Kersh Ramsey did his thing at Teneil & Howard's wedding

Rihanna's - Work

Excellent Performance !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

TriP

Re: Local Ting än Ting

Postby TriP » June 15th, 2016, 8:25 pm

Local Steelpanist ~ Hueloy Yip Young

He is a steelpan music icon, respected, award-wining, and a global ambassador of the steelpan art form. In addition, he is a founding member of the champion Harmonites Steel Orchestra of Trinidad and Tobago. When Steel Talks (WST) spotlights Vincent “Hueloy” Lila Yip Young as we revisit a 1985 interview with academic, journalist, and cultural and music standout Doris Green.

Hueloy aka Vincent “Hueloy” Lila Yip Young, a former steel band player, now an entrepreneur in the record industry specializing in calypso music and Caribbean music.

The interview began with the organization of steel bands in New York. It was gleaned that there were at least two earlier steel band organizations which are now defunct. Today the National Council of Steel Pans is an organization that is promoting an annual steelband concert of — classics and carols.

In your estimation what are the leading steel bands of the decades?

Hueloy came to this country in 1968. At that time the top steel bands were as follows:

1968-70
Highlanders
Tropican
Sonatas Brooklynaires

1970s
Exhibits
Pan Masters
Silhouettes
New York Harmonites
Satisfiers

1980s
As a result of the Panorama, the below bands are the tops in the early 1980s: BWIA Sonatas
New York Golden Stars
B’s Metro Steel
Moods Pan Groove

In Trinidad, the best band of the 70s and early 80s is the Desperadoes. In Mr. Loy’s estimation, the Desperadoes is the best band ever. Their leader, Mr. Rudolph Charles (recently deceased) will be remembered not only for his leadership but for the innovations he pioneered on the steel drums.

In the course of the conversation, it was gleaned that several steel bands had merged and then later dissolved. This prompted the writer to ask - Why? Hueloy responded that there were differences over money, ideologies of management, personality problems, etc., which caused the dissolution of many steel pan groups.

As far as philosophy of the steel pan is concerned, do you feel that the “spider web” is a better pan than the “Ellie Mannette” style of pan?

The response was a flat “no”. To elaborate, he said each tuner thinks his style is the best. Bands have been successful with one style while other bands have had success with another style, adding that said question could be debated for years.

In terms of construction how do you compare the two pans?

Response: The spider web pan definitely has a distinct musical pattern in its design whereas in the “Mannette” style of pan, the notes are scattered.

As far as standardization is concerned, the spider web pan is definitely more applicable. Allan Gervais made a perfect Mannette-style pan, but Gervais died and the younger panmakers are not making this style pan. After Ellie Mannette migrated from Trinidad, Allan Gervais continued to make his style of pan. The spider web pan is the dominant style in Trinidad, but not in New York.

Bertie Marshall took the Mannette-style pan and eliminated some of its notes to get clarity. He started the pan from E Flat and called it “high tenor”. But it had its drawbacks because one always needed to return to some of the lower notes which were not on the high tenor pan. There was clarity, but no depth. To compensate for this he devised another pan called the “double tenor.” Whatever notes that were not on one pan were on the other pan. This gave a fuller range with both clarity and depth. Bertie Marshall created the double tenor pan in 1965-66.

The spider web pan can be constructed either clockwise or counterclockwise. The writer theorized that this was done for ease of movability depending upon whether the player was left handed or right handed. At this particular point, Mr. Loy stated that facilitation of movement was not the theory behind it, but the desires of the tuner to establish his own turf.

In order to bring the pan into the realm of acceptance, it must some how be standardized. How would you go about solving this?

Response: The pans are standardized to some extent in Trinidad. For example the cycle of fifths is standard; the Bertie Marshall double tenors are standard; the Ellie Mannette second pans are standard. The cellos are standard Mannette style. Most bands used a mixed combination of the pans that have been standardized. The Johnston family is the only band that uses only one type of pan which is the spider web pan.

What do you feel are some of the problems facing the bands? Response:

Finance - they cannot support a family and support their act. It is too expensive. In order to have the Trinidad sound, one needs 25–30 members in a band. Without a sponsor, it is too expensive. Sponsorship is the resolution to this problem. Another problem is available space. Store fronts make good facilities.

hat do you feel about basements being used as available space for construction and rehearsals?

Mr. Loy found no objection to it.

