I never saw any of those trenchers anywhere.adnj wrote:The best thing is to rent a hand operated trenching tool. I have no idea who has one available. Otherwise, a drainage shovel and a 5ft digging bar will do it. A louchette will work instead of the bar but not as easily.*KRONIK* wrote:Fellaz
I need to dig a trench about 4" wide and 18" deep for 500 feet?
Any recommendation for a tool that can work?
I need to lay pipes for a long service water connection
sMASH wrote:Pretty cool, was thinking about the clearance and alignment issues too, but it have enough overlap in the slot there to accommodate a fair amount.Rory Phoulorie wrote:He could also explore the use of the Spancast precast wall system. Everything is locally made.
I would like to see how the reinforcement for the slabs though.
adnj wrote:The bracket looks solid. Your idea to add a floor support would certainly help.
Edit: I believe that the problem is not the shear strength (downward force) of the bracket and fasteners. The problem is the pull-out resistance of the clay block itself. The static load is only 50 pounds max.
If the clay block attachment fails, it will most likely just pop out completely. I would go through the wall.
worksux101 wrote:Was planning on purchasing the simtek line from Home Depot and shipping here...didn’t realise we’ve got similar products available locally...
*KRONIK* wrote:I never saw any of those trenchers anywhere.adnj wrote:The best thing is to rent a hand operated trenching tool. I have no idea who has one available. Otherwise, a drainage shovel and a 5ft digging bar will do it. A louchette will work instead of the bar but not as easily.*KRONIK* wrote:Fellaz
That was actually my 1st thought.
I even asked my padna who rents tool if he came across any and he said no.
The other thing is that i have cut 2 of the neighbours driveways and put in 2" galvanised steel pipes to run the pvc.
So i may need a road saw too (i can get that if needed)
I was paying some guys to do the work, but if a trencer was working out cheaper, i would have to consider that too.
Thanks for the input.adnj wrote:*KRONIK* wrote:I never saw any of those trenchers anywhere.adnj wrote:The best thing is to rent a hand operated trenching tool. I have no idea who has one available. Otherwise, a drainage shovel and a 5ft digging bar will do it. A louchette will work instead of the bar but not as easily.*KRONIK* wrote:Fellaz
That was actually my 1st thought.
I even asked my padna who rents tool if he came across any and he said no.
The other thing is that i have cut 2 of the neighbours driveways and put in 2" galvanised steel pipes to run the pvc.
So i may need a road saw too (i can get that if needed)
I was paying some guys to do the work, but if a trencer was working out cheaper, i would have to consider that too.
I have seen contractors use them here but not for rent. They are also available for a tractor PTO but I have no idea if your lot conditions will allow for a tractor. If you can fit a tractor onto your lot, the operator can use an 8 inch trenching bucket. There are people around that know how to do it. I once saw a narrow trench dug with a length of angle iron bolted onto a Bobcat's bucket.
Driveways are seldom more than 5 inches thick. A gasoline powered concrete saw will do the work. If you're careful you could use a 9 inch electric grinder with a diamond blade, if needed. Snap parallel chalk lines as a guide.
Also, if you are laying out a supply line you may want to consider using MDPE. It's the same blue water line line that WASA uses. It's more expensive but less labor to install now and less trouble later on.
Good pointsMASH wrote:if it have houses, and thier lines buried too, and u cant identify the other lines, u might burst them inadvertantly with that machine.
Will tell the guys to be cautious with the worksMASH wrote:I see thing like dat.. Some lines not even a good 6 inches below surface.. So take ur time, and walking with nuff compression coupling. Unless water does go regular so u could use collar and cement
From what i was told, the wasa main line is a 2" line.adnj wrote:There is supposed to be a 2 inch service line along the easement for multiple properties. The WASA application should have resulted in an assessment to add the line for all of the affected properties.
That's a complex situation. PVC may be best just in case someone else digs into your line without seeing the red sand and caution tape in the trench.
If the driveways aren't too wide and the soil isn't too rocky, you can try hydraulic trenching to keep from cutting and patching concrete. It's not perfect but it works. I did it a few times under my own driveways and sidewalks. But as always YMMV.
https://youtu.be/xUdgZRJTVNk
I am going to look for the blue pipe tomorrow to see what the price is like.carluva wrote:Kronik,
Given what you have described, id recommend being a bit cautious. Since you have such a long run crossing properties and areas you do not own, you should consider using the mdpe or the blue water lines and sleeve them in the galvanized pipe at the driveway crossings. At the driveway crossings, as they are not yours, after laying the line, cover back with some excavated material. On this lay a bed of concrete tiles then backfill with red sand to the surface, compact and have a good base for reinstatement of the concrete driveways. That way your lines are safeguarded against any future work in that area that would result in excavation in that zone.
