Re: Earthquake (21/22 Aug 2018)

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 22nd, 2018, 2:43 pm

3 days in on a 10 day watch

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 22nd, 2018, 3:02 pm

there was a 6.2 on the western coast of the US....that guy in the vid just created another vid

Soul Collector

Re: EARTHQUAKE!!!

Postby Soul Collector » August 22nd, 2018, 3:18 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
Soul Collector wrote:Interesting vid...still watching

Interesting video... thanks for this

Yeah dred no probs. I didn't even know there was so much activity of late, especially that massive 8.2 that have people tizik.

When I start to feel that aftershock this morning my mind flashback to that vid and was like....fuarkkkk we gon dead :| Thought it would have been another 7 coming...reached the backdoor when it stopped.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 22nd, 2018, 3:25 pm

according to the new vid, the guy did say that on Sunday he issued a warning for Venezuela, to expect something in the 5s(he did not say when ).....if he did issue that warning, then the man darn good at what he does....he also did warn parts of the U.S about what to expect and the 6.2 occurred..

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » August 22nd, 2018, 3:33 pm

Yeah it seems like he's onto something with his predictions but there are still some people who don't seem to agree with him that there's somewhat of a pattern or ripple effect if you will, that will stretch across the entire planet even if an event occurred literally half way around the world.

I see he has a twitch channel and live streams 24/7. In this his vid, the afterchock came in at 23 mins. He spoke just a little on it and then left.
https://www.twitch.tv/videos/300462875

Postby toyolink » August 22nd, 2018, 3:35 pm

The local earthquake experience does suggest the following;
-We not doing too badly in terms of the tolerance of most of our structures (both commercial and domestic) as
compared with the rest of the world.
-We must look more carefully at the location of mutter points etc.
-Utility providers need to get serious about the condition of below and above ground infrastructure.
-Standards for glass panel installations must be developed and institutionalized.
-Unstable hills and cliffs abutting roadways need to be addressed continuously.
We are certainly in for many after-shocks and this coupled with heavy rainfall can create some problems with land slippage etc.
We must all stay alert and avoid panic.The more weak hearted will always need our support and assurance.
This when the metal of a country is tested and based on how flood victims have confronted disaster in our country, I am confident T&T will be okay.

snypaz

Postby snypaz » August 22nd, 2018, 4:09 pm

Random question. Who was the contractor that built OWP?

Postby The_Honourable » August 22nd, 2018, 4:11 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:according to the new vid, the guy did say that on Sunday he issued a warning for Venezuela, to expect something in the 5s(he did not say when ).....if he did issue that warning, then the man darn good at what he does....he also did warn parts of the U.S about what to expect and the 6.2 occurred..

Soul Collector wrote:Yeah it seems like he's onto something with his predictions but there are still some people who don't seem to agree with him that there's somewhat of a pattern or ripple effect if you will, that will stretch across the entire planet even if an event occurred literally half way around the world.

I see he has a twitch channel and live streams 24/7. In this his vid, the afterchock came in at 23 mins. He spoke just a little on it and then left.
https://www.twitch.tv/videos/300462875

Not only that, in the video below from 26:53 to 31:21, he stated that there may be potential earthquakes measuring 5's - 6's in the region of jamaica, haiti and puerto rico.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » August 22nd, 2018, 5:00 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Not only that, in the video below from 26:53 to 31:21, he stated that there may be potential earthquakes measuring 5's - 6's in the region of jamaica, haiti and puerto rico.

A lot could happen in these next few days it seems yes. As you said that, I just went to see if any recent quakes of that magnitude hit those areas yet but only saw a 5.2 in Mexico so far....not all that far from the islands he listed.

Screenshot_2.jpg

Could be a scary next few days with all this activity. Imagine...we now getting a tiny dose of say, how people in Japan live. They got so accustomed to it they just smile and carry on meetings as usual while to us the place looking like it falling down. I duno if my heart ready for all that nah :|

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 22nd, 2018, 5:03 pm

According to him day 3 in a 10 day watch....all it is to it...just wait and see if what he says...pans out...

Daran

Postby Daran » August 22nd, 2018, 5:25 pm

toyolink wrote:The local earthquake experience does suggest the following;
-We not doing too badly in terms of the tolerance of most of our structures (both commercial and domestic) as
-Utility providers need to get serious about the condition of below and above ground infrastructure.
-Standards for glass panel installations must be developed and institutionalized.
We are certainly in for many after-shocks and this coupled with heavy rainfall can create some problems with land slippage etc.
We must all stay alert and avoid panic.The more weak hearted will always need our support and assurance.
This when the metal of a country is tested and based on how flood victims have confronted disaster in our country, I am confident T&T will be okay.

Our buildings stood up because we ahdere to some codes. BUT more importantly what we experienced was not a strong quake. It was 7.3 at the epicentre 150km+ away in Venezuela. When you see devastation in other countries that's typically with the epicentre being much closer and depth being shallower. Earthquakes are complicated, wave shape (think up down vs side to side) plays a big reason in buildings falling over. Shear force waves will topple structures easily.

