Good workers

Zetski

Re: Good workers

Postby Zetski » January 29th, 2018, 9:25 pm

Nah... root of problems comes down from the CEO/Owner... because a lot of them hire managers to run their business/company and not actually involved in their own thing... so they just collect money at d end of d day and vacation all over d world.. doh blame d employers because d man in charge not setting an example.

Postby desifemlove » January 30th, 2018, 2:35 am

Zetski wrote:Nah... root of problems comes down from the CEO/Owner... because a lot of them hire managers to run their business/company and not actually involved in their own thing... so they just collect money at d end of d day and vacation all over d world.. doh blame d employers because d man in charge not setting an example.

lol. shut it. what do you know of good wuk? you iz jus IT guy in UTT.

Postby zoom rader » January 30th, 2018, 3:01 am

desifemlove wrote:
Zetski wrote:Nah... root of problems comes down from the CEO/Owner... because a lot of them hire managers to run their business/company and not actually involved in their own thing... so they just collect money at d end of d day and vacation all over d world.. doh blame d employers because d man in charge not setting an example.

lol. shut it. what do you know of good wuk? you iz jus IT guy in UTT.
Says a girl who lives on the dole

Postby desifemlove » January 30th, 2018, 1:00 pm

Lol. Ok. Prove it. You jus on ojt. I never gave been

Monkey_Supreme

Postby Monkey_Supreme » January 30th, 2018, 3:21 pm

desifemlove wrote:Lol. Ok. Prove it. You jus on ojt. I never gave been

show me ur bobs an vegana plz

i luv u

i will kiss ur vegana for 2 hrs then stick my 1 feet pinus in ur vegana to make u happi

Postby zoom rader » January 30th, 2018, 4:11 pm

Monkey_Supreme wrote:

i luv u

i will kiss ur vegana for 2 hrs then stick my 1 feet pinus in ur vegana to make u happi
Lol WTF

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 30th, 2018, 6:52 pm

Monkey_Supreme wrote:

i luv u

LMFAO ROFL the fork I really read here :lol: :lol:

Postby The_Honourable » February 4th, 2018, 4:14 pm

IR laws causing low productivity

"Having worked in manufacturing for 47+ years, the present industrial relations laws are the greatest cause of indiscipline and low productivity in Trinidad. Once a worker gets a job, he/she falls in line with the culture, that means that once one is confirmed, it's almost impossible to get fired, so one does as little as possible at one's workplace.

"Constant absenteeism is also part of this culture. One has to have an aggressive well-managed Human Resource department constantly writing warning letters, which for small and medium firms can be a financial burden.

"Why is it that the same worker that is unproductive in Trinidad, once working in the US is a completely different person? My view is that the laws and culture in that country create a completely different work ethic. Basically, behaviour tolerated in Trinidad will cause the employee to be fired instantly if practised in the US.

"In my view therefore, Trinidad needs, for a start, to reform its industrial legislation (like what Emmanuel Macron is trying to do in France ) if it is to encourage people to invest and expand. There is a lot more that needs to be done, but that’s a first step.

"We need to remember Lee Kuan Yew’s comments in 1975 describing the Caribbean (but probably referring to Trinidad) as having a carnival mentality. We are very productive when it comes to partying. In fact, the development of Singapore from a poor backwater after the second world war, to one of the most developed nations in the world, is directly a result of his government model.

"Can we adopt his policies here? I doubt it. People are not prepared to sacrifice and there are serious cultural people differences that make it impossible.

"The IMF will help solve the problem when it does intervene, but they are an arm of Washington and the G7 group with no real interest in an equitable development policy.Two of my best friends from LSE (London School of Economics and Political Science), both senior economists, used to work there and in talking with them over the years, I was able to form my opinions as to the true aims of that organization.

"Finally, the medicine we need is like the old Buckley’s cough mixture ad—It tastes awful… but it works."

