Re: 1% Attacks stupid Holidays

Postby Rovin » June 2nd, 2018, 11:56 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
SR wrote:From a buisness perspective carnival is far worse than any 2 holidays in a week. From mid january until the week after carnival productivity level drops from workers and there is high levels of absenteeism. How come nobody complain about those 2 stupid NON public holidays.
The 1% don't see carnival as wasted days.

Just look who's who in Harts

This is because Carnival is a PNM thing, so to insult Carnival is to insult the PNM supporters since the Syrians run the PNM party.

reading all comments b4 watching who posted this i was 100% sure it was zoom yes ... :shock: ... :lol:

airuma

Postby airuma » June 2nd, 2018, 12:02 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:I think that was made from a business point of view. We have so many holidays and generally outside those holidays have some of the lowest productivity levels. Most business owners hate the fact there are so many holidays esp during low economic times. His commiwas taken out of context and has nothing to do with racial disparity or any 1% references.
It's small minded Trinidadians that can't see beyond their stupidity at the bigger picture.

This post is utter nonsense!
"Two stupid holidays in the middle of the week", I mean my grammar is not that good but "stupid" here seems to be the adverb that is describing the subject "holidays" which we all agree are referring to "Indian arrival day" and "Corpus Cristi".
If instead he said "Two holidays stupidly in the middle of the week" this would have been a better statement.
So my understanding is that he considers these holidays to be stupid which would be an insult to those who understand the significance of it.
Apart from that, these holidays are predictable, Indian arrival day is always May 30th and Corpus Cristi can be determined from Easter which can be determined from Carnival IIRC..... so since Carnnival these "business people" could have identified that these holidays would have occurred in succession and just before a Friday which means a very short work week.
Could they have done anything about it? IMHO, yes.... everybody loves a "big sale" but the problem is that this is also the end of the month, this is when the "business people" don't want to have a sale. The issue here is their rigidity and complacence but he chose to blame the holidays.
Yesterday I saw that USA starts the hurricane season with a 1 week tax holiday on items that are needed to prepare for hurricanes, lamps, batteries, generators etc. Does the business owners ever lobby for something like this in these "low economic times"?
Apart from that, Christmas and Carnival are the least productive times of the year, but economic activity is stimulated by these times so they will not be considered stupid by the business community.
Economic activity is also stimulated by Eid and Divali but no one prepares their home for guests for indian arrival day or Corpus Cristi.

Postby Rovin » June 2nd, 2018, 12:07 pm

it was a very rare occurrence that these 2 holidays happen to fall back to back & may not happen for a very long time again

i sure all of us has certain controversial opinions on issues but it doh mean we go jes go on social media & post whatever in our minds , i think we all know better than to do that but some ppl feel them is "IT" cause of their bank accts & social status so they feel they can go blurt out whatever they want

he suppose to have more sense & doh play u did mean loss of productivity or income , 2 days eh go kill u or cause ur business to loose so much $$$ , he come across like ah rel money satan & hater ... :| :| :|

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 2nd, 2018, 1:14 pm

We really do have too many stupid holidays doh

Trinis ain't have the work ethic to justify all these breaks/time off.

Brb , staying home on Friday because we had a holiday on Thursday

Postby De Dragon » June 2nd, 2018, 1:28 pm

So this Syrian kant riles up people about their holiday, then issues a statement through his company condemning the responses to his statement?

Postby 88sins » June 2nd, 2018, 2:35 pm

De Dragon wrote:So this Syrian kant riles up people about their holiday, then issues a statement through his company condemning the responses to his statement?

u feel he mad/dumb enuff to tell ppl they stupid & got no right to vex about his dumbass statement with his own mouth?
If d buffer stops buffering is a bumpy ride for everybody, 1% included

Postby The_Honourable » June 2nd, 2018, 3:13 pm

I recalled in a pro-pnm group last year, the topic was on holidays and productivity where the admin asked which holidays you would remove. Interestingly, the answers from group/page members were Corpus Christi and Indian Arrival Day.

Will try and see if i can find that post.

Postby shogun » June 2nd, 2018, 3:35 pm

LOL!!!!! Well well, look at this.....

Man, if only these words had come out of Trump's mouth instead? Then lots of his supporters in this ched, who are suddenly all vigilant and sensitive about "racist statements" when they get offended, couldn't say sh!t? Hell, some might even have gotten a few lolz and memes to post?

Bunch of epic hypocrites.

Postby De Dragon » June 2nd, 2018, 3:42 pm

shogun wrote:LOL!!!!! Well well, look at this.....

