New Trinidad Traffic Fines + Demerit + Fixed Penalty System

mad

Re: New Trinidad Traffic Fines + Demerit System (June 2017)

Postby mad » June 11th, 2017, 9:34 am

It seems like the biggest set ah dunce wrote this policy. Clearly they are not considering the poor and the average working class. These fines are more than most people salary.
Dictatorship start yes. Just with ah set ah Dunce.

MrSennin

Postby MrSennin » June 11th, 2017, 10:10 am

Wait can we take them to court if the officer if he speeding,talking on he cellphone and he taillights and head lights blow and carry them to court with recorded evidence or they go just laugh and charge we for speeding to record dem?

MrSennin

Postby MrSennin » June 11th, 2017, 10:11 am

Average wrote:Meanwhile, a group of gangsters converse...

G Dog sits back on his sofa putting together the largest blunt seen for the week. He marvels at it's size and calls out to Flytrap, "ohh mih dogga, watch the thickness nah g, like Stacy bamsee eh har har har"
G Dog's gold teeth glisten and shine as he bellows at his own joke.
Flytrap responds "yeah yeah dawggg, ouuu gouuudd boy Stacy and dat fat bamsee lewwe doh fuhget de cyat, pum pum fatt inno! light de ting nah what yuh waiting on?"

As they proceed to light their marijuana and settle in for the day, in walks Jankie with phone in hand looking exceptionally frustated. He rests his gun on the table and looks at G Dog and Flytrap with disgust.
"Allyuh see dis fcukery today?" he asks while almost being enveloped in weed smoke.
"wha you talking bout dog" asks Flytrap.
Jankie starts to pace, "boy...boy...boy...dem police boy, dem traffic wardens and dem puh out dis ting here with one setta fcukin fines boy dadda, it sending me mad!"
"Fines, badman doh pay fines, we fine yuh gyull! har har har" states G Dog while he takes another pull, exhaling halfway in the air and the rest on the blunt looking at it ever so lovingly.

Jankie realises the situation that his two best friends do not pay attention to anything further than their block and proceeds to enlighten them, "hoss is four car I hah ow dey wukkin, dem fcukin fine fuh seatbelt and bulb and breaking light go brokes mih"
G Dog and Flytrap both freeze and stare at Jankie, the room becomes silent where you can only hear the remainder of the blunt slightly crackling as the embers dance and glow in G Dog's hand.

Flytrap opens his mouth and the words coming out seem to burn into Jankie's ears, "Boy no police not harassing we up here boy, fcuk dem and fcuk ah ticket, how ah sound dey G?"
"Janks dawg, you really think is we the police and govament targeting with that setta fcukery, is dem stupidmen dem who going to wuk everyday har har har! chimes in G Dog.
Flytrap starts to laugh uncontrollably which causes G Dog to do the same and he eventually rolls off the sofa. a magazine drops out of his pocket and Flytrap cannot contain himself.
The laughter ensues for what seems an eternity.

Jankie ponders and takes out a pack of Broadway from his camouflage three quarter pants and packs it on his wrist, "throw ah lighter dey" he says and G Dog hands him one.

As he takes in pull after pull, Jankie looks out the window and repeats the statement G Dog made earlier. He smiles, for it is the truth.

You have some time on your hands jeez, best start to write stories to pay for tickets if you get dem

Average

Postby Average » June 11th, 2017, 10:12 am

^^^ Yup, and there are pnm livehard/diehard supporters who on the dotish train with their leader saying that we NEED to do these things.
Really dunce yes, all them degrees but still dotish.

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » June 11th, 2017, 10:35 am

back to travelling yes.

Postby RedVEVO » June 11th, 2017, 9:11 pm

SR wrote:Most of the people pushing for these laws in parliment do not cross the lighthouse. Arrive alive...batson....and those in government now mostly stay in the west and do not have first hand experience on what the rest of the country has to deal with. Arrive alive on her own personal agenda. Some of those traffic violations penalties are ridiculously stupid and allows no leeway. A fixed penalty ticket should be issued instead of a ticket allowing a certain time frame to repair the issue such as non working lights and cracked windscreen. Tint law remains as vague as possible and up to the discretion of the officer. Power given to traffic wardens who are not police officers but can easily victimize motorists as a form of bullying.