Source: http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2018-02- ... oductivity

Postby skylinechild » February 4th, 2018, 5:46 pm

The_Honourable wrote:IR laws causing low productivity

"Having worked in manufacturing for 47+ years, the present industrial relations laws are the greatest cause of indiscipline and low productivity in Trinidad. Once a worker gets a job, he/she falls in line with the culture, that means that once one is confirmed, it's almost impossible to get fired, so one does as little as possible at one's workplace.

"Constant absenteeism is also part of this culture. One has to have an aggressive well-managed Human Resource department constantly writing warning letters, which for small and medium firms can be a financial burden.

"Why is it that the same worker that is unproductive in Trinidad, once working in the US is a completely different person? My view is that the laws and culture in that country create a completely different work ethic. Basically, behaviour tolerated in Trinidad will cause the employee to be fired instantly if practised in the US.

"In my view therefore, Trinidad needs, for a start, to reform its industrial legislation (like what Emmanuel Macron is trying to do in France ) if it is to encourage people to invest and expand. There is a lot more that needs to be done, but that’s a first step.

"We need to remember Lee Kuan Yew’s comments in 1975 describing the Caribbean (but probably referring to Trinidad) as having a carnival mentality. We are very productive when it comes to partying. In fact, the development of Singapore from a poor backwater after the second world war, to one of the most developed nations in the world, is directly a result of his government model.

"Can we adopt his policies here? I doubt it. People are not prepared to sacrifice and there are serious cultural people differences that make it impossible.

"The IMF will help solve the problem when it does intervene, but they are an arm of Washington and the G7 group with no real interest in an equitable development policy.Two of my best friends from LSE (London School of Economics and Political Science), both senior economists, used to work there and in talking with them over the years, I was able to form my opinions as to the true aims of that organization.

"Finally, the medicine we need is like the old Buckley’s cough mixture ad—It tastes awful… but it works."

Please state the flip side to the coin....

you only saying employees are the issue...

what about employers who use contract work to get around of paying a decent salary and benefits.

face it... the only reason why companies pay NIS & health surcharge is cause it mandated by LAW.

there is nothing in law that states vacation needs to be a certain amount of days... all it says is vacation is left up to the employer- along with all other benefits....

my current contract states 6 sick days ...2 casual and 2 emergency... PER YEAR

tell me what illness can you recover from -- in less than the allotted time.???
how many personal stuff - specialist doc visits / embassy visits...etc - can you fit into those 2 casual days....??
same goes for emergencies......

so if youre under contract work ...youre screwed...

contract workers also feel the bad side of employers however they have to accept it.
employers may terminate workers due to large indiscretions - drug / substance abuse / etc - which is understandable --

however some smaller indiscretions are not punished.
when smaller indiscretions get out of hand the "peter pay for paul law" steps in...

example - set of co workers constantly coming late.... one get fired...see how quick the rest fall in place... and the one that fired since he under contract - no sort of benefits not even severance.

good riddance ent ????

Postby zoom rader » February 4th, 2018, 6:10 pm

skylinechild wrote:

Please state the flip side to the coin....

you only saying employees are the issue...

what about employers who use contract work to get around of paying a decent salary and benefits.

face it... the only reason why companies pay NIS & health surcharge is cause it mandated by LAW.

there is nothing in law that states vacation needs to be a certain amount of days... all it says is vacation is left up to the employer- along with all other benefits....

my current contract states 6 sick days ...2 casual and 2 emergency... PER YEAR

tell me what illness can you recover from -- in less than the allotted time.???
how many personal stuff - specialist doc visits / embassy visits...etc - can you fit into those 2 casual days....??
same goes for emergencies......

contract workers also feel the bad side of employers however they have to accept it.
employers may terminate workers due to large indiscretions - drug / substance abuse / etc - which is understandable --

when smaller indiscretions get out of hand the "peter pay for paul law" steps in...

example - set of co workers constantly coming late.... one get fired...see how quick the rest fall in place... and the one that fired since he under contract - no sort of benefits not even severance.

good riddance ent ????
Companies don't pay nis and health surcharge, it's you that pay that from your your salary .

I said long ago we have primitive labour laws that are controlled by and in favour of big bussiness.

