WTK how to get currency from our banks

d.d.s.

WTK how to get currency from our banks

Postby d.d.s. » June 6th, 2017, 9:57 am

Tuners,

We all know the situation with US dollars. But I wanted to know what's the process for the average person, if traveling or not, to obtain it in the bank? Can a quota be purchased over the counter? Also can one get EC dollars and Barbadian dollars from our banks?

Monkey Man

Re: WTK how to get currency from our banks

Postby Monkey Man » June 6th, 2017, 10:01 am

wtf is this 2014??

if u line up out side the bank before it opens u may get $200us if u lucky.

jus dump all yuh cash in your cc and beg yuh friends and family to change some for pocket change for yuh

Postby Chimera » June 6th, 2017, 10:17 am

1) load up scotia bank atm card and withdraw cash abroad if you rly need CASH

2)load up JMMB atm card and withdraw cash abroad if you rly need CASH

3) buy from FCB cambio in the airport when you show them your boarding pass, $250 for non fcb account holders and $500 for fcb account holders

4) load up your credit card and spend that abroad

Cooloh

Postby Cooloh » June 6th, 2017, 10:20 am

No need to walk with so much cash in 2017. Do what the surgeon suggested. Load up Scotia card and withdraw from and BoA ATM if u need the cash.

Postby Chimera » June 6th, 2017, 10:26 am

the firetruck up thing is....yuh does think you doh need cash and then something happen and yuh stuck without it

i had a problem with Alamo car rental agency where I land in miami and first thing i gone to do is collect my car....

they swipe the first card twice....some sheit happen..it get lock down

swipe my 2nd and 3rd card...and it get lock down

apparently our Trinidadian cards dont read properly on Alamo system and once they swipe it 2 or 3 times..it does get locked and you hadda call RBL trinidad to get it reinstated...which is a dred annoyance

Postby meccalli » June 6th, 2017, 10:32 am

Work in the private sector for a well known syrian, call the bank and ask them if they have. Tell them how much you want and coming just now for it.

Cooloh

Postby Cooloh » June 6th, 2017, 10:34 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:the firetruck up thing is....yuh does think you doh need cash and then something happen and yuh stuck without it

i had a problem with Alamo car rental agency where I land in miami and first thing i gone to do is collect my car....

they swipe the first card twice....some sheit happen..it get lock down

swipe my 2nd and 3rd card...and it get lock down

apparently our Trinidadian cards dont read properly on Alamo system and once they swipe it 2 or 3 times..it does get locked and you hadda call RBL trinidad to get it reinstated...which is a dred annoyance

Exactly the same happened to me at Alamo and Hertz as well!!

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » June 6th, 2017, 1:15 pm

Aren't you supposed to inform the bank when you are traveling so they won't lock ur cards?

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 6th, 2017, 1:32 pm

Jade_Inc. wrote:Aren't you supposed to inform the bank when you are traveling so they won't lock ur cards?

Did and they fvcked up. twice.

I prefer some contingency cash. Don't have to spend it, just have it on standby

Postby Chimera » June 6th, 2017, 1:45 pm

Jade_Inc. wrote:Aren't you supposed to inform the bank when you are traveling so they won't lock ur cards?

yes i always do

but they still lock for certain "high risk" places

if you use a card in apple store without specifically telling them you going to use it in apple store....they does lock it sometimes

the issue with the car companies is their readers somehow read a set of extra numbers when they swipe our Trini cards so they hadda input the number manually...which they doesnt want to do

if you use credit cards in plenty stores in jamaica, ny , they does also lock it unless you call them and tell them you in that area, reason being, plenty stolen cards/cloned cards does be in use there

Postby Chimera » June 6th, 2017, 1:46 pm

had a fella in line in front of me in alamo...his cards get locked...he had to cough up 700 USD cash as security for the car because they couldn't hold any of his cards....

Postby Dizzy28 » June 6th, 2017, 2:56 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:1) load up scotia bank atm card and withdraw cash abroad if you rly need CASH

3) buy from FCB cambio in the airport when you show them your boarding pass, $250 for non fcb account holders and $500 for fcb account holders - Problem with this is if you going out using AA's 7 am flight (or any early flight you miss the Cambio as it opens at 6am)

How much you all get from Scotia through BOA?

I got $200/day when I tried last month (was only there for 3 days so not sure if there is a max cap)

I initially started at $600 it didn't go through then went down in increments of 50 until i reached 200. Then tried 200 a second time and nothing.

Postby Chimera » June 6th, 2017, 3:44 pm

You hadda go in and make them raise the limit.

Jon Gill

Postby Jon Gill » June 6th, 2017, 3:46 pm

Do you know what's the maximum increase and what do you tell them.

Also are there any additional charges?

