*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Zim

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby Zim » September 24th, 2016, 3:08 pm

Is anybody wanna buy ORIGINAL Blu Ray movies? have a few 2 sell, small money.
There was a couple guys posted here claimed t be looking but they eh respond to my messages :?

Anton

Postby Anton » September 27th, 2016, 12:13 pm

You have a listing Zim?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 2nd, 2016, 7:42 pm

Where locally can I get a cover for my LCD tv 32" Need to protect it from dust and fingerprints

Advent

Postby Advent » October 3rd, 2016, 11:28 am

Gladiator wrote:
scotty_buttons wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
scotty_buttons wrote:
scotty_buttons wrote:Just experienced a Marantz (Av8802) 11.2 / Bose speaker home theatre setup.
I don't think anything ever gonna sound good enough for me again.. Cuz I too poor :(

And oh, Sony 46inch from pricesmart. 5 years strong. 32inch Sony 8 yrs. Still working.

Which Bose speakers they used on the Marantz?

Bose Professional/commercial speakers and Bose Pro amp were used. Bose 402's for front and rear speakers . DS100F for ceiling. (Atmos ) and B2 module for sub. All powered by the Powermatch 8500. 8000 watts.

Check Specs again that amp is rated 500W x 8 MAX (relalistically about 120W per ch)
Speakers are rated 120W

Bose professional line is a whole different class from their domestic line. I have been wanting to know how well an array config would work in a HT. Can you describe the sound quality you experienced?

Yeah I know.. But, that's what the dealer and installer told me. I basically quoted what he said. I know the Amp is customizable so not sure if that is an explanation for the 8000 watts instead of 4000. I personally think the B2 module is way too small for what I heard too. He said he'd email me detailed specs though. So whenever I get it I'll recheck.
I'm not sure how exactly to explain the sound quality to you.. But it's much better than MT anywhere or Caribbean Cinemas (Atmos included).
I'd say it's better than IMAX as well; more depth and range .. Loud but not piercing at some frequencies as IMAX can be sometimes. But that's just m personal opinion.
I was honestly blown away that a 'home theatre' could sound that good.. But as you said, Bose Professional line is a whole different level.

Only thing I wasn't impressed with was the projector video quality. Would probably try to get some 4K / HDR / Dolby Vision content to show next weekend or so when I may pass through. Hopefully the projector supports it, next step is to find that out. It's one physically big mofo though.

I agree, IMAX is a big disappointment for audio. Too loud, no definition limited dynamic range and even distortion. Saw Batman vs Superman and it was horrible!

The BOSE speakers you auditioned have low end limitation at 125Hz. The specs does not cater for much midbass (60Hz-100Hz). would you be able to elaborate a little on how it performed in this frequency range?

Thanks

wait why we comparing 7.1 to cinema setups, which is like 24 speakers etc?

Postby 16 cycles » October 4th, 2016, 9:42 am

powermatch

Maximum Rated Power
4000 W (500 W x 8 channels at 4 ohms)....

– Proprietary design combines Class-D efficiency with a unique current and voltage feedback loop circuit that continuously monitors and controls both the current and voltage delivered to the loudspeaker load.

https://pro.bose.com/en_us/products/amp ... ifier.html

Would strongly advise linking with the B&W retailer on this thread to hear a classe /B&W set up.....they pair well.....and you can integrate other components to build out the 7.1 system....

GLANIMAL

Postby GLANIMAL » October 4th, 2016, 8:24 pm

Anton wrote:Nothing Much. Lol
Upgraded my projector to an BenQ HT1085ST and my Blu Ray player to a Sony BDPS6500 3D 4K Upscaling Blu-ray Player. Bought a couple of pairs of SainSonic GX-30 144Hz Rechargeable 3D Active Shutter Glasses and some CineGrey high contrast Projection fabric to do a new screen when i get some time.

buy a silver ticket screen..bring it via ocean freight..cheaper

Postby Gladiator » October 5th, 2016, 10:58 pm

Tried my hand at a diy passive 3 ch sound bar... 3 way L/R and 2 way Center.
Also did a diy false wall for the TV and soundbar

Project still in progress... have to run wires in ceiling, build an equipment rack and do moldings etc...
Last edited by Gladiator on April 27th, 2020, 12:04 am, edited 2 times in total.

air wick

Postby air wick » October 6th, 2016, 8:15 am

^ very nice work. How does it sound?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 6th, 2016, 11:12 am

wow nice!

what wood paneling did you cover the wall with?

