Petrotrin refinery shut down

Joshie23

Re: Petrotrin refinery to shut down

Postby Joshie23 » September 4th, 2018, 1:28 pm

toyolink wrote:This experience is quite a difficult one to witness.
Compensation packages which appeared to be exorbitant and the apparent 'free-hand' approach to extreme expenditure must not justify a loss of compassion for individual workers.
The fact is, the majority of workers are innocent of the decisions made by management and the owners.
History has shown that what comes next isn't going to be easy and assurances of settlement packages etc. don't see the light of day for quite some time and the bills and loan installments just keep coming.
Today everybody has advice and it all feels hollow, but I will still say (having had a similar experience)
-Take time and quietly do a stock taking of what you have and liquidate/sell what you don't need.
-Examine your bills and commitments and get rid of what you don't need.
-Have a open family talk and confront this as one.
-Look for opportunities to make a dollar if you can weld,do plumbing, do electrical, do mechanics, plant, do accounts put it in the papers and get going. Your fees etc. must be attractive to get traction.
BTW, sitting in groups of people in the same boat and 'propping sorrow' whilst having drinks aint going an help.
What and who I am today (for those who know) has nothing to do with who is was in my previous professional incarnation.
……..This is not a time for weakness!

I've followed your posts on this thread and every single one has been something to think about. Something constructive and a.a.m.o.f., I was going to publically ask you what your area of expertise is, because as a young professional, I saw where it was easy to jump on the bandwagon, but you held a certain level of composure and levelheadedness that's laudable. As the Americans say, I'm finna follow you on LinkedIn. Are you on LinkedIn, cous? Please PM me.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » September 4th, 2018, 1:46 pm

Some wise words from toyolink there for real. That's experience talking and put to good use unlike some people who pass through ordeals and come out learning absolutely nothing.

Postby zoom rader » September 4th, 2018, 2:43 pm

Men never listen, Months ago I told you all that pertrotrin will be sold and most likely to 1%.
All these things are coming in to play.

Men prefer to listen to the PNM bloggers Like Redman .

Well done PNM in selling out, I hope that Wasa is next and the public services is outsourced. Employees need to start working and showing that they are productive .

Postby Ben_spanna » September 4th, 2018, 3:35 pm

far too many people in Trinidad have been living beyond their means... we have followed the lavish lifestyles of the American television celebrities...…………… I know a few people in the oil sector , very few are humble and have their head screwed on straight, there are many of them that have an unnecessary lifestyle...……….. scale down.... accept it..... move on ……….

Postby nervewrecker » September 4th, 2018, 4:13 pm

16 cycles wrote:someone in the know can tell us the benefits for employees? (free medical for life? schooling for kids etc?)
Free medical until 18 or 25 if they in school full time.
That's about it.
Medical is paid for in permanent men salaries. So it not free

Postby nervewrecker » September 4th, 2018, 4:14 pm

Curtms wrote:
neilsingh100 wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:
neilsingh100 wrote:It is lower level employees in Petrotrin that are better paid relative to those in the private sector not the professionals and managers.

https://energynow.tt/blog/how-do-petrotrins-wage-rates-compare-to-the-rest-of-the-energy-sector
Boss, we already said those figures are way off..

What about them, they too high or low?

Can’t speak for all positions but the industry average senior engineer salary in the graph is significantly higher than petrotrin’s and that is even after the last salary increase.
The salary of a senior engineer in a large multinational (BP, ALNG, etc) is around 45k so that seems correct.
Hmm you sure, because I know ops supervisors making that!
Call name? Sure they lie

Postby nervewrecker » September 4th, 2018, 4:15 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:
neilsingh100 wrote:It is lower level employees in Petrotrin that are better paid relative to those in the private sector not the professionals and managers.

https://energynow.tt/blog/how-do-petrotrins-wage-rates-compare-to-the-rest-of-the-energy-sector

Can’t speak for all positions but the industry average senior engineer salary in the graph is significantly higher than petrotrin’s and that is even after the last salary increase.
The salary of a senior engineer in a large multinational (BP, ALNG, etc) is around 45k so that seems correct.

I should clarify that the figure quoted for Petrotrin in that field is wrong and also too high even after the most recent increase. Pours cold water on the accuracy of other fields as well.
The figures are exaggerated a lot.

