trump2016

Postby trump2016 » May 18th, 2016, 9:44 am

Last edited by trump2016 on July 7th, 2016, 7:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Other Caribbean countries that don't like us

Postby Les Bain » May 18th, 2016, 9:49 am

Aren't we regarded as the Fat American tourists of the Caribbean?

death365

Postby death365 » May 18th, 2016, 9:55 am

duh ... yuh was living under ah rock or wha ... :drinking:

Postby Dizzy28 » May 18th, 2016, 9:57 am

trump2016 wrote:Is this just talk, or do the majority of some other Caribbean countries dislike Trinidadians and Tobagonians?

e.g. Barbados. There were fishing waters disputes, and I've heard there's a general resentment because Trinidad and Tobago was blessed with more natural resources and is careless with them. We here rolling in the oil money (well our elites anyway, not literally us in this thread), and they had to ketch their ass and build tourism.

Jamaicans. Why is this? Is it seriously because we phased out listening to dancehall here, and it's more soca now? (Do you listen to urban radio?? This cant possible be true. In fact on Ash Wednesday 96.1 does be back on dancehall and rap)Sounds far fetched.

Are we arseholes to our regional visitors? Are we arseholes when we visit? Are they the ones who are the problem?

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » May 18th, 2016, 10:02 am

So if they don't like us why do they fight to come here. .??

Eat yuh cassava in yuh own country

Postby teems1 » May 18th, 2016, 10:09 am

trump2016 wrote:Are we arseholes to our regional visitors? Are we arseholes when we visit? Are they the ones who are the problem?

Simple case of envy.

For the average person the quality of life and standard of living is still better than all the other small islands.

Of course this doesn't mean that we can boast about this. It's like showing your parents your report card and being proud that you didn't come in last place. You're supposed to strive for first.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » May 18th, 2016, 10:14 am

trump2016 wrote:Is this just talk, or do the majority of some other Caribbean countries dislike Trinidadians and Tobagonians?

e.g. Barbados. There were fishing waters disputes, and I've heard there's a general resentment because Trinidad and Tobago was blessed with more natural resources and is careless with them. We here rolling in the oil money (well our elites anyway, not literally us in this thread), and they had to ketch their ass and build tourism.

Jamaicans. Why is this? Is it seriously because we phased out listening to dancehall here, and it's more soca now? Sounds far fetched.

Are we arseholes to our regional visitors? Are we arseholes when we visit? Are they the ones who are the problem?

Fishing dispute? hahahhaha.

The dispute wuz never bout fishing.

It wuz bout ail & gas.

We have it. Bdos want it.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 18th, 2016, 10:51 am

The Jamaican's call to boycott Trinidad products stems from the issues surrounding Jamaicans being stopped by T&T immigration

Postby zoom rader » May 18th, 2016, 11:12 am

Jamaicans are problems all over the world. Too bad the UK took away their free visa

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » May 18th, 2016, 11:15 am

currently Trinidadians dont like each other!

Miktay

Postby Miktay » May 18th, 2016, 11:16 am

Jcan women luv Trini man... :lol:

Postby j.o.e » May 18th, 2016, 11:44 am

Miktay wrote:Jcan women luv Trini man... :lol:

Can confirm

Postby desifemlove » May 18th, 2016, 12:18 pm

since we say to dem we ent no ATM card, and buss dem up despite interational treaties saying they can come here, i ent surprised they DO hate us!

Postby desifemlove » May 18th, 2016, 12:19 pm

and we arrogant wit it too......iz not Rowley or Kamla's doing that T&T has oil and gas. without it we;d be EXACTLY as rich as Guyana or Jamaica.

Postby wagonrunner » May 18th, 2016, 12:40 pm

other caribbean islanders don't like the muffler bearing attitudes some of us visit their countries with.
examples:
so "negative compared" to T&T.
yuh eh need my money?
here doesn't even have "some unnecessary item"

I've been to a few islands, and have never experienced dislike from the natives. quite the opposite actually.

Postby stev » May 18th, 2016, 8:27 pm

I'm a Trinidadian and I don't like Trinidadians...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 18th, 2016, 11:04 pm

stev wrote:I'm a Trinidadian and I don't like Trinidadians...

Same with me, we have a very hostile and nasty set of people here always litter everywhere. I mentioned this before and people thought I was talking nancy stories. I have a piece of land in El Carmen, Piarco where I am planting crops mainly coconuts I didn't buy it how could I afford it? its inheritance.