Postby Gladiator » October 6th, 2016, 2:23 pm

air wick wrote:^ very nice work. How does it sound?

It actually sounds quite good... those little 3" drivers from parts express really surprised me. I tuned them at around 90Hz and they give solid performance so frequency range of the overall bar is great.

The imaging is good, I have a slight phasing issue but I will fine tune for than with time alignment. I suspect I have a couple bumps in the 800Hz and 5Khz areas, probably due to the passive crossovers. However I would try to use the equalizer on the receiver to rectify that.

Overall I am quite pleased. I built it with 3/4" pitch pine so its solid and heavy...

Postby Gladiator » October 6th, 2016, 2:26 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:wow nice!

what wood paneling did you cover the wall with?

Actually I used some cheap laminate flooring.... shhhh

Due to the very small surface area it is not doing any contraction and expansion with the temperature.

Re: RE: Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby X_Factor » October 6th, 2016, 8:25 pm

Gladiator wrote:

It actually sounds quite good... those little 3" drivers from parts express really surprised me. I tuned them at around 90Hz and they give solid performance so frequency range of the overall bar is great.

The imaging is good, I have a slight phasing issue but I will fine tune for than with time alignment. I suspect I have a couple bumps in the 800Hz and 5Khz areas, probably due to the passive crossovers. However I would try to use the equalizer on the receiver to rectify that.

Overall I am quite pleased. I built it with 3/4" pitch pine so its solid and heavy...

did u build the crossover yourself?

Re: RE: Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby Gladiator » October 6th, 2016, 8:31 pm

X_Factor wrote:
Gladiator wrote:

did u build the crossover yourself?

Negative... used some assembled ones from Parts Express

baigan

*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby baigan » October 7th, 2016, 12:03 am

https://youtu.be/ONYHMEw448U
I want :B *drools*
Panasonic transparent OLED

Driftking257

Postby Driftking257 » October 7th, 2016, 4:17 am

Good day how do I get me smart TV to play audio through my home theater system.

Postby X_Factor » October 7th, 2016, 7:21 am

depending on the model you may hav to use optical out if there is not an audio out pre out or over hdmi

GLANIMAL

Postby GLANIMAL » October 7th, 2016, 9:04 am

Driftking257 wrote:Good day how do I get me smart TV to play audio through my home theater system.

via optical out from tv or arc via hdmi

go to tv settings and switch to that as well

Driftking257

Postby Driftking257 » October 8th, 2016, 5:27 am

Thanks guys gonna try it today

Postby Gladiator » October 14th, 2016, 12:05 pm

thelem wrote:Any recommendations as to where to get a good sound bar locally? Pricesmart has an outdated Sony 2.1 (2012 model i believe).

Would be good to get a 5.1 locally. If no options, I may have to suck it up and place an order.

I ended up building one... those high end soundbars go for $1000US upwards.

Electronic Interiors Ltd

Postby Electronic Interiors Ltd » October 14th, 2016, 6:19 pm

thelem wrote:Any recommendations as to where to get a good sound bar locally? Pricesmart has an outdated Sony 2.1 (2012 model i believe).

Would be good to get a 5.1 locally. If no options, I may have to suck it up and place an order.

We have the following soundbars available with warranty :

Integra DLB40.6
http://www.integrahometheater.com/Produ ... =prodClass

Sonos Playbar
http://www.sonos.com/en-us/shop/playbar.html

As for 5.1 Systems we have Bowers & Wilkins products available.

Please contact us at 222-0724 for more info and pricing.

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » October 15th, 2016, 11:52 am

I`ve been building a 4 channel active amplifier. The amplifier boards are 35 watts rms each and as it`s for nearfield listening that`s plenty of power. The processor is capable of 8 channels control actively and the interface is super easy to work with. Theres 31band eq, high pass, low pass or bandpass, level, crossover slope 6db to 48db and even time delay for each channel. Bye Bye passive crossovers.

Also the way everything is set up, I can add standoffs and more terminals and do 8 channels if I ever decide to.

Postby Gladiator » October 15th, 2016, 3:50 pm

Soundstream_626 wrote:Image

I`ve been building a 4 channel active amplifier. The amplifier boards are 35 watts rms each and as it`s for nearfield listening that`s plenty of power. The processor is capable of 8 channels control actively and the interface is super easy to work with. Theres 31band eq, high pass, low pass or bandpass, level, crossover slope 6db to 48db and even time delay for each channel. Bye Bye passive crossovers.

