Where we rioting?

Re: Where we rioting?

Postby sMASH » October 6th, 2017, 7:12 pm

There were about 1500 persons there probably about 20 of them with close links to UNC as an affiliation.
The majority of the affiliations were not politically aligned.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » October 6th, 2017, 7:15 pm

Lies! the whole ma pau group is unc they might be pnm looking but unc controlled,surprising I ain't see their fellow employee devant maraj amongst them

Postby sMASH » October 6th, 2017, 7:23 pm

He was there... Milling about.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » October 6th, 2017, 7:24 pm

Well Yuh see
And sherry persad is kamla's cousin ,so this whole sunny group is unc controlled

Postby sMASH » October 6th, 2017, 7:38 pm

But 100% tax.... Say his bread line business

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » October 6th, 2017, 7:43 pm

No eh the tax was 12000 ,for one casino machine but they will pay for ten then move in more afterward,same thing they do at the bars where a machine was 3000 a year they will pay for a few then add more after inspection,sometimes they remove all the machines until inspection has passed and the proprietor gets his alcohol licenses then they return and put machines,
Robbing our country it rightful due!
So now it's doubled to keep them in check till legislation is passed
This legislation will give government access to their books so they can tax actual profit,the new legislation also secure the workers' jobs.
Check the proposed act ,it's on the parliament channel
Last edited by megadoc1 on October 6th, 2017, 7:43 pm, edited 2 times in total.

kstt

Postby kstt » October 6th, 2017, 7:47 pm

megadoc1 wrote:Lies! the whole ma pau group is unc they might be pnm looking but unc controlled,surprising I ain't see their fellow employee devant maraj amongst them

For the record when unc was in government they couldn't even get a demonstration of support like that going with their own supporters

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » October 6th, 2017, 8:54 pm

Every body is seeking his own interest now but when is time for a child to be weaned off the breast milk,they will kick a fuss for a little while

boxy

Postby boxy » October 6th, 2017, 9:03 pm

sMASH wrote:When u see business start to fold up, government mighten eVen get back enough in VAT cause so many people will be Cashless.

The government will be well set, the citizen will not.

To feed the people, they would need work. The economy would need stimulation. This regime of tax solutions will prove to strangle the economy

More people would be pushed under the poverty line, and the badly off will be even worse.

What PNM is doing, is seeking the benefit of the government agencies at the expense of the working class.

When he spoke about spreading the burden on every body, it !will all end up reducing the purchasing power of the working class.

Like when America had trickle down economics, this is trickle down taxation; all will eventually wrote the livelihood of the lower strata
The economy is already strangled though is it that u are so accustomed to something that u believe it is your right as a citizen to enjoy subsidized transport water electricity travel between trinidad and tobago via air and sea gas education. Almost every sector imaginable is subsidized by the government. The same tax u bawling for is going back towards supporting these subsidized items to prevent a bigger fallout than what happen in POS today. I see people clamoring and bawling about tax tax no more tax then what u want them to do borrow more money to fund nice living in a country that can't afford it? The finance minister is a total muffler bearing I agree and personally after he spoke to the business community in that condescending manner Rowley should have fired him but realistically UNC would have had no other choice but to make the same measures a reality. How else do u fund an economy I have yet to hear actual solutions. While actual certified economist have agreed to most measures

Postby sMASH » October 6th, 2017, 11:11 pm

megadoc1 wrote:Every body is seeking his own interest now but when is time for a child to be weaned off the breast milk,they will kick a fuss for a little while

Hoss, when people out of a wuk, how in pastafari name will they feed their children, far less for paying the PNM property tax?

Hoss these measures are simply more people under turnovers line, and those new people are forcing those already there, even lower.

The government has taken measures to satisfy it self, st the expense of the lowest class citizen, those least able to fend themselves.

True we needed to be warned off, but u for do that when the child is starving.

But AI

Postby sMASH » October 6th, 2017, 11:25 pm

Boxy, the only freeness I ever indulged in was a thrist with gate A decade ago.

If u check back in would see that i was all for removing subsidies and letting market forces determine what the ticket cost.

I was vehemently admonished and schooled by the resident PNM champions platoon, that first world has mas transits systems and subsidised public transport and all sorts of niceties that PNM wanted to peddle.

I say let the fleckin water taxi and see bridge charge the ticket to fund itself. Then u would see how profitable it is. If people need it, they would use it, and it would prove pertinence.
If it cannot sustain itself, then there was some alternative more competitive solution. Either way u learn what is most efficient.

