New Trinidad Traffic Fines + Demerit + Fixed Penalty System

Re: New Trinidad Traffic Fines + Demerit System (June 2017)

Postby redmanjp » June 20th, 2017, 12:51 am

ah think Bret driving ah pickup- sticking to 65kph oui

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » June 21st, 2017, 7:28 am

"buh ent d waatspp message say it have cayamarah by dem flyover dem?"

dunno when poeple will realize that whatsapp is not a credible source of information. :?

Kronik

Postby Kronik » June 21st, 2017, 8:07 am

Monkey Man wrote:"buh ent d waatspp message say it have cayamarah by dem flyover dem?"

dunno when poeple will realize that whatsapp is not a credible source of information. :?

It does have cameras by the flyovers, in central anyway

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » June 21st, 2017, 8:42 am

i know i saw them myself, but that does not mean they are ticketing you via this method

Kronik

Postby Kronik » June 21st, 2017, 10:12 am

As far as I see, them cameras by the flyovers are only for surveillance, the speed cameras are the ones that can charge you (when that becomes law), like the aranguez one

Postby redmanjp » June 23rd, 2017, 8:41 pm

discussion today in Parliament (from 58 mins)

Part 2

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » June 23rd, 2017, 9:34 pm

I might not like moonilal, but when he said that person's should be given at least a 48hr window to repair their vehicles it did make some sense.
The police could simply log the offence in their database and give you some time to fix the issue. If you fix the problem in the given time period the offence is removed. If not then you're charged...
Going this route might be beneficial to the population, however it won't be as profitable, so I don't expect it to happen...

Postby streetbeastINC. » June 24th, 2017, 1:19 am

Mr young is vert arrogant , just saw him very insultive to the member boe tewarie..... these guys strut arpound like if they really are our lord and gods,.....arrogant guy, they seem to actuallynhate the population when speaking on enforcement of petty offences, blown lights etc....
Last edited by streetbeastINC. on June 24th, 2017, 11:00 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby SR » June 24th, 2017, 10:07 am

Dais d original lick balls yes man

Postby Dizzy28 » June 24th, 2017, 10:27 am

Young is Faris lap dog. Faris even made sure Young office within sight of his in campus plaza

Postby RedVEVO » June 24th, 2017, 7:13 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:Mr young is vert arrogant , just saw him very insultive to the member boe tewarie..... these guys strut arpound like if they really are our lord and gods,.....arrogant guy, they seem to actuallynhate the population when speaking on enforcement of petty offences, blown lights etc....

Young has always been arrogant .

In his private practice as an attorney - he was quite the comic .

Power has got him more arrogant - Power is a drug .

I hope he cools down - since he is an extremely bright individual .

Postby streetbeastINC. » June 25th, 2017, 2:24 am

i dunno him...but the arrogance annoys me......he is the of the devant of the pnm

car

New Trinidad Traffic Fines + Demerit System (June 2017)

Postby car » June 25th, 2017, 6:01 pm

mosque

Postby mosque » June 25th, 2017, 6:17 pm

yes

Postby hydroep » June 25th, 2017, 6:26 pm

Sure to generate much needed revenue to run the country... :|

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » June 25th, 2017, 8:24 pm

Now back to the golf course...

MrSennin

Postby MrSennin » June 25th, 2017, 8:56 pm

Now that it pass, most likely my earlier comment shall also

Postby De Dragon » June 25th, 2017, 10:35 pm

vaiostation wrote:I might not like moonilal, but when he said that person's should be given at least a 48hr window to repair their vehicles it did make some sense.
The police could simply log the offence in their database and give you some time to fix the issue. If you fix the problem in the given time period the offence is removed. If not then you're charged...
Going this route might be beneficial to the population, however it won't be as profitable, so I don't expect it to happen...

No, that would indicate that some thought and common sense went into the legislation. Is like these clowns feel bulb and ting does tell yuh when dey going and blow :roll:
All that is needed is a defect notice to be issued to you to correct a defect, you do so, report to the Police and show proof, and ticket cancelled. What so hard in that? Then again, is T&T we living in...........

Postby aaron17 » June 26th, 2017, 7:48 am

I assume US laws and other countries , a person would be given a certain amount of time to change the bulb.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » June 26th, 2017, 9:37 am

Kronik wrote:
Monkey Man wrote:"buh ent d waatspp message say it have cayamarah by dem flyover dem?"

