Re: Uber coming to T&T

Postby mark2.0 » October 6th, 2016, 1:57 am

Uber, I'll give it a try....

Strapped!

neexis

Postby neexis » October 6th, 2016, 6:08 am

What kinda fares you all expect to pay... or willing to pay for a service like this?

Any idea what is the typical fare and how it is determined, eg. Central to airport run?

jamesnewton

Postby jamesnewton » October 6th, 2016, 6:41 am

Not Coming! We're Here!!!

Anyone who needs more info or to signup please pm me, i will be sure to answer all questions as best as possible.

Yes the UBER Match program will also be available to persons who desire to drive for Uber but have no vehicle.

Looking forward to hearing from you and appreciate any feedback, comments or queries.

Cooloh

Postby Cooloh » October 6th, 2016, 6:44 am

neexis wrote:What kinda fares you all expect to pay... or willing to pay for a service like this?

Any idea what is the typical fare and how it is determined, eg. Central to airport run?

Pricing and payments[edit]

An Uber ride in Bogotá, Colombia. Visible on the dashboard is a phone running the Uber app.
Uber's pricing is similar to that of metered taxis, although all hiring and payment is handled exclusively through the Uber app and not with the driver personally. In some cities, if the Uber car is travelling at a speed greater than 11 mph (18 km/h), the price is calculated on a distance basis; otherwise, the price is calculated on a time basis. At the end of a ride, the complete fare is automatically billed to the customer's credit card. Uber has said its prices are the premium that the customers pay for a cab service that is not only reliable, but also punctual and comfortable. In April 2016 Uber began allowing drivers to place signs in their windows stating that they can accept tips.

In May 2015, Uber started testing cash payments in India. The pilot project was started in the Indian city of Hyderabad. In September 2015, Uber tied up with Airtel India to allow cab users to pay using Airtel mobile wallet service. It also allows users to use Airtel 4G data at no charges.

Surge Pricing

Uber uses an automated algorithm to increase prices to "surge" price levels, responding rapidly to changes of supply and demand in the market, and to attract more drivers during times of increased rider demand, but also to reduce demand. Customers receive notice when making an Uber reservation that prices have increased.[57] The company applied for a U.S. patent on surge pricing in 2013, but it was rejected for being obvious.

The practice has often caused passengers to become upset and invited criticism when it has happened as a result of holidays, inclement weather, or natural disasters. During New Year's Eve 2011, prices were as high as seven times normal rates, causing outrage. During the 2014 Sydney hostage crisis, Uber implemented surge pricing, resulting in fares of up to four times normal charges; while it defended the surge pricing at first, it later apologized and refunded the surcharges. Uber CEO Travis Kalanick has responded to criticism by saying: "...because this is so new, it's going to take some time for folks to accept it. There's 70 years of conditioning around the fixed price of taxis." Uber released a post detailing why surge pricing is in place and how it works. They emphasized that without surge pricing, Uber would not have its trademark service of pushing a button and getting a ride in minutes. This is detailed in a case study around a sold-out-concert at Madison Square Garden when surge pricing took effect. During this event, the number of people who opened the app increased 4x, but the actual ride requests only rose slightly, enabling ride requests to be completed with the usual ETAs.

Surge pricing makes supply and demand match so efficiently that the waiting time is almost always below five minutes, regardless of the circumstances. Surge pricing increases economic efficiency in two ways: 1. rising prices motivate more drivers to start driving, 2. when there are not enough drivers for everyone, the rising prices make only those customers accept a ride whose needs are highest. When a surge in demand in the New Year's Eve did not raise prices, due to a fault in technology, fewer drivers chose to start driving and fewer customers chose alternative transportation methods. Therefore, waiting times became long and just a few lucky customers got a car, most were left without. In terms of efficiency the situation was a failure. Many airline and hotel companies also price dynamically although this is often not clear, whereas Uber makes its pricing transparent

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Uber_(company)#Finances

jamesnewton

Uber Info

Postby jamesnewton » October 6th, 2016, 8:09 am

As many of you may know Uber is now in Trinidad and Tobago. I look forward to giving you as much information firsthand in the coming weeks since this forum has a great outreach.

Any persons interested in additional information may post on this thread or pm, I shall do my best to answer all comments and inquiries speedily as time allows.

With respect to your forum I will not be posting any information recruitment or unwanted promotional materials without a moderators consent.

If you need to verify that this is indeed a legitimate posting please feel free to contact me as I look forward to participating wholeheartedly in your community.

blackberry1234

Re: Uber Info

Postby blackberry1234 » October 6th, 2016, 8:36 am

please inform the public.........for those who don't know........what/ who is uber

BRZ

Postby BRZ » October 6th, 2016, 9:09 am

Dem Tiida PH men go lorse dey head now, Uber tekkin dey work.