I'm saying don't get complacent thinking we handle this well (we were lucky), this wasn't the Big Quake seismologist are warning about

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » August 22nd, 2018, 6:02 pm

Daran wrote:
toyolink wrote:The local earthquake experience does suggest the following;

Our buildings stood up because we ahdere to some codes. BUT more importantly what we experienced was not a strong quake. It was 7.3 at the epicentre 150km+ away in Venezuela. When you see devastation in other countries that's typically with the epicentre being much closer and depth being shallower. Earthquakes are complicated, wave shape (think up down vs side to side) plays a big reason in buildings falling over. Shear force waves will topple structures easily.

I'm saying don't get complacent thinking we handle this well (we were lucky), this wasn't the Big Quake seismologist are warning about
Last paragraph is 100% correct. Just as the epicentre was 150km away, imagine if it was 100km away ????? I shudder to think the effect as I recount yesterday's ordeal in my home with my kids yes....... Thank God, thank God, thank God.

Postby meccalli » August 22nd, 2018, 6:31 pm

Premchand1976 wrote: imagine if it was 100km away

Imagine if you're sitting on it lol.
Wew lads
https://www.livescience.com/29591-trini ... -zone.html
The island of Trinidad, off the coast of Venezuela, sits above a risky earthquake zone, a new study reveals.

The Central Range fault , previously thought to be inactive, runs through the heart of the island, said geologist and study team member Carol Prentice of the U.S. Geological Survey. The new study, the first geologic investigation of the Central Range fault, found that this fault is capable of unleashing massive earthquakes similar to the 7.0-magnitude quake that devastated Port-au-Prince, Haiti, on Jan. 12.

The Central Range fault is a major part of the boundary between the Caribbean and South American tectonic plates. These plates are rocky slabs that cover the planet and fit together like a giant jigsaw puzzle.

These plates slowly slide past and into one another as they move across the Earth's surface. But while the plates creep along the Caribbean plate is moving at roughly 0.79 inches (20 millimeters) per year their touching boundaries can become stuck against one another, which builds up stress along the fault.

The Caribbean isn't exactly a hot zone for earthquakes, but they are not unheard of in the region. The most recent earthquake along the Central Range fault struck between 2,710 and 550 years ago, the study revealed. Since that time, enough stress has built up in the fault that it could produce a similar earthquake (greater than 7.0 magnitude) in the future, said the researchers.

The 7.0-magnitude earthquake that devastated Haiti occurred at a fault, called the Enriquillo fault, that runs right through Haiti and is situated along the boundary between the Caribbean and North American plates.

Postby sMASH » August 22nd, 2018, 6:32 pm

plate tectonics gonna tecton....

all those continents drifting, so u WILL be getting earthquakes...
all u can do is try to build to withstand the up to about a 7 or a bit higher. werk out some drills, practise it with ur families and get accustomed to doing it automatically.

the world isnt ending, its just doing what its mechanisms are arranged to do..

Postby sMASH » August 22nd, 2018, 6:38 pm

happy eid mubarak fellas... lol

Postby maj. tom » August 22nd, 2018, 6:39 pm

We'll need a new ferry when Trinidad breaks in half along the central range fault line.

Postby toyolink » August 22nd, 2018, 6:42 pm

A little cold truth;
Years ago I attended a risk management conference in the UK hosted by insurance underwriters and it was a known and now accepted that engineering for earthquake strengths over 7 push building costs to levels which can be considered almost impossible for countries other than the wealthiest.
Epicenter hits in heavily populated areas over 7.5 are accepted as extreme property damage and fatalities events.

Postby pugboy » August 22nd, 2018, 7:15 pm

Hdc building in south get so,e bad damage

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 22nd, 2018, 7:18 pm

There is literally videos on the internet with countries being hit by earthquakes over 7 and sustaining critical damage and trinis still think that this is the result of some sort of immorality in Trinidad and Tobago? How insensitive, myopic and self centered can people be. We experienced an earthquake that countries such as japan would be happy to experience instead of the 7s, 8,s and 9s that they continue to have. When will we get our collective noses out of our a55es?

The comparisons with other earthquakes around the world is even more laughable and feeds into the whole belief that "God is a trini" or "God spare we"...Even the pm got in on the action saying that he was impressed with the country's buildings and showed that our engineering was up to a world standard. He's a geologist btw.

I'm not saying not to pray or don't call out for your maker but oh gosh prepare an emergency supply kit and learn some basic earthquake safety procedures nah.

All in all, we haven't been tested as yet but this should serve as a wake up call.

Postby pugboy » August 22nd, 2018, 7:25 pm

Entire tv6 news is about "building codes"

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 22nd, 2018, 7:35 pm

pugboy wrote:Entire tv6 news is about "building codes"

Almost 1/2 houses built are not t&c approved or have proper inspected plans for them...wah yuh go do

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 22nd, 2018, 7:40 pm

Plenty people think that the safest place during an earthquake is inside your house...Probably in places such as Japan but I not risking that in Tnt where a little wind does blow down your house. You are supposed to evacuate the building and find a safe open space to occupy. All this talk about going under a table or door frame is to protect you against things falling inside your house such as a refrigerator or cupboards etc.

