People with 2 or more Masters Degrees working lowly admin jobs?

urbandilema

Re: People with 2 or more Masters Degrees working lowly admin jobs?

Postby urbandilema » March 13th, 2018, 10:05 pm

But then again u got start to creep before you walk

Postby SR » March 14th, 2018, 6:17 am

Not everybody with a degree is actually "hireable". Many spent too much time in academics and zero practicality in the real world.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » March 14th, 2018, 6:29 am

Redress10 wrote:
Zetski wrote:Oh gorrr people ah just wanted to agitate him...

UWI only good for their research data in the natural sciences... my brother is a third year doing a Bsc in Maths in UWI...i mean that is d worst degree to do unless yuh want to teach and he does constantly complain about how bad and outdated UWI.. their standards below average of how a university supposed to be.

Hardluck bro....No harm meant.

The problem with UWI etc is that it never taught its students how to survive in the real world. Most global institutions create LEADERS out of their sutdents. These people possess critical thinking skills about the environment that they operate in. That's why we have so many graduates coming out of ALJ and yet still we have no business innovation or disruption taking place. Other MBA programs in the world create billionaires and multi millionaires out of their students and the companies they form etc.

Sidenote: Anyone who has not 1 but 2 masters and still concerned with just "finding a job" isn't serious about life. The main purpose of tertiary education is to increase the knowledge of the student. Take that knowledge and create something.

Nah. The purpose of tertiary ed iz to increase earning power.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 14th, 2018, 7:08 am

Increase knowledge...nooo way....I know real people with book sense and they dumb as fck...degree and masters only gives an edge in the work place and in some instances dictate the pay you get..

HSA

Postby HSA » March 14th, 2018, 7:12 am

2 degrees and working admin?? i say they lazy and suffering from erectile dysfunction

gencon

Postby gencon » March 14th, 2018, 7:14 am

Educated People better learn to work with your hands. I know a guy with a degree in engineering surveying was working as a security guard. Bills have to pay dawg.

Postby hydroep » March 14th, 2018, 7:27 am

It's also a status thing to say you have a Masters Degree which is why some people will do almost anything to get one. Just ask Wade Mark...:|

http://www.trinituner.com/v4/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=542593

Postby stev » March 14th, 2018, 7:43 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Increase knowledge...nooo way....I know real people with book sense and they dumb as fck...degree and masters only gives an edge in the work place and in some instances dictate the pay you get..

very sad but true...

the whole mindset behind doing a degree / masters these days is "more money".

not to mention entry level jobs asking for degree + 3 years working experience :lol: employers real sickening...and when u enter a job, the older heads insist on working till dey dead...no retirement / chances for the young.

i'm also seeing young people finishing university these days with the intent of opening their own business (which is great) but they are being crushed out of existence due to lack of experience in the corporate world.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » March 14th, 2018, 7:44 am

^^That can be blamed in part upon the aspirations of mostly middle class parents that has trickled down to the other demographics...AKA beta going big time univ in forin...

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » March 14th, 2018, 12:32 pm

stev wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Increase knowledge...nooo way....I know real people with book sense and they dumb as fck...degree and masters only gives an edge in the work place and in some instances dictate the pay you get..

very sad but true...

the whole mindset behind doing a degree / masters these days is "more money".

not to mention entry level jobs asking for degree + 3 years working experience :lol: employers real sickening...and when u enter a job, the older heads insist on working till dey dead...no retirement / chances for the young.

i'm also seeing young people finishing university these days with the intent of opening their own business (which is great) but they are being crushed out of existence due to lack of experience in the corporate world.

That's because their main purpose of studying was to become "employable" or to "find a wuk". If they studied to gain the knowledge then they reaslised that they could use that same knowledge for their own personal benefit. Studying isn't just about passing exams. If passing exams is the main focus then they would pass school and fail in life. I know many people who left school and started successful businesses. The formal education they received gave them an advantage over their competition. A normal person could sell doubles. A person with a business head and a formal business education could find 10 peoples to sell doubles for him and sit back and collect money. Education suppose to broaden ya horizon and how ya see things. I eh know what they doing wrong in this country.

Postby nervewrecker » March 14th, 2018, 8:05 pm

degree = partial waste of time.

lets move on....

Postby 88sins » March 16th, 2018, 7:13 pm

So desi, what make you feel working in an administrative position is a "lowly" job? You consider it "lowly" because of the level of their qualifications? There are lower means of existence.
Like sitting on their backside at home scratching their ballz/pegz expecting somebody to feed them & put a roof over their heads, or getting involved in criminal activity. Or having a masters degree & happily working slinging black garbage bags into the back of a truck.

Trini's does really get tie up with education tho. It doesn't matter if you have a PhD, an associates degree, or a school leaving certificate. Education should teach the student that they have to evolve their method of thinking & understanding from primitive thoughts to more mature & evolved methods, & apply that evolved thinking in their daily lives. Instead many study, get the documentation to prove they've studied, & not long that after all that they've learned fizzles away into nothing.
Imho, getting any advanced education is pointless & useless if you have no idea of what & where you want to be in your future & aren't in possession of the testicular fortitude required to do what must be done to get there. If you know in this day & age, how many new graduates are of the mistaken impression that because they have a degree they should now make more money than they could possible spend, & imagine their disappointment when they discover that ain't how this machine called life works.

Postby rspann » March 16th, 2018, 9:46 pm

This topic reminds me of someone who went CTS in Chaguanas and did a degree with one of their affiliates in the UK. Chap actually started getting on as though he was studying in farrin.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » March 17th, 2018, 2:25 pm

i was taught by the current CEO of RBC T&T in one course (Mr. Darryl White), many of the SBCS lecturers are well to do professionally, so they stand up in that way.

That Desi was taught by Daryl White may explain a whole lot.

Postby SR » March 18th, 2018, 12:17 pm

To be honest quite a few posters in this thread need a vacation

linton

Postby linton » March 18th, 2018, 12:21 pm

Anybody could help me translate the spanish in the sentence above?

Postby SMc » March 18th, 2018, 12:54 pm

^^SR say he want to ban yuh