My DIY house Build...

Re: My DIY house Build...

Postby supercharged turbo » December 15th, 2016, 10:36 pm

Good luck in your project bro.I would like to do the same thing as well but for a 1 bedroom home next year,so I'm subscribed

Postby rspann » December 16th, 2016, 7:46 am

Get one of these for tying, it helps a lot.http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=htt ... mrc&uact=8

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » December 16th, 2016, 8:30 am

BTW if is no problem u could keep us posted on the material price to start I wanting to go this direction just waiting to see if I valid for the land u looking at..also is it true I heard brick prices going up in the future?

Postby 88sins » December 16th, 2016, 11:23 am

dan, wit dis peeonem gorvamint, everyting goin up, startin wit everybody bloodpressure

only thing sceduled to go down is the purchasing power of the TT$, & the contents of yuh wallet/savings acc

Postby Slartibartfast » December 16th, 2016, 3:01 pm

Postby timelapse » December 16th, 2016, 4:52 pm

We tried with the new cement on the market.Needed 30 bags instead of 20 regular tcl cement .Not worth the price IMO

Postby pugboy » December 16th, 2016, 4:58 pm

how was the extra cement needed determined ?

axe

Postby axe » December 16th, 2016, 5:38 pm

i built mine myself....enjoyed every minute of it....

Postby supercharged turbo » December 16th, 2016, 8:53 pm

I heard the new cement suppose to be better than tcl

Postby 88sins » December 17th, 2016, 7:00 am

Heard the same thing. But someone saying sumn just to get their crap sold and it actually being true are 2 different things.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » December 17th, 2016, 9:37 am

Ok i will post up prices as well..

Postby timelapse » December 19th, 2016, 10:22 am

I accustomed to 30 bags of cement per a load of gravel (8 yards). I had a bit more than 5 yards of gravel, but not a full six yards.Ideally about 20 bags should have worked.Thats just my experience.I not selling cement nor am i affiliated with a cement company.I just telling allyuh what to watch out for. I will say this though, the cheaper cement real good for plastering .It come out very smooth.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 19th, 2016, 11:16 am

true the guys that used it for my wall said they needed more, its 3 dollars cheaper, its not worth it.
The ad claims it need less cement and it will be stronger.

Postby adnj » January 3rd, 2017, 1:55 pm

There are two specs used: TCL (ASTM C150) and Rock Hard (ASTM C1157). You're supposed to get some advantages from the new ASTM C1157 but the concrete mix is not expected to be exactly the same. You should not need to use more in the mix. I haven't had a chance to try it, though.

Equal or improved to C150 cements:
 Strength
 Set time
 Water demand
 Compatibility with fly ash
 Compatibility with admixtures
 Improved finishability
 Lower environmental impact
Last edited by adnj on January 3rd, 2017, 1:55 pm, edited 2 times in total.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » January 4th, 2017, 12:11 am

Update, Soo i finished bend out my stirrups.... went and bought 2 tonnes of 5/8" corrugated steel....and a Van to help me transport material..

let's see Cost:
1.5 tonnes of 3/8" steel.. Free,
bending stirrups, Free
2 tonnes of 5/8" steel... $8000.00 with free transport (Anand low Price Hardware)

Next Move, Tie Beams, Mats, Piles and posts.. will post pics of those.

TK!

Postby TK! » January 4th, 2017, 12:21 am

Might be too late, since you already designed the house. But maybe others will find benefit in the following info.

I focus heavily on passive cooling as IMHO trinidad does not make use of these techniques well (except for the older houses >100 yrs). Such failure leads to high energy costs in cooling poorly designed dwelling/office etc.

Form-Based Urban Planning Codes for Trinidad & Tobago: An Exploratory Study
http://www.localgov.gov.tt/~/media/Reso ... %20DF.ashx

Australia, Malaysia and Thailand are great places to get design ideas for tropical climates. I didnt find Miami designs to be well suited for trinidad.
http://www.cairns.qld.gov.au/__data/ass ... Design.pdf
Lots of youtube videos from aussie universities too.

