Daran wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:[Lol. My work is an exception. I work in construction and have to be on site once works are scheduled. I cannot oversee 16 hours of work in 4 hours. I also can't oversee Saturday works before I go home on a Friday. Anytime my time is based on my work alone (reports etc.) I get everything done and signed off before 5pm hits. So I agree with you on that one. I never work overtime by choice and I always make sure my responsibilities taken care of.
BTW, I disagree with the fact that foreign engineers any better than local engineers. There are good and bad with both of them. We have European engineers in work here with 30+ years experience and a MSc that don't understand the reason for lap splices in rebar and we have local engineers with nothing but a Diploma and 18 months experience schooling them. I've also see the flip side of incompetent local engineers and great foreign ones. All I'm saying is that your bias is not based in reality.
I had a feeling your work was civil - that is the only industry where overwork in rife and in those situations overtime should be paid in some circumstances.
That said, you coming with this line that I see lots of locals like boast about. Just because one foreign white man didn't know something simple (and I assure you 90% are far more competent than our locals comparatively) does not mean we are better. That same guy may know about far more complex construction issues or may have forgotten some of the basics if they moved into management.
I understudied a foreign engineer many years ago, the guy was brilliant and I learned things no local engineer in the company had a clue about. But some guys would routinely bash the man for the smallest mistake or for something he didn't know. That dude was humble and honest and never treated anyone locally with condescension yet, us trinis treated that guy like sheit and told everyone he was an overpaid idiot.
We have very capable engineers in UWI, but in most companies, they aren't pushed or developed properly and can't compete internationally.
Everybody turning Syrians in this thread![]()
Lots of businesses open on public holidays.
So why Aboud did not keep his business open ?
Daran wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:88sins wrote:jhonnieblue wrote:I think that was made from a business point of view. We have so many holidays and generally outside those holidays have some of the lowest productivity levels. Most business owners hate the fact there are so many holidays esp during low economic times. His commiwas taken out of context and has nothing to do with racial disparity or any 1% references.
It's small minded Trinidadians that can't see beyond their stupidity at the bigger picture.
Productivity can and often does be a direct reflection of how workers feel about their job/employer. So that said...if you pay minimum wage, you can either expect minimum work effort & work ethics, or you can expect to be disappointed, & you will not have the productivity you hoping to get, thus it will eat into your profits.
But that aside, if allyuh only kno what some of these ppl really think about & would like to do with all Trinis if they could, it go surprise plenty ah allyuh.
You making too much sense for this thread. Bess you be quiet. I have had 4 jobs over the past 7 years and had to work unpaid overtime for all of them. Anytime you want to ask for overtime pay they tell you that if you have a problem you can leave as there are many willing to work the overtime for free. Most people I know also have a side business in addition to their full time job to make a little money to make ends meet or (God forbid) have some fun recreational time on the side. But we are the 99%. We are supposed to work non-stop past retirement and be happy that we have a roof over our head, even if said roof is not owned by us.
FYI, many developed countries work less hours annually than T&T like France, Italy, Germany, Netherlands, Norway, Denmark, Switzerland and Sweden. But, who wants to be like those third world countries full with lazy good for nothing free-loaders. How have they every contributed to society?
[color=#BF0000]It's about quality not quantity. Like I said, 2 UK engineers were doing the job of 25 trini engineers/technicians working basically the same hours and at a much higher standard of work. Why? half of that trini staff would be ole talking all day. The other half would take a simple a job and make it into an extravagant ordeal.[/color] I don't blame them fully, those guys weren't dumb, just got corrupted due to the work culture and having managers with business degrees vs technical degrees. They pull so much wool over that poor lady eyes that she came to a meeting once and said it'll take her department a week to produce the spreadsheet report. A report that took me 30-45 mins to prepare.
You sound a like union man. Asking for overtime? Breds in the real working world, you here to do a job, do it in the time allocated. If it not possible, you may be punished/fired until they find someone who will. That's what a competitive job market is like.
Like it or not that is the reality of capitalism - it's hard but the ones who smart and work hard succeed. Trinis got spoiled due to so many socialist policies.
Which is why we don't deserve 16 holidays (I including carnival because that's effectively a public holiday).
Slartibartfast wrote:PS i agree with you on the idea that of you cant finish your work in the alloted time then either you have too much work or you not cut out for the job. Sadly many bosses (mine included) vex when you leave at the end of the work day even though I had nothing left to do. I got pulled up for that already despite working some nights, public holidays and weekends without overtime pay and without complaining. As far as i see it, if work hada get done it hada get done. But i smart enough to know my employer taking advantage of my coworkers and me in the situation.
88sins wrote:A word to the wise, NEVER give ppl (employer, employee, gf, wife etc.) any habits you know u they will take advantage of.