Fellas, indulge me..I was reading through the amendments and I didn't see anything about the fixed cameras used for the purpose of monitoring speeders; only those for the purpose of monitoring those who break red lights. The cameras on the highway obviously aren't for red lights but did anyone pick up on any mention of them being used to issue tickets in the Amendment because I don't think it's something that was always in practice so it would have to be part of the amended bill or am I wrong..??

Kronik

Postby Kronik » June 26th, 2017, 7:08 pm

Joshie23 wrote:
Kronik wrote:

Fellas, indulge me..I was reading through the amendments and I didn't see anything about the fixed cameras used for the purpose of monitoring speeders; only those for the purpose of monitoring those who break red lights. The cameras on the highway obviously aren't for red lights but did anyone pick up on any mention of them being used to issue tickets in the Amendment because I don't think it's something that was always in practice so it would have to be part of the amended bill or am I wrong..??

As far as I see, it's only red light camera system so far, none for speeding yet. Speed monitoring ones won't be far behind I sure,

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » June 26th, 2017, 7:19 pm

Kronik wrote:As far as I see, it's only red light camera system so far, none for speeding yet. Speed monitoring ones won't be far behind I sure,

That's what I was thinking but I remember agent007 saying he saw a flash from one of the cameras a time, so I was just wondering.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » June 26th, 2017, 7:45 pm

Maybe it just gathering data like the red light camera in POS, to see how much money they could make from the fix mounted speed cameras

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 26th, 2017, 8:48 pm

just to clarify....them ridiculous fines enforced now??

Postby adnj » June 26th, 2017, 9:36 pm

aaron17 wrote:I assume US laws and other countries , a person would be given a certain amount of time to change the bulb.

In my experience in the US and some Western European countries, sometimes you'll get a warning (citation or verbal). Sometimes you'll get defects citation. On something like a brake light or head lamp, you may be given a week to take the citation in with the vehicle to show the repair. If you have a noisy muffler or windshield or bald tires or something else that is very noticeable, you may not get any leeway. It depends on the issuing officer.

streetpunk

Postby streetpunk » June 30th, 2017, 9:27 am

Hey tuners does anyone know if the implementation of issuing tickets in the mail for breaking the red light by Hyatt come into effect with this new ammendment?
Or it can only be issued if there is a road block after the lights ?

Postby Dizzy28 » June 30th, 2017, 9:35 am

streetpunk wrote:Hey tuners does anyone know if the implementation of issuing tickets in the mail for breaking the red light by Hyatt come into effect with this new ammendment?
Or it can only be issued if there is a road block after the lights ?

AFAIK amendments, even though passed by both Houses of Parliament still have to be ascended to by the President before it can become effective. With that Motor Vehicle and Road Traffic Act amendment passing last week Friday I doubt the President has even received it for ascension.

It will be Gazetted when ascended too so you can keep a look out there.

mad

Postby mad » July 7th, 2017, 10:31 pm

Joshie23 wrote:
Monkey Man wrote:the way this speed testing is done on the highways, u deserve to get catch if u not aware it is going on yes. it really frigging obvious ....and at least one SOB on the opposite lane will warn.

Nah Monkey, that's exactly why I got caught the other night..I was cruising at first, telling my wife I'm observing drivers on the other side and when I saw no one was flashing, I say well let me pick it up a bit..not more than 15 seconds later, I saw the flash in a particularly dark spot on the SSHH near the Golconda Flyover and even after I already got my picture taken and I was approaching where the police were pulling us aside, still no lights..idk if drivers bitter now or if I was just sour that night but..it serious..

Flashing lights was a normal habit in the 80's and early 90's but somehow it just vanished. Don't really know why. But you can see it started back slowly, I am guessing the younger drivers probably don't know about this tactic. But now we have to be our brothers keeper and watch out for each other. Nobody wants to pay a speeding ticket for going 85 km/hr on the highway now esp. when people getting fired left right and center. That is money you can save to provide food for your family instead of filling the government and their ministers pocket with money.

Postby RedVEVO » July 8th, 2017, 6:02 am

Nah .. You speed . You pay the thousand dollar fine ..

No brothers' keeper here in this Wild West ( not the Tuners Servers ) country ..

All the ole fart bush rum drinking pudge belly slimy flip flop Gringo go lose their pension ...

Kronik

Postby Kronik » July 8th, 2017, 6:21 am

I does see plenty ppl who deserve to get ticket, I going down the road at 85 yesterday and a b14 pass me like I park up, he whole car bouncing like a hilux off road, he almost hit the concrete barriers in aranguez. Man like that, need to get it