Man, if only these words had come out of Trump's mouth instead? Then lots of his supporters in this ched, who are suddenly all vigilant and sensitive about "racist statements" when they get offended, couldn't say sh!t? Hell, some might even have gotten a few lolz and memes to post?

Bunch of epic hypocrites.

ED woulda be beating that puncheon bad bad with he "neighbour"

Postby zoom rader » June 2nd, 2018, 4:02 pm

The_Honourable wrote:I recalled in a pro-pnm group last year, the topic was on holidays and productivity where the admin asked which holidays you would remove. Interestingly, the answers from group/page members were Corpus Christi and Indian Arrival Day.

PNM has been trying to get rid of injun arrival day for some time how. They even changed the name to arrival day and PP had to change it back.

Me I have no problem ditching injun arrival day but emancipation day must go aswell.

Postby mero » June 2nd, 2018, 4:06 pm

Trinis getting like them whiny faggoty Americans where everyone begging to be offended by something and deliberely taking everything out of context...

Allyuh know damn well the Syrian wasn't targeting Indians by his comment about the 2 holidays, yet here we are in this ched with the usual "victims" crying.

Postby MaxPower » June 2nd, 2018, 4:12 pm

GET TO WORK T&T...always want a excuse to stay home..

Its not like some ah allyuh wouldve come to work anyhow.

Postby shogun » June 2nd, 2018, 4:14 pm

ZR, complaining about "racist statements"

Let that sink in...

Postby mero » June 2nd, 2018, 4:20 pm

Average wrote:Know what's worse than his comments? The ones who suck up to his type.
What about the ones on 2nr such as yourself who constantly begging for white people to come rule over us and for us to be re-colonized?

fatboy slim

Postby fatboy slim » June 2nd, 2018, 4:37 pm

I'am sure everyone who's commenting on this topic were thankful for those 2 holidays. 8)

Postby zoom rader » June 2nd, 2018, 5:54 pm

shogun wrote:ZR, complaining about "racist statements"

Let that sink in...

Hey it's ok for diggers and coolees to b.itch with each other but not these Arabs.

This the same guy that shot a pizza delivery guy with a hand pellet pistol in his butt about 20 years ago.

This is the same guy that was caught riding an unlicensed and uninsured motor bike, a Ducati .

This the same guy that called port workers monkeys for damaging his stuff .

This guy also failed at drag racing about 20 years

This the same guy tried road cycling and promoted himself to a higher category and got kicked out .

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » June 2nd, 2018, 6:26 pm

The_Honourable wrote:I recalled in a pro-pnm group last year, the topic was on holidays and productivity where the admin asked which holidays you would remove. Interestingly, the answers from group/page members were Corpus Christi and Indian Arrival Day.

PNM has been trying to get rid of injun arrival day for some time how. They even changed the name to arrival day and PP had to change it back.

Me I have no problem ditching injun arrival day but emancipation day must go aswell.

Lol.....Your logic needs logic...There is not significant about Indian Arrival day that requires its celebrating. Indian contributions are celebrated during Eid and Divali. Indian Arrival Day is nothing more than a political appeasing of the base by the UNC.

The equivalent of Indian Arrival Day is not Emancipation Day. It's actually get this...."Arrival Day".

Oh and btw...didn't the chinese arrive in Trinidad before the Indians?

Businessman right....Too many holidays in TnT. I think some could be holidays and others could be days of recogntion.

Indian Arrival Day is DISCRIMINATORY...That holiday could be removed or changed to Arrival day or heritage day. If we were to start celebrating "Arrival days" of the various races in Trinidad then we would open up a can of worms.

First People get a holiday yet? The messed up thing is that "Arrival/Heritage" day could have been celebrated during carnival with parades depicting the various heritages of Trinidad and Tobago etc but we eh have the foresight to throw that in there. Everywhere else does it.

Postby De Dragon » June 2nd, 2018, 6:29 pm

mero wrote:Trinis getting like them whiny faggoty Americans where everyone begging to be offended by something and deliberely taking everything out of context...

Allyuh know damn well the Syrian wasn't targeting Indians by his comment about the 2 holidays, yet here we are in this ched with the usual "victims" crying.

How exactly we, or you, "know" that?

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 2nd, 2018, 6:42 pm

mero wrote:Trinis getting like them whiny faggoty Americans where everyone begging to be offended by something and deliberely taking everything out of context...

How exactly we, or you, "know" that?

Common sense and a lack of victim mentality.

He was commenting on the potential business days lost, not the nature of the holiday itself.

Go ahead and beat up like somebody trying to stone you to death for being Hindu in Iraq. Go ahead.

