Building a house in Trinidad

Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby rspann » June 30th, 2016, 6:45 pm

Deck pan from Varma is 24" and just under $20 per running foot. But there are cheaper alternatives which are thinner and less deep.
Nice thing with theirs is that you can go 10 ft without props.I still don't take chances and put some 2x4 walers and props. .

triplef_17

Postby triplef_17 » June 30th, 2016, 7:40 pm

Ply vs deckpan which is the stronger way to go?

triplef_17

Postby triplef_17 » June 30th, 2016, 7:41 pm

Ply vs deckpan which is the stronger way to go?

GRIM

Postby GRIM » June 30th, 2016, 7:41 pm

so then $10 per square foot? if so then the cost difference might look like this.

Building approx. 30’ x 50’ (1500 sq. feet)

CFD
Deckpan (3’’ deep) $15000
Concrete (slab only) 13m3 $13,000
(minus beams)
2 roll #65 brc $1,500
Bamboo props 96 $960
(minus beams)
Total $30,460

Traditional
Ply 40 sheets 5/8” $8,000
2’’x4’’ 48 pieces (12’ long) $2,400
Bamboo 240 $2,400
(minus beams)
½’’ steel 2 tonnes $10,000
Concrete (slab only) 18m3 $18,000
Total $40800

NOTE:
All the boxing board, 2’’x2’’ etc. for beams are needed regardless of the option.
Both slabs to be 5’’ thick. Deckpan is 3’’ deep with 2’’ thick concrete on top.
All concrete estimates do not include concrete needed for beams as it will be the same with either option.
Additional bamboo needed for under beams.

if it was me building i would still go the traditional way with the ply.
oh and i dont think the normal #610 brc should be used, something like the W.W.F. W10 6"x6" should probably be used. but then that would bring the cost up alot more
Last edited by GRIM on July 1st, 2016, 12:15 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby pugboy » June 30th, 2016, 8:32 pm

Is the brc normally supposed to be tacked to the decking also ?

Postby rspann » July 1st, 2016, 7:36 am

Grim, don't forget you can resell the bamboo and ply for almost 3/4 of the cost.

Postby *KRONIK* » July 1st, 2016, 11:17 am

As allyuh say bamboo

I have a few massive bamboo stools to cut

So i'm offering all for free for those who want
Just bring ur cutting crew and transport.

Located in sangre grande

Pm if allyuh interested

low-profile

Postby low-profile » July 1st, 2016, 9:22 pm

i also have some bamboo props for sale if anyone interested. would be taking them down next week. about a hundred pieces not shorter than 9ft.

S_Pollock

Postby S_Pollock » July 3rd, 2016, 12:11 am

Hey guys, what would be the average cost to build a 30ft × 48ft foundation and decking?
Thx!!!

triplef_17

Postby triplef_17 » July 5th, 2016, 6:12 pm

About 215,000

S_Pollock

Postby S_Pollock » July 6th, 2016, 1:56 am

Kool

Postby De Dragon » July 6th, 2016, 10:16 am

pugboy wrote:Is the brc normally supposed to be tacked to the decking also ?

Its really just tacked to the deck sheets so that it doesn't stick out. This keeps the BRC close to the deck sheet and also makes it safer when you have to pour concrete.

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » July 7th, 2016, 4:38 pm

Hi guys do you know any good builders in south..

Caesar_T

Re: RE: Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby Caesar_T » July 8th, 2016, 4:37 am

York wrote:
rspann wrote:
Kronik wrote:Fellas, how much material i would need to cast a driveway 40' long by 20' wide by 6" deep? And if any builders here want to give me a estimate to do the job, all that welcome. Area would already be dug out to depth for casting

Kronik, use readymix. less hassle, better consistency , 12 cu m @$900. You have an hour so they can use wheelbarrow to push it in.

which company selling at $900/cu m? last co i checked said $1357 / cu yard i think.

plus you still have to pay labour to wheel barrow and level eh...and doh forget yuh brc / steel bars reinforcement.

To Iloilo loop of
The Raven wrote:What is the average depth piling is done for two stories homes?
Caroni area.

The Raven wrote:One thing for sure, donot trust any builders, most of them lie. Had a recent experience with one, he lie from the start to end of the job and did not do what was agreed. I was not around, you can not trust them at all. Especially when you pay money up front.

The Raven wrote:Guys, pm some number for me please. I am considering adding on to my steel structure an extension in front, need some advise on joining onto my existing steel frame. It's a small structure, a porch about 15 feet wide and 20ft long. Could I bolt onto the frame?
Thanks.

Yeas you can bolt/weld onto the existing frame with adequate bracing.

