Re: New public utilities Minister is a citizen of Ghana

Postby hydroep » August 30th, 2017, 2:17 pm

Well, if Marlene could get a second bite of the cherry why not this fella?..:|

Rowley to reappoint Le Hunte

COREY CONNELLY Wednesday, August 30 2017

PRIME MINISTER Dr Keith Rowley yesterday confirmed that Robert Le Hunte is a Trinidad and Tobago citizen and as such, will be re-appointed a senator and Minister of Public Utilities by the end of the week.

“He (Le Hunte) is a citizen of Trinidad and Tobago. Let me make that very clear. He is not a Ghanaian,” he told reporters during a tour of several major infrastructural projects in his Diego Martin West constituency.

Rowley’s confirmation of Le Hunte’s status came two days it was revealed through the Office of the Prime Minister that the career banker was a citizen of Ghana and unsuited to hold the position of Cabinet minister in this country.

Le Hunte was sworn in as a senator and public utilities minister last Thursday during a simple ceremony at President’s House, St Ann’s.

He replaced Rowley, who had held the position of public utilities minister after Port-of- Spain South MP Marlene Mc Donald was fired several months ago.

Rowley yesterday cleared the air on the matter, saying Le Hunte is a TT national who was on temporary assignment in Ghana.

“While he was there, he obtained in part of his residency and acceptance in the community, he obtained Ghanaian citizenship.” Rowley dismissed the recent faux pas surrounding Le Hunte’s appointment as a “communication glitch.” “There was a communication glitch in the handling of that development and by having that in place it offended our Constitution,” he said. “That is easily rectified and by him revoking his appointment to preserve his position in Trinidad and Tobago and qualify him to hold the office for which he has been selected for.” Asked if Le Hunte had provided him with details about his status a a TT citizen, Rowley told reporters: “I have just provided it.” Pressed to elaborate, he added: “I am saying it was a development that the communication which would have prevented it (appointment) from happening, the communication went awry and it has to be done over.

“ So, a few days of doing over and it will be all right. You couldn’t provide it before you knew what happened.” The Prime Minister made it clear that Le Hunte will be re-appointed “So, a rectification is taking place so that we comply with the requirements of the Constitution and it is my intention to re-appoint him as soon as that is done.

That will take 72 hours or thereabouts.”

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,248372.html

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » August 30th, 2017, 2:52 pm

^^ I'm sure he checking his guest list twice lol

Postby De Dragon » August 31st, 2017, 12:57 pm

Who ever heard of this Le Hunte before JUHN went to Ghana? JUHN and he jackarse "glitch" talk, mind you without any sort of explanation, seems to suggest incompetence at least. Mind you, all the flunkies responsible will feel no sanction for this latest embarrassment to the nation from this dotish, clueless PNM.

Postby matr1x » August 31st, 2017, 5:26 pm

They bot even hiding it anymore

Postby pete » August 31st, 2017, 5:47 pm

Why is having dual citizenship even a problem still? The number of Trinis who have gone abroad, gained a ton of knowledge and experience and can now make big improvements to our country but can't because they would have to give up their dual citizenship, is it really a good rule to still have in place?

10-01

Postby 10-01 » August 31st, 2017, 6:40 pm

friends have to get jobs ... by any means and ways ... ent

Postby Gladiator » August 31st, 2017, 7:08 pm

Postby Gladiator » August 31st, 2017, 7:10 pm

Gladiator wrote:Image

The Africans are angry

10-01

Postby 10-01 » August 31st, 2017, 7:22 pm

Gladiator wrote:

The Africans are angry

didnt rowley make a trip to Ghana when he jus won election ? wat was this trip for again ?

Postby De Dragon » August 31st, 2017, 8:31 pm

10-01 wrote:
Gladiator wrote:

The Africans are angry

didnt rowley make a trip to Ghana when he jus won election ? wat was this trip for again ?

Scarfy say we going and help dem wid dey oil and gyass. How did that work out again?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 31st, 2017, 8:38 pm

Le Hunte eventually gt...rowly make sure he sort out the glitch yes

Postby Dizzy28 » August 31st, 2017, 8:51 pm

pete wrote:Why is having dual citizenship even a problem still? The number of Trinis who have gone abroad, gained a ton of knowledge and experience and can now make big improvements to our country but can't because they would have to give up their dual citizenship, is it really a good rule to still have in place?

I actually disagree with the dual citizenship only because I believe in the primacy of the nation. We are fairly unique in allowing dual citizenship in the Caribbean as Jamaica amongst others doesn't allow it.

Either you with us or not.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » August 31st, 2017, 8:56 pm

pete wrote:Why is having dual citizenship even a problem still? The number of Trinis who have gone abroad, gained a ton of knowledge and experience and can now make big improvements to our country but can't because they would have to give up their dual citizenship, is it really a good rule to still have in place?

I actually disagree with the dual citizenship only because I believe in the primacy of the nation. We are fairly unique in allowing dual citizenship in the Caribbean as Jamaica amongst others doesn't allow it.