Solar path calculator: http://solardat.uoregon.edu/SunChartProgram.php
(trinidad is 10N 61W roughly) this chart is used to survey your site, pencilling in objects that shade your house.

Historical Weather info for trinidad
http://www.wolframalpha.com/input/?i=10 ... 4035E+wind
Helps to know where the wind comes from (no... it's not NE as most of us were taught). This tells u which side of your house will get the most wetting.

For those seeking general design knowledge, Willaim Hirsch Jr.'s book Ttield "Designing your Perfect House" is avaialble on Amazon at a low price and is a very good read.

God Speed

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » January 4th, 2017, 2:56 pm

not really too late, its still good info..

Eletech

Postby Eletech » January 5th, 2017, 9:47 am

I am looking for rubble, broken bricks and mortar or anything similar to help fill a roadway.

Site is located in St. Helena, one minute from the junction by gas station and KFC.

The road access to the piece to be constructed is paved and has turning points for ease of transport

Call Dev 355 5865

Thanks in advance

Re: RE: Re: My DIY house Build...

Postby adnj » January 5th, 2017, 9:59 pm

TK! wrote:I focus heavily on passive cooling as IMHO trinidad does not make use of these techniques well (except for the older houses >100 yrs). Such failure leads to high energy costs in cooling poorly designed dwelling/office etc.

I know some people that design commercial buildings with a heavy focus on energy use reduction. It's alive and well on the island. There are a lot of variables but lowering a buildings cooling and lighting costs usually forces an upfront payment in materials and design. Some people decide to forego that upfront cost due to budget.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » January 5th, 2017, 10:59 pm

nos_specialist wrote:Update, Soo i finished bend out my stirrups.... went and bought 2 tonnes of 5/8" corrugated steel....and a Van to help me transport material..

let's see Cost:
1.5 tonnes of 3/8" steel.. Free,
bending stirrups, Free
2 tonnes of 5/8" steel... $8000.00 with free transport (Anand low Price Hardware)

Next Move, Tie Beams, Mats, Piles and posts.. will post pics of those.

How is anands price as I am living south side

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » January 6th, 2017, 1:15 pm

well i checked around for 5/8" steel avg price was 4600 per ton, his so far was the cheapest i got.... as for the other materials i cant say as yet..

Postby gt4tified » January 9th, 2017, 1:24 pm

Best of luck in this endeavour....I love DIY stuff...dont think I will attempt an entire house though. You have brass ones, brother! Please keep this thread going, no matter what...very inspirational.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » January 9th, 2017, 9:45 pm

Will do... i got the 5/8" steel i ordered some tools a fellow tuner advises to buy, gonna try it out... beam tying starts tommorow.

kripplerz

Postby kripplerz » January 13th, 2017, 4:04 pm

https://youtu.be/rHYXiZBnkP0

Check this out im sure you can make one with a spade bit.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » January 13th, 2017, 9:22 pm

well bro, i already ordered some tools, but i wud take that advice and try to make it with a spade bit....that actually kinda decent....

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » January 14th, 2017, 12:01 pm

[img]http://www.trinituner.com/mobile-gallery/91c19a21b125b935f2ce47c82d911f7a.jpg[/img]

Ok i got the twist tying tool... i accustom to nippers we wud see how this works...have another type coming in as well.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » January 14th, 2017, 12:03 pm

Why in gods name when i take a photo with my fone upright ...that happens... steupssssssss

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » January 16th, 2017, 10:48 pm

FB_IMG_1484621254920.jpg

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » January 17th, 2017, 12:46 am

Alot of guys(traineed on the job using tcl cement) look at the color to determine the strength of the concrete, this is why they adding more cement, unless the cured product is tested with equal batches of you cannot determine if more cement of one brand is needed.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » January 17th, 2017, 9:12 am

hong kong phooey wrote:Alot of guys(traineed on the job using tcl cement) look at the color to determine the strength of the concrete, this is why they adding more cement, unless the cured product is tested with equal batches of you cannot determine if more cement of one brand is needed.

True it's the rule of thumb