclean and he'd be on the anti-Gov't bandwagon in a flash :lol:

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » April 15th, 2016, 1:11 am

Habit7 wrote:
drchaos wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
novastar1 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

No.

Efficiency of any heat engine is in terms of thermal efficiency ...... As most heat energy is wasted in the hot exhaust gas.

H7 we all hope that you can one day afford an OEM turbo Mazda speed 3..... That is a " luxury vehicle " in 2016 apparently

Your posts make absolutely no sense and it's becoming more and more obvious that you'll be "not affected by this tax".... But sour at those who may be
What I've learned....... OEM turbo = the new e-peen

Postby 16 cycles » April 15th, 2016, 5:27 am

H7, how does the turbo vehicle compare to your n/a car in terms of fill ups /power at wheels / overall experience?

Are they the same sized engines?/ same fuel?

Postby De Dragon » April 15th, 2016, 6:39 am

novastar1 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
drchaos wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
novastar1 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:I really cant understand this beat up for this though. It is obvious that they'll have to tax OEM turbo charged vehicles that circumvent the 2.0L NA tax.

No.

Efficiency of any heat engine is in terms of thermal efficiency ...... As most heat energy is wasted in the hot exhaust gas.

H7 we all hope that you can one day afford an OEM turbo Mazda speed 3..... That is a " luxury vehicle " in 2016 apparently

Your posts make absolutely no sense and it's becoming more and more obvious that you'll be "not affected by this tax".... But sour at those who may be
What I've learned....... OEM turbo = the new e-peen

Man vex because turbocharged people dare to complain..................

abbow

Postby abbow » April 15th, 2016, 7:52 am

i feel we are slipping from 3rd world into 4th world.....wtf with all these taxes when they continue to widen the gap between the rich and the poor......

we put all these nuts in office to better our standard of living and the country......yet all of them f@ck up each time..
who had the power to diversify the economy for the last 15-20 years and did not one thing.....yup the f@cking politicians.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » April 15th, 2016, 8:17 am

Foreign currency reserves are declining in Trinidad as it is in every other oil and gas producing country. One way to reduce the demand on foreign currency is to make foreign goods more expensive. The items to be targeted first will be those items which are considered non-essential, like automobiles, electronics and designer clothing. If this strategy does not stem demand then items like food would join the list.
It's the simple reality of getting a cut in earnings while trying to pay all your bills. It's going to get worse before it gets better, unless there's a major conflict somewhere to drive up the price of oil.

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Increased Taxes coming for Turbocharged Vehicles next Budget!

Postby Habit7 » April 15th, 2016, 8:33 am

Habit7 wrote:
novastar1 wrote:Turbos are used to increase the fuel efficiency and thus save the environment.

No.

This was the original bone of contention, you haven't justify it yet.

In gasoline turbocharged engines the fuel air ratio is what causes a variance in fuel economy. As force induction brings more air into the chamber it would cause the fuel to explode rather than burn, causing damage to components. To compensate, more fuel is added to the mixture to achieve a higher fuel air ratio as it is controlled by antiknocking mechanisms and other computerised controls in a modern turbocharged engine. Also the boost effect of a turbocharged engine is only available on higher RPMs determined by the manufacturer timing of the engine. So a turbocharged engine operating at low RPMs is no more efficient than a NA engine of equal displacement at low RPMs.

Turbocharged engines fuel efficiency gains are measured over NA engine of large displacements not of equal displacement. Furthermore there are other factors that go into fuel efficiency such as body weight, aerodynamics, transmission etc.

Therefore the original post
novastar1 wrote:Turbos are used to increase the fuel efficiency and thus save the environment.
turbos by themselves don't increase fuel efficiency. Smaller engines with turbos increase full efficiency over larger engines without them.
For example a VW Polo Mk5 gives better MPG with its 1.4 NA over its 1.4TSI. Also a Fiat Bravo 1.4 is better at fuel than its 1.4 T-Jet 120 which is better than it 1.4 T-Jet 150, the only difference between the 120 and 150 being 150 having a bigger turbo.

So if it were as simple as slapping on a turbo increases fuel economy them govt regulators would require them. But they increase fuel efficiency over larger engine NA vehicles of comparable HP as well as saving weight.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » April 15th, 2016, 8:46 am

WOOHOO- all those older model EVolutions and subarus just got back some extra worth,i hope all owners increase their used prices to reflect this!

HSA

Postby HSA » April 15th, 2016, 9:00 am

toyota 1.6....unaffected................

chillaxing

Postby chillaxing » April 15th, 2016, 9:11 am

BRZ wrote:WOOHOO- all those older model EVolutions and subarus just got back some extra worth,i hope all owners increase their used prices to reflect this!

You stay there and Dream!!! :lol:

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 15th, 2016, 9:24 am

You are way off - much of what you say WAS the case with turbocharged engines, modern turbos spool way earlier and make peak torque from as low as 2000rpm

The redlines on many modern turbo gasoline cars have been dropped to diesel territory

What you think would use less gas? A 1L turbo or an equivalent 1.4L NA engine?

The 1.4 will have to spin to 5000rpm just to see max torque

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 15th, 2016, 9:31 am

Postby Habit7 » April 15th, 2016, 9:47 am

ingalook wrote:What you think would use less gas? A 1L turbo or an equivalent 1.4L NA engine?

What you think would use less gas? A 1L turbo or an equivalent 1L NA engine?