Re: Uber in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby pugboy » January 18th, 2017, 7:40 pm

Nah boy, the app will track delinquent passengers lol

Postby rspann » January 21st, 2017, 7:06 pm

ATTIC added their voice. Same thing I keep saying, not legal until changes are made. Insurance companies mission is to find excuses not to pay. And "not to be used for reward or hire" seems to be a good excuse not to pay a claim. Don't forget there is another one too. " Not to be used for pacemaking or speed trials" but I don't know what that one is for. :roll:

Postby adnj » January 22nd, 2017, 8:52 am

With Carnival coming, I believe there are going to be more than a few people stepping off the plane making reservations. Seems like a win for visitors.

GixxerMan

Postby GixxerMan » January 22nd, 2017, 3:03 pm

rspann wrote:ATTIC added their voice. Same thing I keep saying, not legal until changes are made. Insurance companies mission is to find excuses not to pay. And "not to be used for reward or hire" seems to be a good excuse not to pay a claim. Don't forget there is another one too. " Not to be used for pacemaking or speed trials" but I don't know what that one is for. :roll:

only a legitimate H car & taxi driver can benefit from Uber in this case.

Postby bluefete » January 22nd, 2017, 3:07 pm

Uber - The Great and Mighty Foreigner enters T&T and has everyone scrambling.

When will we ever learn?

Postby De Dragon » January 22nd, 2017, 3:23 pm

rspann wrote:ATTIC added their voice. Same thing I keep saying, not legal until changes are made. Insurance companies mission is to find excuses not to pay. And "not to be used for reward or hire" seems to be a good excuse not to pay a claim. Don't forget there is another one too. " Not to be used for pacemaking or speed trials" but I don't know what that one is for. :roll:

While the laws are archaic, they are the laws. We must identify and change the ones that have outlived their usefulness. That said, we MUST comply whether we agree or not.

Postby Chimera » January 23rd, 2017, 10:31 am

can it be used out of pos?
like pick up aranguez and drop airport?

Postby pete » January 23rd, 2017, 10:57 am

Once the drivers are willing to come to you then yeah it'll work.

Postby desifemlove » January 24th, 2017, 1:28 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:can it be used out of pos?

Town is the pilot.

Postby S_2NR » January 24th, 2017, 1:49 pm

pete wrote:I guess it's much easier to attack an organisation utilising PH drivers than individual PH drivers? A whole industry of illegal activity around the PH business from renting out private cars to people and they in turn using them to illegally ply them for hire. There are numerous "PH taxi stands" all over the place and the police do little to nothing to stop them and because they basically can do very little. At what point can you charge a PH driver? It's just them giving someone a drop until that person hands over money. Same with Uber, wiride, etc etc.

The government has a hell of a job trying to stop this. Maybe it's time to embrace it.

Taxi drivers in Canada are actually filing a class action lawsuit right now against uber for lost wages. Competition always benefits the customer so I'm happy

Postby Chimera » January 24th, 2017, 2:44 pm

the thing that pissing me off is

illegal gambling alll over the country.....roulette machines in every bar , causing families to be brokes or starve....yet no effort to stop them

illegal dangerous PH....all over the country....no effort to stop them

how much officers on leave for crimes....not in jail eh...just on leave or suspended........

big big crimes and you getting bail or free to walk about

but they want to concentrate resources on stopping UBER... something that will be safe for everyone to use and may even be a factor when people deciding if to come vacation here, after being warned about how taxis locally does rob and kill people

aidan

Postby aidan » January 24th, 2017, 6:23 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:the thing that pissing me off is

illegal gambling alll over the country.....roulette machines in every bar , causing families to be brokes or starve....yet no effort to stop them

how much officers on leave for crimes....not in jail eh...just on leave or suspended........

but they want to concentrate resources on stopping UBER... something that will be safe for everyone to use and may even be a factor when people deciding if to come vacation here, after being warned about how taxis locally does rob and kill people

Postby rspann » January 24th, 2017, 6:37 pm

desifemlove wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:can it be used out of pos?