Anyways it was abandoned for a long time when I went to clean it up I found out that the house right next to it, the people were dumping all their garbage on that first bed of the land. From pots to plates to suite case to cups to countless bottles some I suspect were brought by flooding but most of the garbage there bread bag and sardine tins were dumped by those people living there.

If you see it the place is like a beetham landfill, because they were too lazy to drop it out to the main road as the walk is 400 feet. And because my land lower it was easy to just dump it there mind you the "dump" they created was 10 feet from their kitchen window, they even had the nerve to dig holes and bury some, most were just dumped as is. The amount of rubbish I pull out from the bed is like 10 of the BIG garbage bags. This is the kind of people we are and I do not blame others for not liking us who would like rats that eat and sheit in their own nest?

And this nasty littering behavior of Trinis is very common and rampant even from rich people. This has me very upset I feel dirty having to clean all that filth, especially when I do the right thing and place my garbage in the bins no matter the inconvenience to myself.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on May 18th, 2016, 11:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Habit7 » May 18th, 2016, 11:09 pm

Well least we never war with each other. But as crime going up around the Caribbean, these days everybody on Jamaica case.

Dancehall backlash in B’dos
BY RICHARD JOHNSON Observer senior reporter

Wednesday, May 18, 2016 49 Comments

THERE is another call for a clampdown on dancehall music. The latest comes from Barbados Culture Minister Stephen Lashley who says it should be banned from the airwaves.

He cites a connection with growing crime and violence in that country with the genre.

Lashley is quoted in Barbados’s

Nation newspaper calling for a stance to be taken against “reckless behaviour”.

“I am indeed very concerned about the escalation of gun violence, and in particular the escalation of violent acts that have claimed the lives of so many persons already this year,” he said.
“So I take this opportunity this evening to call on each and every one of us to take a stand on this reckless behaviour. I am equally concerned about the impact of certain types of dancehall music and videos, the impact that this is having on the minds of our citizens, especially our young people,” Lashley told his audience at the launch of the 2016 Community Independence Celebrations at Gall Hill, St John parish, last Saturday.

Meanwhile, individualss have taken to the Nation’s website to comment on Lashley’s correlation between violence and dancehall music.

One user, Elsie Jaime, noted: “Now persons must be told what music is acceptable. I guess the minister going ban Rihanna songs.”

In March, dancehall music made headlines in the United Kingdom when Roy Seda, owner of the Dice Bar in Croydon, England, claimed he had been told that Jamaican music is “unacceptable” by the Metropolitan Police.

Seda further claimed he was under so much pressure that he now makes his selectors sign an agreement not to play the genre as it is claimed to be associated with crime and disorder.

www.jamaicaobserver.com/entertainment/D ... -dos_61115

Postby meccalli » May 18th, 2016, 11:18 pm

The same music some of our young people adore and emulate.

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » May 19th, 2016, 1:01 am

Nobody likes we!
We ain't even like we self,
You ent seeing what taking place here.
Who not killing, thieving
Who not thieving, shooting
Who not shooting, chopping
Who not chopping, corrupting
Who not corrupting, drugging
Who not drugging, fighting
And who not fighting, promising.

If we were them, we wouldn't even like we. Facts.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » May 19th, 2016, 4:57 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:The Jamaican's call to boycott Trinidad products stems from the issues surrounding Jamaicans being stopped by T&T immigration

Antigua did same.

ERICA Atkinson and Shauntell Ferguson sat on a bench outside the arrival area at the Norman Manley International Airport depressed, tired, and infuriated by the treatment they said they received from Antiguan immigration authorities last Thursday evening.

They had just arrived in Kingston after surviving a visit they described as "hell", which they claimed saw them being jailed, taunted, ridiculed, and exposed to serious health risks in the eastern Caribbean country.

Their excitement reportedly turned sour upon arrival at the V C Bird International Airport in Antigua about 9:00 Sunday night.
There, they were among a group of Jamaicans — mostly females — who were yanked from Immigration checking lines, told to sit on a nearby bench and await the arrival of an airport supervisor, they said.

Thirty minutes later, a male supervisor arrived with other Immigration workers and began searching the group of Jamaicans. He asked questions about their business in the country, and about the persons who were to receive them.

Some of these 'receivers' or hosts — as in Atkinson's case — were invited into the interviews, she said.

"He asked us how long we knew each other and how do we communicate. I told him I knew my receiver for two years, and that we mostly communicated over the telephone," said Atkinson.

"They then asked if we were going to have sex and I told them that that was our personal business and that it had nothing to do with Immigration," related Atkinson, who said that her response angered the supervisor, who continued hurling disrespectful questions and insults at her and her friend, repeatedly urging them to "tell the truth, man".