When you right you right. No argument there. I'll be honest though, the job is a decent job. If one of us leave he has a stack of resumes to pull from to get a next person tomorrow. He has no problems not renewing our contract once it is up. He did it to a co-worker already. So it's basically it's either we take what we get or walk. I've got bills to pay and I know I've lost this battle already so I'm looking to start up something on the side (not related to work or the project so no conflict of interest) as well as looking for another job so I will walk when I'm ready to.88sins wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:PS i agree with you on the idea that of you cant finish your work in the alloted time then either you have too much work or you not cut out for the job. Sadly many bosses (mine included) vex when you leave at the end of the work day even though I had nothing left to do. I got pulled up for that already despite working some nights, public holidays and weekends without overtime pay and without complaining. As far as i see it, if work hada get done it hada get done. But i smart enough to know my employer taking advantage of my coworkers and me in the situation.
ppl only do what they know they can get away with. you & your coworkers set the precedent for your current conditions, but you can also change it.
A word to the wise, NEVER give ppl (employer, employee, gf, wife etc.) any habits you know u they will take advantage of. The reason for giving themn the habit really doesn't matter. You don't have to be "nice" to your boss, or prove anything other than you have done what you're being paid to do the way it should be done within the time-frame allotted to do it. & he doesn't have to like you, or even appreciate your efforts, no matter how much extra you do than you're paid to.
88sins wrote:You always have to get more from an employee than you pay him? If that's how he thinks good, & that principle should apply across the board.
So all his customers should always get more from him than they pay for. U feel he go agree with that?
Redman wrote:Very few here have not said that the volume of holidays is too high.
No one here has not complained about the impact on productivity in commerce,public service and schools.
No one here behaves in a manner that will negatively impact what they view as important-and when they do-not apologize for same.
Aboud is held to task for saying and doing what all here have done.
with the usual peanut gallery using party politics and race to gain attention.
88sins wrote:The issue isn't about an employer maximizing the value of the employees in relation to their work and salary. It's about how most employers hate the idea of paying employees the full value for the work they do. Here's an example.
More than a few security firms have ppl pulling a 60-80 hr work week, & pay only a flat rate wage. 0 overtime or incentives. And on top of that they have their own "charges", that they use liberally to dock workers pay. Similar happens in other industries.
this is shortsighted idoicy as the company doesnt factor into account the costs associated with having to rehire and retrain new workers everytime someone leaves. It also ignores the loss of profit from the loss of productivity as the employee is not given any reason to care enough to do a good job.hydroep wrote:88sins wrote:You always have to get more from an employee than you pay him? If that's how he thinks good, & that principle should apply across the board.
So all his customers should always get more from him than they pay for. U feel he go agree with that?
If you can get more out of your employee than you pay you're essentially maximizing value and saving costs which can translate into greater profits. It's a worthwhile strategy from a business standpoint.
In a sense astute customers do the same when they research which products give them the best value for money and further try to negotiate for better prices and extras that sweeten the deal.
It's just capitalism at work. If any employer has a problem with that something seriously wrong with them...
antlind wrote:88sins wrote:The issue isn't about an employer maximizing the value of the employees in relation to their work and salary. It's about how most employers hate the idea of paying employees the full value for the work they do. Here's an example.
More than a few security firms have ppl pulling a 60-80 hr work week, & pay only a flat rate wage. 0 overtime or incentives. And on top of that they have their own "charges", that they use liberally to dock workers pay. Similar happens in other industries.
It’s called worker exploitation and it’s wrong.
RedVEVO wrote:antlind wrote:88sins wrote:The issue isn't about an employer maximizing the value of the employees in relation to their work and salary. It's about how most employers hate the idea of paying employees the full value for the work they do. Here's an example.
You cannot exploit workers in T&T.
How do you do that ?
The challenge is to get them to work .
Ben_spanna wrote:RedVEVO wrote:antlind wrote:88sins wrote:The issue isn't about an employer maximizing the value of the employees in relation to their work and salary. It's about how most employers hate the idea of paying employees the full value for the work they do. Here's an example.
How do you do that ?
EXACTLY! every single employer I know, their biggest challenge is getting people to Show up to work ON TIME if at all, put in a solid week of work, people in this damn country seem to always conveniently fall sick on a Friday or a Monday, and anytime theres a holiday one day away from a weekend- they always feel as if they are blasted entitled to take that day off.
The work Ethic in Trinidad is disgusting and sickening, local labour is the worst we have seen in decades, none of the younger generation wants to so an honest days work.
Its not a racial thing , its a FACT of how this country continues to go downhill, a lot of the bad employees always quick to think they are justified in not going to work for trivial sh1t, however if the employer dismisses them on that basis they are the first cry babies to go running to a fr1gg1ing union seeking renumeration.
Ben_spanna wrote:
EXACTLY! every single employer I know, their biggest challenge is getting people to Show up to work ON TIME if at all, put in a solid week of work, people in this damn country seem to always conveniently fall sick on a Friday or a Monday, and anytime theres a holiday one day away from a weekend- they always feel as if they are blasted entitled to take that day off.
The work Ethic in Trinidad is disgusting and sickening, local labour is the worst we have seen in decades, none of the younger generation wants to so an honest days work.