Postby meccalli » June 2nd, 2018, 7:04 pm

This the same guy that shot a pizza delivery guy with a hand pellet pistol in his butt about 20 years ago.

Didn't hear this one, George jr sic'ed his dogs on a delivery guy and told him, "run forest run!"

Postby Gladiator » June 2nd, 2018, 7:34 pm

Redress10 wrote:

Lol.....Your logic needs logic...There is not significant about Indian Arrival day that requires its celebrating. Indian contributions are celebrated during Eid and Divali. Indian Arrival Day is nothing more than a political appeasing of the base by the UNC.

The equivalent of Indian Arrival Day is not Emancipation Day. It's actually get this...."Arrival Day".

Businessman right....Too many holidays in TnT. I think some could be holidays and others could be days of recogntion.

Indian Arrival Day is DISCRIMINATORY...That holiday could be removed or changed to Arrival day or heritage day. If we were to start celebrating "Arrival days" of the various races in Trinidad then we would open up a can of worms.

First People get a holiday yet? The messed up thing is that "Arrival/Heritage" day could have been celebrated during carnival with parades depicting the various heritages of Trinidad and Tobago etc but we eh have the foresight to throw that in there. Everywhere else does it.

So a holiday commemorating the arrival of a group of people that constitutes 50% of the population of a country is not significant?

If your rant wasn't so full of hatred against East Indians, you would have made more sense in what you were trying to say.

You asking the other guy for logic... Divali and Eid are not INDIAN holidays, there exists African Muslims in Trinidad and what happen to the Christian Indians.... should they not have a day commemorating the arrival of their ancestors.... or according to your logic, Christmas would take care of that.

Postby eliteauto » June 2nd, 2018, 7:45 pm

this is a non issue, made into an issue by those with an agenda to further divide and polarize for political reasons. Down the slippery slope we slide, willingly and foolishly. Those who sow the wind prepare to reap the whirlwind.

btw as a citizen he's entitled to his opinion whether you agree or not

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » June 2nd, 2018, 8:11 pm

Gladiator wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

So a holiday commemorating the arrival of a group of people that constitutes 50% of the population of a country is not significant?

If your rant wasn't so full of hatred against East Indians, you would have made more sense in what you were trying to say.

You asking the other guy for logic... Divali and Eid are not INDIAN holidays, there exists African Muslims in Trinidad and what happen to the Christian Indians.... should they not have a day commemorating the arrival of their ancestors.... or according to your logic, Christmas would take care of that.

What does the population size has to do with anything? By that logic we should also have African Arrival Day? How about Columbus day? Why is it you are so comfortable to celebrate the arrival of one ethnic group who mind you CHOOSE to come here of their own free will with a contract stating that they would leave upon completiton of their contract? What was so significant or historical about their arrival? They were not forced to come here. What makes their migration different to those of the chinese, syrians etc.

Divali and Eid were introduced here by the Indians. They are majorly Indian holidays. Indians didn't come to Trinidad as Christians as far as I am aware. They converted during the following decades. Hinduism and Islam are direct consequences of Indian migration so they are celebrations that need to be noted and respected. You stay fighting for a "holiday".

I am not saying that the arrival shouldn't be recognised. Ofc it should be. What I am saying is whether we should lose a full day of productivity in celebration of this day. Maybe it should just be a day of recognition or maybe it should share a holiday with another. Labour for e.g....Like they do in Grenada

Postby The_Honourable » June 2nd, 2018, 9:24 pm

Ok, so if we decide to keep the days but demote from a holiday to a normal working day, which holidays should we choose? Corpus Christi? Indian Arrival Day? Emancipation Day? Easter Monday? Boxing Day?

We attempted with Republic Day already.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » June 2nd, 2018, 9:58 pm

More holidays i say, i like double time, better on a call out though .

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » June 2nd, 2018, 10:02 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Ok, so if we decide to keep the days but demote from a holiday to a normal working day, which holidays should we choose? Corpus Christi? Indian Arrival Day? Emancipation Day? Easter Monday? Boxing Day?

Nah we can't touch the religious ones because they have their own calendars and international days of recognition etc. The man made ones we could definitely look into changing.

Remove Indian Arrival Day and have a Heritage Day/ Arrival day of observance. Doesn't necessarily need to be a holiday but could be a Friday if you want the nation to go "slow"

Republic Day doesn't have to be a public holiday, we already have Independence Day. Republic Day could be another day of observance.

"Heritage" Day could share with Labour Day cause people already march on those days. So that could be a day to celebrate historical things such as contributions by the various groups and have a heritage type parade.

Have to remember that first people here forever and don't have an official holiday etc.

We spinning top in mud. Trinis lazy and hate to work so nobody changing no holiday. So all this analyzing is moot at this point.