Now, when the least able to sustain themselves who could use a bit of aid, have even more demanded from them, this is absurd.
This is not the time to make it harder for the smaller citizen.

When u take food from people's mouths, u will have to pay double that amount later on.
Once to feed them in jail, and the second time to feed the officer to arrest them

Postby streetbeastINC. » October 6th, 2017, 11:30 pm

how long has pnm been in power ??
how long has unc been in power ??
how long has nar been in power??

who had the most amount of time and finances to have adjusted and set the economy correct via diversification????

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » October 6th, 2017, 11:31 pm

Smash
The only problem I have with what you are saying is that is "either Yuh handle we or we will turn criminals" no country should be even considering such a delima

Postby sMASH » October 6th, 2017, 11:35 pm

Hoss, I don't really care about decorum. I like how rowdey Rowley piper does conduct it.

The belt should be tightened on those cockamimi hairbrain infrastructure schemes the launching ludicrous amounts of money into, instead to making it harder for a simple person to buy a bread or a use a bank service.

If u is a Christian, u might remember the stories about Joseph with the Egyptian pharaohs, how they saved up grain in the good times and was able to use it when the bad times came.

When the bad times came, the gave the citizens grain to have sumting to eat, they didn't Demand more taxes for the layperson for the same amount of food.

I I can understand that the government is in bed times, I don't understand why they will undertake sterile infrastructure projects at this time.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 6th, 2017, 11:57 pm

Word on the ground is Monday go have more people

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » October 7th, 2017, 12:11 am

Anybody could tell me why we don't use boats such as these for transport between Trinidad and Tobago?

Seems a rather affordable option? Is it a matter or safety, time or volume of people using the sea bridge etc?

One wonders if it wasn't so cheap to go Tobago if people wouldn't go and abuse it so often?

Seems like we could never have an efficient sea/air bridge between the two islands

Zetski

Postby Zetski » October 7th, 2017, 12:15 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Word on the ground is Monday go have more people

Yuh like too much bacchanal..

Postby sMASH » October 7th, 2017, 5:58 am

megadoc1 wrote:Smash
The only problem I have with what you are saying is that is "either Yuh handle we or we will turn criminals" no country should be even considering such a delima

That is is how things are. U cannot, as a human, sit and starve, while food is right there

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 7th, 2017, 7:15 am

Redress10 wrote:Anybody could tell me why we don't use boats such as these for transport between Trinidad and Tobago?

Seems a rather affordable option? Is it a matter or safety, time or volume of people using the sea bridge etc?

One wonders if it wasn't so cheap to go Tobago if people wouldn't go and abuse it so often?

Seems like we could never have an efficient sea/air bridge between the two islands

why I'd tell you why, rohani et al would find it difficult for ah padna to tender big which would allow him to eat ah food..

boxy

Postby boxy » October 7th, 2017, 7:34 am

sMASH wrote:Hoss, I don't really care about decorum. I like how rowdey Rowley piper does conduct it.

The belt should be tightened on those cockamimi hairbrain infrastructure schemes the launching ludicrous amounts of money into, instead to making it harder for a simple person to buy a bread or a use a bank service.

If u is a Christian, u might remember the stories about Joseph with the Egyptian pharaohs, how they saved up grain in the good times and was able to use it when the bad times came.

When the bad times came, the gave the citizens grain to have sumting to eat, they didn't Demand more taxes for the layperson for the same amount of food.

I I can understand that the government is in bed times, I don't understand why they will undertake sterile infrastructure projects at this time.
The programs though it may seem dumb and corruption laden unfortunately stimulates the economy by creating jobs. While creating valid infrastructure for citizens/tourists to enjoy.
As opposed to investing in food cards and other social programs that encourage people who are able bodied to sit down home and receive handouts.

On the other point u made about saving grain Manning started that program with the HSF. The money that was used to save was from taxes like property tax and Income taxes as well as oil revenues. Guess what people don't like to pay tax so they avoid them as the minister in the ministry of finance said professionals who make the most like doctors lawyers etc evade taxes and the working class is taxed relentlessly (her words) Now we in a bind since the Start of 2015 and we are well into the beginning of 2018. And the people who evading taxes made to feel it and the few complaining work directly for the actual tax evaders u think those casino workers come out to protest just so? They were told allyuh have the day off from work show up today by the waterfront to save allyuh job cause if the tax occurs we go close down.
Devant Maharaj was front and center in that protest.
A fisherman on TV saying it go cost him $40,000 extra a month to go out at sea now that diesel raise. He make me feel like I went to school only in August for my whole life.