In general or in real life a Law is enacted when there is a problem that people just
continue to do to frustrate others - Like speeding recklessly , drinking and driving , then killing
innocent persons - like your brother, sister, daughter or son.

Arrive Alive person whom you speak about had a tragic experience per above. So she is fighting back the
best way she knows.

Police should be better trained - that is a must in TT - But we ignore .

The Gov't is basically useless. So we have to protest .

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » June 11th, 2017, 11:28 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
SR wrote:Most of the people pushing for these laws in parliment do not cross the lighthouse. Arrive alive...batson....and those in government now mostly stay in the west and do not have first hand experience on what the rest of the country has to deal with. Arrive alive on her own personal agenda. Some of those traffic violations penalties are ridiculously stupid and allows no leeway. A fixed penalty ticket should be issued instead of a ticket allowing a certain time frame to repair the issue such as non working lights and cracked windscreen. Tint law remains as vague as possible and up to the discretion of the officer. Power given to traffic wardens who are not police officers but can easily victimize motorists as a form of bullying.

In general or in real life a Law is enacted when there is a problem that people just
continue to do to frustrate others - Like speeding recklessly , drinking and driving , then killing
innocent persons - like your brother, sister, daughter or son.

Arrive Alive person whom you speak about had a tragic experience per above. So she is fighting back the
best way she knows.

Police should be better trained - that is a must in TT - But we ignore .

The Gov't is basically useless. So we have to protest .

Dont want to call any name but Isn't arrive alive top level management associated with breathalyzer testing. So of course they push for this crap it making business for them .

Simple protest not going to do it . we need major protest. the nation needs to see we getting screwed . well the good thing is the top few will have unlimited access to a golf course.

MrSennin

Postby MrSennin » June 11th, 2017, 11:34 pm

Let me bring some realism in here, people go bump dem gum or type away but doh do Jack. So if you serious about it, get a following going who really want change this crap then get it done. Other than that don't complain, take the change and hush ah Lil, cuz not one ish going and happen and you and everyone knows that but I hope you prove me wrong and everyone else

Postby RedVEVO » June 12th, 2017, 1:39 am

MrSennin wrote:Let me bring some realism in here, people go bump dem gum or type away but doh do Jack. So if you serious about it, get a following going who really want change this crap then get it done. Other than that don't complain, take the change and hush ah Lil, cuz not one ish going and happen and you and everyone knows that but I hope you prove me wrong and everyone else

You bring no realism .. more like an old gringo depressive defeatist hopeless outlook of life in general.

Young people - like myself - have more passion for life and change in TT. More positive outlook.

Social media is NOT main stream media . It is NOT controlled . Yes, " people go bump dem gum " or "type away" but
eventually issues becomes relevant - people think more - and discuss - then we have change.

The new fines quoted above are outrageous - but in TT we f...ing mad.

So this is the consequence when bullies and gangsters take over the streets .

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » June 12th, 2017, 2:15 am

MrSennin wrote:Let me bring some realism in here, people go bump dem gum or type away but doh do Jack. So if you serious about it, get a following going who really want change this crap then get it done. Other than that don't complain, take the change and hush ah Lil, cuz not one ish going and happen and you and everyone knows that but I hope you prove me wrong and everyone else

I disagree . You are going to see protest starting soon.
This is madness. these fines are more than peoples salary for a month.

MrSennin

Postby MrSennin » June 12th, 2017, 6:25 am

RedVEVO wrote:

You bring no realism .. more like an old gringo depressive defeatist hopeless outlook of life in general.

Young people - like myself - have more passion for life and change in TT. More positive outlook.

Social media is NOT main stream media . It is NOT controlled . Yes, " people go bump dem gum " or "type away" but
eventually issues becomes relevant - people think more - and discuss - then we have change.

The new fines quoted above are outrageous - but in TT we f...ing mad.

So this is the consequence when bullies and gangsters take over the streets .

