Redman wrote:mero wrote:Trinis getting like them whiny faggoty Americans where everyone begging to be offended by something and deliberely taking everything out of context...
Allyuh know damn well the Syrian wasn't targeting Indians by his comment about the 2 holidays, yet here we are in this ched with the usual "victims" crying.
Well said.
Political optics.
Oooooo a devastating Toby and Massa in the same sentence there papa. Almost imagined you were white there for a second.rspann wrote:Toby so dunce that he not seeing anything wrong with what his Massa said,although Massa already see the problem and apologized. His only comeback is trying to say I'm old and have old age problems,when anybody who knows better will see how dunce he really is.
You are smart as your are witty my Barcelona friend. So that makes me what? A JUHN or a JUHC?De Dragon wrote:mero wrote:Papi I know your 1st language is old people sayings and parabels but Idk what you trying to say. Just sayingDe Dragon wrote:mero wrote:Papi, you don't have a catheter or pace maker to check on or sum?rspann wrote:RedVEVO wrote:Average wrote:mero wrote:What about the ones on 2nr such as yourself who constantly begging for white people to come rule over us and for us to be re-colonized?
You're talking about two different things my friend.
I was referring to guys who suck up to those in the 1%. You know these type of ppl, they always know detailed info about them and what thye driving and who they bulling etc....now don't get me wrong if I offended you, that's if you're also one of those ppl, I mean we all free to do what we want and behave how we want, right?
YOU now are making the point that I beg for the white man to come and lead us. I have said so in past posts yes.
How is that sucking up to the 1% or the white man? Btw, those 1% aren't white, they're syrian and lebanese.
If i support rowley or kamla, am I sucking up to them?
I'm confused at how you could make a correlation with my post and what i have posted in the past in other threads that have nothing to do with my initial post in this thread.
You follow?
Mero from Wharf Trace.
Ganga Plantations .
You really think he follow ?
Toby just trying to protect Massa from the Indians.
And why you think I'm not Indian though?
The "Stevens" were generally of the same race. Just saying.
Steven, Samuel Jackson's character from Django Unchained. Parable btw
Nope I said to get rid of Indian Arrival day, emancipation day and carnival week.Redman wrote:Very few here have not said that the volume of holidays is too high.
No one here has not complained about the impact on productivity in commerce,public service and schools.
No one here behaves in a manner that will negatively impact what they view as important-and when they do-not apologize for same.
Aboud is held to task for saying and doing what all here have done.
with the usual peanut gallery using party politics and race to gain attention.
Nope I said to get rid of Indian Arrival day, emancipation day and carnival week.
Meanwhile 1% still underpaying ppl
Redman wrote:Very few here have not said that the volume of holidays is too high.
No one here has not complained about the impact on productivity in commerce,public service and schools.
No one here behaves in a manner that will negatively impact what they view as important-and when they do-not apologize for same.
rspann wrote:Redman wrote:Very few here have not said that the volume of holidays is too high.
airuma wrote:"We at Starlite do all we can to promote good business practices and actively support our local entrepreneurs irrespective of the colour of your skin or the religion you may choose"
Since we seem to be straying from the wanton disregard for the significance of the two holidays in question to their respective sectors of OUR society, I think this statement is worth highlighting....
As for if the number of public holidays is too much, Trinidad and Tobago has 13 (not including Carnival because they are not public holidays). We tie with South Korea, Austria, Belgium, Norway and Taiwan (4 of the 5 are classified as advanced economies with Norway at the top of the list). Singapore, China, Canada, Italy, Denmark, France, UAE, Morocco, Czech Republic and Luxembourg have 11 and the US has 10, according to the Gulf Business website.
IMHO, the issue is and has been for a very long time now, low productivity. This is the fallout of keeping people dependent on handouts for the sake of winning votes in a small country with a small population of people who can easily make more money "liming on the corner" than working a regular 40hr/ week job..... and who exactly is/are responsible for the existence of the "liming on the corner" jobs..... could very well be the ones that complaining about the low productivity according to some of the posts in this thread..... Some of us are unable to connect the dots!
88sins wrote:jhonnieblue wrote:I think that was made from a business point of view. We have so many holidays and generally outside those holidays have some of the lowest productivity levels. Most business owners hate the fact there are so many holidays esp during low economic times. His commiwas taken out of context and has nothing to do with racial disparity or any 1% references.
It's small minded Trinidadians that can't see beyond their stupidity at the bigger picture.
Productivity can and often does be a direct reflection of how workers feel about their job/employer. So that said...if you pay minimum wage, you can either expect minimum work effort & work ethics, or you can expect to be disappointed, & you will not have the productivity you hoping to get, thus it will eat into your profits.
But that aside, if allyuh only kno what some of these ppl really think about & would like to do with all Trinis if they could, it go surprise plenty ah allyuh.