Postby teems1 » October 6th, 2016, 9:32 am

BRZ wrote:Dem Tiida PH men go lorse dey head now, Uber tekkin dey work.

Not true, same goes for regular taxis.

In Trinidad they mostly operate on specific routes and charge according to a full vehicle (4-7 persons).

Uber is point to point and the charge is the same no matter the number of persons.

The users of the PH taxi are not going to be the same one who uses Uber.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 6th, 2016, 9:36 am

Men complaining bout a 7% online tax in one thread but happy to pay what will be a significantly bigger fare for a taxi ride than the competition (pooled taxi services) in this one.

No wonder the Government happy taxing we tail.

Postby teems1 » October 6th, 2016, 10:14 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Men complaining bout a 7% online tax in one thread but happy to pay what will be a significantly bigger fare for a taxi ride than the competition (pooled taxi services) in this one.

What?

It's a totally different service.

What taxi is going to pick you up when you're tipsy on the avenue at 1AM and drop you on your doorstep?

Cantmis

Re: RE: Re: Uber coming to T&T

Postby Cantmis » October 6th, 2016, 10:19 am

teems1 wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Men complaining bout a 7% online tax in one thread but happy to pay what will be a significantly bigger fare for a taxi ride than the competition (pooled taxi services) in this one.

What?

What taxi is going to pick you up when you're tipsy on the avenue at 1AM and drop you on your doorstep?

Let's hope they drop you off at your home !

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 6th, 2016, 10:21 am

Uber just gone take all yuh money and make yuh work 12-14hrs a day to do it. U better off with a work to own relationship. Uber unfortunately, will not be very successful in trinidad. Due to the inginuity of trinis. And is just another corporate entity coming in to ship out more money from the country.

Also remember, that uber's objective is to take up all the drivers' data so that it can efficiently program self driving cars to replace taxi drivers and snuff out that entire industry. So startups such as 'drop' etc would do better in trinidad because they are run by a local business owner and liability is within close contact.

So as a trini taxi driver, if ur considering making a career out of working for uber. U should know that what ud actually be doing is helping a foreign company to quickly gather enough data to eventually replace you and send u home as it takes over the taxi industry with unmanned vehicles. Meanwhile u have to pay all ur own expenses including gas, vehicle repairs and maintenance, lunch and wages, healthcare, and holidays and insurance. While they collect that free data, which is the most valuable thing to them.

#capitalism_is_a_drug

Postby pete » October 6th, 2016, 10:38 am

teems1 wrote:

What?

That's the thing though. There ARE currently taxi services that do this. It's not cheap but they do it. Pretty sure an Uber from a bar to home isn't going to be cheap. But sure beats a $6k ticket and losing your license for 6 months. Outside of this type of thing I don't see Uber replacing taxis in Trinidad.

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » October 6th, 2016, 10:44 am

I randomly choose a number out of the phone book some time ago for private taxi services, The guy turned out to be a real cool person (church man, don't drink, funny and always willing to put up with some drunks) and anytime no matter the hour I need to arrange last minute transportation one call and he almost always available. I probably hit the jackpot as he is relatively cheap as well but my point is the service out their already basically.

Postby pete » October 6th, 2016, 11:28 am

If anything I think it will allow more protection for the drivers. Person has to have a credit card and is therefore traceable vs. a random phone call in the middle of the night where you don't know if it's a genuine job or you're going to lose your vehicle/life.

cherrypopper

Re: Uber in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby cherrypopper » October 6th, 2016, 11:34 am

Wondering how anjali ramkissoon doing...

Postby Slartibartfast » October 6th, 2016, 11:51 am

I don't have much faith in it but this is something I am willing to be a bandwagonist on. If it works I will definitely jump on board but I'm not going to be one of the guinea pigs.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 6th, 2016, 12:44 pm

Trinis once said they would never pay a premium price to watch just one movie when they were able to go to a regular cinema and watch a double for less money. Now the former is the status quo.
Just saying.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 6th, 2016, 1:58 pm

True. I didn't think that would work out either so I have been proven wrong before. In their defense, they did offer a better experience that what I was getting before.

teems1 wrote:

What?

Even though I am still skeptical about it, I will admit that in this case you are getting something for the extra that you are paying. You are also not being forced to pay extra using the same service that you were using all along. That 7% tax is a whole different story.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » October 6th, 2016, 11:46 pm

My main concern would obviously be how safe this would be. I mean this service comes at a time when the country is probably at its worse time crime wise. How can you be sure the uber driver that picks you up is safe to go with, or if you are an uber driver that the customers u pick up aren't out to rob/kidnap you.