Either you with us or not.

hes not with us ... all the folks rowley has in his cabinet are friends & finances

10-01

Postby 10-01 » August 31st, 2017, 9:01 pm

21150113_1159109767567333_7018057458536023274_n.jpg

Postby rspann » August 31st, 2017, 10:03 pm

I could imagine how " Football " Hinds feeling tonight.

Postby matr1x » August 31st, 2017, 10:05 pm

#notmyprimeminister

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » September 1st, 2017, 9:39 am

i think this is fitting..

CALL ANGOLA, CALL ANGOLAAA
MAMA AFRICA-GOOOOLAAAAAA
CALL ANGOLAAA!!!

Postby timelapse » September 1st, 2017, 2:14 pm

You think obama coulda have dual citizenship?
In international dealings, dual citizenship is a conflict of interest.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » September 1st, 2017, 5:18 pm

International dealings like what exactly?

Many managers in private sector I have met have dual citizenship. If we really want the best to sort out issues in the Public Sector, we need little impediments as possible.

One above posted job for the boys, their truth be told I am almost certain the perks and salary Mr. Le Hunt earned in his banking profession, far outweighs the public purse he now holds. If we want to imply that as Public Utilities Minister a deal or deals that may be cut with Republic Bank or any bank. That is another matter.

In fact in this current economic environment Banks and Public Sector walk hand in hand, I can say for a fact that this has been so from 2007/8 to present day.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » September 1st, 2017, 11:49 pm

Give the man a chance . Is not like he went there and tried to become a citizen. It was a gift bestowed upon him for doing good for the country. And I cannot see how the country, Ghana will see it as a slap in the face. once he explains his situation.

I do hope he does some good and not a total waste like some of the other ministers .

kstt

Postby kstt » September 2nd, 2017, 12:52 am

http://www.mint.gov.gh/services/renunci ... tizenship/

RENUNCIATION OF GHANAIAN CITIZENSHIP
Requirements

Purchase of Renunciation form 13 from Ghana Mission Abroad or from the Ministry of the Interior, Accra, Ghana
An application letter, applying for renunciation of Ghanaian citizenship, addressed to the Minister for the Interior
Curriculum Vitae (CV)
Two (2) recent passport sized photographs
Copy of Ghanaian Passport (Bio Data Page)
Assurance letter from the country where applicant is acquiring new citizenship
Receipt of payment for Renunciation form (photocopy)
Please note that applicant will be required to surrender the Ghanaian Passport before handed the certificate.

Time Frame

Two (2) Weeks (After receipt of duly completed form)

Fees & Charges

Renunciation form 13 – GH₵1,200.00

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 2nd, 2017, 1:05 am

kstt wrote:http://www.mint.gov.gh/services/renunciation-of-ghanaian-citizenship/

RENUNCIATION OF GHANAIAN CITIZENSHIP
Requirements

Purchase of Renunciation form 13 from Ghana Mission Abroad or from the Ministry of the Interior, Accra, Ghana
An application letter, applying for renunciation of Ghanaian citizenship, addressed to the Minister for the Interior
Curriculum Vitae (CV)
Two (2) recent passport sized photographs
Copy of Ghanaian Passport (Bio Data Page)
Assurance letter from the country where applicant is acquiring new citizenship
Receipt of payment for Renunciation form (photocopy)
Please note that applicant will be required to surrender the Ghanaian Passport before handed the certificate.

Time Frame

Two (2) Weeks (After receipt of duly completed form)

Fees & Charges

Renunciation form 13 – GH₵1,200.00

you should post this on the PM face book page and ask if this is not breaking the law or some breech of the constitution ...

Postby Redman » September 2nd, 2017, 8:00 am

I agree...Devantvshould hire a lawyer...and deal with the law breakers....In Ghana

Postby zoom rader » September 2nd, 2017, 9:23 am

Don't worry Rowley will be employing more Africans nationals in his government and we will soon resemble one of those African failed countries

Postby matr1x » September 2nd, 2017, 9:32 am

Aren't we? I am actually thinking the fraud accusations in the election might be true. So many discrepancies.

Just like an African country

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 2nd, 2017, 10:58 am

matr1x wrote:Aren't we? I am actually thinking the fraud accusations in the election might be true. So many discrepancies.

Just like an African country

zoom rader wrote:Don't worry Rowley will be employing more Africans nationals in his government and we will soon resemble one of those African failed countries

97056d20616ca6d990a68676604d64294048c69b1e5a3e0b4bc5552a0e662272.jpg

Postby Dizzy28 » September 2nd, 2017, 10:59 am

So no one going raise the fact zoom pic is the Ghanaian flag??

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » September 2nd, 2017, 1:22 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:So no one going raise the fact zoom pic is the Ghanaian flag??

Ghana is pretty nice place . people is friendly and hardworking .

Postby rspann » September 2nd, 2017, 2:02 pm

They make him take down the Confederate flag, they say it racist.