You are talking about hourly paid workers there. In my experience, every one of them that can afford to take the day off will gladly take it. The ones that don't literally need the money to pay their bills because they are being paid barely enough to survive. BTW, since when has it become a bad thing for someone to want some time off to enjoy spending time with family and friends. Why is nobody talking about the loss of productivity due to overwork? If employers are so concerned about productivity, would they be willing to consider letting people work 6 hour days?Ben_spanna wrote:rspann wrote:Redman wrote:Very few here have not said that the volume of holidays is too high.
Yes we have too many holidays. Also it is insensitive to say it the way he did. Its stupid to him and many others ,but important to some. You think if he said that about Eid , Shouter Baptist day and Emancipation day others would not be similarly offended?[/quote]
STEUPS!- so what if he said it about other religious holidays, Trinidadians themselves too damn lazy and worthless, they always want a day off work, a free day, why the hell do you need an entire day to celebrate something, why cant you celebrate after working hours , or if you must take a day then your employer should have the authority to simply NOT pay you …….. lets see how many people will find their holiday more important that working then!
Slartibartfast wrote:You are talking about hourly paid workers there. In my experience, every one of them that can afford to take the day off will gladly take it. The ones that don't literally need the money to pay their bills because they are being paid barely enough to survive. BTW, since when has it become a bad thing for someone to want some time off to enjoy spending time with family and friends. Why is nobody talking about the loss of productivity due to overwork? If employers are so concerned about productivity, would they be willing to consider letting people work 6 hour days?Ben_spanna wrote:rspann wrote:Redman wrote:Very few here have not said that the volume of holidays is too high.
Yes we have too many holidays. Also it is insensitive to say it the way he did. Its stupid to him and many others ,but important to some. You think if he said that about Eid , Shouter Baptist day and Emancipation day others would not be similarly offended?[/quote]
STEUPS!- so what if he said it about other religious holidays, Trinidadians themselves too damn lazy and worthless, they always want a day off work, a free day, why the hell do you need an entire day to celebrate something, why cant you celebrate after working hours , or if you must take a day then your employer should have the authority to simply NOT pay you …….. lets see how many people will find their holiday more important that working then!
You are talking about hourly paid workers there. In my experience, every one of them that can afford to take the day off will gladly take it. The ones that don't literally need the money to pay their bills because they are being paid barely enough to survive. BTW, since when has it become a bad thing for someone to want some time off to enjoy spending time with family and friends. Why is nobody talking about the loss of productivity due to overwork? If employers are so concerned about productivity, would they be willing to consider letting people work 6 hour days?[/quote]Slartibartfast wrote:Ben_spanna wrote:rspann wrote:Redman wrote:Very few here have not said that the volume of holidays is too high.
Dizzy28 wrote:So much Holiday Nazis in this thread!!
Only PNM ppl fall in the bracketBen_spanna wrote:rspann wrote:Redman wrote:Very few here have not said that the volume of holidays is too high.
Slartibartfast wrote:88sins wrote:jhonnieblue wrote:I think that was made from a business point of view. We have so many holidays and generally outside those holidays have some of the lowest productivity levels. Most business owners hate the fact there are so many holidays esp during low economic times. His commiwas taken out of context and has nothing to do with racial disparity or any 1% references.
It's small minded Trinidadians that can't see beyond their stupidity at the bigger picture.
Productivity can and often does be a direct reflection of how workers feel about their job/employer. So that said...if you pay minimum wage, you can either expect minimum work effort & work ethics, or you can expect to be disappointed, & you will not have the productivity you hoping to get, thus it will eat into your profits.
But that aside, if allyuh only kno what some of these ppl really think about & would like to do with all Trinis if they could, it go surprise plenty ah allyuh.
You making too much sense for this thread. Bess you be quiet. I have had 4 jobs over the past 7 years and had to work unpaid overtime for all of them. Anytime you want to ask for overtime pay they tell you that if you have a problem you can leave as there are many willing to work the overtime for free. Most people I know also have a side business in addition to their full time job to make a little money to make ends meet or (God forbid) have some fun recreational time on the side. But we are the 99%. We are supposed to work non-stop past retirement and be happy that we have a roof over our head, even if said roof is not owned by us.
FYI, many developed countries work less hours annually than T&T like France, Italy, Germany, Netherlands, Norway, Denmark, Switzerland and Sweden. But, who wants to be like those third world countries full with lazy good for nothing free-loaders. How have they every contributed to society?
That's the point exactly! Someone working 10 hours a day is not going to put in 10 hours of work for the day (unless they working for one of those slave drivers like Amazon).Ben_spanna wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:You are talking about hourly paid workers there. In my experience, every one of them that can afford to take the day off will gladly take it. The ones that don't literally need the money to pay their bills because they are being paid barely enough to survive. BTW, since when has it become a bad thing for someone to want some time off to enjoy spending time with family and friends. Why is nobody talking about the loss of productivity due to overwork? If employers are so concerned about productivity, would they be willing to consider letting people work 6 hour days?
6 hour days you say??