The blue line is also easier to repair if damaged... a compression fitting and that's it. Repairs can be done on the run without having to lock off water. If pvc pipe is damaged, water needs to be locked off and then solvent cement needed. More difficult repair.
If you insist on using pvc pipe, use schedule 40 for the run, nothing else.
Remember that galvanized pipe will rot from the inside once buried And at the threaded ends. This rot will make the line weaker and easier to crack with a blow. Consider sch 40 or even sch 80 pipe for the sleeves.
I know it sounds like overkill but its 500 ft of your line being run to a wasa connection so unless wasa is taking ownership of this line, they wont repair anything if its damaged. So better to protect your investment and do it right the first time spending a lil more on the front end.
adnj wrote:There is supposed to be a 2 inch service line along the easement for multiple properties. The WASA application should have resulted in an assessment to add the line for all of the affected properties.
That's a complex situation. PVC may be best just in case someone else digs into your line without seeing the red sand and caution tape in the trench.
If the driveways aren't too wide and the soil isn't too rocky, you can try hydraulic trenching to keep from cutting and patching concrete. It's not perfect but it works. I did it a few times under my own driveways and sidewalks. But as always YMMV.
https://youtu.be/xUdgZRJTVNk
carluva wrote:The blue line is also easier to repair if damaged... a compression fitting and that's it. Repairs can be done on the run without having to lock off water. If pvc pipe is damaged, water needs to be locked off and then solvent cement needed. More difficult repair.
Remember that galvanized pipe will rot from the inside once buried And at the threaded ends. This rot will make the line weaker and easier to crack with a blow. Consider sch 40 or even sch 80 pipe for the sleeves.
carluva wrote:Intesting... seen this before online, wanted to try but didnt.
Have you used this for conduit for wire as shown in the video or for running a water line. The latter was my need.
carluva wrote:Kronik,
Given what you have described, id recommend being a bit cautious. Since you have such a long run crossing properties and areas you do not own, you should consider using the mdpe or the blue water lines and sleeve them in the galvanized pipe at the driveway crossings. At the driveway crossings, as they are not yours, after laying the line, cover back with some excavated material. On this lay a bed of concrete tiles then backfill with red sand to the surface, compact and have a good base for reinstatement of the concrete driveways. That way your lines are safeguarded against any future work in that area that would result in excavation in that zone.
The blue line is also easier to repair if damaged... a compression fitting and that's it. Repairs can be done on the run without having to lock off water. If pvc pipe is damaged, water needs to be locked off and then solvent cement needed. More difficult repair.
I know it sounds like overkill but its 500 ft of your line being run to a wasa connection so unless wasa is taking ownership of this line, they wont repair anything if its damaged. So better to protect your investment and do it right the first time spending a lil more on the front end.
carluva wrote:Didnt the ends of the PVC pipe get damaged with the constant force of the demo hammer?
And was the sch 40 PVC rigid enough to push through the earth under the driveway without flexing, cracking or breaking?
carluva wrote: you should consider using the mdpe or the blue water lines and sleeve them in the galvanized pipe at the driveway crossings. At the driveway crossings, as they are not yours, after laying the line, cover back with some excavated material. On this lay a bed of concrete tiles then backfill with red sand to the surface, compact and have a good base for reinstatement of the concrete driveways.
adnj wrote:carluva wrote:Didnt the ends of the PVC pipe get damaged with the constant force of the demo hammer?
And was the sch 40 PVC rigid enough to push through the earth under the driveway without flexing, cracking or breaking?
It depends on the soil type, water pressure, how hard you're hitting, the distance that you're covering, and how straight you want the run. You will probably want to use some kind of impact cap to protect the pipe head from mushrooming.
I used Sch 40 steel with an electric demolition hammer. I have also used a similar setup to drive 1-1/2" (1.9" OD) and larger steel fence posts with both a manual and a PTO post driver. I've driven earthing rods using an SDS impact hammer.
There's no guarantee that it will work. If it doesn't work, draw it out and try a spot close by.