Wait till allyuh hear TGU salary

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » September 4th, 2018, 4:16 pm

Curtms wrote:
neilsingh100 wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:

Call name? Sure they lie
I've seen payslips .

Postby nervewrecker » September 4th, 2018, 4:18 pm

Curtms wrote:
neilsingh100 wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:

Call name? Sure they lie
I've seen payslips .
Sounds like private payroll.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 4th, 2018, 4:40 pm

Resurgence?

pnm-petrotrin-meeting.jpg

kstt

Postby kstt » September 4th, 2018, 6:59 pm

HOW THE ROWLEY PNM
DESTROYED PETROTRIN IN THREE YEARS !!!

THE WASTE CORRUPTION AND MISMANAGEMENT OF THE PNM
WAS STARTLING ……..

THE SEVEN DEADLY SINS OF ANDREW JUPITER
==========================================

The first appointment Keith Rowley made as Prime Minister was that of one Andrew Jupiter to Chair Petrotrin. Jupiter’s claim to fame was his stint as Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Energy.

In August 2017, Jupiter mysteriously resigned from the job after some 22 months at steering wheel at Petrotrin. He is now a man in the shadows.

What did he do in 22 months at Petrotrin. I present, the seven deadly sins of Andrew Jupiter.
==================================================================================
1) Getting rid of CFO Ron Huff. On the instruction of Ancel Roget, he pushed out Ron Huff. Ron Huff a Texan who had been hired as Chief Financial Officer of Petrotrin. Huff had over 30 years’ experience in oil and gas finance and was highly respected by the international banking and bond holding fraternity.

2) Getting rid of VP John Barden. On the agitation of Ancel Roget, he pushed out John Barden who was then the Vice President of Refining and Marketing. Barden was an Englishman with vast experience in refining.

The consensus was Barden was turning things around and standing up to the OWTU juveniles.

3) Cancellation of a big unsecured loan. In August 2015, on the eve of the election, Petrotrin secured a US$ 500 million-dollar loan from Credit Suisse. The loan was unsecured because Credit Suisse had confidence in the then Petrotrin management and the then Minister of Energy.

This loan was scrapped by the new Jupiter Board. Since then Petrotrin has had difficulty raising money internationally.

4) Cancellation of the contract for a MOPU (Mobile Offshore Production Unit). The former Government had awarded a contract to two reputable companies Well Services Limited and TOSL for the construction of a MOPU.

This could increase production in Trinmar by 5000 barrels of oil per day. The Jupiter led board cancelled the contract when the MOPU was 95% complete and the two companies had spent $US 40 million. This was an act of spite framed by stupidity.

5) Hiring “square peg in round holes” managers. John Barden was replaced in the Refinery by one Astor Harris who came from Phoenix Park Gas Processors Limited. The Wilfred Espinet Board quickly discovered his level of competence and fired him.

The entire management team that was left by the PP Government was removed and replaced by Harewood, Harris, Awah and Derrick. All four were fired by the Wilfred Espinet Board in early 2018. Petrotrin is now on its third management team in three years.

6) Fake Oil Scandal. Andrew Jupiter mysteriously left Petrotrin weeks before the fake oil “crap” hit the fan. He has questions to answer and the Police.

We still need to know who approved the transfer of one Vidya Deokiesingh from being a hospitality attendant to being responsible for custody transfer in the land oilfields.

7) Stopping all drilling in Trinmar. Jupiter stopped all drilling in Trinmar in early 2016 and there has been no drilling since. As a result, Trinmar’s production is collapsing

Postby sMASH » September 4th, 2018, 7:08 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Resurgence?

pnm-petrotrin-meeting.jpg

dancing on the ashes of ur conquest...

dem fellas scrapping out petrotrin, partsing it out to sell to their padnahs.... gtl already went to their american lobbyist, via niquan.... the rest is just a matter of time.

fleck rowley, other countries importing crude and refining.

i still want to get answers as to how will the bonds be repaid.

Postby gastly369 » September 4th, 2018, 7:23 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Resurgence?