I'm either younger or same age as you, but I look at life differently than most. I have hope for the future but is Trinidad we living in, look at everything that people say they go do then never happen, look at how much protest happen and look how long it take to change or even get notice. Increase of the speed limit, rell people sign ah petition but nothing happened or even noticed, the govt themself say they didn't know it had that going round.

I'm proud that we came together for something but it wasn't even notice by the people we try to reach aka the govt. We could look at life in three ways : positive (optimistic), negative (pessimistic), or look at life and the facts (realistic), we go bump we gum and type away. I shall keep in mind this ched can come back in a month time and ask what changed.
Last edited by MrSennin on June 12th, 2017, 6:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

MrSennin

Postby MrSennin » June 12th, 2017, 6:27 am

hong kong phooey wrote:

I disagree . You are going to see protest starting soon.
This is madness. these fines are more than peoples salary for a month.

Yes they send the prices wayyyy to high 300-10000 wtf. But I wait to see actually change and I really hope people prove me wrong I really do

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » June 12th, 2017, 7:10 am

oh boyyy, like i say time and time agian fellas. this country trying to force ripe itself with first world standards.

you wan to implement all this big UNFAIR fines for offences which are simply not practical, with EXTREMELY poor police service. and i dont say this to bash the service, it is from firsthand experience.

these fines are for the wrong reason, not to uphold the law, but to capitalize on the populations disregard for it.
what kind of message that sending? yea we know allyuh not gonna follow the law, so we will get rich off it.

Average

Postby Average » June 12th, 2017, 7:43 am

Trinidadians naturally feel shame to do anything. Basically we does fraid to look stupid in the end. I am talking about the middle class here, or what is left of it, and the upper class. Any form of protest is frowned upon because I know fully well that some of us are afraid to rock the boat politically.

John scared to be in a protest AGAINST the pnm because Johnny and Francis are his good friends from down the road and they are pnm supporters. He doesn't even post up anti pnm articles on his Facebook because he has pnm friends. That's sheit.
Since when is the pnm the elite?

I an all guilty to an extent here because when Kamla was in power I found myself going overboard amongst my pnm friends to find faults and be angry at some of her decisions. I said overboard because even though she did do a lot of stupidness, me being a supporter tried to act neutral at times.

Yeah I know, it's pretty fcuked up and so am I.

Postby Redman » June 12th, 2017, 8:20 am

mad wrote:It seems like the biggest set ah dunce wrote this policy. Clearly they are not considering the poor and the average working class. These fines are more than most people salary.

Just to be clear-Im for the regulation and enforcement...I will leave you all to argue about the fines etc.

Is the setting of law supposed to take the poor or average?

if they do that ..you would say they not penalizing the rich and they could afford it blah blah blah.
and they favoring rich people.

if you cant pay the fine handle your stories and obey the frigging law.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 12th, 2017, 8:25 am

Redman wrote:
mad wrote:It seems like the biggest set ah dunce wrote this policy. Clearly they are not considering the poor and the average working class. These fines are more than most people salary.

Just to be clear-Im for the regulation and enforcement...I will leave you all to argue about the fines etc.

if they do that ..you would say they not penalizing the rich and they could afford it blah blah blah.

Simple as that

Postby RedVEVO » June 12th, 2017, 12:43 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
Redman wrote:

Simple as that

Yes , simple as that - Obey the Law - Or pay the F...ing consequences .

And do not pee on de wall or in public on Ariapita Avenue

That against the Law - And I talking to all dem Gangsters and Rankers.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » June 12th, 2017, 2:22 pm

Redman wrote:

Simple as that

Too many laws are subjective. They do not have a clear level of what is legal and what is not, tint law, noisy car, defective vehicle, just to name a few.

If the law stated 20% and darker vlt tint is illegal, I woulda say no problem, but you saying anything to obscure the view inside the vehicle, and police watching your 35% vehicle in the sunlight with shades on and saying he can't see inside.

No man, clearly state the law and then charge who not in compliance

Postby RedVEVO » June 13th, 2017, 3:16 am

Laws are not subjective. Police are just not trained .