I'm not entirely sure how it works in the US etc (like if you can pick certain drivers, if there is a review system for drivers and repeat passengers like a reputation or points system that can be viewed to determine how safe one or the other may be),and I know the company would probably have certain standards and criteria that have to be met, and run background checks, etc, before signing up potential drivers, but after all this is Trinidad...

Postby j.o.e » October 7th, 2016, 1:01 am

Anyone who travels in general shouldn't have safety concerns with UBER. If you know how it works,
Someone is not gonna register with a service with the intention of robbing people. When you hop into a random taxi you have no idea who you stopped, that doesn't apply to UBER.
It's way safer than our taxi system as it currently exists

baigan

Postby baigan » October 7th, 2016, 1:46 am

We need this taxi service in Trinidad

Postby dougla_boy » October 7th, 2016, 9:05 am

yeah, Female Fake Taxi......not the one with a man driving who wah plug yuh up for a $5 fare........

baigan

Postby baigan » October 7th, 2016, 9:54 am

dougla_boy wrote:yeah, Female Fake Taxi......not the one with a man driving who wah plug yuh up for a $5 fare........

lol yeah

And maybe a lux version too

And a sport
Uber will have competition lol

Postby Chimera » October 7th, 2016, 10:53 am

would be interesting to see their pricing

i would definitely use it

hope they have some maxis in on it also

renting a small maxi to drop from aranguez to pos/stadium etc is between 600 and 1000 depending on the timing

Daran

Postby Daran » October 7th, 2016, 1:10 pm

Once the barrier to entry (i.e. becoming an Uber driver) is low, look for rel men working Uber on the side.

Hell if I bored enough I might run this on a weekend (if that meets Ubers minimum) and make some beer money on the side.

And for Bluesfool again, Trinidad already is mapped out very well (see morasystems.co.tt) . What's needed is 3D maps for fully autonomous self-driving cars.

Postby Chimera » October 7th, 2016, 2:11 pm

I not sure how popular uber will be though. Uber in the usa was so popular because the other option is expensive yellow cabs. Down here we have cheap taxis and maxis.

seriousbusiness

Uber Info - Signups are open!

Postby seriousbusiness » October 7th, 2016, 3:11 pm

Yes! Uber is here!

Do you wish to earn good money as an Uber driver?

Have a car that is 2005 or newer, Start today signups are open!

Don't have a vehicle :( That's no Problem at all :) I invite you to signup and with our Uber Match program we'll have you driving in no time at all!

Please note the following criteria applies:

This is what you need to register:

Driver's License
Vehicle Registration
Vehicle Insurance
Picture of the exterior of your vehicle
Picture of License Plate
Certificate of Character (or Receipt shall suffice time the certificate is obtained)

Interested parties can pm me to be pre qualified please feel free to send me your email addresses and i can also help you through the process as well as answer any questions you may have.

I'm 100% Determined to helping you succeed so message me anytime i will try my best to answer as time allows.
Last edited by seriousbusiness on October 7th, 2016, 10:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

seriousbusiness

Postby seriousbusiness » October 7th, 2016, 3:23 pm

Signup's are open folks!

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=685831

If you have need for further information please do not hesitate.

The pricing structure is quite fare actually, i've personally found that hiring a taxi gives one the best guesstimate, and most people would appreciate a fair cost based on distance traveled as well as time. i think that there's always room for improvement in any service or industry and honestly it is necessary to give people the choice so that they can judge for themselves.

Hoping to deliver exceptional customer service and to serve this community to the best of my ability!

Sincerely;

MMK

2advanced

Re: Uber Info - Signups are open!

Postby 2advanced » October 7th, 2016, 3:49 pm

:drinking: :drinking: :drinking:

You agree that your referral code: (i) must be used for the intended audience and purpose, and in a lawful manner; (ii) may not be duplicated, sold or transferred in any manner, or made available to the general public (whether posted to a public form or otherwise), unless expressly permitted by us; (iii) may be disabled by us at any time for any reason without liability to us; (iv) may only be used pursuant to any additional terms we establish for such referral code; (v) are not valid for cash; and (vi) may expire prior to your use. We reserve the right to withhold or deduct payments or other features or benefits obtained through the use of the referral code by you or any other party in the event that we determine or believe that the use or redemption of the referral code was in error, fraudulent, illegal, or in violation of any additional referral code terms or these terms.