Town is the pilot.

And just recently you asked why they does do all goverment in town. Look uber doing their government in town too.

Postby desifemlove » January 24th, 2017, 9:45 pm

cos you're a doc.....wit extensive foreign and medical experience...

and i post stuff according to you to look big...when the forum is about asking for info....don't PM me ever again haha.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » January 24th, 2017, 11:17 pm

Don't forget fireworks too.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » January 25th, 2017, 12:58 am

wonder if this girl had caled uber if she would have to worry about this

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2017-01- ... e%E2%80%99

Postby rspann » January 25th, 2017, 9:58 am

desifemlove wrote:cos you're a doc.....wit extensive foreign and medical experience...

and i post stuff according to you to look big...when the forum is about asking for info....don't PM me ever again haha.

I'm not a gynecologist ,but if you want ,I'll take a look.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 25th, 2017, 10:17 am

hong kong phooey wrote:wonder if this girl had caled uber if she would have to worry about this

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2017-01- ... e%E2%80%99
Uber will have live tracking of each of their active drivers carrying passengers. They will also have info on the driver, car and passenger. This makes both passenger and driver safe. It's also dangerous to be a PH driver.

Postby rspann » January 25th, 2017, 10:23 am

If the legal aspect is sorted out, PH drivers could even get in on the action, as Duane said it's dangerous for them . A lot of taxi drivers have been killed by passengers for no apparent reason. I even remember one girl and her boyfriend who killed one for kicks.

Postby desifemlove » January 25th, 2017, 1:24 pm

rspann wrote:
desifemlove wrote:cos you're a doc.....wit extensive foreign and medical experience...

I'm not a gynecologist ,but if you want ,I'll take a look.

ah...ok.

then keep reaching for that rainbow....

chit8238

Postby chit8238 » January 25th, 2017, 1:35 pm

aidan wrote:

x3

ADONI

Postby ADONI » January 25th, 2017, 1:47 pm

chit8238 wrote:
aidan wrote:

x3

x4
Nah, we like lawlessness. Any system to keep track and monitor for not only safety, but also efficiency we will throw out. No pollishitan or big boy, eating ah food from Uber, that is what they beating up about.

2advanced

Postby 2advanced » January 25th, 2017, 2:22 pm

This is the coverage area. You can request a ride anywhere in the red area and be taken anywhere in Trinidad.

Mostly Port of Spain & San Fernando has drivers at the moment.

15977731_249817315453648_2801439413724448265_n.jpg

Postby Redman » January 25th, 2017, 4:02 pm

x5

Im in awe that this is being forced as an issue...the GORTT is saying that tey prefer an unregulated insecure, un taxable ad hoc system to one that can really stop some of the more extreme problems of the same ad hoc system

Uber needs better PR

Postby Redman » January 25th, 2017, 4:03 pm

So if UBER takes on H cars -wouldnt that solve the problem?

Postby pete » January 25th, 2017, 7:22 pm

An acquaintance of a friend is working for Uber on their PR team and was supposed to come into the country this week. So maybe their PR will step up soon.

GixxerMan

Postby GixxerMan » January 25th, 2017, 8:18 pm

Redman wrote:So if UBER takes on H cars -wouldnt that solve the problem?

yes it will.... legally..

Postby Chimera » January 25th, 2017, 9:18 pm

I gonna try it tmr. If allyuh eh see me post by midnight it mean they kill meh

WarrLordd

Uber in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby WarrLordd » January 26th, 2017, 2:13 am

I rather take über any day especially with the recent amount of them 7 seater vans they have now cramming a bunch of oversized people or even a regular car when every other passenger gets drop of before you best you pay the cheese and go your way comfortable straight home or where ever. Plus it's a fixed fee hopefully when you hire the car for yourself I went cunupia on private hire I find the price does real change often