The writer had to state the reaction of people who have had experience with a basement being used as such. In a similar experience it is felt that steelband people are totally inconsiderate of others. They would construct pans from dawn to sunset and then rehearse from sunset to the wee hours of the morning in total disregard for the neighbors. These people pay rent and mortgages and would like to enjoy their dwellings and not have to listen to this noise throughout the day and night. Therefore the question of availability is definitely a problem. One cannot take steel pans which were designed and played in the open spaces of the islands and bring it to the enclosures of the city in a basement and not expect to have repercussions. Direction and good leadership are also problems to be dealt with. Also the concept that steel pan playing is a recreational thing must be obliterated if others are going to respect it as an art form. The inability to read music is another problem. Mr. Loy suggested that there be some formal musical training for all pan players.

What form of music do you prefer calypso or classics?

Calypso is good for the festive spirit, but on the international market, in order to break through, the pan must play classics. Some bands that play classics are the Desperadoes, Catelli All Stars and Casablanca. These bands are in Trinidad and are noted for their music.

What do you see as the future of the steel pans? In what direction would you like to see them go?

Mr. Loy pondered for a few seconds, then said that he would like to see the size of the bands get smaller for economic reasons. He would also like to see standardization and a whole new approach. Steel pan players must listen to the leadership and dedicate themselves to the art of steel pan playing.
1.jpg
2.jpg
3.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » June 15th, 2016, 8:31 pm

Local Cocoa

The Cocoa Community Project Launch

Courts (Trinidad) Limited in collaboration with the Alliance of Rural Communities of T&T and the Machel Montano Foundation For Greatness are proud partners in a Corporate Social Responsibility Initiative which was launched, 14th June, 2016 at the Courts Megastore, San Juan.

The Cocoa Community Project is an initiative through which communities can develop by supporting local, pooling resources together and learning and teaching valuable skills such as Cocoa Production.
1.jpg
2.jpg
5.jpg
3.jpg
4.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » June 15th, 2016, 8:41 pm

1970 Music

TriP

Postby TriP » June 15th, 2016, 8:48 pm

People of Trinidad and Tobago - 2

"There are boxes that people fit into depending on their looks, where they live, which school they went to, socio-economic class, religion etc.

I’ve always lived in the East and did my schooling at UWI Primary, Bishops East and SJC St Joseph.

My dad is Scottish. I don’t have a Trini accent.

Very often I was the only white person in the class and I didn’t sound like everyone so very early on I would get interrogated about where I was from.

When I said Tacarigua, it didn’t fit because they expected me to live in the West.

It’s one of the first ways I knew I was different.

I’ve never been a “girly-girl” and by the time I was in my teens when everyone else was wearing make-up and dresses, I realised I didn’t want to.

I just didn’t like the feel of it on my face and how it enforced femininity on me.

I look androgynous and I like that.

I don’t want to be a man but I have no interest in projecting femininity.

So now I get asked “Are you a boy or a girl?”, often randomly by strangers.

People seem to need to know.

I don’t feel particularly gendered either way but other people need to label me in their heads.

My parents and sisters, even if they are not wholly understanding of this, let me know that I have their love and support.

I started to think I might be gay at age around age 12.

It took so much mental energy in my teens to think about it but by 18 I was sure. I told my parents the following year.

My dad is very supportive. My mother loves me so she will always be there for me but I think it’s harder for her to deal with.

I co-direct a group called “I Am One” that runs social spaces for LGBT people in T&T.

It’s something I wish had existed when I was younger, to know there were people like me. I know people who have killed themselves rather than be known as gay.

At a peer’s funeral people said quietly “It was for the best; he is with God.”

Homophobia kills and the only way to stop it is to teach fundamental respect for other peoples existence.

Being gay is still dangerous all over the world and being visibly different like I am is hard but I wouldn’t want to be anyone but who I am" .
2.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » June 15th, 2016, 8:51 pm

Local Airwaves ~ Trinidad and Tobago Television

Trinidad and Tobago Television (TTT) and Radio Trinidad.

TTT came unto the airwaves in August, 1962 while Radio Trinidad began in 1947. Radio Trinidad and TTT were the hosts of many popular programs over the years that has influenced generations of Trinidad and Tobago's population

Programs such as Auntie Kay and the Indian Variety Show hosted by Sam Ghany drew audiences to their radios while shows such as Scouting for Talent, Community Dateline, Mastana Bahar and Panorama (news) had the population glued to their television sets.