40424388_10160910977390472_6559272018636701696_n.jpeg

Postby Dizzy28 » September 4th, 2018, 8:43 pm

^^You really believe Credit Suisse would have lent 500m without security?? There is lots of bs being spread by all sides but you don't have to be part of sharing

Postby gastly369 » September 4th, 2018, 8:46 pm

De man say temps and casual is 21k ah month ....defuq

NR8

Postby NR8 » September 4th, 2018, 9:06 pm

Source?

kstt wrote:HOW THE ROWLEY PNM
DESTROYED PETROTRIN IN THREE YEARS !!!

THE WASTE CORRUPTION AND MISMANAGEMENT OF THE PNM
WAS STARTLING ……..

THE SEVEN DEADLY SINS OF ANDREW JUPITER
==========================================

The first appointment Keith Rowley made as Prime Minister was that of one Andrew Jupiter to Chair Petrotrin. Jupiter’s claim to fame was his stint as Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Energy.

In August 2017, Jupiter mysteriously resigned from the job after some 22 months at steering wheel at Petrotrin. He is now a man in the shadows.

What did he do in 22 months at Petrotrin. I present, the seven deadly sins of Andrew Jupiter.
==================================================================================
1) Getting rid of CFO Ron Huff. On the instruction of Ancel Roget, he pushed out Ron Huff. Ron Huff a Texan who had been hired as Chief Financial Officer of Petrotrin. Huff had over 30 years’ experience in oil and gas finance and was highly respected by the international banking and bond holding fraternity.

2) Getting rid of VP John Barden. On the agitation of Ancel Roget, he pushed out John Barden who was then the Vice President of Refining and Marketing. Barden was an Englishman with vast experience in refining.

The consensus was Barden was turning things around and standing up to the OWTU juveniles.

3) Cancellation of a big unsecured loan. In August 2015, on the eve of the election, Petrotrin secured a US$ 500 million-dollar loan from Credit Suisse. The loan was unsecured because Credit Suisse had confidence in the then Petrotrin management and the then Minister of Energy.

This loan was scrapped by the new Jupiter Board. Since then Petrotrin has had difficulty raising money internationally.

4) Cancellation of the contract for a MOPU (Mobile Offshore Production Unit). The former Government had awarded a contract to two reputable companies Well Services Limited and TOSL for the construction of a MOPU.

This could increase production in Trinmar by 5000 barrels of oil per day. The Jupiter led board cancelled the contract when the MOPU was 95% complete and the two companies had spent $US 40 million. This was an act of spite framed by stupidity.

5) Hiring “square peg in round holes” managers. John Barden was replaced in the Refinery by one Astor Harris who came from Phoenix Park Gas Processors Limited. The Wilfred Espinet Board quickly discovered his level of competence and fired him.

The entire management team that was left by the PP Government was removed and replaced by Harewood, Harris, Awah and Derrick. All four were fired by the Wilfred Espinet Board in early 2018. Petrotrin is now on its third management team in three years.

6) Fake Oil Scandal. Andrew Jupiter mysteriously left Petrotrin weeks before the fake oil “crap” hit the fan. He has questions to answer and the Police.

We still need to know who approved the transfer of one Vidya Deokiesingh from being a hospitality attendant to being responsible for custody transfer in the land oilfields.

7) Stopping all drilling in Trinmar. Jupiter stopped all drilling in Trinmar in early 2016 and there has been no drilling since. As a result, Trinmar’s production is collapsing

Postby Redman » September 4th, 2018, 9:07 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:^^You really believe Credit Suisse would have lent 500m without security?? There is lots of bs being spread by all sides but you don't have to be part of sharing

Sadly people here would believe that.

It was Jupiter s team that uncovered the fake oil...the Audit results.....came out after Jupiter left....but he initiated the audit.
Last edited by Redman on September 4th, 2018, 9:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 4th, 2018, 9:08 pm

gastly369 wrote:De man say temps and casual is 21k ah month ....defuq

According to refinery staff, for the operations department operator salaries range from 21000 for grade 1 to 29500 for grade 9. Managers are in private payroll starting from grade 10 . A Senior Operator is grade 7 , a senior engineer is grade 8 and The shift team leader( STL) is grade 9.

No where close to the $45K/month ppl are quoting for even lower positions.

Snyper

Postby Snyper » September 4th, 2018, 9:23 pm

Those are BU1 upwards salaries the hourly/weekly are way less

Postby sMASH » September 4th, 2018, 9:54 pm

that is over 20 years service and at a senior position... fleck. that is commensurate with the industry

franklin khan said that the refinery can be sold off, because it can be a profitable venture... not for us, but for someone else.

the still havent said how the debt is going to be paid come next year...