If you feel that Laws are subjective - Fight it out in Court .

Or just pay and move on .

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » June 13th, 2017, 7:24 am

Redman wrote:

Simple as that

all well and good, penalize for law breaking.

but does the punishment match the crime???? Doubt palos man. Doubt....

Postby Redman » June 13th, 2017, 8:17 am

Seems many prefer to have no law/enforcement until we can get it PERFECT.

Allyuh ...nutting seems to be working-mean while it us-all with the same color passports(well mostly) that dying on the roads, getting pushed out of the real estate market and spending 9 hrs to get a birth certificate.

All of this cost us directly and indirectly....

Laws cn be modified once implemented....but we are stuck between the political manipulations while the systems break down.

it does not bode well for our kids.

Postby 88sins » June 13th, 2017, 10:00 am

Redman wrote:

Simple as that

i wonder if it go really be that simple, if you leave home with two working taillights & one of them stops working while you're driving, unbeknownst to you, & you're penalized for it if stopped by an officer during an exercise.
then again, you & your tail light would have in fact broken the law, so pay d fine & change your bulb.

Postby Redman » June 13th, 2017, 10:25 am

Kinda like the fella driving around with no taillights or no indicator, or no wing mirrors....and the driver behind has no indication that the old car in front mashing a hard brakes...hit from behind-who pays? who really responsible.

or the car has faulty brakes
or whatever-as far as I know we saw a change when the speed limit was enforced-and a change back as soon as some tun tun say they stop to assess.

so Trinis can change-like everyone else in the world-we take all the space we are given.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » June 13th, 2017, 11:02 am

Why can't they do like in the states and issue a warning or even a fix it ticket... Where you carry your vehicle to licensing department within a week to show that the issue has been resolved. If not they should show you to replace blown bulbs on the spot.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » June 13th, 2017, 11:16 am

kamakazi wrote:Why can't they do like in the states and issue a warning or even a fix it ticket... Where you carry your vehicle to licensing department within a week to show that the issue has been resolved. If not they should show you to replace blown bulbs on the spot.

dan u now walk out of starbucks with yuh pumpkin spice latee and for get wey u living or wa?

Postby Les Bain » June 13th, 2017, 11:18 am

Redman wrote:

Simple as that

i wonder if it go really be that simple, if you leave home with two working taillights & one of them stops working while you're driving, unbeknownst to you, & you're penalized for it if stopped by an officer during an exercise.
then again, you & your tail light would have in fact broken the law, so pay d fine & change your bulb.

Some weeks ago I smashed my left taillight and had to drive around with it for 2 days til I could get the replacement in, which I guess is breaking the law under the proposed fines. OK.

After the replacement I wasn't aware my left brake light wasnt working til I was at a stoplight and one of those heavy trucks with the chrome fronts pulled up behind me and I did a few brake pumps. I assumed lights were working because every morning when I disarm the car, the back lights flash. Turns out is the park light section flashes (take note).

Police go hit you the "ignorance is no excuse" line so I say is time to change the light.

Tried a DIY replacement cause it was no problem on my previous cars but the Y12 Wingroad is a challenge to remove the taillight especially if is one person with no idea what to do; you might get vex and then be in Bamboo looking for a taillight unit. I went to a shop and they hooked me up nice and cheap.

I'm in partial agreement with these proposed fines cause a vehicle needs to be at a minimum level to go jostle on the roads with other people, and I fed up getting stuck behind poor drivers to discover is their child playing with them in the back seat or they kicksing off on the phone. The attached fines, however, making it seem like the next step is to sell your vehicle and beg the government to start talking Rapid Rail.

The fine should be proportionate to the extremity of offense.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » June 13th, 2017, 11:36 am

Monkey Man wrote:
kamakazi wrote:Why can't they do like in the states and issue a warning or even a fix it ticket... Where you carry your vehicle to licensing department within a week to show that the issue has been resolved. If not they should show you to replace blown bulbs on the spot.

dan u now walk out of starbucks with yuh pumpkin spice latee and for get wey u living or wa?