Postby zoom rader » October 7th, 2017, 8:04 am

A weak bunch of Trinis. They will sit and take anything that PNM throws at them . If this UNC that presented this budget then all held would have broken loose. Wide spread looting would be in full effect

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » October 7th, 2017, 8:12 am

boxy wrote:
sMASH wrote:Hoss, I don't really care about decorum. I like how rowdey Rowley piper does conduct it.

The programs though it may seem dumb and corruption laden unfortunately stimulates the economy by creating jobs. While creating valid infrastructure for citizens/tourists to enjoy.
As opposed to investing in food cards and other social programs that encourage people who are able bodied to sit down home and receive handouts.

On the other point u made about saving grain Manning started that program with the HSF. The money that was used to save was from taxes like property tax and Income taxes as well as oil revenues. Guess what people don't like to pay tax so they avoid them as the minister in the ministry of finance said professionals who make the most like doctors lawyers etc evade taxes and the working class is taxed relentlessly (her words) Now we in a bind since the Start of 2015 and we are well into the beginning of 2018. And the people who evading taxes made to feel it and the few complaining work directly for the actual tax evaders u think those casino workers come out to protest just so? They were told allyuh have the day off from work show up today by the waterfront to save allyuh job cause if the tax occurs we go close down.
Devant Maharaj was front and center in that protest.
A fisherman on TV saying it go cost him $40,000 extra a month to go out at sea now that diesel raise. He make me feel like I went to school only in August for my whole life.

Nice ! most people don't know how much control the unc have over that ma pau crew,that's devant's personal protest crowd for hire

boxy

Postby boxy » October 7th, 2017, 8:22 am

zoom rader wrote:A weak bunch of Trinis. They will sit and take anything that PNM throws at them . If this UNC that presented this budget then all held would have broken loose. Wide spread looting would be in full effect

That is a very unreasonable statement to make. I voted PP when they won and if measures needed to be taken to prevent us from seeing the IMF then I would have grumbled and accepted it.. Then again they did pretend we were never in a recession and didn't hold back the spending in their last year in office so u may be right the UNC would have never made anyone aware of our situation and continue to borrow to fund our nice living. To appease the base. And continue to make Mother Kamla a marter/Devi in the eyes of the public.
So no property tax no vat on 7000 food items and borrow on the notion that another war will break out in the middle east for oil to raise.

When I saw Devan Maharaj front and center on TV amongst the Ma Pau workers the first thing I say to myself is he going to see if he could take the govt to court like the other 20 times he tried and failed. Even going as far as Jerrymandering to get the same judge over and over.

Postby sMASH » October 7th, 2017, 8:41 am

I didnt know about devant and the ma pau thing. Now I kniw.

U are correct, I knew one of the casino workers there, they did have to go up.
But they weren't forced. They see the job that they had, being made redundant in order for the business to remain profitable. It may be a compounded effect of an unscrupulous business owner, but the workers have no other employment prospects. For what ever reason, the goverment tax them out, more the employer profit margin them out, they NEED the job.

And the trigger for the sequence of events that may lead up to them being on the bread line is the increased tax regime.

I understand what u all are saying, the goverment is taking measures to ensure it remains alfoat. I see it.
Overall it is the economic thing to do.

What I am saying is for the menial worker with little employability, where else will they get an income from?
When u take away the pitons from the people who can only earn pitons, how u expect them to live?

Don't watch it from the perspective of the finance minister and the business men soap opera, look at it from the perspective of a person who barely able to pass maths and English but still have to live, and probably mind a family, and are being out competed for menial jobs by persons with a lot more capabilty, in a shrinking job market, by a contacting economy.

This tax regime displaces the vocationally challenged.

Postby sMASH » October 7th, 2017, 9:05 am

The cockamimi schemes are not good value for money at the end of the day. Ur creating projects, with little economic return using up our liquidity to create jobs. And to get through liquidity, ur increasing taxation which will put people put of jobs. And the people who out of jibs, may not have the skills set to take up mixing concrete.

All it is, is a measure to spend more, and offer their preferred investors to get contracts.

If they so want to do projects and share out contrscts, do it the highways for pt fortain to mayaro, and hospitals.

Think about this, when a supplier from south has to get goods to tobago, how much more time, ware and tare, be spent in moving goods from south to PoS compared to South to toco?

When the roads mash up, how much more maintenence cost will have to be absorbed by the small supplier?
When u get a weather system rolling into Trinidad from the north east, what would be the effects on the coast, the roads and the mountains?

It have a reason sea farers built ports on the lee ward side than the windward side when the option was there.