Its not a racial thing , its a FACT of how this country continues to go downhill, a lot of the bad employees always quick to think they are justified in not going to work for trivial sh1t, however if the employer dismisses them on that basis they are the first cry babies to go running to a fr1gg1ing union seeking renumeration.
Slartibartfast wrote:Ben_spanna wrote:RedVEVO wrote:antlind wrote:88sins wrote:The issue isn't about an employer maximizing the value of the employees in relation to their work and salary. It's about how most employers hate the idea of paying employees the full value for the work they do. Here's an example.
How do you do that ?
Where do guys work?
Daran wrote:^ LOL no breds.
Motivating workers? U have any idea how much I and fellow managers try? With a union protecting them, nothing you do will change them bad habits easily.
Now in the private sector, it's an entirely different story. Men will work till they dead sometimes otherwise they getting fired. It's like that everywhere in the world. Ofc it's often abused and a good middle grown must be found.
But the problems you're talking about are solved by the job market demand and supply. If it have 100 people applying for your job and you aint pulling your weight, I will dismiss you after a couple warnings. Plus you will get low pay because your job is easily replaceable. What do you do in that case? Work hard and make yourself indispensable.
It's not my fault everyone and their nanny do a degree in Business Management, on the other hand, our Data Analyst fresh outta Comp Sci, getting 27k starting because he's damn good and it's hard to find good guys for that role in Trini.
Some people have personal responsibility and will do the job they were hired for - those are people I try to hire. People who don't think "I know a man in BP getting 35k for this and here i getting pay 5k, so I go do 1/7th the work)
Daran wrote:^ Try 90% of government/state employees
Slartibartfast wrote:this is shortsighted idoicy as the company doesnt factor into account the costs associated with having to rehire and retrain new workers everytime someone leaves. It also ignores the loss of profit from the loss of productivity as the employee is not given any reason to care enough to do a good job.hydroep wrote:88sins wrote:You always have to get more from an employee than you pay him? If that's how he thinks good, & that principle should apply across the board.
If you can get more out of your employee than you pay you're essentially maximizing value and saving costs which can translate into greater profits. It's a worthwhile strategy from a business standpoint.
In a sense astute customers do the same when they research which products give them the best value for money and further try to negotiate for better prices and extras that sweeten the deal.
It's just capitalism at work. If any employer has a problem with that something seriously wrong with them...
Daran wrote:^ LOL no breds.
Motivating workers? U have any idea how much I and fellow managers try? With a union protecting them, nothing you do will change them bad habits easily.
Now in the private sector, it's an entirely different story. Men will work till they dead sometimes otherwise they getting fired. It's like that everywhere in the world. Ofc it's often abused and a good middle grown must be found.
But the problems you're talking about are solved by the job market demand and supply. If it have 100 people applying for your job and you aint pulling your weight, I will dismiss you after a couple warnings. Plus you will get low pay because your job is easily replaceable. What do you do in that case? Work hard and make yourself indispensable.
It's not my fault everyone and their nanny do a degree in Business Management, on the other hand, our Data Analyst fresh outta Comp Sci, getting 27k starting because he's damn good and it's hard to find good guys for that role in Trini.
Some people have personal responsibility and will do the job they were hired for - those are people I try to hire. People who don't think "I know a man in BP getting 35k for this and here i getting pay 5k, so I go do 1/7th the work)
88sins wrote:Daran wrote:^ LOL no breds.
hadda laff when I read dis. Son, imma give you a heads up.
in the private sector, all employers respect the employees that know the law as regards their job, & in the private sector, once you can show that & you know that you are only going to be doing the job you are paid to do there is no room for abuse.
Now plenty ppl don't know this, but in the private sector, most if not all employers HATE when employees know about industrial law. Because it leaves them no room to exploit the employee because of naivety or ignorance, & they know full well that if they lose the proper functions of their mind & dismiss that employee wrongfully or improperly that employee could have them spending some serious $$$ in legal fees & compensation. The industrial court wasn't built to simply decorate the corner of Queen & St. Vincent.
A very loong time ago I had an employer threaten to dismiss me for not doing what he asked, a task that was not part of my job description, that I would not be paid to do. I said I not doing it, he said ok, I go hadda send you home. I say ok, & he writes me a cheque & says he would have me finish out the month & then he'd pay me my severance. & I say ok, it's your business, do whatever you wish. End of the month comes, & he hands me the cheque, & I write on it "accepted without prejudice", & he asks me why I write that on the chq, I simply said one word "evidence" & proceed to hand him a letter stating my intention to take legal action for wrongful dismissal & let him know our conversations were video recorded.
I woulda never believe a man coulda snatch a cheque or backpedal on a verbal dismissal that fast if I didn't experience it first hand.
Daran wrote:88sins you are exactly the kind of employee I'd never hire or fire for that 'job description' bs. As long as the job I asked you to do isn't unreasonable or unsafe I expect enthusiasm from my employees. Jobs specs aren't legal contracts mind you, though they do have some legal ramifications.
Job descriptions change and evolve over time, you are exactly what's wrong with most Trini employees.