Ferguson, who had booked reservations at a hotel for two weeks, was asked by the Immigration officers how she would finance her visit.

"I told them that I travelled with US$331 and that I would receive more money from a friend in the United States, who would accompany me on the island two days later," she said, adding that the supervisor, obviously in disbelief, instructed her to return to the bench as he intended to continue his interrogation later.

It was then, according to the women, that the group recognised that they were in trouble.

They said about five female Immigration officers who were watching the proceedings started hurling insults at the group of Jamaicans, alleging that they were in the country to "take their men".

Atkinson, a bar operator, and Ferguson, who is unemployed, said they went to the island "just for the experience". Atkinson, a relatively frequent flyer who celebrated her birthday in September, said the vacation was a belated present to herself.

Ferguson said the trip was her first time leaving Jamaica.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/Wom ... l_10416403

screwbash

Postby screwbash » May 19th, 2016, 5:25 am

TOBAGO DOH LIKE WE.......TRINIDAD IS CALCUTTA

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 19th, 2016, 6:28 am

screwbash wrote:TOBAGO DOH LIKE WE.......TRINIDAD IS CALCUTTA

I never had any issues with any of the people in the Caribbean islands that I have visited.

This is the main issue.

wagonrunner wrote:other caribbean islanders don't like the muffler bearing attitudes some of us visit their countries with.
examples:
so "negative compared" to T&T.
yuh eh need my money?
here doesn't even have "some unnecessary item". . .

You treat people with respect, you get respect from them.

Postby MaxPower » May 19th, 2016, 9:14 am

^ i like your statement.

Trinidadians are hated and scorned upon worldwide. Any country u go, it always have some annoying trini making a scene somewhere and actin like they this big test, continuing to embarrass their homeland.

When i hear trinis get deported, discriminated, ill treated, stabbed in the back and given a taste of their own medicine.....oh how that makes my day.

ninjabilly

Postby ninjabilly » May 19th, 2016, 9:22 am

^^Test, Your Grenadian roots is showing

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » May 19th, 2016, 9:27 am

Jamaicans. Why is this? Is it seriously because we phased out listening to dancehall here, and it's more soca now? Sounds far fetched.

I can only assume you have never left Trinidad and Tobago.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » May 19th, 2016, 10:18 am

^ i like your statement.

Trinidadians are hated and scorned upon worldwide. Any country u go, it always have some annoying trini making a scene somewhere and actin like they this big test, continuing to embarrass their homeland.

When i hear trinis get deported, discriminated, ill treated, stabbed in the back and given a taste of their own medicine.....oh how that makes my day.

Nah...

Postby DFC » May 19th, 2016, 10:40 am

I've traveled to most of the Caribbean countries and i've never had a bad experience.

Small islanders are generally warm and friendly people.

All the hullabaloo about Jamaica is just e-hype . You can pull up by any roadside cafe/bar and talk cricket and these people will love you.

My experience is good because i am a zen master chill lvl >9000.

But if you travel with the trini condescending/ haughty attitude and you express it everywhere you go, you will be met with the same attitude.

The only bad experiences i does have is in tobago.

Postby j.o.e » May 19th, 2016, 11:44 am

DFC wrote:I've traveled to most of the Caribbean countries and i've never had a bad experience.

Small islanders are generally warm and friendly people.

All the hullabaloo about Jamaica is just e-hype . You can pull up by any roadside cafe/bar and talk cricket and these people will love you.

My experience is good because i am a zen master chill lvl >9000.

But if you travel with the trini condescending/ haughty attitude and you express it everywhere you go, you will be met with the same attitude.

The only bad experiences i does have is in tobago.

This ..... If you a Kant then you will be treated as such and it will be blamed on your nationality. If you cool and normal it's cool sailing on any island.

Postby zoom rader » May 19th, 2016, 12:25 pm

Been to some of the Caribbean

Grenada, love this place. PNM Voter bank and best fish broth in Gauve village

Guyana, a lil behind time but they smarter than trini. Just too much Donkeys on the road.

Dutch territories, ABC all tourist except Suriname. Best real chutney music.

Jamaica never been there and will only go for real jerk chicken.

Dominican Republic, shares the same blend and has elitism mentally as trinis. This is wife material country they not as educated as trini females but better appearance in all shades, will breed and can cook.

St Lucia ok nothing fabulous

Barbados believes all injuns are Guyanese, local women a lil hostile . They generally don't like trinis as a matter of fact the don't even like the Caribbean