Door frames not going to protect you when the entire building crumbling. That is a huge misconception that alot of people have. Anyone of you all ever see a building collapse and the door frame still intact?

Daran

Postby Daran » August 22nd, 2018, 8:15 pm

Redress10 wrote:There is literally videos on the internet with countries being hit by earthquakes over 7 and sustaining critical damage and trinis still think that this is the result of some sort of immorality in Trinidad and Tobago? How insensitive, myopic and self centered can people be. We experienced an earthquake that countries such as japan would be happy to experience instead of the 7s, 8,s and 9s that they continue to have. When will we get our collective noses out of our a55es?

The comparisons with other earthquakes around the world is even more laughable and feeds into the whole belief that "God is a trini" or "God spare we"...Even the pm got in on the action saying that he was impressed with the country's buildings and showed that our engineering was up to a world standard. He's a geologist btw.

I'm not saying not to pray or don't call out for your maker but oh gosh prepare an emergency supply kit and learn some basic earthquake safety procedures nah.

All in all, we haven't been tested as yet but this should serve as a wake up call.

Totally agree, it's like Trinis never watched why of those earthquake clips on YouTube. Kobe earthquake was 6.9, but if you looked at the footage it was MUCH stronger than our lil shake up yesterday. A real 6.5 quake would devastate Trinidad, we need to stop being pompus asses and making fun of Haiti. Look at some of that Haitian earthquake footage,

That's what a 7.0 looks like when the epicentre is 30km away.

Postby ismithx » August 22nd, 2018, 8:33 pm

ey, since when most haitian buildings built to any standard? it have seriously damaged buildings here and all, because they were built like sheit

Postby maj. tom » August 22nd, 2018, 8:34 pm

me eh know bout allyuh, but i rel jittery and can't sleep since last night. And i swear i only feeling some very low frequency waves now and then, just waiting for the place to just start to tremor and shear diagonally all of a sudden. I was ready to dead yesterday when the 2nd shake got worse after the 1st one wasn't stopping. You know that terrible sound the walls and roof makes and everything swaying left to right? Hearing it in my subconscious all the time now. Feeling phantom movements all the time.

SRASC

Re: Earthquakes (21/22 Aug 2018)

Postby SRASC » August 22nd, 2018, 8:46 pm

maj. tom wrote:me eh know bout allyuh, but i rel jittery and can't sleep since last night. And i swear i only feeling some very low frequency waves now and then, just waiting for the place to just start to tremor and shear diagonally all of a sudden. I was ready to dead yesterday when the 2nd shake got worse after the 1st one wasn't stopping. You know that terrible sound the walls and roof makes and everything swaying left to right? Hearing it in my subconscious all the time now. Feeling phantom movements all the time.

Not too far off :-\

It'll take a couple of days of no noticeable aftershocks to get some normal back.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » August 22nd, 2018, 8:50 pm

snypaz wrote:Random question. Who was the contractor that built OWP?

Not sure if they were the builders or just investors/owners of head leases, but whenever I deal with OWP leases, I see Home Construction Limited come up a lot.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 22nd, 2018, 8:56 pm

ismithx wrote:ey, since when most haitian buildings built to any standard? it have seriously damaged buildings here and all, because they were built like sheit

Has nothing to do with building codes or standards. The earthquake decides what it wants to do. Not mankind. Haiti's earthquake occurred only 10 km from port au prince. It was only at a depth of 10km as well.

There are many different type of earthquakes. Plates move in various motions. They can slip suddenly or grind upon each other. A sudden slip could make the earth mimic that of a blender. That's basically what occurred in Japan 1995 and lasted for only 5 or so seconds. Haiti's was more a sudden shake and lasted for about 10 seconds. Ours was more like a rocking motion but the depth and distance of the epicenter braced us.

Remember these plates are constantly grinding and moving against each other globally. These are globally occurring events that are all connected. So an earthquake in New Zealand could set off one in California etc. Plates also get lodged in a certain position for hundreds and even thousands of year but the pressure is building there regardless until it finally dislodges and causes catastrophic earthquakes.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 22nd, 2018, 9:00 pm

maj. tom wrote:me eh know bout allyuh, but i rel jittery and can't sleep since last night. And i swear i only feeling some very low frequency waves now and then, just waiting for the place to just start to tremor and shear diagonally all of a sudden. I was ready to dead yesterday when the 2nd shake got worse after the 1st one wasn't stopping. You know that terrible sound the walls and roof makes and everything swaying left to right? Hearing it in my subconscious all the time now. Feeling phantom movements all the time.

This is the new normal...We have grown accustomed to low 4s and 5s etc but this is the new normal now and should be a good wake up call.

This whole experience has me uneasy especially the length of time it lasted, the damage it caused and the fact that it occured all the way in Venezuela and with such depth.

Any news of the damage that Venezuela sustained seeing that it was the epicenter? News scarce to come by there but the buildings didn't look to suffer much damage. That depth really buffer this thing.

Re: Earthquakes (21/22 Aug 2018)

Postby sMASH » August 22nd, 2018, 9:02 pm

split in de middle,
make my island brittle..