My "Racist" Experience In Trinidad

Postby shogun » May 8th, 2017, 1:39 am

As tolerant as I try to be, I'll admit that i'd be watching this guy like hawk ( if i didn't personally know him) and he got on the same flight. Complicated issue.

Re: My "Racist" Experience In Trinidad

Postby Dizzy28 » May 8th, 2017, 9:28 am

In a post 9/11 world ignorant Americans took out rage on Brown people regardless of their ethnicity and religion.
Middle Eastern Arabs who were responsible for 9/11 more Caucasian looking than South Asian though.

That said I'm not an ignorant and would know a Sikh from an Arab by looks and wouldn't be bothered by a person looking like Humble the Poet.

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 8th, 2017, 9:36 am

Humble don't know Trinidad that well. People can be equal opportunity idiots.

Also, non Caucasian American/Canadians see racism around every corner and in every action that gives them a hard time.

Postby RBphoto » May 8th, 2017, 10:59 am

Can't be too careful. *Shrugs*

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » May 8th, 2017, 11:08 am

Where is the video of the Muslims speaking out against "Islamic​" terror groups?

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » May 8th, 2017, 11:20 am

Kudos to airport security on a job well done. The items shapes and sizes could have been parts for a bomb. He designed himself to fit in a stereotype that requires extra vigilance and now complaining when he get grouped. It just like having pitch black tint. Ok.. so u have black tint, well get used to police stopping you and asking you stuff to gauge your personality and make sure u not some assassin gunman in the process of using the vehicle for a crime. It is for everyone's safety, including the one in the pitch black tint because others with pitch black tint will have to face the same interruptions in their schedule.

Life is about perspective. And while i understand his frustration hes not showing a very large scope of thinking and taking it a bit personal. The issue is larger than himself and noone is an expert at detecting terrorist threats and preventing them from passing freely through filters. So a general approach is taken and time and experience will allow us to fine tune our security protocols.

I give airport security 'no wrong' here. But sorry you had to go through that buddy.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » May 8th, 2017, 12:03 pm

walked tru security last month with 6 bags and beard like that ... officer asked me what i got in the bags i said i jus went to shop and a few stuff , he asked why all the extra bags jus said i shopped alot .. didnt bat a eye .. and i walked out not even paying a cent in taxes ... i love this country and the lazy ass people ... who sometimes try to make ther jobs important and search people like the above ...

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » May 8th, 2017, 12:06 pm

m6od8Nd.jpg

Postby Chimera » May 8th, 2017, 12:22 pm

i regularly get SSSS on my boarding passes when i travel

it is a bit annoying as well as embarassing because in Trinidad they dont have any separate room or screening area to do the secondary search, they search you in sight off everyone who is boarding the plane just after the gate entrance

when you get SSSS you gonna get search 3-4 times before you board
they even make you take off your shoes and check in your shoes and under your foot just before you board the plane, in sight of everyone who boarding the plane, so the other passengers done watching you suspicious
thats separate from when you now reach and they make you take off your belt/shoes that everyone has to do

but in any event, i rather they do that and catch someone trying to smuggle something dangerous than they dont do it

Postby Chimera » May 8th, 2017, 12:27 pm

it happens so often that the TTAA officers locally recognise me and ask why i dont query it with the airline if it always happening

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » May 8th, 2017, 1:38 pm

a time i flew out to tobago and was held in the jail cell at the tobago airport because they say i was moving suspicious.

Postby maj. tom » May 8th, 2017, 1:42 pm

What retarded hippie sheit is this? Man looking like a vagrant YouTube attention whore "star" and making allegations about Trinidad's racism at the airport? He really eh know what racism is.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 8th, 2017, 2:17 pm

Them fellas so does blame everything on racism, he looks like an SJW. Anybody who claims racism in a country like this clearly eh know they ass from they elbow.

Personal definitions are a thing now, for example many people consider making Anti Religion statements to be racism. Or killing certain animals like horse to be racism or you go KFC and the cashier eh smile at you well that is racism now. Yuh walking down the street and yuh trip on a manhole cover that is racism cause nobody eh give yuh ah heads up. Yuh ask a girl out on a date and she say no, that is racism.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » May 8th, 2017, 2:22 pm

This not old video from last year? He is not the one that came with 'Superwoman' last year or something so....