Postby Gladiator » June 2nd, 2018, 10:22 pm

Redress10 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:Ok, so if we decide to keep the days but demote from a holiday to a normal working day, which holidays should we choose? Corpus Christi? Indian Arrival Day? Emancipation Day? Easter Monday? Boxing Day?

Nah we can't touch the religious ones because they have their own calendars and international days of recognition etc. The man made ones we could definitely look into changing.

Remove Indian Arrival Day and have a Heritage Day/ Arrival day of observance. Doesn't necessarily need to be a holiday but could be a Friday if you want the nation to go "slow"

Republic Day doesn't have to be a public holiday, we already have Independence Day. Republic Day could be another day of observance.

"Heritage" Day could share with Labour Day cause people already march on those days. So that could be a day to celebrate historical things such as contributions by the various groups and have a heritage type parade.

Have to remember that first people here forever and don't have an official holiday etc.

We spinning top in mud. Trinis lazy and hate to work so nobody changing no holiday. So all this analyzing is moot at this point.

Merge Emancipation day with Carnival....

Postby Gladiator » June 2nd, 2018, 10:45 pm

Redress10 wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

What does the population size has to do with anything? By that logic we should also have African Arrival Day? How about Columbus day? Why is it you are so comfortable to celebrate the arrival of one ethnic group who mind you CHOOSE to come here of their own free will with a contract stating that they would leave upon completiton of their contract? What was so significant or historical about their arrival? They were not forced to come here. What makes their migration different to those of the chinese, syrians etc.

Divali and Eid were introduced here by the Indians. They are majorly Indian holidays. Indians didn't come to Trinidad as Christians as far as I am aware. They converted during the following decades. Hinduism and Islam are direct consequences of Indian migration so they are celebrations that need to be noted and respected. You stay fighting for a "holiday".

I am not saying that the arrival shouldn't be recognised. Ofc it should be. What I am saying is whether we should lose a full day of productivity in celebration of this day. Maybe it should just be a day of recognition or maybe it should share a holiday with another. Labour for e.g....Like they do in Grenada

African Arrival day == Emancipation Day

I think you don't grasp the concept of the holiday it is not for you to celebrate their arrival it is for them to celebrate their arrival. Of course you don't care if Indians came to Trinidad or not so it is of no importance to you. To the thousands whose ancestors came to Trinidad though, the holiday matters to them.

And yes population size matters, if Divali was not a public holiday what you think will happen on that day. All them Hindus have to stay home to make parsad and roti, no one will go to work anyway.

I also think you don't understand the difference between a religious holiday and a civic holiday. They cant be swapped out for each other. The "arrival" of Indians in Trinidad whether it be by choice or not, and whether you agree or not, was an event that changed the country significantly. Can you imagine Trinidad without the Indian diaspora?

Postby zoom rader » June 3rd, 2018, 12:53 am

Redress10 wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

Stop been an ignorant fool.

1.When Slaves came here before Indians they where mostly Muslims.

Eid is not Indian it was Africans that brought Eid here.

2. Not all Indians that came here were Hindus and Muslims, there was and also Christians and sikhs that came.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » June 3rd, 2018, 1:02 am

Well no...

You keep trying to compare Arrival day with Emancipation day based on the fact that these are two race based religion.

Let me help you understand this once and for all. Emancipation celebrates the ending of chattel slavery, regarded as one of the worst forms of human rights abuses ever recorded. Slavery/Emancipation needs to be compared with the Holocaust, Armenian Genocide etc. African Arrival Day could never be equal to Emancipation Day.

On the other hand Indians literally just got on a boat and came here in search of better life opportunities. That is basic migration. What makes that arrival so significant that it warrants a specific holiday just for that particular race?

Remember, EVERY race in Trinidad apart from the first people "arrived" here at some point. Remember, if you are celebrating one then we need to start celebrating all starting from the spanish come right down to the fresh water venes landing on our shores every week. That's the whole logic behind Indian Arrival day. Remember, this is a fairly new holiday that has been politicized for political mileage.

All this talk about population size is rubbish. Divali and Eid etc are different holidays to a civic type holiday such as Indian Arrival Day. Only 5% of trinidadians identify as Muslims, should we not celebrate Eid and recognised EId because the number appears insignificant? That would be discriminatory.

Every race that arrived in Trinidad changed the nation significantly and contributed. Like I said, the indigenous people who have always been here are not even officially recognised so what made Indian Arrival on these shores so significant. Remember Indians arrived AFTER the chinese refused indentureship. So according to your logic then we should be celebrating Chinese Arrival Day.