j.o.e wrote:eliteauto wrote:nemisis wrote:explain this logic to me? If i didn't supply you with said defective product why should i give a rats ass if a recall was issued?? serious question eh!
Because you're the representative of the company's brand and marque in the country, doesn't matter how I acquired the brand, what matters is I own it, many manufacturers esp of luxury goods think that way, it's a Trini thing to think otherwise. Poor business practice
UDFR ...... Yuh ain't buy it by me , you ain't service by me .... But you running to me for recall? Using up my manpower and resources ? And competing for recalled parts with my actual customer ..... Nah. If I give you a Bligh feel glad but don't expect squat.
DJ Q wrote:So when people import their own iPhones and something goes wrong, they should take it to bmobile right?
The point is not that the issue shouldn't be fixed, but that Toyota Trinidad can't be held liable for a car you purchased that probably was not even SOLD in this region in the first damn place.
Just like the Sylphys and their dashboard issues. Massy only fixed what they sold.
DJ Q wrote:I agree with what you're saying... but who pays for the labour?
If you've ever been to TTTL, you'd know that a Hilux actually costs about $20,000, but they charge $280,000 to bring it from the port to the showroom.
DJ Q wrote:So when people import their own iPhones and something goes wrong, they should take it to bmobile right?
The point is not that the issue shouldn't be fixed, but that Toyota Trinidad can't be held liable for a car you purchased that probably was not even SOLD in this region in the first damn place.
Just like the Sylphys and their dashboard issues. Massy only fixed what they sold.
sMASH wrote:But at the end of the day, it the MANUFACTURER says that its product is defective, they should be liable. The sellers, resellers could fix the problem and just forward the invoice to the manufacturer. Yes the local representative should be made to rectify the issue, but not absorb the cost.
j.o.e wrote:RoRo crew wanna have cake and eat it. Take your 'savings' up front on a foreign USED car and stop trying to win on both ends. Aside from that, how many recalls have there been anyway that would apply to RoRo cars?
Keep in mind a recall is not the same as a defect or general failure
j.o.e wrote:1) my chest not bunnin
2) I've owned a foreign used car before, hence I understand that a car that was never specced for here and is not part of the batch imported here 'officially' would make claims against the dealer more difficult. I would take the gamble at my own risk for some upfront savings.
My point is historically I'm not aware of any recalls that left the RoRo buyers out in the cold. If it had ever happened open my eyes. Specifically recalls not just a mechanical or electrical problem.
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:I don't understand what you mean with respect to Hilux costing $20,000 but $280k from port to showroom.DJ Q wrote:I agree with what you're saying... but who pays for the labour?
If you've ever been to TTTL, you'd know that a Hilux actually costs about $20,000, but they charge $280,000 to bring it from the port to the showroom.
skylinechild wrote:missed the point...
DJ Q wrote:Then comment on this please:Just like the Sylphys and their dashboard issues. Massy only fixed what they sold.
Not sure if you're aware, but previous model Bluebird Sylphys had an issue with it's dashboard where the glue was causing bubbling in the faux-leather used. As this is in fact a MANUFACTURER's defect, should Massy have fixed the RORO vehicles free of charge?
j.o.e wrote:And that whole copy and paste illustrates why it would be difficult to make a claim, the manufacturer doesn't even know your car is here. They send a list of affected chassis numbers to the dealer. How can the dealer account for my RoRo car or private import ?
DJ Q wrote:No one mentioned anything about third world country.
I just don't agree that a local dealer should be held responsible to honor global recalls for cars not sold or serviced by them.
A lot of cars imported here were never sold here.
That's all I'm saying.
If you're saying that Toyota Japan will take the hit for the recall, then fine, I'm good with that.
tourniquet wrote:Lemon laws are needed.