Al Rawi children holding guns

Redress10

Re: Al Rawi children holding guns

Postby Redress10 » July 28th, 2017, 8:54 am

Exactly what is the BOI trying to discover? How they got passed the guard gates? How they got around the base? How they got into possession of high powered firearms on the base? All those things require expressed permission. Anyone who has conducted any exercise on the base would tell you that.

Postby rspann » July 28th, 2017, 10:04 am

I did not authorise visit of AG’s children to shooting range
Monday, June 5 2017

FORMER chief of defence staff Kenrick Maharaj is strongly condemning the contents of a statement from the Defence Force (TTDF) accusing him of acting on his own volition in authorising practice on a shooting range at Cumuto Barracks for the children of Attorney General Faris Al-Rawi.

Maharaj described as “erroneous” the contents of the TTDF’s response to United National Congress senator Wayne Sturge who submitted a request for information after photographs of Al-Rawi’s children posing with, what appeared to be, high-powered rifles belonging to the TTDF were made public.

In a letter dated April 25 and addressed to Sturge, Chief of Defence Staff Brigadier Rodney Smart said based on evidence adduced by a board of inquiry (BOI) established to conduct an investigation into the issue, Al-Rawi’s children accompanied him to the Regiment’s Cumuto Barracks on October 31, 2015. Smart said Al-Rawi was invited to witness a tactical display so that he would become familiar with the set of actions his security team may have to employ in the event of an incident.

Smart said the BOI deduced that Al-Rawi’s children were not allowed to have high powered weapons belonging to the TTDF in the presence of Al-Rawi and members of the TTDF and there was no evidence that anyone in the TTDF was complicit in the performance of their duties.

“It was established that the former chief of defence staff Major General Kenrick Maharaj, acting on his own volition, authorised the range practice,” Smart said.

“This practice is a standard procedure which is offered to all high risk national leaders who come under the protection of members of the defence Force’s Special Operations elements. Consequently, there was no evidence that any member of the Defence Force was coerced into breaching any practice of procedure.” Maharaj, in his statement yesterday, said given the context of this particular situation, the statement that he acted on his own volition can reasonably be interpreted to mean “authorisation for any or all activities in relation to the matter under scrutiny, including the issue of children handling weapons on the range at Cumuto Barracks on the day in question.” “I am gravely concerned, from a position of absolute denial in granting such authorisation, that I was not informed of testimony to that effect in the BOI and therefore a fundamental requirement for me to attend the BOI to confirm or deny such an allegation /accusation,” Maharaj said.

“Notwithstanding this, it is noted that the statement “acting on his own volition” is language commonly associated with the criminal law environment and therefore has negative connotations in that regard. It is highly unusual to ascribe such language to the decision- making process of a chief of defence staff, and so leaves one to wonder in this circumstance, if there was an underlying intent to cause mischief by the person who drafted the TTDF response to Senator Sturge.

“Even if a chief of defence staff exercises his “initiative” in any given instance, his ultimate decision is usually based on staff a advice (feasibility, suitability etc), and the subsequent execution by personnel down the chain of command.” Maharaj said he is deeply concerned that the “disturbingly misleading statements” in Smart’s response carry the potential to do serious harm to his character and reputation. He said he wanted to place on the record that he did not authorise the range practice conducted at Cumuto Barracks, he did not invite Al-Rawi to any military base to attend any range firing activity, he did not have any communications with Al-Rawi on the matter at any time, and he was not at Cumuto Barracks on the day in question. Consequently, Maharaj said he is not aware of who would have received Al-Rawi and his family at that military installation on that day and what protocols were observed.

He is calling for Smart to retract the statements in areas where he has been named and an amended document be prepared and re-submitted to Sturge. Also being sought is a public statement to “undo the hurt” caused to Maharaj and his family.

“I conclude with the recommendation that when matters such as the one in question, with high political sensitivities and public interest have to be addressed by the Trinidad and Tobago Defence Force, the organisation should not engage in compromise in respect of its professional ethics and proper procedure. Greater attention should have been given to procedural accuracy, the judicious use of language as well as exercising greater prudence in treating with a former chief of defence staff.”

Anything in this sounding like it was standard operating procedure?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 28th, 2017, 10:30 am

Smart not living up to his name

Postby Ben_spanna » September 29th, 2017, 9:46 am

Smoke screens made people forget about this? what was the outcome?

Postby 88sins » September 29th, 2017, 10:12 am

Ben_spanna wrote:Smoke screens made people forget about this? what was the outcome?

the expected nothing
now you see why this place & its ppl hopeless?

Postby Dizzy28 » September 29th, 2017, 10:19 am

Ben_spanna wrote:Smoke screens made people forget about this? what was the outcome?

We now have two well trained children to save us from this guy

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » October 2nd, 2017, 3:22 pm

its always do as you please with the pmn

they bully and take advantage of the population and will continue to do so.

im not surprised by them anymore, such boldfaceness

Postby Ben_spanna » October 2nd, 2017, 3:25 pm

Monkey Man wrote:its always do as you please with the pmn

I'm truly disappointed in your reply Monkeyman... normally youre the one whos full of some Comedy and non political ....... Cum in Butt steal yuh banana???

