Sterling Services Limited ordered to refund buyer for defective Benz

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 19th, 2016, 8:44 am

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2016-04- ... buyer-benz

Car firm ordered to refund buyer for defective Benz

Automobile dealer Sterling Services Limited has been ordered to pay almost $400,000 in compensation to a customer to whom it sold a defective Mercedes Benz to in 2013.

Danley Maharaj received the refund on the entire purchase price of the C-Class Mercedes Benz, after High Court Judge Frank Seepersad ruled that the company breached its contract by failing to properly address the defects experienced after purchase in August 2013.

According to the evidence in the lawsuit, Maharaj was forced to return the vehicle eight times during the first six months due to a persistent “knocking noise” emanating from the engine. Maharaj sued the company after they refused his request for a replacement.

The company counter-sued Maharaj as they claimed that the damage was caused by his extensive use. It also sought to recover $39,000 in repairs it claimed it was forced to do on two courtesy cars which were provided to Maharaj while his vehicle was being repaired.

In his written judgment delivered in the Port-of-Spain High Court yesterday, Seepersad ruled that Maharaj had a legitimate expectation that he would receive a vehicle in perfect working order when he purchased it from the dealership.

Seepersad said, “The purchaser of a new vehicle can reasonably expect that such a new vehicle can be driven safely with an appropriate degree of comfort, ease of handling and with reliability and its use can reasonably be accompanied with the pride that is associated with the vehicle’s external and internal appearance. With a luxury brand such as Mercedes, the expectations would be more heightened.

“No reasonable person who purchased a brand new C-Class Benz could have expected to be faced with such problems and it’s rather unfortunate that the pleasure that should be derived from owning such a prestigious vehicle was not experienced by the claimant,” he added.

Seepersad also described the company’s treatment of Maharaj’s complaints as unfortunate.

“It may very well be that because it is the sole agent for this type of luxury vehicle that the absence of competition results in a circumstance where the buyer’s hand is in the mouth of the proverbial lion and no meaningful attempt is therefore made to deal with the legitimate concerns of customers,” Seepersad said.

He also suggested that the case should serve as an example to the Government on why it should amend laws to provide additional support to consumers and to consumers who fail to stand up for their rights.

For too long consumers have been exploited in this society but they have also become complacent and have forgotten that the power lies with them since they ultimately determine whether or not they will part with their money. Given the current economic climate, that decision must be exercised with caution, and unscrupulous decisions by merchants such as unjustified price increases, the unwillingness to treat with legitimate consumer queries, or the absence of after purchase service should be rejected,” Seepersad said.

Lance

Re: Sterling Services Limited ordered to refund buyer for defective Benz

Postby Lance » April 19th, 2016, 9:06 am

"The company counter-sued Maharaj as they claimed that the damage was caused by his extensive use."

LOL

Postby eliteauto » April 19th, 2016, 9:24 am

precedent has been set, looking forward more litigation from other owners

Miktay

Postby Miktay » April 19th, 2016, 9:38 am

More than a few ppl mekking a killing off of Sterling Services ineptitude....

Benz dealership to repay customer

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 19th, 2016, 9:57 am

the story also ran in the Newsday

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,226709.html
A LUXURY car dealer has been ordered to repay one of its customers the cost of a C Class Mercedes Benz he purchased in 2013, plus interest.

Justice Frank Seepersad made the order against Sterling Services Ltd who sold Danley Maharaj a defective vehicle.

In his ruling, the judge bemoaned the little regard paid to customer service and the inadequate laws to address the issue of consumer protection.

“For too long consumers have been exploited in this society but they have also become complacent and have forgotten that the power lies with them since they ultimately determine whether or not they will part with their money.

“Given the current economic climate, that decision must be exercised with caution and unscrupulous decisions by merchants such as unjustified price increases, the unwillingness to treat with legitimate consumer queries or the absence of after purchase service, should be rejected.

“Consumers need to forcefully reject any unfair, inequitable or unacceptable treatment. The consumer/ merchant relationship must be viewed as a symbiotic one and should always be characterised by fairness and respect,” Seepersad said.