TTT officially ended transmission on January 14, 2005 while Radio Trinidad's AM frequency station Inspirational Radio 730AM ended transmission on April 5, 2015 and was converted to the current FM station Sky 99.5.
2.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » June 15th, 2016, 9:05 pm

Local Sea Urchin Shell

The shell left after a sea egg or sea urchin dies. the spikes fall off, all the internal parts rot away and the exoskeleton bleaches white
1.jpg
1.jpg (36.1 KiB) Viewed 1874 times
2.jpg
5.jpg
3.jpg
4.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » June 15th, 2016, 9:09 pm

Local Bara

When Last yuh had sum Caralli Pieces..??
1.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » June 15th, 2016, 9:16 pm

Local Mushrooms
1.jpg
2.jpg
3.jpg
4.jpg
5.jpg
6.jpg
7.jpg
8.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » June 15th, 2016, 9:22 pm

Caribbean Contest ~ Local Contestant - Kyle Bennett

Caribbean Talent Competition - Send In Your Video Now - Win $5,000 US Dollars

CorGlo Enterprise do movie production, operate as a talent agent and publicist.

With Corglo Enterprise, there are ONLY WINNERS.

Possibilities are endless

http://corgloenterprise.com

TriP

Postby TriP » June 15th, 2016, 9:37 pm

Local Model
1.jpg
2.jpg
3.jpg
4.jpg
5.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » June 15th, 2016, 9:41 pm

Local Down de Islands ~ Island Kids

We're just some Island Kids, always in search of a good time

Nice Muzik ~ Go Pro ~ Sweet Ladies

TriP

Postby TriP » June 15th, 2016, 9:43 pm

Local Manzanilla
0.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » June 15th, 2016, 9:49 pm

Local Aerial Drone ~ Compliation

Pasea ~ Trincity ~ Chaguaramas ~ Bass Pounding

TriP

Postby TriP » June 15th, 2016, 10:57 pm

yeh i agree wid yuh..all the good ones on the page 149

TriP

Postby TriP » June 15th, 2016, 11:08 pm

yeh marn kool 8-)

TriP

Postby TriP » June 15th, 2016, 11:20 pm

<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<Steelpan<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<

TriP

Postby TriP » June 16th, 2016, 9:47 pm

Local Art ~ Inmate Art Exhibition 2016 - 1

Photos of paintings and sketches done by Prisoners and presented at the Inmate Art Exhibition at Long Circular Mall on Thursday June 16th
1.jpg
2.jpg
3.jpg
4.jpg
5.jpg
6.jpg
7.jpg
8.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » June 16th, 2016, 9:50 pm

Local Art ~ Inmate Art Exhibition 2016 - 2

Photos of paintings and sketches done by Prisoners and presented at the Inmate Art Exhibition at Long Circular Mall on Thursday June 16th
9.jpg
10.jpg
11.jpg
12.jpg
13.jpg
14.jpg
15.jpg
16.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » June 16th, 2016, 9:51 pm

Local Art ~ Inmate Art Exhibition 2016 - 3

25.jpg
23.jpg
22.jpg
21.jpg
20.jpg
19.jpg
18.jpg
17.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » June 16th, 2016, 9:55 pm

Local Gymnast ~ Vanessa Hill Milyva
8.jpg
7.jpg
6.jpg
5.jpg
4.jpg
3.jpg
2.jpg
1.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » June 16th, 2016, 10:03 pm

Local Brasso Seco ~ Chocolates - 1

The Brasso Seco Chocolate Company is pleased to collaborate with SunEaters Organics, The Alliance of Rural Communities, The Machel Montano Foundation for Greatness, Unicomer Trinidad Ltd (Courts) and The Cocoa Development Company in developing Chocolate Businesses throughout Rural Trinbago in our beloved "Cocoa Villages".

It is our utmost pleasure to assist in the development of various Chocolate Businesses, promote our Local Chocolates and Cacao Products and develop an even greater connection with our fellow Rural Communities
2.jpg
1.jpg
3.jpg
4.jpg
5.jpg
6.jpg
7.jpg
8.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » June 16th, 2016, 10:05 pm

Local Brasso Seco ~ Chocolates - 2
13.jpg
9.jpg
10.jpg
11.jpg
12.jpg
14.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » June 16th, 2016, 10:11 pm

Local Trinidad and Tobago Model Power Boat Club

Held on SundayJune5th2016 - Prize Giving and Highlights

Paul Tiah, a happy customer in Trinidad & Tobago, he just won the Supermodified class for this season.