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » October 2nd, 2017, 3:30 pm

dude im politically oppressed. Life under the pnm is dark...

Specialist Baboons

Postby Specialist Baboons » October 2nd, 2017, 9:30 pm

Monkey Man wrote:its always do as you please with the pmn

Well it’s a stones jammette who’s the PM after all.....of course he wouldn’t have decorum.
Let’s not start with the pack of jokers following suit.

Postby Ben_spanna » May 13th, 2019, 8:13 am

So were they holding puppies or WOMDs???? what ever happen with this case????

Postby MG Man » May 13th, 2019, 8:20 am

Ben_spanna wrote:So were they holding puppies or WOMDs???? what ever happen with this case????
Sweep-under-the-rug.png
Sweep-under-the-rug.png (266.15 KiB) Viewed 4142 times

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 13th, 2019, 9:04 am

Ben_spanna wrote:So were they holding puppies or WOMDs???? what ever happen with this case????

This is not important....and well the file prolly loss....kinda like what going to happen with the av drilling file

Postby zoom rader » May 13th, 2019, 10:59 am

Calling Redman , randy, mero shogun and eleit to defend this

Postby mero » May 13th, 2019, 11:29 am

Dear old guy who's only excitement in life is arguing with strangers on the internet. Can you kindly stop mentioning me in your childish recently obsessive lonely posts? I have no political affiliation nor am I your friend. Tnx
zoom rader wrote:Calling Redman , randy, mero shogun and eleit to defend this

Postby zoom rader » May 13th, 2019, 11:45 am

mero wrote:Dear old guy who's only excitement in life is arguing with strangers on the internet. Can you kindly stop mentioning me in your childish recently obsessive lonely posts? I have no political affiliation nor am I your friend. Tnx
zoom rader wrote:Calling Redman , randy, mero shogun and eleit to defend this

Nice try

Postby De Dragon » May 13th, 2019, 12:25 pm

Poor children, orphaned since 2016.

Postby Redman » May 13th, 2019, 3:00 pm

I fully support any action the Commissioner of Police feels is warranted,given his knowledge of the facts in this matter.

Postby De Dragon » May 13th, 2019, 3:39 pm

Redman wrote:I fully support any action the Commissioner of Police feels is warranted,given his knowledge of the facts in this matter.

Postby zoom rader » May 13th, 2019, 3:53 pm

Redman wrote:I fully support any action the Commissioner of Police feels is warranted,given his knowledge of the facts in this matter.
And you really think the PNM will allow him to do his job in this case?

Postby Redman » May 13th, 2019, 5:39 pm

:D :D :D

While I do not have personal issue with the act....
Cuz really in 2071-19 it is prudent to get kids familiarized with guns-in the right settings.

HOWEVER here there are laws that expressly forbid it.So yeah its wrong.

That said-The location, and the situation make it near impossible to pursue any case-so the only reason to keep it alive is to gain political points with the sycophant crowd.

This is Trinidad -the rule is dont get caught.

Postby zoom rader » May 13th, 2019, 5:45 pm

Redman wrote::D :D :D

Cuz really in 2071-19 it is prudent to get kids familiarized with guns-in the right settings.

That said-The location, and the situation make it near impossible to pursue any case-so the only reason to keep it alive is to gain political points with the sycophant crowd.

Bullchit

I doubt any of then had a fire arm users permit.

What you telling me , is any kids can pick up an assault rifle and shoot it?

Even for a an air rifle you need a permit to shot, plus you can't shoot in public places or I think 50 feet from a road

Postby De Dragon » May 13th, 2019, 5:48 pm

No silly PNM fanboy, the "reason to keep it alive" is that it is repugnant and illegal, and people have died because of it.

Postby Redman » May 13th, 2019, 7:18 pm

Bullchit

Even for a an air rifle you need a permit to shot, plus you can't shoot in public places or I think 50 feet from a road

Uh..you say Im talking bullchit ...but quote the laws Im referring to?

Postby Redman » May 13th, 2019, 7:26 pm

No silly PNM fanboy, the "reason to keep it alive" is that it is repugnant and illegal, and people have died because of it.

So feel free to rant and rave...Lets see if it makes any difference to any one.
Knock yourself out.

Postby zoom rader » May 13th, 2019, 8:06 pm

Redman wrote:

Bullchit

Uh..you say Im talking bullchit ...but quote the laws Im referring to?
Right so you saying that there are no laws for kids to shoot assault weapons?

If so they all PNM ppl should start shooting weapons and the law can't do anything about it

Postby sMASH » May 13th, 2019, 8:20 pm

Redman wrote:

So feel free to rant and rave...Lets see if it makes any difference to any one.
Knock yourself out.

makes a difference to me.. it have no blasted law allowing lil chilren to fire assault weapons legally.. any one facilitating that, is aiding in breaking the law.

Postby Redman » May 13th, 2019, 8:47 pm

So you saying that there are laws that expressly forbid that?

Postby rspann » May 13th, 2019, 9:21 pm

You must be licensed to carry/ use a firearm. Isn't that the law?

Postby zoom rader » May 13th, 2019, 9:23 pm

Redman wrote:So you saying that there are laws that expressly forbid that?
Well you allow your kids or your family to shoot up assault weapons.