Employees are taken advantage of.

That article is nothing new. I said all that before.

The major problem of firing folk is that alot of them do not fit it. It's always a pull string which makes it harder to fire ppl.

It's all a bligh culture with family, political and friends employed.
Last edited by zoom rader on February 4th, 2018, 6:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby MaxPower » February 4th, 2018, 6:19 pm

Ok i agree employees are taken advantage of....

What happens if they get their demands? What happens when the employees are given the first priority?

What happens when its Carnival time?

Dunno who the fak allyuh foolin, treat workers good or bad, the mentality stays the same.

Postby zoom rader » February 4th, 2018, 6:31 pm

MaxPower wrote:Ok i agree employees are taken advantage of....

What happens if they get their demands? What happens when the employees are given the first priority?

Dunno who the fak allyuh foolin, treat workers good or bad, the mentality stays the same.
This is where an employer sets the company rules. Break those rules and then it's

A verbal discussion, break rules again then it's written warning after then it's an improvement plan. Fail that and it's termination.

Carnival it's simple and equal.
The employer gives a day off and the employees takes a casual or vacation day. I worked where this was the norm

Postby skylinechild » February 4th, 2018, 7:27 pm

MaxPower wrote:Ok i agree employees are taken advantage of....

This is where an employer sets the company rules. Break those rules and then it's

A verbal discussion, break rules again then it's written warning after then it's an improvement plan. Fail that and it's termination.

Carnival it's simple and equal.
The employer gives a day off and the employees takes a casual or vacation day. I worked where this was the norm

theres a solution to the bad workers issue.... let the Hr dept sort it out....

HR is there for a purpose not only to ensure ppl have jobs but to ensure those workers do the jobs and policies are enforced...

where i work the carnival policy is every worker works one hr extra - everyday for 2 weeks - before the carnival.

that way they get to stay home and dont get deduction in pay.

1 hr extra per day x 14 days = 14 hrs

if you were to work the 8 hrs each on carnival mon & tue : - 14 hrs ( actual working hrs is 7 hrs each day due to lunch hr)

but massa say yuh hadda wuk for carnival....ent ???

theres different solutions to every problem the issue is the relevant persons dont like to take action....and as a result... trinis take advantage... they get lazy and well...unproductive.

eazzy

Postby eazzy » February 5th, 2018, 1:47 am

The situation isn't hopeless, we just need training that works.

Have you ever been to the Trinidad Hyatt? Have you experienced how professionally the workers act there, and not just to 'white people and foreigners', but to everyone? Whatever Hyatt is doing is working, other companies should look to them for guidance.

In general, retail works provide good service in TT. Even first world countries have their share of poor customer service. Honestly it's worse, because a poor customer service experience in TT is just some dumbass who isn't trained properly, a poor customer service experience in Canada or US is a neurotic a-hole who is trying to make you miserable.

Postby Dizzy28 » February 6th, 2018, 3:40 pm

skylinechild wrote:

good riddance ent ????
Companies don't pay nis and health surcharge, it's you that pay that from your your salary .

I said long ago we have primitive labour laws that are controlled by and in favour of big bussiness.

The major problem of firing folk is that alot of them do not fit it. It's always a pull string which makes it harder to fire ppl.

The company is responsible for paying 2/3rd of the NIS contribution.
Health Surcharge is solely the employee's responsibility.

WRT to that Lee Kuan Yew Carnival statement, I have looked for its source and have not found it and even some Singaporeans I have asked do not know about it. Anyone knows where and it what context it was said?
It was referenced at a seminar a few years ago that IE Singapore held at Hyatt by a local speaker and the Regional Director for IE Singapore said that he actually does not think Lee Kuan Yew actually said it.

Postby zoom rader » February 6th, 2018, 3:58 pm

skylinechild wrote:

good riddance ent ????

The company is responsible for paying 2/3rd of the NIS contribution.
Health Surcharge is solely the employee's responsibility.