Wishful thinking I know...I like to believe that we will get there sometime.
If they did something like that it would let me know that they are interested in something else besides making money

Postby Redman » June 13th, 2017, 11:46 am

kamakazi wrote:
Monkey Man wrote:

If they did something like that it would let me know that they are interested in something else besides making money

Nah kamakazi it eh wishful thinking-just pragmatic.
I agree-with the fix it system

Too many of us happy to say why things cant work here-without focusing on how it CAN happen.

Postby adnj » June 13th, 2017, 12:34 pm

Redman wrote:
kamakazi wrote:
Monkey Man wrote:

Nah kamakazi it eh wishful thinking-just pragmatic.
I agree-with the fix it system

Too many of us happy to say why things cant work here-without focusing on how it CAN happen.

Parking officer takes pity on driver after finding handwritten note on windshield

By JENNIFER EARL CBS NEWS June 12, 2017, 5:57 PM

A parking control officer was about to write a ticket for an expired meter while making the rounds in downtown Wausau, Wisconsin, Thursday morning when he spotted a handwritten note tucked underneath the car's windshield wiper.

Officer Jim Hellrood unfolded the note, which read, "Please take pity on me. I walked home... safe choices."

The driver, who has not been identified, ended his plea with a smiley face.

Hellrood was surprised. It's not every day a driver purposely leaves their car in a spot that could lead to a ticket. But he appreciated the driver's honesty — as well as the decision not to drive after what he assumes was a night of drinking.

So, he decided to give the driver a warning instead of a $5 ticket.

"Pity Granted, Just A Warning," the Wausau Police Department posted on Facebook Monday. "Parking Control Officer Jim Hellrood can appreciate people making safe choices, and a good sense of humor. That's why he recently issued a warning to a vehicle left in a metered lot overnight."

Lt. Cord Buckner, of the Wausau Police Department, told CBS News he's never heard of anything like this happening before in the area, but he's happy with the driver's decision not to get behind the wheel.

"[This driver] realized it may not have been a safe choice and risked a citation rather than risk their own safety," Buckner said. "We certainly applaud that decision to not drive."

http://www.cbsnews.com/news/parking-officer-pardons-driver-after-finding-this-handwritten-note-on-windshield/

mad

Postby mad » June 13th, 2017, 8:27 pm

Les Bain wrote:
Redman wrote:

Simple as that

Some weeks ago I smashed my left taillight and had to drive around with it for 2 days til I could get the replacement in, which I guess is breaking the law under the proposed fines. OK.

After the replacement I wasn't aware my left brake light wasnt working til I was at a stoplight and one of those heavy trucks with the chrome fronts pulled up behind me and I did a few brake pumps. I assumed lights were working because every morning when I disarm the car, the back lights flash. Turns out is the park light section flashes (take note).

Police go hit you the "ignorance is no excuse" line so I say is time to change the light.

Tried a DIY replacement cause it was no problem on my previous cars but the Y12 Wingroad is a challenge to remove the taillight especially if is one person with no idea what to do; you might get vex and then be in Bamboo looking for a taillight unit. I went to a shop and they hooked me up nice and cheap.

I'm in partial agreement with these proposed fines cause a vehicle needs to be at a minimum level to go jostle on the roads with other people, and I fed up getting stuck behind poor drivers to discover is their child playing with them in the back seat or they kicksing off on the phone. The attached fines, however, making it seem like the next step is to sell your vehicle and beg the government to start talking Rapid Rail.

The fine should be proportionate to the extremity of offense.

I think what people are not understanding is the laws and fines are already there. The problem is the vast increase in the fines. In these economic times these dunces are trying to rape the working class of their hard earned money. And most importantly I am sure most people here break the law at least more that one time-come on. For those who are complete law abiding citizens-keep it up"kudos to you". There is no problem enforcing these existing laws as we seen with the Speeding. Its just the increase in the fines.

To the one who mentioned this:
"if they do that ..you would say they not penalizing the rich and they could afford it blah blah blah.
and they favoring rich people."
The rich gets away from it, they don't even have to pay. People who live in Trinidad will know this.