Postby Dizzy28 » June 6th, 2017, 3:56 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:You hadda go in and make them raise the limit.

Steups.........when I went in to Scotia to pay for my son's Visa earlier this year I asked the CSR about the BOA withdrawals and she said there is no limit on the amount you can withdraw once you have the funds.
Clearly she didn't know what she was speaking about.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » June 6th, 2017, 4:22 pm

Best we go back to EC0

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » June 6th, 2017, 4:41 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:You hadda go in and make them raise the limit.

Steups.........when I went in to Scotia to pay for my son's Visa earlier this year I asked the CSR about the BOA withdrawals and she said there is no limit on the amount you can withdraw once you have the funds.
Clearly she didn't know what she was speaking about.

The environment is changing daily. It could just mean your information is outdated.. just now you will see the creditcard use also getting limited. When they start to grab at vtm card holders then we will know shtf.

Postby Chimera » June 6th, 2017, 4:49 pm

Yes theres a limit. There is a form to fill out to raise it

10-01

Postby 10-01 » June 7th, 2017, 8:01 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:1) load up scotia bank atm card and withdraw cash abroad if you rly need CASH

3) buy from FCB cambio in the airport when you show them your boarding pass, $250 for non fcb account holders and $500 for fcb account holders

and by Canadian & ponds .. u can convert it to USD ....... when u arrive in the BOE

Postby RedVEVO » June 9th, 2017, 2:25 am

You cannot get Canadian or Pounds at the Bank - It is a complete lock down on ALL foreign cash.

But meanwhile there is a thriving "black market " . Slowly but surely prices will rise - people will cry.

Mr Gov't did not study his Econ 001.

He f ... up again.

Cooloh

Postby Cooloh » June 9th, 2017, 7:46 am

3) buy from FCB cambio in the airport when you show them your boarding pass, $250 for non fcb account holders and $500 for fcb account holders - Problem with this is if you going out using AA's 7 am flight (or any early flight you miss the Cambio as it opens at 6am)

How much you all get from Scotia through BOA?

I got $200/day when I tried last month (was only there for 3 days so not sure if there is a max cap)

I initially started at $600 it didn't go through then went down in increments of 50 until i reached 200. Then tried 200 a second time and nothing.

Scotiabank can adjust the limit to $500 USD I think. My branch did it for me, I never tried to extract 500 at the ATM though, so can't say if it would work

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » June 9th, 2017, 7:58 am

if ollur wa USD go in st park in chaguanas after 6pm and ask anybody for "Lizard Man".

Rel nice fella.

Postby Chimera » June 9th, 2017, 8:13 am

Yup there are limits on all foreign currency. You cant even get cash from your own foreign currency bank accounts

Postby Dizzy28 » June 9th, 2017, 9:22 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Yup there are limits on all foreign currency. You cant even get cash from your own foreign currency bank accounts

Very early last year UTC limited withdrawals from my US$ account to $500 at a time. Not sure if they have dropped that limit since because it was just too much hassle (they were actually giving you a cheque to go to the bank and you would only get US if the bank had).

10-01

Postby 10-01 » June 9th, 2017, 3:24 pm

RedVEVO wrote:^^^

You cannot get Canadian or Pounds at the Bank - It is a complete lock down on ALL foreign cash.

But meanwhile there is a thriving "black market " . Slowly but surely prices will rise - people will cry.

Mr Gov't did not study his Econ 001.

He f ... up again.

i got $3000 Can at the BOE at the airport luckily i manage to b ther when a flight arr rived and the girl gave me all , if u go late at night they sell all they have to u it was about $.35 more than the banks at that time .

Energy0091

Wtk: Has anyone been able to purchase US recently from any legal institution?

Postby Energy0091 » November 17th, 2017, 6:14 pm

Republic bank has offically stopped selling US to top up VTM cards. One must now walk with his/her US to load the card.
I need to get some to buy.

ak0202

Re: Wtk: Has anyone been able to purchase US recently from any legal institution?

Postby ak0202 » November 17th, 2017, 6:17 pm

I loaded my vtm lastnight with no problem

Energy0091

Re: Wtk: Has anyone been able to purchase US recently from any legal institution?

Postby Energy0091 » November 17th, 2017, 6:21 pm

ak0202 wrote:I loaded my vtm lastnight with no problem

This is through online banking I'm sure. You won't have any problems there. I'm speaking of in branch loading.

ak0202

Postby ak0202 » November 17th, 2017, 6:22 pm

Energy0091 wrote:

This is through online banking I'm sure. You won't have any problems there. I'm speaking of in branch loading.

Yes @ online banking

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 17th, 2017, 7:06 pm

ak0202 wrote:
Energy0091 wrote:

Yes @ online banking

are there any limits to how much you can load on the VTM card via online banking?