Mazda 4x2 manual bt50 or Nissan 4x2 manual frontier?

AJM

Mazda 4x2 manual bt50 or Nissan 4x2 manual frontier?

Postby AJM » December 2nd, 2016, 5:10 pm

Mazda 4x2 manual bt50 or Nissan 4x2 manual frontier ?
Which would you chose?
Hi guys
I need your opinions on this?
I am interested in purchasing either one of these but I am not a car person.
Kindly advise.

pinks

Re: Mazda 4x2 manual bt50 or Nissan 4x2 manual frontier?

Postby pinks » December 2nd, 2016, 6:55 pm

Toyota hilux nuh in d mix?

BUSHMASTER

Postby BUSHMASTER » December 2nd, 2016, 9:02 pm

Frontier bro good work vehicle

jabs

Postby jabs » December 4th, 2016, 5:39 am

Nissan frontier is a work horse. Very economical to maintain with the qd32 non turbo engine

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » December 15th, 2016, 12:02 pm

I can tell you from experience the BT-50 is one tough cookie, my father has one TCF series and it is a serious work horse in the forest, not only on paved roads. The only thing that ever went wrong was the turbo seals needed changing but that's cause they needed it to help pull out a timberjack that was stuck.

Don't think you can go wrong with either but the mazda won't leave you stranded.

Postby Ted_v2 » December 15th, 2016, 6:56 pm

mazda is a great buy, quality seems to be a tad bit above the frontier, both engine and suspension wise. The mazdas tend to give you a pretty solid ride, frontier a tad more bouncy. I tried to fix this already, i used to work in a suspension shop and heavier wheels and tires sorta helped. The lack of power windows and mirrors in the workers model is a issue for some but hey one less thing to damage.

frontier engines and very robust, the 4x2 came td27 and yd25 in the high rider setup. yd25 always breaking, not a clue why. The td27 are iron donkeys, rarely any problems. Engine works excellent. The wl are a bit more sensitive , the cylinder head cracks but about 8k for a replacement . The turbos always leak once u reach around 110k , noticed this alot but replacements are easy to locate.

personally id flip a coin, get a bess frontier and like up urself or get a decent bt50 and maintain it and you should be good for years.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » December 19th, 2016, 10:40 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:mazda is a great buy, quality seems to be a tad bit above the frontier, both engine and suspension wise. The mazdas tend to give you a pretty solid ride, frontier a tad more bouncy. I tried to fix this already, i used to work in a suspension shop and heavier wheels and tires sorta helped. The lack of power windows and mirrors in the workers model is a issue for some but hey one less thing to damage.

frontier engines and very robust, the 4x2 came td27 and yd25 in the high rider setup. yd25 always breaking, not a clue why. The td27 are iron donkeys, rarely any problems. Engine works excellent. The wl are a bit more sensitive , the cylinder head cracks but about 8k for a replacement . The turbos always leak once u reach around 110k , noticed this alot but replacements are easy to locate.

personally id flip a coin, get a bess frontier and like up urself or get a decent bt50 and maintain it and you should be good for years.

I believe when doing some research, I saw something about a defect with the connecting rods or something to that effect. Now these Frontiers, especially the TD 27 engines (all of them actually, because I've been around the TD 27, ZD 30 and QD 32, haven't been lucky to experience a TD 42 but I'm not sure if we ever got those locally in any case, and all of them have been used under extreme conditions and they held out well..some of the ones I'm around are still holding out..lols, so you can't go wrong. For your application, if you're buying one stock, the only 4x2 you'll get are the 25 and 27..as Ted said before, go with the 27 for work purposes. Both the Frontier and the BT-50 will serve you well though. A partner of mine told me a story though, about a 4x4 Frontier that got stuck in some mud trying to pull out a 4x4 Frontier that got stuck in some mud <- not a typo lol. Both of em, catching their tails. A BT-50 arrives and WALKS the two Frontiers out of the mud. So it looks like Ted and I have just made your choice a little more difficult..lols. All the best, nonetheless.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 19th, 2016, 10:54 pm

New or Used?

Postby Ted_v2 » December 20th, 2016, 5:37 pm

I stick up stupid stupid cedros on the sand already with a 4x2 frontier. Just barely in the sand too. Automatic else I'd jump it out