Then u want to go to ecotourism, but putting a highway close to a world renowned savanna and world renowned endangered turtle nesting region.

By 2020 the petrochemical industry's suppose to pick back up a good bit, opec would continue to cause prices to raise, we would be financially better of. We don't need to go so harsh, we can ride it out a bit.

Instead of taxing banks, they could have told them to offer low interest and no intersting loans for business start ups. Let people be encouraged to do sumting, especially in arts craft and agriculture and torusim. This way u keep people employed and off of the bread line. The extra business will circulate right there, where food card will not be vital.

Everybody making their own little slice of the pie.

That would be less demand plsce on the goverment.

Postby sMASH » October 7th, 2017, 9:07 am

When u raise taxes,ur putting people out of work, and not offering an alternative

boxy

Postby boxy » October 7th, 2017, 9:24 am

I read your post in entirety and you seem to be favoring the vocational challenged more than the casino owners I admire that but let's take it from this perspective the vocational challenged work for these people pay them minimum wage and make hundreds of millions of dollars in untaxed dollars as opposed to let's say kfc whose workers may also be of that demographic let's use the dotish term the casino association used "single mothers" and kfc/prestige holding pays their dues. The double taxation is to hit them for six for being unregulated and making millions since they started comming into existence in the early 2000's remember Manning wanted to get rid of the industry altogether? They have been raping our country and sending their profits out of the country IN USD and they benefit nobody but themselves other than donate or sponsoring a carnival band here or there. I also hate to hear about people who don't hav. A skill or can't mix cement. The government past and present offers free short courses in all trades down to cake decorating there is also YTEPP still going strong they offer free courses in agriculture what else people want again?

On the banks the govt can't tell the banks to reduce their interest rates as they all answer to shareholders they can probably do that with FCB as they are the majority there. The only thing they can do is offer a subsidy through the banks which is what was proposed in the budget for people to access the 2% mortgage program through the banks. And yet again it is a subsidy which the govt has to absorb.
Businesses in Trinidad have become wholey dependant on govt they will never make a move to have actual competition in this country the banks are literally are cartel where we chose the lesser of evils to bank with.

Postby sMASH » October 7th, 2017, 9:59 am

Raping the country, pricemart Raping our country too. Any business that gets USd preferentially 'managed' in their direction is Raping the country.

The attainment of skills is importsnt, if u don't have the capital to effect them, then it is of no use.

They need to work together if the are to work at all.

This isn't the good time to hit them for six. That should have happened before 2015. But many things should have happened before 2015, and didnt. Now is not the time to place so much demand on them. Could have softened the blow a bit. Because ur getting a barage of equity demands with a potential income loss.

Basically, this goverment ain't business bout the lower caste. And the former middle class will have to deal with higher crime rates, without the resources to protect against it like the upper class.

Postby sMASH » October 7th, 2017, 10:03 am

Our problem isn't unique and the solutions aren't a first off. Its so pedantic it's dumbfounding.

But, we vote for dat. Well take it as u gave it.

boxy

Postby boxy » October 7th, 2017, 11:13 am

sMASH wrote:Raping the country, pricemart Raping our country too. Any business that gets USd preferentially 'managed' in their direction is Raping the country.

The attainment of skills is importsnt, if u don't have the capital to effect them, then it is of no use.

They need to work together if the are to work at all.

This isn't the good time to hit them for six. That should have happened before 2015. But many things should have happened before 2015, and didnt. Now is not the time to place so much demand on them. Could have softened the blow a bit. Because ur getting a barage of equity demands with a potential income loss.

Basically, this goverment ain't business bout the lower caste. And the former middle class will have to deal with higher crime rates, without the resources to protect against it like the upper class.
Guess what hoss they couldn't get hit for six because the then Minister of Transport Devant Maharaj has a stake in the second most popular casino in the country why would they shoot themselves in their own foot?
Secondly the legislation has been dragging on since last year through a JSC a year where they had to come together with stakeholder to determine how they can be regulated. Of course they will drag it cause the longer it takes the more money they can make. I hear u and I wanted more out of this like when u tax big companies put things in place so the small man doesn't feel it like the banks put legislation in place to put a cap on how they can raise their fees but then again this is a capitalist scheme so they will claim oppression and tyranny. Wait that's already happening with everyone else.
Damn in the eyes of the population if u do now damn even worse by the IMF and the population if u dont later on.
I honestly don't see a clear road here nah. I will always continue to say the UNC is happy as a mother f*ker that they in opposition so they don't have to deal with this