WRT to that Lee Kuan Yew Carnival statement, I have looked for its source and have not found it and even some Singaporeans I have asked do not know about it. Anyone knows where and it what context it was said?
It was referenced at a seminar a few years ago that IE Singapore held at Hyatt by a local speaker and the Regional Director for IE Singapore said that he actually does not think Lee Kuan Yew actually said it.
Read here for carnival mentally

http://www.outlish.com/the-trinbagonian ... ike-it-so/

Postby The_Honourable » January 9th, 2025, 12:13 pm

IDB Report: T&T productivity grows ‘significantly’ over last four years

THE productivity levels in Trinidad and Tobago have grown significantly over the last four years, according to a recently published report on Caribbean Economics by the Inter-American Development Bank.

The report is titled “Innovation for Faster Economic Growth in the Caribbean: Are We There Yet?”

“A key factor determining growth is productivity, the measure of efficiency by which firms can produce more with the same amount of resources. Productivity levels of firms in Trinidad and Tobago have significantly improved since 2021,” it stated,

The IDB stated that the Central Statistical Office (CSO) produces an Index of Productivity, defined as the volume of production divided by hours worked.

“The index shows significant gains over time, especially beginning in 2023, when the index for the non-energy sector increased from 4,129 in the first quarter of 2023 to 17,674 in the second quarter of 2024. Similarly, the Index of Productivity for the whole economy increased from 1,302 in the first quarter of 2023 to 5,230 in the second quarter of 2024,” it stated.

“These trends suggest that productivity improvement in the non-energy sector is outpacing the energy sector. Some sectors with relatively high productivity levels in Trinidad and Tobago include food processing, textiles and garments, and metal-related production,” it stated.

The IDB report highlighted that, in terms of GDP growth, the non-energy sector in Trinidad and Tobago has consistently outpaced the energy sector in growth since the start of the Covid-19 pandemic recovery in 2021, reflecting the higher productivity levels in the non-energy sector.

“GDP grew by 1.4% in 2023, with the energy sector contracting by 5.4% and non-energy sector, driving growth, expanding by 2.5%,” it stated.

The IDB stated that largest non-energy sector, wholesale and retail, which accounts for 21% of the economy, grew at an average quarterly rate of 8.1% from the first quarter of 2022 to the second quarter of 2024.

“The manufacturing sector (excluding energy), making up about 7% of the economy, grew at an average rate of 9.6% over the same period, while the finance and construction sectors, making up almost 7% and 5% of the economy, recorded average contractions of 1.2% and 1.8%, respectively. The energy sector contracted by an average quarterly rate of 2.5% from the first quarter of 2022 to the first quarter of 2024,” it stated.

The IDB report stated that a major contributing factor supporting productivity is human capital, as high levels of human capital contribute to greater creativity and innovation.

“In Trinidad and Tobago, levels of educational attainment are relatively high and surpass Caribbean averages. In 2022, Trinidad and Tobago was ranked 60th worldwide on the United Nations Development Programme’s Human Development Index with a score of 0.814, above the Latin America and the Caribbean average of 0.76 (UNDP, 2024). In fact, of the Trinidad and Tobago nationals in the United States, 56% have at least some college education compared to the Caribbean average of 52.3% (Figure 3). At the national level, in 2022, about 86% of men and 82% of women over the age of 25 in Trinidad and Tobago had at least some secondary education, compared to the Caribbean average of 74.6% for men and 70.6% for women (UNDP, 2024),” it stated.

However, the IDB said according to 180 firms in Trinidad and Tobago that responded to the Compete Caribbean Partnership Facility’s Innovation, Firm Performance, and Gender (IFPG) 2020 Survey, human capital remains one of the most important challenges to doing business.

“The top six obstacles, rated as ‘very severe’ or a ‘major obstacle,’ were access to finance in the form of collateral requirements (65% of respondents), an inadequately educated labour force (63%), customs and trade regulations (54%), corruption (44%), the macroeconomic environment (43%), and tax administration (42%),” it stated.

The IDB stated that the same survey has information on firms in the Caribbean that have taken measures to improve productivity.

