WTK how to get currency from our banks

ak0202

Re: Wtk: Has anyone been able to purchase US recently from any legal institution?

Postby ak0202 » November 17th, 2017, 7:16 pm

100usd

Re: Wtk: Has anyone been able to purchase US recently from any legal institution?

Postby Dizzy28 » November 17th, 2017, 7:43 pm

What's the advantage of a VTM card to a CC??

Postby redmanjp » November 17th, 2017, 7:52 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:What's the advantage of a VTM card to a CC??

Its prepaid so you don't spend out yuh whole salary and cyah pay the cc bill after
Because of that any person getting hold of it could only spend what's on it
No fees except for a 1% charge per transaction

Postby redmanjp » November 17th, 2017, 7:54 pm

But is now self i going and top up meh vtm card before they stop that too :shock: and especially since Black Friday is next week.

car

Postby car » November 17th, 2017, 8:04 pm

Just now they will say usd on the cc side disable.

Postby nervewrecker » November 17th, 2017, 10:51 pm

car wrote:Just now they will say usd on the cc side disable.

well i'll be handing them back their card

Postby MaxPower » November 17th, 2017, 11:35 pm

100 usd a day with republic VTM.

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » November 17th, 2017, 11:39 pm

^^that is ur us or they giving that ??

Energy0091

Postby Energy0091 » November 18th, 2017, 5:27 am

ak0202 wrote:
Energy0091 wrote:
ak0202 wrote:I loaded my vtm lastnight with no problem

This is through online banking I'm sure. You won't have any problems there. I'm speaking of in branch loading.

Yes @ online banking

are there any limits to how much you can load on the VTM card via online banking?

A few months ago the limit was $500USD a day, now it's $100 per day.

Postby pugboy » November 18th, 2017, 8:14 am

Is the street price $8 now ?

Energy0091

Postby Energy0091 » November 18th, 2017, 8:30 am

pugboy wrote:Is the street price $8 now ?

TBH you not even getting on the street.

Postby *KRONIK* » November 18th, 2017, 8:33 am

pugboy wrote:Is the street price $8 now ?

A while now
I know rel men buying and selling at $8

Postby Ted_v2 » November 18th, 2017, 8:51 am

Yeah that's the price. Theres a couple people floating them around.

Hear this story tho. I went in a store in penal and was purchasing some clothes. They buy in bulk and ship in containers from big box stores. Bought a pants and got 20usd and a few singles usd.

What you thibk. That's a way of shipping money or something?

Postby pugboy » November 18th, 2017, 8:53 am

Must be secondhand clothes lol

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 18th, 2017, 9:04 am

Presently in mia and the unit trust vtm working fine

Postby Chimera » November 18th, 2017, 10:46 am

pugboy wrote:Must be secondhand clothes lol

lol yup

Postby 88sins » November 18th, 2017, 11:32 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:
pugboy wrote:Must be secondhand clothes lol

lol yup

was actually surprised to discover there was actually a market for used clothes some time ago

car wrote:Just now they will say usd on the cc side disable.

not likely, but possible.
The fact that limits & restrictions are being enacted by the commercial banks for small amounts of USD is a very telling tale. But it's like putting a single hello kitty band aid on a person that having a heart attack. The real critical issues that could at least stem the problem remain largely ignored.

Online shopping & debit card issues aside, I'll say this:
This is gonna be one hard green guava Christmas into 2018 for a whole lotta ppl in dis place.

car

Postby car » November 18th, 2017, 11:49 am

So when u buy something with cc or vtm card does the bank need physical usd to pay for the item or is it just numbers being moved around?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 18th, 2017, 12:33 pm

car wrote:So when u buy something with cc or vtm card does the bank need physical usd to pay for the item or is it just numbers being moved around?

VTM is in USD, so the conversion, if any, happens when you load the card. If you have USD to put on the card then there is no conversion.

See here for an over-simplified explanation:
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=715514&p=9627726&hilit=currency#p9627704

The US$ currency still needs to be bought in order to change your TT$ into US$. But in order to sell TT$, you need to sell it to someone who wants it. Only people who want to buy stuff in TT$ will want TT$

It's more complex that just that though.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » November 18th, 2017, 3:02 pm

Plenty of our USD problems stem from the influx of chinese, "venezuelan" and syrian immigrants. All these person earn ttd but repatraite their monies in usd hence the new shortage. This is not an oil and gas problem etc.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » November 18th, 2017, 3:04 pm

All government has to do is increase the limit that tourist are allowed to bring in undeclared and we good to go. Christmas and Carnival coming up.

Postby Chimera » November 18th, 2017, 4:32 pm

Redress10 wrote:Plenty of our USD problems stem from the influx of chinese, "venezuelan" and syrian immigrants. All these person earn ttd but repatraite their monies in usd hence the new shortage. This is not an oil and gas problem etc.

I think most of the problem is drug money. Sometime last year they hold a man in san juan with 500k usd cash and a gun. Then it have the millions in usd they find on the port

Postby ismithx » November 18th, 2017, 6:50 pm

I loaded 50 USD friday like normal

Postby 88sins » November 18th, 2017, 8:29 pm

Redress10 wrote:Plenty of our USD problems stem from the influx of chinese, "venezuelan" and syrian immigrants. All these person earn ttd but repatraite their monies in usd hence the new shortage. This is not an oil and gas problem etc.

That's a material part of the problem, but there's a bigger one than that.
We've encouraged foreign investors & corporations from the U.S., E.U. & Asia to come here & set up shop. these people bring in USD when they come in to invest & start their operations here. Excellent, forex coming in via foreign investors, yay, we're saved think the simple politicians & their hoodwinked loyals.
Now, these entities expect an ROI & plan to profit from doing business here, & of that profit much of it goes back to their parent company. & these parent companies ain't got no need, desire or use for TTD.

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » November 18th, 2017, 9:25 pm

Yes this has become very troubling imagine even if you’re the holder of a US dollar account when you attempt to withdraw the same US you can’t get it

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 18th, 2017, 11:35 pm

kg494EJ-1 wrote:Yes this has become very troubling imagine even if you’re the holder of a US dollar account when you attempt to withdraw the same US you can’t get it

that's frustrating
You give them your US$ to hold, they charge you fees for the account which are far more than the interest earned and then when you want to withdraw your money they tell you it is not available right away.

Postby RedVEVO » November 18th, 2017, 11:42 pm

kg494EJ-1 wrote:Yes this has become very troubling imagine even if you’re the holder of a US dollar account when you attempt to withdraw the same US you can’t get it

that's frustrating
You give them your US$ to hold, they charge you fees for the account which are far more than the interest earned and then when you want to withdraw your money they tell you it is not available right away.

The Bank will give you the USD .

You just need to tell them and within a few days they will have it ready.

Which Bank giving you the round about turn ?

Postby Ted_v2 » November 23rd, 2017, 8:42 pm

Not used clothes, brand new stuff. All tags and labels were intact.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 23rd, 2017, 11:25 pm

RedVEVO wrote:

that's frustrating

UTC isn't giving more than 250us on your us dollar account.anything more they will give you a check to cash at the bank according to thier forex availability

Postby Chimera » November 24th, 2017, 4:49 am

RedVEVO wrote:

that's frustrating

Not if it's thousands of usd. They are forcing you to cash out in tt if you want physical cash