drchaos wrote:Now I understand why you think turbo charged engines are gas guzzlers ... That 1.4 T-jet is poorly tuned/older tech.
Can't compare it to the jetta cause its dual charged.
Golf 1.4 tsi (single turbo) 60.1mpg, 110g/km CO2, 138bhp and maximum torque starts at 1500 rpm
Fiat bravo 1.4 T-jet (single turbo) 39.8mpg, 167g/kg CO2, 150 bhp and max torque is at 3000 rpm (this is why you still think turbo lag still exists).
Both weigh within 15kg of each other
Habit7 wrote:drchaos wrote:Now I understand why you think turbo charged engines are gas guzzlers ... That 1.4 T-jet is poorly tuned/older tech.
Golf 1.4 tsi (single turbo) 60.1mpg, 110g/km CO2, 138bhp and maximum torque starts at 1500 rpm
Fiat bravo 1.4 T-jet (single turbo) 39.8mpg, 167g/kg CO2, 150 bhp and max torque is at 3000 rpm (this is why you still think turbo lag still exists).
Can you quote a source for your figures? Is the Jetta you referenced turbo loaded driven or RPM driven as you claimed?
16 cycles wrote:transmission as well might play a part^
Firstly I never said that I "think turbo charged engines are gas guzzlers." But then again according to you I am the liar.drchaos wrote:Habit7 wrote:drchaos wrote:Now I understand why you think turbo charged engines are gas guzzlers ... That 1.4 T-jet is poorly tuned/older tech.
Can you quote a source for your figures? Is the Jetta you referenced turbo loaded driven or RPM driven as you claimed?
http://www.carmagazine.co.uk/car-review ... 13-review/
http://www.carmagazine.co.uk/car-review ... 07-review/
Define "Turbo loaded driven" vs "RPM driven" not sure what you mean by these terms
jhonnieblue wrote:Honestly don't understand why ull arguing for. It's not affecting manufacturers decision to push turbo engines.
And whatever umberto decides to do..well we all know he is an idiot anyway...so really ..why this to and fro
Habit7 wrote:Firstly I never said that I "think turbo charged engines are gas guzzlers." But then again according to you I am the liar.drchaos wrote:Habit7 wrote:drchaos wrote:Now I understand why you think turbo charged engines are gas guzzlers ... That 1.4 T-jet is poorly tuned/older tech.
http://www.carmagazine.co.uk/car-review ... 13-review/
http://www.carmagazine.co.uk/car-review ... 07-review/
Define "Turbo loaded driven" vs "RPM driven" not sure what you mean by these terms
Secondly you are comparing the latest VW Golf Mk7 with a 2007 Fiat Bravo. Plus those MPG figures from your source are not official. However if you compare the 2007 Bravo with a Golf Mk5 there is only a 1 point difference in MPG
http://www.parkers.co.uk/cars/reviews/f ... 004/38789/
http://www.parkers.co.uk/cars/reviews/f ... 007/40529/
Thirdly the TSI engine has a supercharger and a turbocharger. The supercharger operates at low rpm until 3500rpm until it cant force any more air than the turbo. But the turbo boost pressure where by more fuel is injected and you get the added HP is determined by the engine load and can lie somewhere between 1500-4000rpm. So at lower revs its supercharger at work, not the turbocharger.
drchaos wrote:The 1.4 TSI in the new GOLF which is the car I compared your 10 year old clunker to is a single turbo without a supercharger. With only 1 turbo it is able to get boost and max torque from 1500 rpm. They have eliminated the need for a supercharger with more less the same result and better economy and efficiency.
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:jhonnieblue wrote:Honestly don't understand why ull arguing for. It's not affecting manufacturers decision to push turbo engines.
And whatever umberto decides to do..well we all know he is an idiot anyway...so really ..why this to and fro
This is tuner. People like to complain/argue even though no one knows the details of the supposed tax in the first place.
jhonnieblue wrote:My experience with turbos has Been positive. With the passat I could get 700-900 off a tank of gas if I drive conservative.
Open up the throttle and would easily sink to 400km or less.
Compared to the n/a vehicle I have now which can't get below 10L/100km combined no matter how conservative I drive.
Most manufacturers are moving to turbo charged engines now. Check car advice and their favored vehicles are that are turbo charged for overall efficiency and power balance
Advent wrote:jhonnieblue wrote:My experience with turbos has Been positive. With the passat I could get 700-900 off a tank of gas if I drive conservative.
Open up the throttle and would easily sink to 400km or less.
Compared to the n/a vehicle I have now which can't get below 10L/100km combined no matter how conservative I drive.
Most manufacturers are moving to turbo charged engines now. Check car advice and their favored vehicles are that are turbo charged for overall efficiency and power balance
wow i avg 240-250 mix driving or 300 straight highway kms. i have a 2ltr NA , that with 100tt a full tank, how much allyuh paying to full allyuh tank?
Well it is only fair that you compare technologies of equal vintages and the single turbo Fiat Bravo T-Jet matches the twincharged VW Golf.drchaos wrote:"This is tiring me."
Yes being wrong can be tiring ...
Listen when people giving you factual information nah, that 1.4 TSI with a single turbo came out around 2013, 5 years worth of advancements in turbo tech over that 1.4 T-jet (which actually seems tuned for more hp rather than economy since the rpm range for boost is so high around 3000rpm)
Habit7 wrote:Take win, just so we can rest this.
Btw the 120HP T-Jet torque rating was at 1750rpm, so 1500rpm in the Jetta isn't such a big hurdle as you are making it out to be.
drchaos wrote:I bored since habbit7 and megadoc1 throw in the towel!
megadoc1 wrote:drchaos wrote:I bored since habbit7 and megadoc1 throw in the towel!
well I dont know it all but its better for me to discus these on forums where I can learn more than to stay here going back and fort for nothing.regarding volkswagen, I like to talk about lamfa ,lxrdn,lambts and all those other stuff that always seem to remind me how much I dont know however, I have learned enough to not take anyone seriously who thinks that more hp can be had by forcing more air into a cylinder without adding more fuel. who knows, maybe when I finally understand the fueling strategies for these engine. I may see where you are right
drchaos wrote:Next Mazda speed 3 will be ridiculously priced here ... They going with a 2.5L skyactiv turbo. So after colm increased taxes on 1999 cc and slap on further taxes for turbo engines won't make sense.