Maharaj purchased the C Class Benz in August of 2013 and upon making the final payment of $390,749.50 he received the car but within a week he began to hear knocking sounds from the engine and between November 2013 to July 2014, he returned the vehicle on eight occasions for repairs.

Still experiencing problems with the vehicle even after the purported repairs, Maharaj sought to rescind the purchase contract with Sterling Services Ltd in August 2014.

“No reasonable person who purchased a brand new C Class Benz could have expected to be faced with such problems and it’s rather unfortunate that the pleasure that should be derived from owning such a prestigious vehicle was not experienced by the Claimant,” the judge said in his ruling.

“Business efficacy would suggest that the market to which luxury vehicles are aimed is a demanding one which expects a vehicle that is near perfect. The vehicle supplied to the Claimant was fraught with problems and the defects associated with it were fundamental,” the judge added.

He said it was unfortunate that Sterling Services Ltd, did not adopt a different course in this matter.

“It may very well be that because it is the sole agent for this type of luxury vehicle, that the absence of competition, results in a circumstance where the buyer’s hand is in the mouth of the proverbial lion and no meaningful attempt is therefore made to deal with the legitimate concerns of customers.

Business efficacy and the protection of the brand name should have resulted in the offer of a replacement vehicle and every effort should have been made to accommodate the Claimant,” he added.

Justice Seepersad found that the substantial defects in the vehicle compromised Maharj’s use and enjoyment and impacted the vehicle’s reliability on the road

Postby Spitfir3 » April 19th, 2016, 10:23 am

LOL@ counter suing, they dip real low to try to get him to drop the case

Postby tr1ad » April 19th, 2016, 10:26 am

nice nice ... hopefully this sets the tone for other owners experiencing similar problems with firms

once consumers continue to stand up for their rights there can only be good coming from this judgement moving forward

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » April 19th, 2016, 10:43 am

I wonder how long the whole procedure took place from filing the claim to actually getting justice in the court. Things like this, plus the cost of retaining a lawyer are just some of the reasons why these big companies get away with all the crap.

Postby Les Bain » April 19th, 2016, 10:48 am

What's Sterling's definition for "extensive use"?

Postby j.o.e » April 19th, 2016, 10:56 am

Les Bain wrote:What's Sterling's definition for "extensive use"?

D man musbe running laps rong trinidad whole day, whole nite

Miktay

Postby Miktay » April 19th, 2016, 11:14 am

Approx two yrs 4 thiz case 2b adjudicated?

Kina fass...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 19th, 2016, 11:14 am

Pulling Bull.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 19th, 2016, 11:31 am

tr1ad wrote:nice nice ... hopefully this sets the tone for other owners experiencing similar problems with firms

once consumers continue to stand up for their rights there can only be good coming from this judgement moving forward

This pretty much.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 19th, 2016, 11:33 am

Why did it take so long in the courts though? shouldn't this have been rectified in a matter of months rather than years?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 19th, 2016, 11:37 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Why did it take so long in the courts though? shouldn't this have been rectified in a matter of months rather than years?

Seems kinda fast by local court standards. Basically two years. Case back up and adjournments push the length of time for decisions to be made.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 19th, 2016, 11:40 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

Pulling Bull.

Them mad yes. They expect you to buy a vehicle to park it up?

Tell Sterling hold that!!! :mrgreen:
car meme.jpg
car meme.jpg (12.79 KiB) Viewed 4150 times

Postby Habit7 » April 19th, 2016, 11:41 am

This is going to be bad for other Sterling customers because when your vehicle has anything over a day repairs they will give you a very appropriate courtesy vehicle until they sort it out. But for a while now ppl have been scratching, banging and even crashing the vehicle and expect not to pay for any damages. They really try to go the extra mile but I guess in this case they didn't want to take back the vehicle and give a full refund. Now they going and mover rel brisk with any courtesy cars.

Postby pugboy » April 19th, 2016, 11:49 am

Nice, victim should outlive publicly the steps taken to document against dealer so other customers can copy and paste their cases with other firms etc

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 19th, 2016, 11:51 am

Bess auto need to feel this yes...the amount of crap Happening with their cars

Postby skylinechild » April 19th, 2016, 12:28 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2016-04-19/car-firm-ordered-refund-buyer-benz

Automobile dealer Sterling Services Limited has been ordered to pay almost $400,000 in compensation to a customer to whom it sold a defective Mercedes Benz to in 2013.