“Some of the main forms of innovation analysed in the Regional Overview of this report include ‘general innovation’ (new or improved services or methods), ‘digital innovation’ (information technology), and ‘green innovation’ (energy efficiency and environmental sustainability). In fact, in the 13 countries surveyed in the Caribbean 40.5% engage in general innovation, 7.8% in digital innovation, and 50% in green innovation. In Trinidad and Tobago, the respective shares are 44.7%, 8.8%, and 47.4%,” it stated.

The IDB said in Trinidad and Tobago, some indicators related to technology and innovation improved between 2014 and 2020.

“For example, the share of firms reporting that they have groups of professionals dedicated to innovation increased from 5.3% in 2014 to 8.8% in 2020, while this trended in the opposite direction for the Caribbean a whole, falling from 10.2% in 2014 to 4.3%, which is of concern considering the gains that technology is making throughout the. On another measure of productivity and innovation, the share of firms in Trinidad and Tobago filing patents increased from 7.1% in 2014 to 11.4% in 2020, while this measure also improved across the Caribbean from 6.9% to 8.8% over the same period,” stated.

It highlighted the creation of the Ministry of Digital Transformation in July 2021, tasked with facilitating the delivery and consumption of goods and services through digital technology.

“Some of its main goals include increasing access to information and communications technology, improving digital literacy, achieving greater efficiency in governance, and supporting more opportunities for developers and entrepreneurs. The ministry launched the National Strategy for a DigitalTT: 2023–2026, built on the pillars of a digital society, economy, and government, with the objective of achieving a digital nation,” it stated.

“Some specific programs include the Developers’ Hub (D’Hub), which aims to support local software development by providing training and development opportunities; and AccessTT, which expands access to devices and technologies in underserved communities, among other objectives. Other initiatives include developing a Government Data Centre, which will centralise critical data, software, and digital infrastructure, and the E-Commerce Strategy 2024–2029, which will promote e-commerce nationally and internationally,” the IDB stated.

https://trinidadexpress.com/business/lo ... 7a864.html

Postby j.o.e » January 9th, 2025, 12:42 pm

The_Honourable wrote:IDB Report: T&T productivity grows ‘significantly’ over last four years

THE productivity levels in Trinidad and Tobago have grown significantly over the last four years, according to a recently published report on Caribbean Economics by the Inter-American Development Bank.

The report is titled “Innovation for Faster Economic Growth in the Caribbean: Are We There Yet?”

“A key factor determining growth is productivity, the measure of efficiency by which firms can produce more with the same amount of resources. Productivity levels of firms in Trinidad and Tobago have significantly improved since 2021,” it stated,

The IDB stated that the Central Statistical Office (CSO) produces an Index of Productivity, defined as the volume of production divided by hours worked.

“The index shows significant gains over time, especially beginning in 2023, when the index for the non-energy sector increased from 4,129 in the first quarter of 2023 to 17,674 in the second quarter of 2024. Similarly, the Index of Productivity for the whole economy increased from 1,302 in the first quarter of 2023 to 5,230 in the second quarter of 2024,” it stated.

“These trends suggest that productivity improvement in the non-energy sector is outpacing the energy sector. Some sectors with relatively high productivity levels in Trinidad and Tobago include food processing, textiles and garments, and metal-related production,” it stated.

The IDB report highlighted that, in terms of GDP growth, the non-energy sector in Trinidad and Tobago has consistently outpaced the energy sector in growth since the start of the Covid-19 pandemic recovery in 2021, reflecting the higher productivity levels in the non-energy sector.

“GDP grew by 1.4% in 2023, with the energy sector contracting by 5.4% and non-energy sector, driving growth, expanding by 2.5%,” it stated.

The IDB stated that largest non-energy sector, wholesale and retail, which accounts for 21% of the economy, grew at an average quarterly rate of 8.1% from the first quarter of 2022 to the second quarter of 2024.

“The manufacturing sector (excluding energy), making up about 7% of the economy, grew at an average rate of 9.6% over the same period, while the finance and construction sectors, making up almost 7% and 5% of the economy, recorded average contractions of 1.2% and 1.8%, respectively. The energy sector contracted by an average quarterly rate of 2.5% from the first quarter of 2022 to the first quarter of 2024,” it stated.

