White Flashing Lights at Traffic Lights

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 30th, 2016, 10:14 pm

Guys,

Just came from PoS.....
Was approaching the lights by Hyatt when it turned yellow and a few cars in front me on all lanes went thru.....all of a sudden I saw the place light up with white flashing lights......never saw this before...anyone knows what this is.....cameras?...

Googled it but wondering if we have that technology in trinidad .....

Re: White Flashing Lights at Traffic Lights

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 30th, 2016, 10:18 pm

Sorry bro I don't know about it....can u enlighten me

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 30th, 2016, 10:28 pm

Oh I see....thing is I never saw it before...so I didn't know about it.....
But if you see the Amber....I know that if you can't stop safely it is best to go through...because the other light will turn green after a few seconds when the current one turns red.....

Kinda unfair to issue a ticket for a car crossing on Amber. ...

So basically it's a camera system...Hmm....

Postby X2 » May 30th, 2016, 10:33 pm

it takes pics for just about every stop if i remember.

They are not issuing tickets at this time... but who cares... people shouldn't be rushing the amber anyway... dangerous.

Postby rspann » May 30th, 2016, 10:46 pm

Op ,welcome to POS. Please feel free to visit again.

Postby redmanjp » May 30th, 2016, 11:48 pm

It taking pics of u on amber? So what if it now turn amber i supposed to slam in my brakes and cause someonr to run into me?

Closeout Deals

Postby Closeout Deals » May 31st, 2016, 9:56 am

The Gov't put that there so drivers can take selfies, next time watch the camera and smile.

Postby BrotherHood » May 31st, 2016, 10:08 am

Same by El Socorro Skidz. If you pass that camera faster than 120kp/h, you will see a flash.

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » May 31st, 2016, 10:17 am

I've seen the flash go off before, but it flashed cars that were already through the intersection when the light turned red, there was no delay.

Postby Les Bain » May 31st, 2016, 10:20 am

redmanjp wrote:It taking pics of u on amber? So what if it now turn amber i supposed to slam in my brakes and cause someonr to run into me?

I mean, you're supposed to be driving at the posted city limit as well as take amber as a notice to get ready for the red light...

Though I got a flash some months ago crossing the boxed section just as the light went from green to amber, but can't remember seeing a flash anytime them desperate red light breakers came out of hyatt.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 31st, 2016, 10:32 am

BrotherHood wrote:Same by El Socorro Skidz. If you pass that camera faster than 120kp/h, you will see a flash.

120km/h???
Wonder why they choose that when the speed limit is 80??

Postby K74T » May 31st, 2016, 10:33 am

rspann wrote:Op ,welcome to POS. Please feel free to visit again.

Postby BrotherHood » May 31st, 2016, 10:37 am

BrotherHood wrote:Same by El Socorro Skidz. If you pass that camera faster than 120kp/h, you will see a flash.

120km/h???

I have no idea. But I pass there heading east and west daily at night, and in previous months before the enforcement of the speed limit, I would have passed and got flashed while exceeding 120 kp/h. However, as of last night I passed around 110kp/h and and no flash.

src1983

Postby src1983 » May 31st, 2016, 11:30 am

BrotherHood wrote:

120km/h???

I have no idea. But I pass there heading east and west daily at night, and in previous months before the enforcement of the speed limit, I would have passed and got flashed while exceeding 120 kp/h. However, as of last night I passed around 110kp/h and and no flash.

Yup flashes over 120km, but not taking chances. I crossing it at < 80km

Postby BrotherHood » May 31st, 2016, 2:04 pm

I complied for a week.
Now, I drive at what becomes natural to me which is 100-110. Too monotonous to drive at 80 and I have to force to drive below 80 which makes driving uncomfortable. Additionally I am spending way too much time looking down at the speedo.

Postby RBphoto » June 6th, 2016, 9:46 am

BrotherHood wrote:I complied for a week.
Now, I drive at what becomes natural to me which is 100-110. Too monotonous to drive at 80 and I have to force to drive below 80 which makes driving uncomfortable. Additionally I am spending way too much time looking down at the speedo.

When you get a ticket.. you can tell that to the police officer.

Postby BrotherHood » June 6th, 2016, 9:50 am

RBphoto wrote:

If that happens, that will be my problem to deal with. Won't make any excuses or attempt to not get a ticket. I have made a decision, will comfortably live with it and will face whatever that might possibly come my way. I don't have to tell the police officer anything.

Postby RBphoto » June 6th, 2016, 11:35 am

BrotherHood wrote:
RBphoto wrote:

If that happens, that will be my problem to deal with. Won't make any excuses or attempt to not get a ticket. I have made a decision, will comfortably live with it and will face whatever that might possibly come my way. I don't have to tell the police officer anything.

Allyuh shotters have money to waste... but right attitude tho.

Postby BrotherHood » June 6th, 2016, 11:45 am

No I don't have money to waste at all.

Postby SMc » June 6th, 2016, 12:20 pm

^^When last you buy a Juventus jussy?

on another note them cameras are different, the by Hyatt with multiple flashing (more than 10+) is to record people who have illegally entered a box junction/yellow cross thing (ie when it is not clear) as more 'flashes/photos' are required to prove the person entered the area at a later point that they should have...think stop-go animation

2-3 flashes are for higher speeds where each flash/picture records the car at a given interval so the speed can be calculated..this is usually accompanied by some white lines on the roadway that run perpendicular to the direction of traffic so it can be proved in court( or anywhere else)...look up the rally driver Gastonides, his fault but for a good reason.

Postby Les Bain » June 6th, 2016, 1:53 pm

Maybe I never noticed before but has the yellow box area at Hyatt traffic lights been given a fresh coat of paint?

Postby redmanjp » June 6th, 2016, 2:09 pm

src1983 wrote:
BrotherHood wrote:

120km/h???

120kph and above is considered dangerous driving, and that area has a 'Dangerous Bend' sign so i guess that's why

Postby redmanjp » June 6th, 2016, 2:11 pm

redmanjp wrote:
src1983 wrote:
BrotherHood wrote:

120km/h???

120kph and above is considered dangerous driving, and that area has a 'Dangerous Bend' sign so i guess that's why

if they give legal effect to those cameras it means u could possibly get charged with dangerous driving and fined $4000

and in this economy they have every incentive to do so- is like 100s of violations per day- nobody seeing ttps so they go assume it safe
Last edited by redmanjp on June 6th, 2016, 8:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 6th, 2016, 2:12 pm

I did that when it was now installed, so they have to go way way back to get that pic.

I do pass it at 90-100 at times though so I may have a little ticket in the mail somewhere :(

Postby BrotherHood » June 6th, 2016, 3:33 pm

SMc wrote:^^When last you buy a Juventus jussy?