Danley Maharaj received the refund on the entire purchase price of the C-Class Mercedes Benz, after High Court Judge Frank Seepersad ruled that the company breached its contract by failing to properly address the defects experienced after purchase in August 2013.

According to the evidence in the lawsuit, Maharaj was forced to return the vehicle eight times during the first six months due to a persistent “knocking noise” emanating from the engine. Maharaj sued the company after they refused his request for a replacement.

The company counter-sued Maharaj as they claimed that the damage was caused by his extensive use. It also sought to recover $39,000 in repairs it claimed it was forced to do on two courtesy cars which were provided to Maharaj while his vehicle was being repaired.

In his written judgment delivered in the Port-of-Spain High Court yesterday, Seepersad ruled that Maharaj had a legitimate expectation that he would receive a vehicle in perfect working order when he purchased it from the dealership.

Seepersad said, “The purchaser of a new vehicle can reasonably expect that such a new vehicle can be driven safely with an appropriate degree of comfort, ease of handling and with reliability and its use can reasonably be accompanied with the pride that is associated with the vehicle’s external and internal appearance. With a luxury brand such as Mercedes, the expectations would be more heightened.

“No reasonable person who purchased a brand new C-Class Benz could have expected to be faced with such problems and it’s rather unfortunate that the pleasure that should be derived from owning such a prestigious vehicle was not experienced by the claimant,” he added.

Seepersad also described the company’s treatment of Maharaj’s complaints as unfortunate.

“It may very well be that because it is the sole agent for this type of luxury vehicle that the absence of competition results in a circumstance where the buyer’s hand is in the mouth of the proverbial lion and no meaningful attempt is therefore made to deal with the legitimate concerns of customers,” Seepersad said.

He also suggested that the case should serve as an example to the Government on why it should amend laws to provide additional support to consumers and to consumers who fail to stand up for their rights.

For too long consumers have been exploited in this society but they have also become complacent and have forgotten that the power lies with them since they ultimately determine whether or not they will part with their money. Given the current economic climate, that decision must be exercised with caution, and unscrupulous decisions by merchants such as unjustified price increases, the unwillingness to treat with legitimate consumer queries, or the absence of after purchase service should be rejected,” Seepersad said.

nice .....
now lets see if we cant get the local dealerships to do warranty work on roro when theres a global recall.

the mentality of "yuh didnt buy it from me" has to stop

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 19th, 2016, 6:25 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Why did it take so long in the courts though? shouldn't this have been rectified in a matter of months rather than years?

Seems kinda fast by local court standards. Basically two years. Case back up and adjournments push the length of time for decisions to be made.

I am curious do these things take so long in the US? or is it a local problem we alone have?

A friend of mine spent 7 years in court until he was awarded a judgement of half a million dollars, basically he was in a maxi on the PBR and it was in a very bad accident and he was damaged badly permanently, the insurance company fought it all the way and didn't want to pay but in the end they had to. But the length of time it took was ridiculous. Dunno if its the same in the US.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » April 19th, 2016, 8:41 pm

Kudos to the persistent owner and the sensible judge.

Postby nemisis » April 19th, 2016, 9:09 pm

skylinechild wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2016-04-19/car-firm-ordered-refund-buyer-benz

nice .....
now lets see if we cant get the local dealerships to do warranty work on roro when theres a global recall.

the mentality of "yuh didnt buy it from me" has to stop

explain this logic to me? If i didn't supply you with said defective product why should i give a rats ass if a recall was issued?? serious question eh!

Postby eliteauto » April 19th, 2016, 9:55 pm

nemisis wrote:explain this logic to me? If i didn't supply you with said defective product why should i give a rats ass if a recall was issued?? serious question eh!

Because you're the representative of the company's brand and marque in the country, doesn't matter how I acquired the brand, what matters is I own it, many manufacturers esp of luxury goods think that way, it's a Trini thing to think otherwise. Poor business practice

pinks

Postby pinks » April 19th, 2016, 9:56 pm

Da judge prolly driving ah beemaz..