He write that this class is their Super Modified Class, (this class was created mostly for the Quickdraw Pioneers, as the fully modified Zenoah’s just can’t keep up and are in their own class which they call Modified 1.)

This event took place over the last six months (January - June 2016) and is held in open waters (the sea) on their north west coast in Trinidad & Tobago. (This is the last Caribbean Island before you hit the South American country of Venezuela.)

He writes “this new 30.5 Pioneer engine really screams out raw power, as most races I only held full throttle to get in front then just 3/4 throttled to win. Really impressed with this engine. Great job”

Thank you Paul, that is great news and congratulations on your win. We have a lot of really great customers in the Caribbean Islands.

TriP

Postby TriP » June 16th, 2016, 10:20 pm

Local Tobago Puppy ~ Muraco: A Dumped Puppy Who Found Love - 3

On 26th June 2016 our darling Muri will fly to JFK airport, New York where she will be collected by her excited new family. They will then take her home to Massachusetts.

Veenie and I will be sure to enjoy every last drop of her until that day comes.

Please start wishing her well from now—for a safe and pleasant flight, a super-loving welcome on US soil and an easy, fun & happy time settling into her new home/family.

Begins on Pg 137 SaturdayApril23rd: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=396866&start=4080

To Pg 145 SundayMay22nd: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=396866&start=4320
1.jpg
2.jpg
3.jpg
4.jpg
5.jpg
6.jpg
7.jpg
8.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » June 16th, 2016, 10:35 pm

Local Faces
6.jpg
5.jpg
7.jpg
8.jpg
9.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » June 16th, 2016, 10:46 pm

Local Poster Competition ~ Florida Caribbean Cruise Association

Trinidad and Tobago hopes to be on Winners’ Row, once again, at the Poster Competition of the Florida Caribbean Cruise Association (FCCA). Today (June 15), distributed prizes for the local arm of the competition to the Junior Division Winner (Children aged 12 years and under) Ellaina Clarissa Hannah Morris and Senior Division (Children aged 13-16 years) Winner Zarah Morrison.

Ellaina Morris attends Chandernagore Primary School in Chaguanas whilst Zarah Morrison goes to Caribbean Union College.

Both of their posters have been sent forward for evaluation by FCCA.

As part of their winning prizes both Ellaina and Zarah will have the opportunity to visit a cruise vessel when docked at the port of Port of Spain.

The theme of the poster competition was “Reuse, Recycle... Renew the Caribbean”.
7.jpg
8.jpg
0.jpg
9.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » June 16th, 2016, 10:59 pm

Local Movie ~ Bazodee - FridayAugust5th2016

Soca Artist Machel Montano stars in a new Caribbean musical about being true to yourself and honest in love at all costs

Anita Panchouri (Natalie Perera), the dutiful Indian daughter of a deep in debt businessman (Kabir Bedi) is about to marry a wealthy Londoner (Staz Nair) when a chance encounter with a local singer, Lee de Leon (Soca music star Machel Montano in his film debut) sets things askew.

In search of a muse, de Leon agrees to perform at the engagement party for both families. Unable to deny their mutual attraction, and with the excitement of Carnival approaching, Anita must now choose between the answer to her family's financial prayers and the possibility of real love

View Ched: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=672553

TriP

Postby TriP » June 16th, 2016, 11:11 pm

Local Rock Band ~ Fly By Night

Recession Session II - SaturdayJune25th - 7pm - Big Black Box

Jhonn Young - Vocalist/Rhythm Guitarist

Gabrielle Scott - Back up Vocalist

Anum Greene - Lead guitarist

Che Harper - Drummer

Dimitri Sandy - Bassist

Fly by Night Singles:

1. Smiles

2. Conversation

https://soundcloud.com/user-334840569/sets/singles-1
8.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » June 16th, 2016, 11:16 pm

Local Salsa Fiesta TnT 2016

Held on May 26th–May 30th - Cascadia and Conference Center

Eric Balmir and Balmir Latin Dance performed this jazzy mens shine routine at the
Trinidad and Tobago Salsa Fiesta 2016.