Getting rid of pigeons?

Re: Getting rid of pigeons?

Postby Ted_v2 » April 14th, 2018, 7:13 am

So last night i found them on my roof, sprayed some wd40 at first and they didnt move, but when i actually got to where they are. All left, didnt see any yet.

Postby 88sins » April 14th, 2018, 10:23 am

so no stew pigeon & peas again? :cry:

lol jk, gtk.
hopefully they don't come back.
but on d flip side of that coin, if they don't come back by you, they going to distress somebody else in d neighborhood

Sundar

Postby Sundar » April 14th, 2018, 5:40 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:So last night i found them on my roof, sprayed some wd40 at first and they didnt move, but when i actually got to where they are. All left, didnt see any yet.

Hmmm Lil fish oil wuk den

Postby Ted_v2 » April 21st, 2018, 11:36 pm

Na, failure with that wd40.
came back the next day.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » April 21st, 2018, 11:47 pm

Get a cat

thefallengods

Postby thefallengods » April 22nd, 2018, 5:07 am

you can get those spikes. you see them in Europe and sheit. the only issue is aesthetics.

or have nets, which stop them from flying places.

cats won't do sheit, since they'll outfox/outmaneouvre any cat on the ground. only if the pidgeon is weak or sick, maybe they'll get it.

or, if it's safe, get a regular shooter/marksmen. or a hawk to sheit dem up.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » April 22nd, 2018, 8:15 am

Ted_v2 wrote:Na, failure with that wd40.
came back the next day.

Well there's always Bop and a Lil fire. ...... You could get a chicken Hawk?

Postby 88sins » April 22nd, 2018, 9:17 am

Ted_v2 wrote:Na, failure with that wd40.
came back the next day.

ah waitin on a pm, buh it eh reach yet

Postby pugboy » April 22nd, 2018, 10:26 am

The wires I put up wukking real good, the pigeons gone by the neighbor across the road now.

IMG_6464.JPG

Postby Ted_v2 » April 22nd, 2018, 12:40 pm

Lend meh a Pellet gun.

Going for some poison this week. Wet and dry some crack corn with it

Postby RedVEVO » April 30th, 2018, 2:03 pm

Kronik wrote:
rspann wrote:
pugboy wrote:I feel I might try one for the birds in my yard
They always pooping on vehicle

Bhagwansinghs has the fake owls ,but I saw one already the had poop all over it.

I saw one in Chaguanas on somebody house, head moving and everything, and about 10 pigeon liming right next to it not even taking it on

Agreed Grande man ..
Fake owls do not work ..

Pellet gun too expensive.
Poison bad for the environment.

Anybody have any REAL working solutions ?

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » April 30th, 2018, 2:16 pm

poison bait is the best option unless you want to use a live trap and kill them yourself. either that or you can mix up dry pepper and paint it on where they nest. also saw this gel thing that you can use to keep them away but it has to be reapplied every so often

Postby 88sins » April 30th, 2018, 6:13 pm

ah still waitin on dat pm.

Zetski

Postby Zetski » April 30th, 2018, 6:47 pm

Off topic but lately I am seeing a lot of dead pigeons on the roads these days...this is d first time I ever see this happen.

Postby 88sins » April 30th, 2018, 7:48 pm

Zetski wrote:Off topic but lately I am seeing a lot of dead pigeons on the roads these days...this is d first time I ever see this happen.

is a flu/virus that affects birds & happens more often than ppl think, but still not often enough to substantially reduce their numbers. Once it hits, it spreads fast & can wipe out the whole colony within days.

Postby 88sins » April 30th, 2018, 7:54 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
Kronik wrote:
rspann wrote:
pugboy wrote:I feel I might try one for the birds in my yard
They always pooping on vehicle

Bhagwansinghs has the fake owls ,but I saw one already the had poop all over it.

I saw one in Chaguanas on somebody house, head moving and everything, and about 10 pigeon liming right next to it not even taking it on

Agreed Grande man ..
Fake owls do not work ..

Pellet gun too expensive.
Poison bad for the environment.

Anybody have any REAL working solutions ?

because owls are not pigeons primary predators, but hawks are.
used to have about 8-10 hawks in my area, now I only seeing about 2. & is only when the number of hawks in the area dropped we started getting pigeon problems.

Postby RedVEVO » May 1st, 2018, 10:09 am

nivek wrote:Black pepper..will burn their airway when inhaled

Black pepper ?

Where you living ?

Postby Ted_v2 » May 1st, 2018, 12:45 pm

Crack corn ain't work at all. Maybe my mixture was slightly strong

Postby RedVEVO » May 1st, 2018, 12:54 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Crack corn ain't work at all. Maybe my mixture was slightly strong

What you soak crack corn with - JB ?

Even if you get a set of pigeons drunk and have your way with dem ..

More will come back :shock:

There HAVE to be a way to stop them from EVER returning :x

Postby Ted_v2 » May 1st, 2018, 12:59 pm

I bought something in the agro shop. Man swore by it. I mixed it up a bit stronger than what he said. Didnt let it dry properly and set out wet

Postby 88sins » May 1st, 2018, 1:46 pm

Ted, i starting to suspect u like dem flyin rats inno. hadda shoot dem if you want dem gone for good fast

Postby RedVEVO » May 1st, 2018, 11:27 pm

Looking @ some electronic devices - a technology based solution.

But the last time I do dat, de neighbor wife start to walk with a limp ..
And de chickens start running in a circle ..

Postby pugboy » May 2nd, 2018, 5:06 am

wires are the best, all mine gone by the neighbours

Postby RedVEVO » May 2nd, 2018, 5:32 pm

pugboy wrote:wires are the best, all mine gone by the neighbours

Using "spikes" instead of wire now ..

Postby pugboy » May 2nd, 2018, 7:07 pm

Use the 3m vhb tape
Not the regular grey one

Postby Ted_v2 » May 4th, 2018, 7:31 pm

lend me the gun or rent me it, ill gladly do it.

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » May 7th, 2018, 1:12 pm

Slightly off topic but I guess its a similarly relatable topic.

I have those annoying night birds that make a set of old noise. Heard someone call them jumbie birds. Not sure what is the right name or species of the bird.

**edit** I think its called Southern Lapwing (Vanellus chilenis)

I have an open yard with no trees or anything but they always on my lawn or in the road making one set of old noise from 6pm till morning. During they day they pass through but are quiet.

Any idea on what I could use or do?

Postby 88sins » May 7th, 2018, 4:08 pm

thelem-again wrote:Slightly off topic but I guess its a similarly relatable topic.

I have those annoying night birds that make a set of old noise. Heard someone call them jumbie birds. Not sure what is the right name or species of the bird.

I have an open yard with no trees or anything but they always on my lawn or in the road making one set of old noise from 6pm till morning. During they day they pass through but are quiet.

if u don't have neighbors close by you could set off a couple firecrackers during the night when the flocks land by you.

Postby RedVEVO » May 7th, 2018, 7:43 pm

thelem-again wrote:Slightly off topic but I guess its a similarly relatable topic.

Can you post a few photos of the birds ?

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » May 8th, 2018, 1:16 pm

RedVEVO wrote:

Can you post a few photos of the birds ?

Southern_Lapwing.jpg