That funny because a lot of our population doesn't even put in a solid 4 hours of work a day, always too busy on their phones or doing their own business, on average how many hours a day do you think the a public servant works??? id guess 3 if youre lucky...…… after they reach to work LATE, take 2 hours for lunch and then go home early!
Daran wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:88sins wrote:jhonnieblue wrote:I think that was made from a business point of view. We have so many holidays and generally outside those holidays have some of the lowest productivity levels. Most business owners hate the fact there are so many holidays esp during low economic times. His commiwas taken out of context and has nothing to do with racial disparity or any 1% references.
You making too much sense for this thread. Bess you be quiet. I have had 4 jobs over the past 7 years and had to work unpaid overtime for all of them. Anytime you want to ask for overtime pay they tell you that if you have a problem you can leave as there are many willing to work the overtime for free. Most people I know also have a side business in addition to their full time job to make a little money to make ends meet or (God forbid) have some fun recreational time on the side. But we are the 99%. We are supposed to work non-stop past retirement and be happy that we have a roof over our head, even if said roof is not owned by us.
FYI, many developed countries work less hours annually than T&T like France, Italy, Germany, Netherlands, Norway, Denmark, Switzerland and Sweden. But, who wants to be like those third world countries full with lazy good for nothing free-loaders. How have they every contributed to society?
It's about quality not quantity. Like I said, 2 UK engineers were doing the job of 25 trini engineers/technicians working basically the same hours and at a much higher standard of work. Why? half of that trini staff would be ole talking all day. The other half would take a simple a job and make it into an extravagant ordeal. I don't blame them fully, those guys weren't dumb, just got corrupted due to the work culture and having managers with business degrees vs technical degrees. They pull so much wool over that poor lady eyes that she came to a meeting once and said it'll take her department a week to produce the spreadsheet report. A report that took me 30-45 mins to prepare.
You sound a like union man. Asking for overtime? Breds in the real working world, you here to do a job, do it in the time allocated. If it not possible, you may be punished/fired until they find someone who will. That's what a competitive job market is like.
Like it or not that is the reality of capitalism - it's hard but the ones who smart and work hard succeed. Trinis got spoiled due to so many socialist policies.
Which is why we don't deserve 16 holidays (I including carnival because that's effectively a public holiday).
Lol. My work is an exception. I work in construction and have to be on site once works are scheduled. I cannot oversee 16 hours of work in 4 hours. I also can't oversee Saturday works before I go home on a Friday. Anytime my time is based on my work alone (reports etc.) I get everything done and signed off before 5pm hits. So I agree with you on that one. I never work overtime by choice and I always make sure my responsibilities taken care of.Daran wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:You making too much sense for this thread. Bess you be quiet. I have had 4 jobs over the past 7 years and had to work unpaid overtime for all of them. Anytime you want to ask for overtime pay they tell you that if you have a problem you can leave as there are many willing to work the overtime for free. Most people I know also have a side business in addition to their full time job to make a little money to make ends meet or (God forbid) have some fun recreational time on the side. But we are the 99%. We are supposed to work non-stop past retirement and be happy that we have a roof over our head, even if said roof is not owned by us.
It's about quality not quantity. Like I said, 2 UK engineers were doing the job of 25 trini engineers/technicians working basically the same hours and at a much higher standard of work. Why? half of that trini staff would be ole talking all day. The other half would take a simple a job and make it into an extravagant ordeal. I don't blame them fully, those guys weren't dumb, just got corrupted due to the work culture and having managers with business degrees vs technical degrees. They pull so much wool over that poor lady eyes that she came to a meeting once and said it'll take her department a week to produce the spreadsheet report. A report that took me 30-45 mins to prepare.
You sound a like union man. Asking for overtime? Breds in the real working world, you here to do a job, do it in the time allocated. If it not possible, you may be punished/fired until they find someone who will. That's what a competitive job market is like.
Like it or not that is the reality of capitalism - it's hard but the ones who smart and work hard succeed. Trinis got spoiled due to so many socialist policies.
Which is why we don't deserve 16 holidays (I including carnival because that's effectively a public holiday).
Slartibartfast wrote:[Lol. My work is an exception. I work in construction and have to be on site once works are scheduled. I cannot oversee 16 hours of work in 4 hours. I also can't oversee Saturday works before I go home on a Friday. Anytime my time is based on my work alone (reports etc.) I get everything done and signed off before 5pm hits. So I agree with you on that one. I never work overtime by choice and I always make sure my responsibilities taken care of.
BTW, I disagree with the fact that foreign engineers any better than local engineers. There are good and bad with both of them. We have European engineers in work here with 30+ years experience and a MSc that don't understand the reason for lap splices in rebar and we have local engineers with nothing but a Diploma and 18 months experience schooling them. I've also see the flip side of incompetent local engineers and great foreign ones. All I'm saying is that your bias is not based in reality.
RedVEVO wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:So much Holiday Nazis in this thread!!
Everybody turning Syrians in this thread![]()
Lots of businesses open on public holidays.
So why Aboud did not keep his business open ?