Postby j.o.e » April 19th, 2016, 10:32 pm

eliteauto wrote:
nemisis wrote:explain this logic to me? If i didn't supply you with said defective product why should i give a rats ass if a recall was issued?? serious question eh!

Because you're the representative of the company's brand and marque in the country, doesn't matter how I acquired the brand, what matters is I own it, many manufacturers esp of luxury goods think that way, it's a Trini thing to think otherwise. Poor business practice

UDFR ...... Yuh ain't buy it by me , you ain't service by me .... But you running to me for recall? Using up my manpower and resources ? And competing for recalled parts with my actual customer ..... Nah. If I give you a Bligh feel glad but don't expect squat.

Re: RE: Re: Sterling Services Limited ordered to refund buyer for defective Benz

Postby sMASH » April 19th, 2016, 10:50 pm

Habit7 wrote:This is going to be bad for other Sterling customers because when your vehicle has anything over a day repairs they will give you a very appropriate courtesy vehicle until they sort it out. But for a while now ppl have been scratching, banging and even crashing the vehicle and expect not to pay for any damages. They really try to go the extra mile but I guess in this case they didn't want to take back the vehicle and give a full refund. Now they going and mover rel brisk with any courtesy cars.

If I pay new car price, I would expect a new car. The guy had to return the car 8 times.

And no, the courts will not rule in favor of the customer in every case. The man bought a new car and should have gotten a new car, unless engine knock is a new feature. The high price means he was even more entitled to a perfect purchase, and the company tried to say he abused the car that why it damaged.

The counter suit; they have to prove the replacement cars were problem free before handing them over. Being used, they would be expected to give trouble, and not the guy fault.

Re: RE: Re: Sterling Services Limited ordered to refund buyer for defective Benz

Postby Morpheus » April 19th, 2016, 10:51 pm

eliteauto wrote:

Kinda on the fence here. I could understand with Toyota as it's actual Toyota. They may have a personal interest in protecting their image etc. But all these others are just "dealers". How much they really care?

Postby Morpheus » April 19th, 2016, 10:52 pm

But it would have been good if we had at least 2 dealers for each brand. Would make things interesting...

Postby Monk BANzai » April 19th, 2016, 11:19 pm

j.o.e wrote:
UDFR ...... Yuh ain't buy it by me , you ain't service by me .... But you running to me for recall? Using up my manpower and resources ? And competing for recalled parts with my actual customer ..... Nah. If I give you a Bligh feel glad but don't expect squat.

lol.. i hear you.... but recalls are not that simple as "heh tek meh ordi and replace the part".... for instance...Manufacturers of motor vehicle equipment, particularly tires and child safety seats, maintain lists of owners who have registered their products with the manufacturer. When product or equipment recalls are initiated, the manufacturer uses these lists to directly notify owners. So its the onus of the current owner to produce profo of ownership. Else. Salt.

Also, there is an issue of Age. There is a limitation based on the age of the vehicle. In order to be eligible for a free remedy, the vehicle cannot be more than 10 years old on the date the defect or noncompliance is determined. Under the law, the age of the vehicle is calculated from the date of sale to the first purchaser. For example, if a defect is found in 2003 and a recall ordered, manufacturers are required to make the correction available at no charge only for vehicles purchased new in 1994 through 2003. However, consumers should realize that even though manufacturers are not obligated to remedy safety defects in older cars, a safety problem might still exist. If you receive notification of a defect on a vehicle older than 10 years, take the responsibility to have your car repaired at your own expense – and eliminate unnecessary safety risks.

Also, if the manufacturer challenges the agency’s final decision of a safety defect, there is no obligation for the manufacturer to remedy the defect while the case is in court. If you decide to have your vehicle remedied at your own expense while the case is pending and the court upholds Safety Board’s final decision, you may be entitled to reimbursement. (Be sure to save all receipts and paperwork so that you can prove the repairs were made.) However, if the court ultimately rules the defect is not safety related, Federal law does not require that the manufacturer reimburse you for the repair work.

read more here:
http://www-odi.nhtsa.dot.gov/recalls/recallprocess.cfm

i'm not sure how it applies to Trinidad's laws though. Need a Legal Banton to weigh in.