Caesar_T

Re: RE: Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby Caesar_T » July 8th, 2016, 4:37 am

York wrote:
rspann wrote:
Kronik wrote:Fellas, how much material ippppp would need to cast a driveway 40' long by 20' wide by 6" deep? And if any builders here want to give me a estimate to do the job, all that welcome. Area would already be dug out to depth for casting

Kronik, use readymix. less hassle, better consistency , 12 cu m @$900. You have an hour so they can use wheelbarrow to push it in.

which company selling at $900/cu m?pp last co i checked said $1357 / cu yard i think.

plus you still have to pay labour to wheel barrow and level eh...and doh forget yuh brc / steel bars reinforcement.

To Iloilo loop of
The Raven wrote:What is the average depth piling is done for two stories homes?
Caroni area.

The Raven wrote:One thing for sure, donot trust any builders, most of them lie. Had a recent experience with one, he lie from the start to end of the job and did not do what was agreed. I was not around, you can not trust them at all. Especially when you pay money up front.

The Raven wrote:Guys, pm some number for me please. I am considering adding on to my steel structure an extension in front, need some advise on joining onto my existing steel frame. It's a small structure, a porch about 15 feet wide and 20ft long. Could I bolt onto the frame?
Thanks.

Yeas you can bolt/weld onto the existing frame with adequate bracing.

lancer69

Postby lancer69 » July 13th, 2016, 2:17 pm

Hey guys can give some estimates as how much it would cost to build foundation and decking alone with dimensions of 65 L' x 35'W..thanks

Postby nervewrecker » July 14th, 2016, 7:59 pm

5/8" steel kinda scarce?

I know someone looking for some in south. Any help appreciated

rayrayray

Postby rayrayray » July 15th, 2016, 1:23 am

Question : would T&C approve construction of a second home on 1 lot ? Location :Union Hall ...any suggestions on how to go about this , feel free to recommend people who can aid.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » July 15th, 2016, 5:48 pm

quietdevil wrote:
rayrayray wrote:Question : would T&C approve construction of a second home on 1 lot ? Location :Union Hall ...any suggestions on how to go about this , feel free to recommend people who can aid.

You can only build one house on one piece of land no matter the size. If you need another house on a piece of land you would have to sub divide. So to get approval you would have to sub divide but you have a minimum size a lot can be. A typical 5000sq ft lot cannot be sub divided

Can you integrate the new house into the existing structure, perhaps with a firewall separating the two (creating a duplex structure) while maintaining the building coverage and floor area ratio required by T&C?

rayrayray

Postby rayrayray » July 15th, 2016, 6:19 pm

Hmnnn , I'm open to recommendations ...need something that would be approved. The problem with sharing a wall is that the available area to construct the new home is 5 feet away from existing home and 4 feet higher ...so what Im saying is there is a 4 feet retaining wall 5 feet from the back of my already existing home.

rayrayray

Postby rayrayray » July 16th, 2016, 7:40 pm

Ok thanks

York

Postby York » July 22nd, 2016, 6:05 pm

1. Maybe you can cut the land level with a backhoe and join the structure so it would be an extension.

2. You can build the extension on the higher level and cover the space in between with the roof and put a step and/or laundry there.

You need to be clever with what you are submitting as your extension. Do it in a way that after approval you can easily separate like removing and blocking up a doorway joining the two structures.

rayrayray

Postby rayrayray » July 23rd, 2016, 7:55 am

Hmmm , #2 is definitely the consideration. Thanks again ....feel free to add the link quiet devil.

Postby De Dragon » July 23rd, 2016, 10:29 am

rayrayray wrote:Hmmm , #2 is definitely the consideration. Thanks again ....feel free to add the link quiet devil.

:? :?
Why not go to T&C and get the proper information? I doubt that when you do not get approval, you defence would be "quietdevil did tell me to do dat".

rayrayray

Postby rayrayray » July 25th, 2016, 8:38 am

Most certainly will

low-profile

Postby low-profile » July 26th, 2016, 10:14 pm

free bamboo props
375-6252

screwylewie

Postby screwylewie » August 6th, 2016, 2:06 pm

Hey guys can you weld steel beams at the top of rc columns or do you have to use anchor bolts.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 6th, 2016, 7:13 pm

screwylewie wrote:Hey guys can you weld steel beams at the top of rc columns or do you have to use anchor bolts.

Weld it to what? If you had steel plates embedded in the top of the rc column, then yes, you could weld the steel beam to that. If it is just concrete, then you would have to use anchor bolts set into the concrete.

Postby rspann » August 6th, 2016, 7:47 pm

I did something like that already, where the fabricator made some spacers which were welded down to the rc columns and the y had holes on top where the beams were bolted. Also I helped a church do a building where funds were scarce so they welded the beams together instead of bolting and that was rc columns too.

konartis

Postby konartis » August 6th, 2016, 10:11 pm

If I want to scale down a house, like take off a floor basically how long does that take to have the plans amended at town an country? And what's the procedure?