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 4th, 2018, 10:02 pm

gastly369 wrote:De man say temps and casual is 21k ah month ....defuq

According to refinery staff, for the operations department operator salaries range from 21000 for grade 1 to 29500 for grade 9. Managers are in private payroll starting from grade 10 . A Senior Operator is grade 7 , a senior engineer is grade 8 and The shift team leader( STL) is grade 9.

No where close to the $45K/month ppl are quoting for even lower positions.

Senior engineer makes this same salary but minus the shift allowance.

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » September 4th, 2018, 10:17 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:far too many people in Trinidad have been living beyond their means... we have followed the lavish lifestyles of the American television celebrities...…………… I know a few people in the oil sector , very few are humble and have their head screwed on straight, there are many of them that have an unnecessary lifestyle...……….. scale down.... accept it..... move on ……….
Your statement is clearly of jealousy and hate....you are a small mined person...it bothers you and every other citizen who is glad to see those ppl out of work just because they work for more money than you....when ppl would stop being jealous and so envious...that why this country will burn...its because of uneducated dunce people like you sir.... you mr.ben spanna is trini tuner cont of the month....take a bow sir u deserve it....

Postby alfa » September 4th, 2018, 10:32 pm

IMG_20180904_220617_1 (Small).jpg
IMG_20180904_220617_1 (Small).jpg (54.51 KiB) Viewed 3114 times

So smiley face saying temporary man getting 21 thousand a month. This is what I got per week when I got promoted a few years ago which by the way is the highest position a temp can reach. With the recent 5% increase it's slightly more today but not even close to the 21 grand he claiming. You hear lie, that is PNM lie. Makes you wonder what else is this propaganda government is lying about. And read the bullet points on the bottom carefully to see what benefits I'm getting as a temp while everyone saying petro men getting send home fully top up.
All this talk about overtime, what they won't say is that is confined to the refinery. In E&P on the rare occasion you are required to work overtime you sometimes get a day off instead of pay but smiley face won't say that.And by the way shortly after I got this letter the company stopped all promotions so there are God knows how much people making less than that but this nasty liar talking about 21 thousand and 45 thousand :roll:

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » September 4th, 2018, 10:40 pm

Eh. Allyuh now realize he talking messs.

Everybody is talk cessspit talk that they hear this and that.

The truth coming out.

The kakhole saying he need petro to close down to pay public servants.

What that says about his management?

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » September 4th, 2018, 10:45 pm

Temp people is make a decent hourly rate in Petrotrin but when you have to break service and be home for weeks. They have to make that money stretch.

You cant take no loan, make any long term financial commitments.

But patrotrin is the big bad wolf that need to go to save trinidad.
Well yes...

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » September 4th, 2018, 10:55 pm

Employee cost does not only include salaries but the company contribution to NIS, Pension, Medical Insurance, Life Insurance, Allowances, etc. Using median salary would have been more realistic over the average.

Postby alfa » September 4th, 2018, 11:08 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:Employee cost does not only include salaries but the company contribution to NIS, Pension, Medical Insurance, Life Insurance, Allowances, etc. Using median salary would have been more realistic over the average.

The salary I showed on the promotion letter is before deductions like PAYE ,NIS and the likes. And temps receive absolutely no pension, medical insurance or allowances, just a flat salary with a maximum of a ten week labour pass. If you get injured on the job you however get treated for free in petro's medical facilities but that's it basically

Postby gastly369 » September 4th, 2018, 11:26 pm

So temps as the major work force basically getting fudge bent over....

Postby sMASH » September 4th, 2018, 11:52 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:Employee cost does not only include salaries but the company contribution to NIS, Pension, Medical Insurance, Life Insurance, Allowances, etc. Using median salary would have been more realistic over the average.

ent NIB saying that they suffering and need to raise money? now u gonna take out a good number of contributions...

life insurance, medical insurance dental, vehicle etc... all those industries gonna be loosing business

again, allyuh thinking about the immediate maths, and focusing on the workers. but no reprimand to the people putting it inthat position, and no real service to the knock on effects.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » September 5th, 2018, 12:35 am

KR is as ugly as he is dumb