Also the way everything is set up, I can add standoffs and more terminals and do 8 channels if I ever decide to.

Bravo man... great project there. May I ask for a link to the amplifier boards.

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » October 15th, 2016, 9:40 pm

Postby Morpheus » October 16th, 2016, 5:03 am

Nice project there Soundstream...

bosetnt

Postby bosetnt » November 1st, 2016, 9:24 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
scotty_buttons wrote:
scotty_buttons wrote:Just experienced a Marantz (Av8802) 11.2 / Bose speaker home theatre setup.
I don't think anything ever gonna sound good enough for me again.. Cuz I too poor :(

And oh, Sony 46inch from pricesmart. 5 years strong. 32inch Sony 8 yrs. Still working.

Bose Professional/commercial speakers and Bose Pro amp were used. Bose 402's for front and rear speakers . DS100F for ceiling. (Atmos ) and B2 module for sub. All powered by the Powermatch 8500. 8000 watts.

Check Specs again that amp is rated 500W x 8 MAX (relalistically about 120W per ch)
Speakers are rated 120W

Bose professional line is a whole different class from their domestic line. I have been wanting to know how well an array config would work in a HT. Can you describe the sound quality you experienced?

Yeah I know.. But, that's what the dealer and installer told me. I basically quoted what he said. I know the Amp is customizable so not sure if that is an explanation for the 8000 watts instead of 4000. I personally think the B2 module is way too small for what I heard too. He said he'd email me detailed specs though. So whenever I get it I'll recheck.
I'm not sure how exactly to explain the sound quality to you.. But it's much better than MT anywhere or Caribbean Cinemas (Atmos included).
I'd say it's better than IMAX as well; more depth and range .. Loud but not piercing at some frequencies as IMAX can be sometimes. But that's just m personal opinion.
I was honestly blown away that a 'home theatre' could sound that good.. But as you said, Bose Professional line is a whole different level.

Only thing I wasn't impressed with was the projector video quality. Would probably try to get some 4K / HDR / Dolby Vision content to show next weekend or so when I may pass through. Hopefully the projector supports it, next step is to find that out. It's one physically big mofo though.

Glad you've enjoyed the experience. The current Oppo 105B player won't be able to play 4k content but the latest one will. The next cinema will have the latest Oppo with 4k and HDR support.

Only until they hear the system will it broaden their view of Bose as a company. There's a "marketing" label which lingers over Bose.
Facts of Business Life: If You Don’t Market Your Business, You Don’t Have One

Bose 402 IV Loudspeaker "FL C FR RL RR"
https://pro.bose.com/en_us/products/loudspeakers/point_source_sound_reinforcement/panaray/panaray_402_iv.html#v=panaray_402_iv_black

Bose Powermatch PM8500N Amplifiers "2 AMPS 4000watts each"
https://pro.bose.com/en_us/products/amplifiers/powermatch/pm_8500_pm_8500n_amplifier.html#v=pm_8500_pm_amplifier

Bose DS100F Loudspeaker "atmos"
https://pro.bose.com/en_us/products/loudspeakers/background_foreground/fs_ds_100_f.html#v=fs_ds_100_f_black

Electronic Interiors Ltd

Postby Electronic Interiors Ltd » November 2nd, 2016, 8:09 am

bosetnt wrote:
scotty_buttons wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
scotty_buttons wrote:

Speakers are rated 120W

Glad you've enjoyed the experience. The current Oppo 105B player won't be able to play 4k content but the latest one will. The next cinema will have the latest Oppo with 4k and HDR support.

Only until they hear the system will it broaden their view of Bose as a company. There's a "marketing" label which lingers over Bose.
Facts of Business Life: If You Don’t Market Your Business, You Don’t Have One

Bose 402 IV Loudspeaker "FL C FR RL RR"
https://pro.bose.com/en_us/products/loudspeakers/point_source_sound_reinforcement/panaray/panaray_402_iv.html#v=panaray_402_iv_black

Bose Powermatch PM8500N Amplifiers "2 AMPS 4000watts each"
https://pro.bose.com/en_us/products/amplifiers/powermatch/pm_8500_pm_8500n_amplifier.html#v=pm_8500_pm_amplifier

Bose DS100F Loudspeaker "atmos"
https://pro.bose.com/en_us/products/loudspeakers/background_foreground/fs_ds_100_f.html#v=fs_ds_100_f_black

Looking at the specifications of the speakers used in your projects I would like for you to explain a little about the system design and your choice of speakers used.

