WTK: Nebosh 6 month Health & Safety Course

slippy1

Re: WTK: Nebosh 6 month Health & Safety Course

Postby slippy1 » May 13th, 2015, 7:07 pm

A friend of mine is currently doing the course. From hearing her experiences, you should probably take the general certificate before doing the oil and gas. I''l ask her where she did it, but i think it was somewhere in the orange grove tacarigua area.

hulksmash

Postby hulksmash » May 13th, 2015, 7:59 pm

Do i need to? I already have an advanced diploma as a Process tech for both onshore and offshore in the oil and gas industry. If you find out anything let me know, would be greatly appreciated.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 13th, 2015, 10:39 pm

slippy1 wrote:A friend of mine is currently doing the course. From hearing her experiences, you should probably take the general certificate before doing the oil and gas. I''l ask her where she did it, but i think it was somewhere in the orange grove tacarigua area.

the place you speak of is CHESS.

sleepertercel

Postby sleepertercel » May 13th, 2015, 11:34 pm

hulksmash wrote:Do i need to? I already have an advanced diploma as a Process tech for both onshore and offshore in the oil and gas industry. If you find out anything let me know, would be greatly appreciated.

You should be good to go as the oil and gas covers more process and maintenance stuff.

General and oil and gas are chalk and cheese, i saw people come in from passing general and fail o&g

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 14th, 2015, 8:18 am

the oil and gas would be easier to pass a few years down the road, the more exams administered would result in more pass papers being available.NEBOSH track record is to repeat 90% of their questions from previous years. With more practice and more material available to prepare for the exam, it would become slightly easier to pass

Postby Trini Hookah » May 14th, 2015, 8:27 am

Shakes:

NEBOSH Dip is $50,000 (Covered by GATE) $6000 in admin fees - CHESS

MSC OESH is $40,000 (50% Covered by GATE) - UWI

Didn't look into anywhere else as yet.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 14th, 2015, 8:54 am

I say DIP yes...

but then again some people long to see the MSC business in front their name.

Postby Trini Hookah » May 14th, 2015, 9:13 am

As I told someone earlier this week, I would quicker jump on another undergrad. I don't think i'm quite ready for Postgrad yet.

hulksmash

Postby hulksmash » May 14th, 2015, 6:53 pm

How long is that diploma though?

Postby Trini Hookah » May 14th, 2015, 7:25 pm

4 Semesters, not sure the timing of classes.

Postby 16 cycles » May 14th, 2015, 8:30 pm

For the cert courses, rock past papers from day1..give to lecturer to correct.

It is possible to do the oil and gas cert in a week and get honours ...helps if you have work exp..

sleepertercel

Postby sleepertercel » May 15th, 2015, 6:26 am

This is what most ppl who do the courses don't realize and they get defeated by the sheer volume of work at the end.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 15th, 2015, 8:57 am

Trini Hookah wrote:4 Semesters, not sure the timing of classes.

in a nutshell two years to b exact...same as the Msc so I guess it boils down to which is more recognized and accepted.

Postby Trini Hookah » May 15th, 2015, 12:59 pm

Well I always said i'd have liked to do some work in England, pretty sure that Dip could help me :lol:

hulksmash

Postby hulksmash » May 15th, 2015, 2:37 pm

thanks for the feedback guys, you all have a contact number for this Chess place by chance?

@lex

Postby @lex » May 26th, 2015, 12:31 pm

For the nebosh certificate , is it possible jus to pay to write the exams? Jus study the material on ur own time an do pass papers?

mema

Postby mema » March 21st, 2016, 10:06 am

Hi guys I heard you all mentioned Ken Alexander, does anyone have a contact for him or what school he teaches at, I've just called Chess and they're $6,850 but I want to check around before I make a final decision

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 21st, 2016, 4:45 pm

That price nuh bad^

mista25

Postby mista25 » March 21st, 2016, 4:51 pm

Guys does this make any sense if no one is hiring you upon completion of certificate with the economic downturn ?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 21st, 2016, 5:20 pm

If you have $ to spend its a good piece ah paper to have....if you relying on it to land you a job in these times....idk nah...

Postby Trini Hookah » March 21st, 2016, 7:56 pm

This cert is an accessory, or even a base. But i hate when folks use this to try to go out there and get a job after studying 3 mths and vex when ppl with a BSc in HSE who studied 3+yrs get the position.

sleepertercel

Postby sleepertercel » March 22nd, 2016, 9:32 am

mista25 wrote:Guys does this make any sense if no one is hiring you upon completion of certificate with the economic downturn ?

The downturn predicted to last forever?

Insomniac

Postby Insomniac » April 26th, 2016, 7:33 am

Anyone interested in doing ISO 14001 Lead Auditor Training? Pm for details.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 27th, 2016, 7:41 am

look for more info on ISO 9001 and 14001.....^

location cost etc etc

evolution91

Re: RE: Re: WTK: Nebosh 6 month Health & Safety Course

Postby evolution91 » April 27th, 2016, 7:52 am

Insomniac wrote:Anyone interested in doing ISO 14001 Lead Auditor Training? Pm for details.

Pm me details

dell4sell

Re: RE: Re: WTK: Nebosh 6 month Health & Safety Course

Postby dell4sell » October 31st, 2016, 11:09 am

Trini Hookah wrote:As I told someone earlier this week, I would quicker jump on another undergrad. I don't think i'm quite ready for Postgrad yet.

Hookah, I already did the General Cert, can you recommend anywhere good that offering the Dip besides chess, I ain't hearing too many good things about them.

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: WTK: Nebosh 6 month Health & Safety Course

Postby Trini Hookah » October 31st, 2016, 6:56 pm

dell4sell wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:As I told someone earlier this week, I would quicker jump on another undergrad. I don't think i'm quite ready for Postgrad yet.

Hookah, I already did the General Cert, can you recommend anywhere good that offering the Dip besides chess, I ain't hearing too many good things about them.

I think Ensafe supposed to offer it by now. Check them out.

PM me your concerns with CHESS if you don't mind, because they too were one of my options.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 31st, 2016, 7:29 pm

Is the dip gate approved now? Chess advertised it as being approved and to me the price was really good...without gate...price is a beyotch

screwbash

Postby screwbash » November 2nd, 2016, 5:28 am

do not do that chuppid Health and Safety crap. That market too flooded and the good jobs is given to foreigners. Go SBCS and do their procurement course as this is soon to come law and ALL business need to have a procurement for purchasing everything by law. The market not flooded yet so take front.

ishwar463

Postby ishwar463 » July 30th, 2018, 9:08 pm

Any feedback on Shadrack Safety Institute for doing the NEBOSH General Certificate?