Postby SMc » May 8th, 2017, 2:33 pm

bluesclues wrote:Kudos to airport security on a job well done. .

In December last year that same airport security couldn't understand the concept of a detachable lens for a camera and asked if my 100-400 was a sniper scope and wanted to keep it along with the box of lighters, matches and other random things they picked up during the day...after explaining I used it to take pictures of wildlife they asked where the 'red cross' was, I couldn't be arsed to explain.

Good news was that I did find my missing Swiss Army knife as it was in my camera bag.. this was when we landed at our destination.

oh and that Vid is a bit old as it has definitely been kicking around this site for a while.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 8th, 2017, 2:34 pm

^Looking so
Buh u cyah be looking so and expect people to not racially profile you tho :lol:

Postby MaxPower » May 8th, 2017, 3:09 pm

Comply with all rules...

Stop crying racism when you do not get your way.

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 8th, 2017, 3:31 pm

ADONI wrote:This not old video from last year? He is not the one that came with 'Superwoman' last year or something so....

Yes he is and he was here again this year, both times during carnival with Machel.

He ent make a video bout how much woman of all ethnicity he wine on tho. Might bring his Sikhness into question.
Last edited by Strugglerzinc on May 8th, 2017, 3:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby desifemlove » May 8th, 2017, 3:31 pm

guy resembles bin laden...oh, is dat racist???

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » May 8th, 2017, 4:36 pm

This is nonsense. The only profiling ever experienced in Trinidad was during the soe amiright?

HSA

Postby HSA » May 9th, 2017, 11:42 am

i was once racially profiled for being a black chindian.....they thought i was mixed with afro and chinese cus that day i took a bald head and my scalp was black and was stung the night before by 4 wasps on my face

$h@dy

Postby $h@dy » July 19th, 2017, 7:03 am

Rebecca Rosetta racist a$$ doesn't even know proper English. What a total waste of space :roll:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 19th, 2017, 7:39 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:it happens so often that the TTAA officers locally recognise me and ask why i dont query it with the airline if it always happening

you know that's not the airline's fault right

Postby Ben_spanna » July 19th, 2017, 7:44 am

Only if you are in the Minority in Trinidad do you really experience discrimination almost daily , if you are of African or Indian descent then you really have no idea what discrimination is in Trinidad.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 19th, 2017, 8:16 am

honestly I tort this ched was ah afro/indian thing

ADONI

Postby ADONI » July 19th, 2017, 8:41 am

$h@dy wrote:Rebecca Rosetta racist a$$ doesn't even know proper English. What a total waste of space :roll:

She is mixing up Miss World and Miss Universe. What and idiot! :mrgreen:

Average

Postby Average » July 19th, 2017, 9:11 am

$h@dy wrote:Rebecca Rosetta racist a$$ doesn't even know proper English. What a total waste of space :roll:

I bet she typed that after sucking the remnants of curry aloo and chicken off of her fingers....ohhh that flavorful taste :mrgreen:
The hate is real fcukers.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 19th, 2017, 9:16 am

^
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (49.03 KiB) Viewed 5133 times

:D :D

10-01

Postby 10-01 » July 19th, 2017, 9:34 am

so i have a question .... how is it that negro people can call Indians - > Indo Trini , daul back , pundit , rotiman etc but nothing happens ( meaning the Indian person doesn't get offensive ) but when u call a negro -> fella , black etc they get defensive and want to fight and defend themselves ? seen this happen in a few school i attended growing up one instance it ended up being a fight

matix

Postby matix » July 19th, 2017, 9:54 am

10-01 wrote:so i have a question .... how is it that negro people can call Indians - > Indo Trini , daul back , pundit , rotiman etc but nothing happens ( meaning the Indian person doesn't get offensive ) but when u call a negro -> fella , black etc they get defensive and want to fight and defend themselves ? seen this happen in a few school i attended growing up one instance it ended up being a fight

Good point. Seen this quite a few times.