Looking over the specifications for Bose 402 IV Loudspeaker for "FL C FR RL RR" I saw a few things that were a little concerning :

Full-Range-Driver Array eliminates tweeters and crossovers for unsurpassed reliability in harsh environments and vocal clarity
4 x Bose® 4.5-inch full-range drivers for legendary reliability
73 Hz - 15 kHz Frequency Range eliminates need for subwoofers for moderate full-range music levels
119 dB Peak SPL for sound-reinforcement and foreground music
Requires Active Equalization

The Bose DS100F Loudspeaker also has similar specifications :

Frequency Response (+/-3 dB) 75 Hz - 18 kHz
Sensitivity (SPL / 1 W @ 1 m) 85 dB SPL

With both products having a recommended applications of :

Retail stores
Restaurants and bars
Concourses
Transportation facilities
Resorts and hospitality venues
Houses of worship
Ballrooms

While I have great respect for the BOSE brand for what they accomplished over the years I do believe that it's not the best speaker for every application. For dedicated theater rooms I would most definitely use speakers with better frequency responses and larger drivers to create the impact and detail needed to really enjoy movies and music to the fullest without reaching speaker limits due to small drivers and limited frequency response.

I am not disputing the fact that the room sounds "good" however I always say "it will be the best thing you have heard until you have heard better"

Please do not take this as an attack against BOSE or your company, I would just like to have some positive conversation about your choice of speakers and system design.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 2nd, 2016, 5:32 pm

Posting my setup in next page
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on November 2nd, 2016, 8:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 2nd, 2016, 8:26 pm

So I got my final item today for my Mini Home Entertainment Setup I stick to a PC so I got a big desk and a nice chair and did everything on the PC so I can do my gaming and movies in one. This Headphone DAC/AMP is 100% Aluminum casing and packs some serious audio quality.

Bought from Gemini Doctor on Amazon they have a 100% review rating and are authorized SMSL Dealers. 1 Year warranty aswell which is pretty good. It is important when buying to select these people they are fantastic with emails and respond time and you are more likely to get a guaranteed working product and not have to send it back

I have tried a lot of different headphones over the years but finally got one that I can stick to now. I was curious to see how much better the sound can get from a asus xonar DG sound card.

Basically going from even the best onboard sound to a budget DG Xonar sound card is a big step up once you have audiophile headphones. Going from the Xonar DG to anything else known to man? meh not such a big step. This is the SMSL 793 Unit it runs a TI Burr Brown 1793 DAC and a TI OPA2134 headphone amp its some real mama jama business as good as it can get. This can drive any headphone aswell even 600 ohms. It uses optical connection so I bought a Amazon basics Optical Cable to connect from the sound card.

Sound is crazy good from this setup for such a good and it will match anything above this no matter how much money you spend. It matches the sennheiser HD 650 headphones aswell and beats my HD 598 headphones, phillips did a great job here but you have to upgrade the ear pads they suck, I modded mine.
Some DACs have problems playing Pink Floyd Sorrow, where the sound becomes too loose and starts getting muffled but not this.

Performance improvement is around 20% better than a xonar DG so going above this is pointless and will cost a massive amount of money just for a couple percent better audio assuming your ears are good enough to benefit from it to begin with. Maybe an ODAC will give you 5% better sound for $3000 TTD extra, beating the TI Burr Brown 1793 is hard, this DAC near god tier level as it already is.

Imaging and Sound Stage is massive. Not only will you hear perfect clarity but you will hear stuff you never knew was in music, instruments will be correctly separated and spaced out, there is 0 motherboard noise interference due to the Optical Cable being used to transmit the digital sound.

Any questions about my setup feel free to ask.

There is noticeable difference in quality of sound from Bob Marley music, you can hear how the instruments are separated you can tell from where in the room the sound is coming from when it was original recorded.

The wailers were truly ahead of their time. This really shines with Pink Floyd etc

Anton

Postby Anton » November 25th, 2016, 11:55 am

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » December 16th, 2016, 6:18 pm

Any of you guys have a curved HDTV? I see there are pros and cons, but from what I see it seems mainly to be a matter of preference.

Any of you who bought curved regret it after and wished you bought flat instead? Or are you now converted into someone who would never buy a flat TV .

Looking at a 55" btw.