The IDB report stated that a major contributing factor supporting productivity is human capital, as high levels of human capital contribute to greater creativity and innovation.

“In Trinidad and Tobago, levels of educational attainment are relatively high and surpass Caribbean averages. In 2022, Trinidad and Tobago was ranked 60th worldwide on the United Nations Development Programme’s Human Development Index with a score of 0.814, above the Latin America and the Caribbean average of 0.76 (UNDP, 2024). In fact, of the Trinidad and Tobago nationals in the United States, 56% have at least some college education compared to the Caribbean average of 52.3% (Figure 3). At the national level, in 2022, about 86% of men and 82% of women over the age of 25 in Trinidad and Tobago had at least some secondary education, compared to the Caribbean average of 74.6% for men and 70.6% for women (UNDP, 2024),” it stated.

However, the IDB said according to 180 firms in Trinidad and Tobago that responded to the Compete Caribbean Partnership Facility’s Innovation, Firm Performance, and Gender (IFPG) 2020 Survey, human capital remains one of the most important challenges to doing business.

“The top six obstacles, rated as ‘very severe’ or a ‘major obstacle,’ were access to finance in the form of collateral requirements (65% of respondents), an inadequately educated labour force (63%), customs and trade regulations (54%), corruption (44%), the macroeconomic environment (43%), and tax administration (42%),” it stated.

The IDB stated that the same survey has information on firms in the Caribbean that have taken measures to improve productivity.

“Some of the main forms of innovation analysed in the Regional Overview of this report include ‘general innovation’ (new or improved services or methods), ‘digital innovation’ (information technology), and ‘green innovation’ (energy efficiency and environmental sustainability). In fact, in the 13 countries surveyed in the Caribbean 40.5% engage in general innovation, 7.8% in digital innovation, and 50% in green innovation. In Trinidad and Tobago, the respective shares are 44.7%, 8.8%, and 47.4%,” it stated.

The IDB said in Trinidad and Tobago, some indicators related to technology and innovation improved between 2014 and 2020.

“For example, the share of firms reporting that they have groups of professionals dedicated to innovation increased from 5.3% in 2014 to 8.8% in 2020, while this trended in the opposite direction for the Caribbean a whole, falling from 10.2% in 2014 to 4.3%, which is of concern considering the gains that technology is making throughout the. On another measure of productivity and innovation, the share of firms in Trinidad and Tobago filing patents increased from 7.1% in 2014 to 11.4% in 2020, while this measure also improved across the Caribbean from 6.9% to 8.8% over the same period,” stated.

It highlighted the creation of the Ministry of Digital Transformation in July 2021, tasked with facilitating the delivery and consumption of goods and services through digital technology.

“Some of its main goals include increasing access to information and communications technology, improving digital literacy, achieving greater efficiency in governance, and supporting more opportunities for developers and entrepreneurs. The ministry launched the National Strategy for a DigitalTT: 2023–2026, built on the pillars of a digital society, economy, and government, with the objective of achieving a digital nation,” it stated.

“Some specific programs include the Developers’ Hub (D’Hub), which aims to support local software development by providing training and development opportunities; and AccessTT, which expands access to devices and technologies in underserved communities, among other objectives. Other initiatives include developing a Government Data Centre, which will centralise critical data, software, and digital infrastructure, and the E-Commerce Strategy 2024–2029, which will promote e-commerce nationally and internationally,” the IDB stated.

https://trinidadexpress.com/business/lo ... 7a864.html

I feel like immigrants weren’t accounted for here. Cheap and productive

Postby redmanjp » January 9th, 2025, 2:04 pm

since 2021? that was the middle of the pandemic of course productivity grew since then- many businesses were rotating staff or completely closed (bars/restaurants/etc.).

Postby MaxPower » January 9th, 2025, 6:02 pm

Desifemlove on previous page yes.

Dead coco Memories